BBB Accredited Business since

CGI Communications, Inc.

Phone: (800) 398-3029 130 E Main St, Rochester, NY 14604 http://www.cgicompany.com/


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This business offers online video promotion/marketing of web advertising for businesses and municipalities.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that CGI Communications, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for CGI Communications, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 18 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

18 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 9 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 5
Billing/Collection Issues 2
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 11
Total Closed Complaints 18

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on CGI Communications, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: February 27, 2001 Business started: 01/01/1988 in NY Business started locally: 01/01/1988 Business incorporated 05/14/1999 in NY
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Robert J. Bartosiewicz, President/CEO
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Bob Neufeglise, Client Relations Manager
Business Category

VIDEO PRODUCTION SERVICES ADVERTISING AGENCIES & COUNSELORS MARKETING CONSULTANTS MARKETING PROGRAMS & SERVICES PROMOTIONAL PRODUCTS

Alternate Business Names
eLocalLink, Inc. Next! Ad Agency

Additional Locations

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

5/31/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Hired CGI Communications (aka Next Ad Agency) for all of our online operations. Contact included new website, ****** Page, ******** Page, SEO/SEM rankings and adding customer referrals to achieve a 5 star ****** rating. The firm actually placed fake testimonials online to get the star ranking increased. I asked for them to be removed with adding my actual client testmonials and they wouldn't do it. Seemed pretty shady practice. The Firm praises their success of being one of the few agencies approved by ****** and charged over $4K for their services with not receiving the contracted services. I reached out to Mr. Frank ****** President with no success and was told by my fourth assigned rep that they don't do refunds or offer to fix the non-compliance of the contracted services. I referred three businesses to them and they have all stated the same type of service was received. All stated they feel nothing was done behind the scenes, Any help to get a refund is greatly appreciated.

Desired Settlement: Full Refund of $4,800.

Business Response: Since customer service is our number one priority at, CGI Communications, we take BBB complaints very seriously.  In this case, we disagree with the clients' assertions.All services purchased by the client were provided as promised.  Including, but not limited to: Website, ****** Page, ******** page creation, SEO, and reputation management.  The clients' website was completed and approved.  It is currently live, with the client is utilizing it ********************************.  The rights to the website were provided to the client in good faith for continued use, even though that was not part of the contract ($500 fee waived).None of the reviews generated by Next are ever fake.  They are all documented, recorded, authentic reviews from past and current clients.  We keep detailed records of phone, email and web surveys used to obtain the client's reviews.  We are happy to provide those for additional transparency.  We also have detailed records of communications with the client, and delivery of the product. Regarding the requested removal of said reviews.  Next Ad Agency has no control over reviews posted by a 3rd party, and therefor can't remove them.  ****** owns the sole rights to the reviews on their network, and only allows the user in question to edit or remove their own content.We sincerely apologize that we were unable to meet the clients' expectations.  At the end of the day, that is all that matters.  If the client did not see return on investment, we have failed to meet our internal expectation.  However, it was not a result of us not delivering what was promised.

5/14/2016 Billing/Collection Issues
2/24/2016 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Our business started receiving phone calls from CGI Communications about a month ago claiming that they were working in partnership with our County office and wanted to include our business in a video presentation for the County website. We declined but the phone calls did not stop and they became more frequent and harassing. We've been called by this CGI at least 7-8 times since the calls began AND since we had declined this scam. My dentists have NO interest in the exposure that CGI is selling. I wish I knew the first time that there is a DO NOT CALL LIST for CGI, and I recommend anyone who is being harassed by these hustlers to call in immediately, because they are relentless, a real bother and they probably won't stop calling until you do this.

Desired Settlement: STOP CALLING. STOP HARRASING. STOP WASTING OUR TIME. No means NO!

Business Response: Thank you for bringing this to our attention. I have reached out to our Area Manager for this area and have resolved this issue. Furthermore, we confirmed the contact information and have placed this business on our do not call and do not email list. We'd also like to apologize to this business for any disruption this could have caused and we are very sorry they did not have a more positive experience with our sales team. Thank you,

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:
I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.
Regards,
******* 




1/19/2016 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On Nov 25th 2014, I submitted a Web Advertising order with a salesperson from ******* ************* with the purpose of advertising on the ***** ****** ******* **** ******* *********** website. I then received a email from an Art Director at CGI communication to complete the submission of Art work for the Web Ad. After receiving this email I informed the Art Director at CGI communication to cancel this ad order because I was not made aware a third-party company in CGI would be placing the web AD and collecting for the Ad work which cost $2100. I thought this order was cxl, until I received a collection notice from a collector for CGI Communications in Nov 2015.. The order form I completed was for services with ******* ************ and not CGI communications, there was nothing communicated by the sales rep with ******* ************* that this order would be handled by CGI communications. I then discover on Dec 22nd 2015 that CGI Communication placed the ad on the ***** ****** ******* **** ******* *********** website without my authorization, and by them placing the AD in the ***** ****** ******* **** ******* *********** website this could have put my company in violation of the Mortgage Acts and Practices Advertising Rule. In the initial email I received from the Art Director at CGI Communication there was a 3 step process before an Ad was approved and as you can see Step 3 once I give final approval the ad is to go live. None of these step were competed since I request this service to be canceled. Step 1 – Please fill out the Custom Banner Form. We have developed this form to create the best banners possible for your business. It should take about 10 minutes to fill out. Your answers to these questions will give us direction in the creation of your banner designs. Click here for the Custom Banner Form: *********************. If you have any questions regarding the form, please call me as soon as possible. *If we do not receive your answers to the questionnaire within two weeks after you have received this email, the first round of banners will be created by our designer's choice. Step 2 – Our team will create your business' custom banner advertisement mock ups and send to you for your feedback. Please make sure to be very specific and list ALL of the revisions you would like to see. Step 3 – Once you approve the final custom banner advertisements, we will make live on the (blank) Chamber of Commerce website!

Desired Settlement: I would like this collection to be removed and no balance owed, and to also have them removed the ad placed on the ***** ****** ******* **** ******* *********** website the was posted without my consent.

Business Response: Attached please find the original Website Advertising Agreement for the ***** ****** **** ******** *********** ******* and the ********* ******* ***********. Please direct your attention to option one of the payment options at the bottom of the agreement. As you'll see the payment option for this agreement is to make checks payable to: CGI Communications, Inc. Not only is this information clearly visible it's positioned directly above the clients signature. Additionally we've attached our project notes for the clients banner creation, which as you can see includes over 10 attempts to reach out to the customer via phone and email. As per our original email, which the client included in their complaint *If we do not receive your answers to the questionnaire within two weeks after you have received this email, the first round of banners will be created by our designer's choice. Due to a complete lack of response from the customer, a banner ad was created and placed on the ***** ****** **** ******** *********** ******* (*************), where it can still be seen as of today, January 11th, 2016. In conclusion the client has in fact received the agreed upon services outlined in their agreement and should be held liable for their financial obligations and commitments. The client's account was turned over to a collection agency in and effort to collect payment for goods and services provided by CGI Communications, Inc. and ******* *************. We stand ready and willing to make any necessary adjustments to their banner ad, as well as for the ********* ******* *********** to make payment for their products and services received in the Website Advertising Agreement.here...

12/21/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: They call repeatedly throughout day, they do not leave a message. I had to search them by phone number and when I called I could not get by the operator without an interview of who I am and what "region" I am from. When I said I did not want to be interviewed that I wanted them to stop calling me I was informed that I was slowing down their so called process. I did NOT ask for this. I am on a do not call list. I want to be left alone and do what I do which does not include their process.

Desired Settlement: I want to be left alone by them, I want them to stop calling me

Business Response: Thank you for bringing this to our attention. I have reached out to our Area Manager for this area and have resolved this issue. Furthermore, we confirmed the contact information and have placed this business on our do not call and do not email list. We'd also like to apologize to this business for any disruption this could have caused and we are very sorry they did not have a more positive experience with our sales team. Thank you,

12/14/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Company did not meet contractual obligation to provide a script of production shoot within 2-3 weeks of interview. I had to contact the company and they said they sent the script to my e-mail which was a patently false statement. The script has spelling errors. I don't trust a company that fails on the first deadline.

Desired Settlement: I want CGI to refund my money to my credit card. They didn't perform to the guidelines outlined in the production schedule.

Business Response:


Re BBB: ***** ** ******

RESPONSE:

Thank you for the opportunity to respond to this BBB complaint.

On August 5, 2015, Customer signed a contract with us to create, produce and stream a video from his website.
According to the contract, the content was to be created within 90 days (with "cooperative participation and mutual collaboration" by the customer), and streamed for 15 months.  The customer was to receive shared rights at no additional cost ($500 value) , an extra 30 seconds of video content for free ($500 value), and was to be the exclusive business sponsor in his field on the *********** ******* community video project.  By sponsoring the project, businesses allow the community to receive free video about the community on its website.
The Package Price of $6,495.00 was reduced by $1500 since the customer paid in full upon signing the contract.    Customer, therefore received $7,495.00 in value for paying $4,495.00.  
The contract is a special order "business to business contract".  It clearly states that if the customer cancels within 20 days of executing the contract 30% of the paid moneys are non-refundable (because of our set up costs).  After 20 days, we have already proceeded with much work by many different employees and therefore, the contract is fully non-refundable.
There is nothing in the contract stating that we would provide a script within 2-3 weeks of the initial production interview.  In any event, the production meeting occurred on August 11, 2015, 6 days after the contract was signed and the initial script was sent to the customer 6 days after that, on August 17, 2015.  The videographer was retained on September 3, 2015 and the video shoot was scheduled for October 9, 2015.
It wasn't until September 14, 2015, about five weeks after the contract was signed and after much work was accomplished, that we received a profanity laced, irate phone call from the customer demanding all of his money back because of misspelled words in the script.
In sum, we did not miss a deadline.  The contract does not mention a deadline, but does state, "client has not relied on any oral statement, promise or representation or inducement and confirms that all substantive terms and conditions, including any exclusive arrangements, are contained herein and agreed to."  Even if the client was promised a script within 2-3 weeks, he received a script within that period and was under an obligation to cooperate and collaborate with us to make any changes he felt necessary.
We stand ready, willing and able to continue the work necessary to provide the professional video and other products and services under the contract and would respectfully request that the customer uphold his end of the bargain in order to get this done.
Thank you,
Bob N*********

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********* and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

[To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, we would like to know your view on the matter.]

Regards,
***** ******




This sums up the situation.....



I was not provided the script within YOUR established time frame.   Even though ********* claims I was sent an e-mail on August  17th I did not receive such an e-mail and furthermore here is an excerpt from the e-mail sent to me this month by *********:

" Please respond to this message so I can be sure you received your script.

    Any required revisions to the script are due 8/24. If I do not hear from you
in 2-3 days, I will be in touch with you to ensure you received this message."

Why wasn't I contacted if indeed this e-mail was sent on the 17th of August?   
I had to contact your company to find out what was going on.


The original script was atrocious with grammar and spelling errors.
Here is the e-mail from the head script writer:

Good morning *** ******,

This is Head Writer, Nick P****** contacting you to let you know that I've been brought up to speed thanks to ********* M*******, and have parsed through the draft in question.

Let me start by assuring you that quality control is of the utmost importance and Alex R*** is no longer with the company. 

That being the case I will be taking over as your scriptwriter. I examined the piece you were originally sent and agree that it needed more attention. I've made some preliminary adjustments, but your input is paramount in this situation. .......

...........You have my sincerest apologies regarding the quality of the original draft.  I look forward to making this script the best it can be for you.


SO in essence the script was late, the quality was poor, and you fired an employee over the matter.   And  yet you still have the audacity to want me to pay for this?

Is this really how you conduct your business?   


*** ******

Business Response: This customer should have received a credit from their credit card company.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********* and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

[To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, we would like to know your view on the matter.]


The business states that I should have received a credit from my credit card company, HOWEVER, there remains a charge on my card of the full amount.  

In order to resolve this dispute they need to issue a credit slip to my account in the amount of $4995.00

As soon as CGI issues a credit to my account I will drop the BBB complaint.


Regards,

***** ******




10/20/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: CGI approached me in January and said they were selling advertising on the **** ** ********* Website. It was supposed to help my google rankings and drive traffic to my office by placing my business advertisement on the elcome page and the relocation page. I proceeded with the contract and paid CGI $3,495. Two weeks ago I looked up the **** ** *********’s website recalling this and did not find my ad anywhere. I called CGI and they told me they ended up not getting the deal to sell advertisement on the **** ** ********* website so my company would not be advertised. I then requested a refund if they were not able to advertise my business as promised in my contract. The employee, Christian, said he is not authorized to do this and would forward my info to Tim C******, CFO. I have been emailing and calling Tim for 2 weeks and Tim nor anyone at CGI will not call me back. CGI is not able to fulfill my contract and advertise my business as I paid them to do so and I want a refund of my money.

Desired Settlement: I want my $3,495 refunded back since they kept the money but never advertised my business as I was told they would.

Business Response:

Dear *** *******

As general counsel for CGI Communications, I today received a BBB Complaint with regard to your inability to obtain a refund relative to the cancellation of the **** ** ********* ******* *******.

Kindly be advised that I have initiated a full refund which should be credited to your credit card or sent to you by check (depending on how you originally paid) within the next 7-10 days.

My sincere apologies for the apparent lack of response by our staff.

Pete P*******
General Counsel

10/2/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Signed an agreement September 2013 for one year. As we got near to the end of the contract period, we were working with another mortgage company to buy our company. I was told that CGI could help re-brand us once the deal was done. Our website was terminated by our new company and the services were no longer needed. I notified CGI that is was tough luck on my part. If my contact would have informed me that the contract was for one year no matter what I would not have renewed in September of 2014. I feel like I have been billed for services without any services been provided. Our former company ********** ******** stopped closing loans on/about December 1, 2014.

Desired Settlement: I am asking for a refund for the premium paid from December 1, 2014 to the current date.

Business Response:

RE:  ********** ********, Inc.

This matter involves a one year, business to business contract for products and services.

Initially, in September, 2013, this customer signed a one year contract.  After that year tolled, the customer signed up for and paid for another one year contract (which is clearly stated in the contract).  Upon being purchased by a new company, we continued to perform work, changing the content on the website to reflect the changes, and stood ready, willing and able to continue to provide our products and services for the remainder of the contract period.  However, the new owner of the company made a decision to refrain from using us any further.  Just as when one purchases a television and chooses not to watch it, or signs up for college and then decides not to attend, this company is not entitled to a refund for having made the decision to stop using our products and services.  

Thank you for the opportunity to respond to this BBB complaint.

Bob N*********

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********* and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

I get it -- LET THE BUYER BEWARE.  I guess money is more important than operating honorable.  As I stated before, your employee knew that I was considering a move to terminate my company name as he knew it.  I feel the ethical thing for the company to do was to disclose the contract was for one year.  Yes -- the fine print screws me.

I will tell everyone I know to stay away from this company.

Regards,

***** ******




9/26/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have recently become aware of Next! Ad Agency's services. The employee that signed with Next! Ad Agency is no longer with the company so I have discovered the situation. The employee didn't have credentials to authorize the contract. We have paid out about half the contract that from what I understand was to increase our website traffic, find company leads, and increase our ****** rating. I see few results from any of these goals and the referrals on ****** don't seem authentic. So first of all, the person they were working with in this company was not authorized to sign any contract for their services. Second, the results that the contract outlines are not happening. The few leads I have seen are not generating sale leads. Our ****** rating has gone up only .1 star since these services began. And the reviews don't appear to be organic. Also in speaking with my office staff, the amount of calls this company has placed and insistence upon having shared screen meetings is ridiculous and borderline harassment.

Desired Settlement: I would like a refund for the amount we have already paid and the residual costs associated with ****** ad ratings and other costs that occur in direct relation to being involved in this contract. And I would like release from the contract. Also for Next! Ad Agency to refrain from any further calls, including sales. Thanks for your time.

Business Response:

Thank you for the opportunity to respond.
The employee of ******* ************ had apparent authority to bind the company and the company ratified the contract by making payment or authorizing their employee to make payment.
The customer states that the employee who entered into the contract is no longer working at the company and he "discovered the situation" and wants his money back.  He says  he's seen few results.
This is contrary to the employee who hired us.  On 10/24/14 she emailed us and told us how happy she was with us and asked for tips on generating new leads for home improvements.  We thereupon sent her information regarding ****** *******.
This contract was entered into in August of 2014.  It was not until the point of contact left the company in late May, 2015, that any difficulty was encountered.  It appears that the new point of contacts were not computer savvy or too busy to continue with an active interest, culminating in the customer's desire to opt out of the contract.
We've done more than the $2,500.00 worth of work that we've been paid already.  As a courtesy to the customer, we are willing to waive the amount in collection ($2,495.00) and call it a day.
Please advise and I will draft a Release to be signed signifying a settlement of this matter.
Thank you,

Bob N*********

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********* and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

Regards,

****** *******




6/10/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I was solicited about CGI's services. He said that he got my information from the local chamber of commerce (they said they where not authorized). He said that he could get reviews from my patients from phone and email and put the reviews on my ****** plus page. I was not told this at the beginning but they make up fake profiles on ****** and take my patients comments and review them as these fake people. That all together is sketchy. The sales person told me that if I sign up for a year contract that he will put in a 3 month clause that will allow me to get out of the agreement if I was not happy. So I signed up. At the end of the 3 months I was not happy because I had not received good support from my representative. He had missed scheduled phone meetings and hard to get a hold of. When I tried to get out of the contract he told me that he was not going to let me out because of a stipulation in the contract that if they meet 8 points that I couldn't back out. He said "I had to work with him the rest of the year." I was furious! I talked with his boss and go a copy of the contract. He had only met 5 of the 8 things listed. So the boss let me out of my contract. 2 week out of my contract I checked my google+ page and saw that I had lost one of my reviews that they had posted. Now it is the 3rd week and I checked my page and now I have lost 2 of my reviews. I called the boss and he said that they are not taking them down. That ****** takes them down and if I was still in contract with them they would put them back up. I was never told by the salesmen that this would happen. He told me that they have partnered with ****** on this project. This makes there services a complete waste of money! I feel ripped off!!!

Desired Settlement: 1) I would like them to re-post the reviews that where taken down. Even if they will be taken back down in a month or so. And... 2) I would like a transcript of the reviews that my patients mentioned about me so I can thank them and refer them to the actual ****** plus page to leave a real review. And... 3) I would like a full refund of $1323.75 for the 3 months of services because if they are going to take down my reviews, then I was miss lead from the start and I would not have went into contract with this company....

Business Response:

Thank you for your comments, as we are always working to improve our level of customer satisfaction. CGI Communications is in fact endorsed by your local chamber of commerce, and we have a signed letter to prove it. We would ask that you follow back up with your chamber for clarification on that. We are also happy to provide documentation in the form of the signed letter.

 

All of the reviews in question were authentic reviews from your past and current patients. We have recorded phone conversations and email transcripts for each one. We are happy to produce those per your request. The reviews are generated with processes that are in place to protect your patient's HIPPA rights.

 

Regarding the reviews no longer displaying on your ****** business listing. ****** owns and operates those pages. In other words, neither you nor CGI own any rights to them or the material there within. With that said, we had absolutely no involvement, malicious or otherwise, in removing said reviews. Since you chose to exercise your 3 month out clause, we were obviously under no obligation to continue to provide the service you opted out of. To ask us to continue the service (for free) that you call 'sketchy' seems a bit peculiar in itself. In any event, if you would like the review process to resume, we'd be happy to resume your contract at any time.

 

In you have any further questions or concerns, please feel free to contact our Director of Account Managers, *** ******

 

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

The chamber CEO said that you have no right .  They Used you guys a few years a go for a video on there website, in which that they had problems.  She said that they have had a lot of complaints from other chamber members and have asked you to stop.  So please quite contacting our chamber members.

 I would like you to email me the reviews that you have received from my patients.  ************************
Further more, I was never told that there was a chance that ****** would take down the reviews.  By you not telling people this that entails them staying in business with you indefinitely to keep there reviews.  To market to people that hiring you for a year will help them get reviews on their ****** account and not tell them that they have the power to take them down is fraud.  I want a full refund. 

Regards,

*** ******* *******




Business Response:

Kindly be advised that our contract with the chamber runs until July, 2016.  We are firm in our relationship with the chamber and its members and will not respond to any uncorroborated innuendo or purported statement of an anonymous chamber member. Furthermore, it is outside the scope of your individual complaint and serves no useful purpose here.

We would be happy to send your reviews to you and provide you with a full refund; however, we have a claims process which requires you to submit your claim to our legal department.
I have forwarded your BBB correspondence to that department and have been assured that your claim will be given every priority.
Thank you for your patience and understanding.

Business Response:

Regarding your ****** reviews, as we previously stated, ****** owns and controls them.  We simply work within their guidelines.  Because of that, fact we cannot guarantee anything relating to the operations or policies of ****** or any other 3rd party website.  

We make that clear within the terms of all of our agreements, including the Complainant's, which states,   "****! Offers no guarantee, promise or representation with regard to the operation of any third party website including, but not limited to, ****** Places™. BUSINESS waives any and all claims against ****! relating to the content, operations and/or timeliness of any such site."  (Please see attached agreement with *** **** ******* and Carolina Wellness dated January 5, 2015.)

We've already agreed to cancel the contract with *** ******* and ******** *** ********; yet *** ******* and ******** *** ******** continue to utilize our services. (Please refer to the attached screen shot, which features CGI Communication's Web Review software with a link entitled "if you like us rate us" along with our web greeter and marketing and advertising tracking software identified by the 'welcome' icon, with the woman just below the 'rate us' button.)
In conclusion, it's evident that *** ****** and ******** *** ******** continue to utilize our services on their website a full three months after our 3 month contractual agreement was terminated. We would respectfully submit that filing a BBB Complaint to recover an initial deposit while continuing to use CGI's beneficial products and services purportedly for free is not a fair and just solution for all parties.




Contractual Agreement
*************************************************************************

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

I don't use you on my website!  You have not taken it down from my website.  You put it there...I wouldn't know how to take it down.  Quite fishing for excuses for why you should still be in business and get me my refund! 

Regards,

******* *******




5/2/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: After signing up with this company which stated that the city I reside in was doing a web based video advertising with them , I explained to them several times that this is the only way I will be able to use the video even though they said they had worked with my company many times and I can use it in NON COMPLIANT WAYS. I was fully upfront and kept advising them that is not correct and I have spoke to my parent company to verify this. For 2 months in the process I kept asking why is the city web site not reflecting what they said there are doing for them and I was told that it is taking some time. Low and behold at the very last phase of my production I was told they are not providing this service to my city as of yesterday, I checked with my city and was shown emails stating this was decided MONTHS AGO and clearly CGI decided to not be forthcoming about this. I was told to contact *** ******** the CFO as he is the only one with a checkbook for the company for refunds. After a few tries I got though to him on the phone in Mid MARCH 2015. He stated that if the project was not happening I will get a refund and said it would be 10-12 business days, I offered my name and was told he has it on the phone. After 3 weeks of waiting I called back to see the status and left a voice mail for him, no return call ( obviously caller ID based on his previous statement) and have now left a message every other day for a return phone call and a status update, to no avail. NOW 5 PLUS WEEKS LATER, NO REFUND NO RETURN CALLS, I then called and tried to leave a message for the president ( *** ***** ), was transferred to **** ******** legal counsel is his title ) and left a voice mail a week ago and of course no return phone call yet. TO DATE I HAVE LEFT NUMEROUS message for *** ******** and have yet to get any call back of any status update as to the check I was told was being mailed out 5 weeks ago.

Desired Settlement: I would like to be refunded what I have paid per the conversation with *** ******** the CFO of this " company" and that can be mailed to the address they have on file.

Business Response: We apologize for the inconvenience as this was an administrative oversight on our end and we take full responsibility for this unfortunate incident. *** *****'s refund check in the amount of $3,295.00 was mailed out from our office yesterday, April 23rd via the ****. If by some reason *** ***** does not receive his refund check by the end the month I ask that he please contact me directly to promptly resolve this matter. Again we apologize for this inconvenience.


Respectfully,
*** **********
Director of Client Relations
CGI Communications, Inc.
130 E. Main St.
Rochester, NY 14604
###-###-####
****@cgicommunications.com

5/2/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: These people don't answer their phones, don't stand behind their contracts, are rude and unprofessional! Our account is less than two weeks past due and they sent us to collections with lies about the balance and problems. We have paid them over $2500 and only owe them $750, with a past due amount of $255. The collection agent that just called indicated that we have a past due balance of $2530! The reason that there is any past due amount is because our credit card number changed and when the account rep called to update the credit card number he indicated that we were not allowed to use the video until the account was paid in full. This contradicts the contract. When this was pointed out to him he became loud, defensive and argumentative. What this company had promised and what they have delivered are at the complete opposite end of the spectrum. The quality of the video is lousy with poor quality images. The editing process had to be lead by my staff because their original cuts had children yawning and picking their noses, showed mostly the back of children's heads, and repeated scenes. From there we were told that this video would be front on center on the chamber web site. This is also not the case. In my opinion CGI has broken every aspect of their contractual agreement. We have paid them over $2500 and all we have received is a poor quality video, which cost us four hours of labor from our marketing team, posted in a poor location of the chamber site, and a lot of inappropriate attitude from aggressive sales and administrative employees. I have complained about there processes every step of the way and have received no resolve. I have contacted the chamber who was in touch with a rep. trying to work on a resolution. I am unsure why they have sent us to collections and feel as though this is just another indicator of the lack of integrity this company has.

Desired Settlement: To come to a resolution I feel that 1) CGI needs to either accept what they have received as payment in full for the 1 yr of advertising on the ******* ******* and the video rights or refund 100% of what we have already paid 2) Stop contacting us 3) Call the collection agency and supply them with accurate information

Business Response: To whom it concerns,

We have contacted the collection agency assigned to this account and removed The ********** **** ********** ****** from collections. We have agreed to write of their remaining balance due and retain their sponsorship on the ********* ***** ********. CGI Communications, Inc and ********** have fulfilled our contractual agreement with *** ********** **** ********** ******. In addition to the completed work and fullfillment of our obligation to this client we have again removed the remaining balance in an effort to resolve this matter.

If there are any further questions, comments or concerns please feel free to contact me directly at the information listed below.


Respectfully,

*** **********
Director Of Client Relations
CGI Communications, Inc.
130 E. Main St.
Rochester, NY 14604
****@cgicommunications.com
###-###-####

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

Regards,

***** **********




5/1/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We signed a contract with ****** **** to have a video put on what she said was a combined website of the **** ** ******** and the **** ** ********* We are located in the **** ** ******** but was advised by ****** that this was to be a representation of both the town and city combined. ****** also wrote this into our contract. However, the **** ** ******** hired Web Essentials for their website and it has no connection with the **** ** ********* We therefore will have no video on the **** ** ********’s website as our contract has stated. We will be on the city’s website, however that is irrelevant and useless to us as we are in the Town. ****** **** specifically used this and emphasized it as a selling point to us. I would never have signed a contract to be on the City’s website alone. Since CGI communications cannot provide the service they stated in the contract I wish to have the $4,995 that I paid them reimbursed to me. I have had numerous conversations and emails back and forth with ****** ****, *** ********, and *** ***** since the end of December trying to get them to reimburse my money. They were just ,mixing words and trying to convince me that they have not broken the contract – but they have. The cost I paid directly to CGI for this video was $4995.00. And the amount of money our company lost in revenue to prepare for, shoot and clean up after the video take was $25,000. Finally, on February 26 I received this email from *** ********: Sorry for the delay, *** asked me to reach out and see if the website and video that have been created can be used as follows I can propose 2 options for your review: 1. Refund $2,500.00 and continue our business relationship with the understanding that if, and when the “Town” of Lockport can or will participate in a/the Video Tour Book, ***** ***** ********* Repair, Inc. will be included at no additional cost for up to the contracted “Town” of Lockport term or 2 years, whichever is shorter. 2. Refund $2,500.00 and send the Finished Video in a “playable dvd” and/or “.mov” file format and discontinue our business relationship. Please let know…Thank you…*** I refused both options as they are no where near enough to compensate us for our loss - due to their "Lie". I wanted both our $4,995 back because there will be no video on the **** ** ********'s website and the video to compensate us for our lost revenue. Again the emails went back and forth and on March 3, *** ******** agreed to refund the $4,995 - but no video. As I reading the other complaints about CGI they seem to be the same - THEY HAVE THE MONEY AND WILL DO ANYTHING NOT TO GIVE IT BACK EVEN THOUGH THEY ARE I THE WRONG. They tried to get me to settle for $2500 - when I would not the upped it to $5000. But because they misrepresented their selves to get us to sign their contract and caused us the additional $25,000 in lost revenue - I want compensated for that too.

Desired Settlement: A refund for the amount we paid CGI plus our lost revenue and the video to put on our website since it will not be on the **** ** ********'s.

Business Response:

Please see the attached PDF file in response to the complaint from ***** ***** **********

Contractual Agreement
http://www.elocallink.com/contracts/display_pnotes.php?econtractID=200350

Respectfully, 

**** ********
General Counsel
CGI Communications, Inc.

PDF Attachment:

On August 12, 2104, ***** ***** ********* (“*****”) entered into a Community Movie Program business-to-business contract with CGI and paid $4,995.00 for a 60 second custom scripted and produced video, a five page website for 24 months, and streaming of the video content on the ***** website and for use on the “Lockport, NY” Project. (Please see attached e-Contract ******.)
At the ***e the contract was entered into, the City of Lockport and the **** ** ******** shared the same website. ***** was not charged any money to be on the Town website (See “additional Info” box of contract.) Some***e after the contract was entered into, the City and **** ** ******** separated their websites and access to stream the Project was allowed only from the City’s website.
The Terms section of the contract reads as follows: “”e-LocalLink offers no guarantees as to the operation of the sites that are linked to/from the Community Video Program. The client hereby waives any and all claims relating to the content, operations and/or ***eliness of such sites.
CGI has offered ***** a full refund of $4,995.00. ***** turned it down and demanded that it be given the video that CGI produced for free. Section 6 of the contract reads, “e-LocalLink expressly reserves all rights in and to any video content it creates.” CGI has offered to transfer the video to ***** upon reasonable payment for the work done by CGI on the video. That was deemed unacceptable by *****, which then demanded $25,000.00 from CGI to pay for the “preparation, shoot and clean up after the video take”.
CGI did not dictate to ***** it’s purported actions in shooting the video and is not legally responsible for its expenses in that regard. ***** has indicated that it lost revenue, paid 5 workers $105/hour each for five days to prepare the shop and grounds for the video shoot, pressure washed their rental fleet machines, and had to move their machines back and forth for the shoot. CGI would respectfully suggest that such expenditures are highly exaggerated if not unreasonable under the circumstances. CGI is not legally obligated to pay for a client washing its machines or paying its workers to shoot a video commercial. CGI is the producer of videos. Whatever a client wants to do in their video with their people and their equipment, is up to the client.
In the interest of compromise, CGI is willing to release the rights to its video upon receipt of $1,000.00.
Thank you for the opportunity to respond.?

12/18/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Buyer Beware. This company does not refund money in a timely fashion and does not care whether a customer has called numerous times about a refund due. In my case: $500. CGI takes your money quickly enough when you say yes, but it has been several weeks and still no refund after multiple calls, voice mails, emails, etc. You get some bogus excuse about how large the company is and that they have a "lengthy refund policy". If it were not that they are involved in a community video project in my town, I would not use their service now or in the future. From what I can tell, it seems they "float YOUR money" for the interest they can muster and leave the customer paying interest on their own end via their credit card purchase. They should be ashamed of themselves. A reputable company does NOT do business that way!

Desired Settlement: I want my REFUND due, immediately!

Business Response: ***** ****** ********** contract with CGI Communications, Inc. and eLocalLink on November 14th, 2014. Several days later she *** ***** did request to cancel this portion of the program, which was contracted for goods and services valued at $500.00 Typically any cancellation request on our special order business to business contracts accompanies a 30% cancellation fee.  We have informed *** ***** that refunds are issued via check and can take upwards of 30-45 days to be processed. A refund check for ***** ****** ********* will be placed in the mail on Friday December 12th. This is inside of 30 days from the date of the order and her request for cancellation. Additionally CGI Communications and eLocalLink have agreed not to pursue the 30% cancellation fee. Please understand that under no circumstances are we "floating the clients money" in order to collect interest on a $500.00 agreement. We are indeed a large corporation and work with thousand's of businesses and communities across North America and value each client and customer with the up-most regard. We have our refund policies and procedures designed to adequately accommodate each and every request in a timely fashion, no matter what the amount. 

Business Response: Unfortunately there was an unforeseen confusion on the check for ***** ****** ********** and the refund check was not placed in the mail. We've taken immediate action to resolve this issue and returned the $500.00 refund to *** *****'s original credit card. The return transaction has already been completed and she should be receiving notification of the reversal from her credit card company. Our apologies for the inconvenience.

*** **********

Director of Client Relations

CGI Communications Inc. & Next! Ad Agency

130 East Main St. Rochester, NY 14604

###-###-#### extn 425

www.cgicompany.com

www.nextadagency.com

 

Consumer Response: Good morning *******,

Just wanted to confirm that the $500 refund finally showed up on my business credit card this morning.  (Complaint #********)

Thank you for all your help.  I'm sure without the BBB and my Bank's credit card services, I'd still be without the return of my funds.

As a final note, I believe CGI Communications' rating should not be an A-.  I think it should be more like a "B" since their customer service is awful.  They don't return phone calls regarding an issue, they do not verbally disclose possible penalties, and their lengthy and confused refund policy is extremely unprofessional.

Best Wishes to you and yours for a happy holiday *******!

******* *****, ***** ****** **********



11/28/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: A sales representative from the business contacted me, unsolicited, about carrying out customer satisfaction surveys. The sales representative said he learned my name from another businessperson in the community. It turns out the businessperson was already a dissatisfied customer after only a month, and he was concerned about the business' use of his name. The business' electronic contract includes checkboxes to acknowledge contact and credit card information, but not terms. The business only provided a copy of the contract over a week later, at my request. The next day, I cancelled. The business had not yet provided any services. The account manager assigned to me, who had already missed one phone appointment, said he would escalate my request for a refund. However, the sales representative phoned back two days later to tell me the (unacknowledged) terms of the contract entitled the business to a non-refundable deposit greater than the quarterly instalment payment it had immediately taken. The sales representative had never previously said anything about a deposit. About a refund, the sales representative snickered and replied, "That's not gonna happen."

Business Response:

When *** ***** spoke with our Sales Executive **** ****** on October 10th he signed a contractual agreement, which is linked below. Our online contractual agreement is a one page document, which contains the terms of the agreement, along with the originating time it was signed and the IP address from the computer used to sign the agreement. Additionally upon signing the agreement an email with the contractual agreement is immediately sent to the email address added to the contact information, which in this case was (********************).

 

The terms contained in the contract clearly states that this is a special order business to business contract, additionally 30% of the contractual price of $5,295.00 constitutes a non-refundable deposit. *** ****'s down payment of $1,323.75 is actually $264.75 less than the aforementioned non-refundable deposit.

 

Not only had we tried several times to contact *** **** to begin work on his agreement, when we successfully able to speak with him we were met with an aggressive and threatening nature from *** ****. At this point CGI Communications, Inc. and Next! Ad Agency has done nothing wrong.

 

However, with the cooperation of Stephen Graf & Company Next! Ad Agency is generously willing to provide them with 90 days of service. At the conclusion of this 90 day period *** **** may elect to discontinue the program all together and owe nothing. If Stephen Graf & Company elect to continue the program after the 90 day trial they will be responsible for meeting the previously arraigned payment schedule for the remainder of the program. The original deposit of $1,323.75 will remain non-refundable. Next! Ad Agency is more than willing to fulfill our contractual obligation to Stephen Graf & Company.

 

Contractual Agreement

http://www.elocallink.com/contracts/display_pnotes.php?econtractID=203716

 

 

In Kind Regards,

 

*** **********
Director of Client Relations
CGI Communications Inc. & Next! Ad Agency
130 East Main St.
Rochester, NY 14604
###-###-#### extn 425
www.cgicompany.com
www.nextadagency.com

 

Consumer Response: The business' electronic contract includes checkboxes to acknowledge contact and credit card information, but not terms. The business only provided a copy of the contract over a week later, at my request. The next day, I cancelled. The business had not yet provided any services. The account manager assigned to me, who had already missed one phone appointment, said he would escalate my request for a refund. However, the sales representative phoned back two days later to tell me the (unacknowledged) terms of the contract entitled the business to a non-refundable deposit greater than the quarterly instalment payment it had immediately taken. The sales representative had never previously said anything about a deposit. Although I am understandably upset with the business' sales practices, I never acted aggressively or threateningly. I did not hear from the business again until it responded to my complaint. The experience of the local businessperson whose name the business used, and the other complaints about the business at the BBB, foreshadow problems with the service. The business may not use my name, which it misspelled once in its response, to solicit other businesses. The service will start on January 5, 2015. The consumer protection and other laws of my jurisdiction will apply. This message confirms I elect not continue with the service after 90 days. At the end of 90 days, I will owe nothing. The business and I can discuss other details at my convenience.

11/27/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We hired CGI to remake a previously made video by this company. The first time we had the first video made, we paid 3,000. and were never able to use it properly on our web site as it would not integrate with normal website systems. So we hired CGI and paid them another 2,500. to basically remake the video adding in new footage which we took with our video camera. (about 4 minutes extra). The total cost for this remake involved being pressured to sign up with CGI's tracking software, cell phone ability and the use of an Avatar. I told ***** ***** we were uncomfortable with the tracking software being integrated with our website and we did not want to go that route. We just wanted the video fixed so we could use it on the website with out the tracking featured and maybe use the avatar feature. Well, the first edit and completion of the video remake was a complete disaster. They did not follow the scripting and deleted the footage that was mine,(already paid for) basically just slopped something together and hoped it would work. We contacted ***** requesting our money refunded and he pressured us in to allowing them to remake the video correctly against our wishes. We told him we would be happy if we could get our money back and just keep the Avatar feature. (which was quoted to us as 500.00 value). We were suppose to get into contact with ***** who is in charge of video production but what happened is we had to go through a business name change and daughters wedding in the summer so we put off producing the new fixed version of the video. We have contacted the company and ***** ***** but The company or *****, has never respond to our letters, emails, or texts. **** ny husband has tried to talk with ***** but was put off and ***** said he would call him back, and never did. They just basically took our money,2,500. and gave us NOTHING! AGAIN! We cannot even use the old video they made at all now because of having to change our company and product name. We feel we have been robbed and treated unfairly. This company should have a better business bureau rating. They are not ethical at all in their business acts.

Desired Settlement: We know there was some time and cost on their part but their staff in my opinion was incompetent and unable to perform the job as requested and agreed. We request to have our money refunded. We have spent a total of 4,500.00 and have absolutely nothing we can salvage or use on our new website. this is a crime.

Business Response:

CGI Communications, Inc.

Corporate Headquarters

The Granite Building

130 East Main Street

Rochester, NY 14604

 

 

 

To whom it concerns,

 

 

I apologize for any delay in filing this response as I wanted to have adequate time to speak with production staff and our Vice President of Sales ***** ***** as both of them worked on this project.

 

Quite honestly I'm having a difficult time of where to start with this as there are numerous false accusations. As with any company we've ever contracted with to produce an online video all of our contractual agreements read that It is the responsibility of the client and/or party hosting the client's website to add the code to the client's website.

 

In March of 2010 we first began work with *** ****** *******. At that time we produced a 4-minute video for them as contracted. The video was approved by *** ****** ****** and the appropriate website coding was provided to EMS for use on their website. Additionally EMS received a DVD copy of the video.

 

In February of 2014 *** Dental contacted ***** ***** and CGI Communications looking for CGI to produce another video. In conjunction with their video contract *** ***** provided them with a few extra features for use on their website. *** was not obligated to use these tracking tools nor were they pressured into purchasing them, again they contacted us.

 

CGI has completely redone their 4-minute video as contracted. *** has accused CGI of “slopping something together”, as you can see our contractual agreement reads that *** ****** would be providing the video footage. The quality of the video we received was from an iPhone and barely usable. Additionally CGI produced, scripted and filmed their 5 question video avatar. All other elements of the contract were provided.

 

With regards to ***'s allegations that they were “robbed and treated unfairly” along with this complaint are nothing more than libel. What *** ****** ******* has failed to indicate in their complaint is that the sole reason they are not able to use the video created by CGI is because when they launched their business, created their business name, emails, and online trade name of ****** ****, *** ****** ****** committed copyright infringement against another company and have been forced to change the aforementioned aspects of their bsuiness.

 

Additionally the contracted amount for their agreement was for $4,000.00 of which *** only paid $2,500. CGI has graciously “written off” their remaining balance of $1,500.00 and chosen not to pursue it. *** has received their video, avatar, click to call and click to text feature along with the ****** ****** website.

 

**** ******' attempt to use the Better Business Bureau in an unethical manner is not only wrong it's deceitful. **** ****** clearly states in her own words “We cannot even use the old video they made at all now because of having to change our company and product name”. CGI Communications nor any business for that matter who provides the agreed upon work should not be held responsible nor should they be accused of robbery, unfair treatment and deemed unethical due to the illegal copyright infringement performed by *** ****** ****** or any opposing party.

 

In closing we request that these allegations be stricken from the record as they contain no merit and are in fact groundless. Should you request to receive copies of production notes or our contractual agreement please advise, we ask that any personal or private information not be made public.

 

 

Respectfully,


*** **********
Director of Client Relations 
CGI Communications Inc. & Next! Ad Agency
130 East Main St.
Rochester, NY 14604
###-###-#### extn ***
www.cgicompany.com
www.nextadagency.com

Our Contractual Agreement 
http://www.elocallink.com/contracts/display_pnotes.php?econtractID=190765 

Business Response:

Again we have difficulty on where to start with these allegations. *** ****** solutions has clearly made several serious errors during the formation of their business. They have been penalized for copy right infringement, forced to re-change their business model and are now attempting to extort CGI Communications for the mistakes they've made. *** ***** will no longer to respond to the “incessant” phone calls and text messages he receives from *** ****** Solutions as it has now become borderline harassment, as *** ***** has previously stated to *** ****** we will not be refunding *** under any circumstances as our product has been delivered. We've stated our position and our product is listed below.

 

CGI Communications, Inc. has spent eight months along with hours upon countless hours of time and labor dealing with *** ****** ********** Dealing with *** became so unrelenting that we again agreed to write off their balance of $1,500.00 We did so in order to be able to part ways. We've provided EMS with services above and beyond the contracted work. Both videos are listed below, along with the avatar, click to text and mobile website coding. If you review the videos it's clearly apparent that they are two different videos. Again we will not be held responsible for their erroneous business decisions. We ask that this company no longer contact us in the future. CGI will not be held hostage with threats of “going on ****” .

 

Any future correspondences and threats from *** ****** ******* will be taken to the highest extent and will be pursued through the court of law. CGI Communications, Inc. will indeed go after the once “forgiven” and originally contracted balance that remains in the amount of $1,500.00. Additionally CGI will also pursue any and all legal fees associated in any further dealings with this matter.

 

Again *** is attempting to extort CGI Communications through the BBB for a refund on work that has clearly been done. All work has been performed and again is listed below.

 

Video #1

**************************************************************************

 

Video #2

**************************************************************************

 

Mobile website code created for client

*************************************

 

Click to text and tracking link

Guide Page Generated February 27, 2014 at 4:46 pm - **************************

 

Avatar Code –

Guide Page Generated April 25, 2014 at 10:52 am - **************************

Again” Guide Page Generated May 21, 2014 at 5:16 pm - **************************

 

 

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and i need to respond when I get back from vacation after the Thanksgiving day weekend I am temporarily out of town and unable to respond to the last response of CGI me. 

Regards,

***** ******

11/1/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I am a video producer near Seattle, Washington. In early July 2014 I answered a ********** ad from CGI Communications; they were looking for a video shooter. I took two shooting assignments. Both occurred in July 2014. At the time, the CGI rep assured me that 2 month payment was worst case, and that he'd try to push it through in 6 weeks (what a guy!). Well, it's been 9 weeks and I still am out the gas money for 10 hours of driving, and they haven't paid for the shooting either. The total amount CGI has paid me is $0.00. Last week, CGI said they feel bad, and they will rush payment to me. This week, I find out that means they will put a check in the mail to me in 3 weeks. They are in clear default of their own contract, and in no hurry at all to pay me. At this point, I'm thinking I may not be paid at all. After they missed their 2 month pay date, I got worried there was something wrong with the 7 DVDs of raw tape I sent. So I spoke with the two end-users. Both were satisfied with the work I did, and both said CGI was using the tape. Both had already seen an edited version. So I know CGI is using my work, just not paying for it. CGI says one of their missions is to treat freelance shooters well. You tell me. Are they treating me well? This company has treated me with arrogance... and worse.

Desired Settlement: They need to pay my $700 invoice NOW. TODAY. If they pay now, it will be 9 weeks after I performed the work. If they pay in 3 weeks, it will have been over 3 months. That's if they pay at all.

Business Response: ********

Payment has been issued and send to *** ******. As of today *** ****** should be in possession of payment for the services he rendered.


Respectfully,

*** **********
Director of Client Relations
CGI Communications Inc. & Next! Ad Agency
130 East Main St.
Rochester, NY 14604
###-###-#### extn 425
www.cgicompany.com
www.nextadagency.com

3/18/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My wife and I were approached October 21, 2013 by *** **** ****** of CGI Communications with an offer to produce a video of our company, ** ** ****** *******, for inclusion in Cowlitz County Washington’s tourism website. At that time *** ****** told us that *** ******, one of Cowlitz County’s Commissioners had referred him to us as a possible customer for this project. He also noted that the county’s website attracted an average of 28,000 visitors per month. Because *** ****** had referred ** ****** to us and that the traffic on the website was significant, we decided to go ahead with the video. At that time we made a payment of $1150 and three cases of wine (retail value $1000) and paid $138 to ship the wine to CGI Communications. The price of the package came to $3295. It was agreed that the remaining balance was $1145. We paid the remaining balance around the end of December. Our video was to be installed as one several of icon buttons residing on the Welcome page around a tourism type photo in the center of the page. In addition, the video was to be installed on two other pages, one called tourism and another called things to do. In addition we were given a link to the video for inclusion on our website and a DVD of the video. The DVD can only be used by playing on a DVD player which is not useful to us. CGI retained the rights to the video and allows our use as a subscription. CGI gave us 2 years of subscription after which a renewal would be required by us. As noted, ** ****** approached us in October 2013 when we made the contract. Around the 3rd or 4th week of January 2014 I received a call from a friend who works for county tourism to discuss a possible promotion she was working on. At that time I told her that we had a video made by CGI for the tourism website. She then told me that CGI was not going to upgrade the website and were told that last November (2013). I told her that *** ****** had referred ** ****** to us and she said “I don’t think so”. She then explained that some businesses that CGI had approached were complaining about the representative and their lack of professionalism. Subsequently, the county told CGI to stop soliciting for the project and that the website would not be changed to add videos or upgrade. I never had any complaints about *** ****** while completing the deal. After getting the news from my friend, I talked to the commissioner, *** ****** and he related the same thing to me that CGI had been told to stop work on the project. In fact, *** ****** told me that CGI had actually approached the county to do this project and the county basically told CGI to go ahead if you want with no agreement to actually update the website. In addition, he told me that he never referred CGI to anyone for inclusion in this project. I have tried calling *** ****** and have sent emails. I have left several messages with *** ****** and he doesn’t return my calls. I have sent emails and get responses but no action. When I first contacted *** ****** by email I was told that there was a misunderstanding and the problem would be fixed in a few days. I double checked with the county and nothing had changed. I emailed back to him and was told that CGI was working on a resolution. Since then I have received some responses to my emails and some not. I was told by email week before last that I would be contacted early last week but heard nothing. I sent ** ****** an email late last week and reminding him that I had not heard from CGI early last week and he told me that a Mr Al Forys had tried several times to call me. But last week I never received a call from anyone from CGI. The last response that I received from ** ****** was that Al Forys was out today (Monday 2-24) but would be back on Tuesday and would call me then. Today is Wednesday and I have not received any communication from CGI.

Desired Settlement: It is stated in my contract that the video will be done as a partnership with the “project”, Cowlitz County and will be displayed on the “project” website. Because CGI did not contact us and stop the production of the video when they were told that the work would not be placed on the website and were not honest with us initially I believe that this constitutes fraud on the part of CGI. I am expecting to get a full refund of the money I have spent. In total we paid CGI $2295 in cash and nearly $1150 in wine and shipping. I would like a complete refund of the $2295 cash and $594 for the wine and shipping. The $594 includes the wholesale price of the wine and shipping charges. In total I want to be reimbursed $2889. As soon as I found out that the county website would not be updated with our video I removed the link to the video from our website and will be happy to return the DVD as well.

Business Response:

To Whom It May Concern,


I am pleased to report that we have reached a settlement agreement with our client.  I would like to take a moment to address the circumstances surrounding the issues, which led to the customers complaint. I would first like to point out that CGI Communications, Inc. and eLocalLink have partnered with thousands of Communities, Counties, Chamber's of Commerce, and hundreds of  Regional, State and National Associations throughout North America. Working directly with Mayor's, Governors, City Managers, County Executives and Association Presidents; CGI Communications works in partnership with the US Conference of Mayors, National League of Cities and is a Premier Corporate Member of the National Association of Counties. CGI Communications, Inc. has become a premier endorsed partner of both the U.S. Conference of Mayors and the National League of Cities, as well as a premier corporate member of the National Association of Counties.


Under no circumstances would we ever contact a local business to become involved in any of our Community Video Program's without the express written consent by one of the  aforementioned Mayors, Governors, City Manager, County Executive or Association Presidents.  


As we initially approached our client and eventual sponsor for the Community Video Program, by all means we had a signed contractual agreement in place with the County's Tourism Director, to not only produce the video program but to additionally approach the local businesses as a sponsor for supporting business, tourism, and population growth for the governing program. Due to the issue of the governing signatory reneging on the contractual agreement, we have been presented with this unfortunate situation.


Again we would like to state that we have successfully reached a mutually satisfying agreement with our customer, which has been signed by both parties.


In closing CGI Communications, Inc. is a company built on solid relationships with Communities, State, County and National Level Associations, as well as the local  Businesses, that represent these organizations.



*** **********
Director Of Client Relations
CGI Communications Inc. & Next! Ad Agency
130 East Main St.
Rochester, NY 14604
###-###-#### extn ***
www.cgicommunications.com
www.nextadagency.com



Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

1 Customer Review on CGI Communications, Inc.
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart