BBB Accredited Business since

Amsterdam Printing Company

Additional Locations

Phone: (800) 833-6231 Fax: (518) 843-5204 View Additional Phone Numbers 166 Wallins Corners Rd, Amsterdam, NY 12010 http://www.amsterdamprinting.com View Additional Web Addresses ! There is an alert on Amsterdam Printing Company !

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This business offers imprinted promotional products, such as calendars, pens, and apparel.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Amsterdam Printing Company meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Amsterdam Printing Company include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 8 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

8 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 2
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 5
Total Closed Complaints 8

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

2 Customer Reviews on Amsterdam Printing Company
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 2
Total Customer Reviews 2

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: October 13, 1992 Business started: 01/01/1898 in NY Business started locally: 01/01/1898 Business incorporated: 01/16/1996 in MN
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Tim Broadhead, President Ms. Mallory Richstone, Complaint Contact
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Tim Broadhead, President
Customer Contact: Ms. Mallory Richstone, Complaint Contact
Business Category

PROMOTIONAL PRODUCTS ADVERTISING SPECIALTIES PRINTERS NON-WEARABLE PROMOTIONAL PRODUCTS

Method(s) of Payment
Credit Cards (VISA, MasterCard, American Express & Discover), Check, Purchase Order, and Bill Me (pending credit appr.)
Refund and Exchange Policy
The company states that it unconditionally guarantees the products and services it offers. It will replace, credit, or refund a customer orders up to 365 days after receiving shipment. As of 11/27/2013.
Alternate Business Names
GO Promos Holland USA

Additional Locations

  • 166 Wallins Corners Rd

    Amsterdam, NY 12010

  • PO Box 580

    Amsterdam, NY 12010

  • PO Box 701

    Amsterdam, NY 12010

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (518) 842-6000(Phone)
  • (800) 523-9909(Phone)
X

Additional Web Addresses

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations

X

The BBB has received information that another company is using the phone number for Amsterdam Printing in their advertisements. Amsterdam Printing is in no way associated with Pro Secure 2012 and does not offer any antivirus software.


Complaint Detail(s)

3/23/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I ordered 50 pens for a total charge of $91.52 and was called within a half hour and told I could order a hundred pens for a total cost of $120.76. My account was charged and additional $57.51. I have tried calling but am put on hold without anyone picking up.

Desired Settlement: I want the adjustment made to my account of $28.27.

Business Response: I have been in contact with ***** ***** and this issue has been resolved to our customer's satisfaction as of today's date, 3/19/15, date we received complaint from BBB. We did not credit Ms. ***** the $28.27 she originally requested as this was incorrect. We did credit Ms. *****, with her approval, the amount of $9.56. Ms. ***** was satisfied that the complaint was rectified in a precise and timely manner. Thank you, ******* ********* Executive Assistant

Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. Pleased with the quick response time and very satisfied with results. Thank you Regards, ***** *****

2/18/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased pens form Amsterdam and they imprinted my logo over what appears to be an already existing logo. I called them to try to sort it out, but the person in charge said that I would have to sort through all the pens and send back the defective ones. At first i thought it was only a few, but to my surprise over 100 of my pens have the same issue. I am upset at the fact that the pens were recycled and that they passed quality control for a supposed reputable company. This is unfair for the consumer and if this was a means to recycle than Amsterdam should notify the consumer instead of letting them wait and get surprised with a sub par product. I expect a full refund for this and I agree to never do business with this company. I am sure I'm not the only consumer to go through this.

Desired Settlement: I would like a full refund. If they want the pens back than the company can send me the return box with full paid postage and i will mail all faulty pens back. Also, I would like the company to make it a standard to let the consumers know that they're recycling their pens to reduce cost. It's only fair. It should be the consumers choice to choose a refurbished pen at a discount vs. purchasing a new product. This is basic business ethics 101. Thank you for your consideration in this matter.

Business Response: I would like to respond to Mr. ******'s complaint regarding product issues. I have been in contact with Mr. ****** and he has accepted our resolution of replacing the poor quality order at no extra cost. We are also having the order returned back to Amsterdam at no extra cost to our customer. It is Amsterdam's goal to achieve 100% Customer Satisfaction with our customers. It is with this policy in mind that action was taken immediately for Mr. ******. Sincerely, ********* ********* VOC Amsterdam

Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.  Regards, ***** *******

10/29/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On September 18, 2014, my business received four (4) identical sales catalogs from Amsterdam Printing, all addressed to ******* ********. I've requested that our company name be removed from their mailing list on several occasions, and I'm still receiving multiple UNWANTED mailings from this company. I want this stopped now!

Desired Settlement: To never receive another piece of mail from Amsterdam Printing.

Business Response: I would like to respond to Mr. ******'s complaint regarding Service Issues. I have been in contact with Mr. ****** and advised him that Amsterdam has taken the necessary steps to prevent any future mailings. It is Amsterdam's goal to achieve 100% Customer Satisfaction with our customers. It is with this policy in mind that action was taken immediately today for ** ******. Sincerely, ********* ********* VOC Amsterdam

7/24/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: When I contacted the Customer Service Ordering Dept. to place the order they were not able to provide me the discounted price as quoted in the advertisement. The representative informed me that she would correct the price and send me the updated pricing. I informed the representative that before the order could be placed, I must approve the pricing. I called back to customer service to verify the pricing and the representative informed me that the product had already been printed and was shipped. I informed the representative that the order was not approved to print. Since the order has arrived, I have reviewed the product and many of the items are printed on both sides and should only be printed on the top. Many of the disks are printed off center. I have contacted the company on many occasions and no returned phone calls. They have responded that they will call me on twitter and no response.

Desired Settlement: I am requesting a billing adjustment in the amount of $250.00 for the poor printing quality and for the fact that when I placed the order I explained the promotional amount that was budgeted for this order was $300.00.

Business Response:

We have received notice of Mr. *******'s complaint regarding his customer service issue. We have spoken with Mr. ******* and have agreed to credit him the full purchase price of $584.92 instead of the disputed amount of $250.00. The credit has been issued. Mr. ******* was thankful for the resolution as we are for the opportunity to prove to Mr. ******* he is truly a valued customer. Amsterdam offers a 100% Customer Satisfaction Guarantee.
It is with this policy in mind that we immediately took this action for Mr. *******.
Sincerely,
********* *********
VOC
Amsterdam
###-###-####, ext. ****

7/1/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: company advertises products at a given price, and also offers 20% discount on advertised prices. However, then the company adds on additional fees for "handling" thus creating a higher cost than the advertised price or discounted price per unit. This excess charge is NOT a shipping charge, since I opted to have the shipping of the product billed to our own shipping account with UPS. Additionally, when I asked the sales agent ******* how much was the final cost billed to my company credit card, I was told the total amount would be 111.54. However when I get the invoice I am billed 120.75 with the additional 9.21 added to the order as a shipping charge, AND my companies' own UPS account was ALSO billed shipping charges for the Order. Thus DOUBLE charging for the shipping charges. see order # *******. When I asked ******* again before finalizing the order what the final cost billed was he only told me the 111.54 amount. ******* required credit card # be given to him BEFORE he would give me the final billed cost of 111.54 amount. There is NO special printing or press layout for the standard off the shelf item ordered so no additional set up charge should have been charged.

Desired Settlement: want the company to advertise thier actual product cost they are charging and not add on additional handling charges for thier overhead or whatever the charged shipping handling costs are billed for, and refund the ship/hand. charges the company has charged me. Companies deceptive practices are not right to add additional shipping charges than are billed by the UPS shipper on our companies own shipping account, since UPS would not be billing Amsterdam for shipping our order. Additional added on costs after the order is placed causes me to be unable to compare other companies products - prices. Thus appearing to falsely represent thier product sales costs.

Business Response:

This is in response to a complaint filed by **** ***** regarding a recent order experience. The complaint referenced placing an order with Amsterdam Printing for Deluxe monthly planners with the assumption he would not be charged a handling fee. **** did provide a UPS for shipping but we do charge a handling fee to package the product out. This is a standard procedure in the business industry. Since this information was not relayed to ****, we will waive the handling fee and credit the amount of $9.21 to his account. Going forward, any orders placed with Amsterdam Printing will incur a handling fee. It is Amsterdam's goal to achieve 100% Customer Satisfaction with our customers. It is with this policy in mind that action was taken immediately for **** *****.

Sincerely,

****** *****
Quality Assurance Manager

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint I* *******, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

Thanks for helping me with my complaint about Amsterdam Printing.  I am not comfortable with removing my complaint as "settled in favor of customer" because they only partially resolved the issue I complained to your office about as further clarified below.

As a follow-up to my filed complaint, Amsterdam has contacted me regarding their overbilling practice of adding a "handling" charge to my order when I had them ship my order through my own UPS Account instead of billing it to me on my order.  Amsterdam elected to return the overcharged "handling" charge to me that they had charged me prompting my BBB Complaint to your Office.  As of today, I have not yet seen the credit they promised me on the phone the other day.

However, the issue of my original BBB Complaint remains that Amsterdam refuses to change their prices to reflect the "handling" charges they assess each customer as a % of their order costs, even when the item ordered is an "off the shelf" item and no printing is needed on the item.

Amsterdam fails to disclose that their "handling" charge is in addition to and separate from the "shipping" charges.  This is not properly disclosed in their sales catalogs either.

Another aspect of their misleading advertisement is they promise me the low "special" price I am to get on the item, and yet as I placed my order, they did not want to honor the "special" prices or order total they advertised in their catalog.  I did call them back on this as well, and before the item was shipped, they corrected the "special" price advertised in their sales catalog they sent to me for me to receive.  I had call back to speak with a manager there, rather than their sales rep allowing me to have the advertised special price for the item advertised.

Business Response: We have received notice of Mr. *****'s response to our resolution in regards to his most recent complaint. Please see below explanations to address Mr. *****'s concerns.


"As a follow-up to my filed complaint. Amsterdam has contacted me regarding their overbilling practice of adding a "handling" charge to my order when I had them ship my order through my own UPS Account instead of billing it to me on my order. Amsterdam elected to return the overcharged "handling" charge to me that they had charged me prompting my BBB Complaint to your Office. As of today, I have not yet seen the credit they promised me on the phone the other day."- It has been verified through our Credit Department that the charge was reversed back to his credit card on 6/19/13.

"However, the issue of my original BBB Complaint remains that Amsterdam refuses to change their prices to reflect the "handling" charges they assess each customer as a % of their order costs, even when the item ordered is an "off the shelf item and no printing is needed on the item." - Shipping & handling charges are extra on every order as is stated in our marketing material. An "off the shelf" item that does not require imprinting will not be assessed a "set-up" fee but will still have shipping and handling charges added to the cost of the item.

"Amsterdam fails to disclose that their "handling" charge is in addition to and separate from the "shipping" charges. This is not properly disclosed in their sales catalogs either." - S&H charges are disclosed in all of Amsterdam's advertising materials as well as our website. I have enclosed a copy of the offer Mr. ***** received highlighting the S&H disclosure.

"Another aspect of their misleading advertisement is they promise me the low "special" price I am to get on the item, and yet as I placed my order, they did not want to honor the "special" prices or order total they advertised in their catalog. I did call them back on this as well, and before the item was shipped, they corrected the "special" price advertised in their sales catalog they sent to me for me to receive. I had call back to speak with a manager there, rather than their sales rep allowing me to have the advertised special price for the item advertised." - This transactional call was reviewed. Mr. ***** had two coupon codes. One was for a 20% discount and another for a free gift on orders over $100.00. Our policy is one offer per customer order, coupon codes cannot be combined. Our agent explained our policy to Mr. *****. Mr. ***** decided to use the 20% discount offer. Mr. ***** did call back to express his dissatisfaction with not receiving a free gift, which was the coupon code he decided not to use. To satisfy him, on that date we approved to ship the free gift even though he did not qualify.

We feel we have resolved this issue to the best of our ability.

1) We have credited the handling charge on the order in question. Mr. ***** has been a customer of Amsterdam since 2008 and has always been charges a handling fee on every order.

2) We have explained that a handling charge is applied to all marketing materials, not just imprinted items. S&H fees are a combination of the charges required to pay for shipping a product and the labor involved in preparing those items for shipping. Mr. ***** supplied his own shipper account information and he was not charged for shipping. However, he would still be accessed a handling charge.

3) We have provided the offer Mr. ***** received as proof of disclosing our S&H charges, (see copy enclosed)

4) We reviewed the customer's transaction and the agent explained to Mr. ***** that offers cannot be combined. We gave Mr. ***** the choice of which offer he wanted to take advantage of. He chose the 20% discount code. We did satisfy Mr. ***** after he called back and authorized a free gift to be shipped even though the offer he chose to use did not offer a free gift..

Please don't hesitate to contact me with any additional questions. I look forward to your reply.

Sincerely,

********* *********
VOC
Voice of the Consumer

11/20/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues
10/31/2012 Problems with Product/Service
10/9/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Requesedt to be removed from mailing list but states can only do so with code from catalog. Do not have time to track every catalog from every company and the latest catalog has already been taken out for recycling. Requested last school year as well but we are still receiving unsolicited mailings.

Desired Settlement: Company needs to remove us from its mailing list....suggest that it change its internal process. Thanks!

Business Response: Please find enclosed a copy of the letter sent to ****** ** ****** ******* regarding mailing list removal complaint. We have taken action to resolve this matter and will keep the Better Business Bureau informed of completed action resolving this issue. It is Amsterdam's goal to achieve 100% Customer Satisfaction. It is with this policy in mind that we are taking immediate action for ****** ** ****** *******.

To Whom It May Concern:

We have received notice of complaint from the Better Business Bureau for mailing list removal. We apologize and understand the inconvenience of this issue. We are working on resolving this complaint as quickly as possible. The complaint made mention of Amsterdam needing the catalog code in order to remove your name
from our mailing list. The code supplied on the mailing piece is a vital piece of information. Since you are not in our customer database, the code is the only link that can provide us with your mailing information. I understand how frustrating this must sound to you, but ask that if you contact us with the catalog code once you receive another mailing, we will then be able to satisfy your request. I am providing the number of ******* *********, Executive Assistant to Amsterdam's President *** *********. She will personally oversee that your name is removed from the prospective customer database once we hear back from you. *******'s direct line is ###-###-#### . Ms. ********* has been made aware of this issue and will be more than happy to assist. We apologize again for any inconvenience this has caused you.

Sincerely,

********* *********
VOC, Amsterdam

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

Please just have them remove us...I am not able to keep track of which companies need catalog codes. The company sent me someone'sphone number but I have already contacted the company to take care of this.

Thank you!