BBB Accredited Business since

Amsterdam Printing Company

Additional Locations

Phone: (800) 833-6231 Fax: (518) 843-5204 View Additional Phone Numbers 166 Wallins Corners Rd, Amsterdam, NY 12010 http://www.amsterdamprinting.com View Additional Web Addresses

! There is an alert on Amsterdam Printing Company !


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This business offers imprinted promotional products, such as calendars, pens, and apparel.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Amsterdam Printing Company meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for Amsterdam Printing Company include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 10 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

10 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 4
Billing/Collection Issues 3
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 10

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

6 Customer Reviews on Amsterdam Printing Company
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 5
Total Customer Reviews 6

Additional Information

BBB file opened: October 13, 1992 Business started: 01/01/1898 in NY Business started locally: 01/01/1898 Business incorporated 01/16/1996 in MN
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Tim Broadhead, President Ms. Mallory Richstone, Complaint Contact
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Tim Broadhead, President
Customer Contact: Ms. Mallory Richstone, Complaint Contact
Business Category

PROMOTIONAL PRODUCTS ADVERTISING SPECIALTIES PRINTERS NON-WEARABLE PROMOTIONAL PRODUCTS

Method(s) of Payment
Credit Cards (VISA, MasterCard, American Express & Discover), Check, Purchase Order, and Bill Me (pending credit appr.)
Refund and Exchange Policy
The company states that it unconditionally guarantees the products and services it offers. It will replace, credit, or refund a customer orders up to 365 days after receiving shipment. As of 11/27/2013.
Alternate Business Names
GO Promos Holland USA

Additional Locations

  • 166 Wallins Corners Rd

    Amsterdam, NY 12010

  • PO Box 580

    Amsterdam, NY 12010

  • PO Box 701

    Amsterdam, NY 12010

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

10/21/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Amsterdam Printing advertised 50 pens for $0.99/each+ programming fee $19.95 + S&H+Tax. Item was prepaid by Check $83.60 sent in with order, but Amsterdam Printing send me a bill for $153.18., charging $1.59/each. I called Amsterdam on 6/3/15 explaining what has happened and they said they would get back to me. I called Amsterdam on 6/4/15 (because they did not get back to me) and I was told my account would be credited. On 06/11/15 the Billing Dept. from Amsterdam calls me requesting payment. I go over again with them and send them my original order, my cashed check. A few more calls from AP came in, but I repeated the same story. At the end of September of 2015 I received a letter from a collections agency informing a debt of $33.67. Amsterdam should be listed as Companies which falsely advertise for services/goods only to trap them into paying what they want. Please list them as not trustworthy company.

Desired Settlement: Credit Report Correction.

Business Response: I would like to respond to the complaint filed by ******* ** ********* in regards to Advertising Issues. Ms. ********** is disputing a billing amount of $33.67. An order, along with a prepaid check at stated, was received from this customer 5/27/2015. The order was incorrectly entered by Amsterdam creating this billing issue. A credit was applied 6/4/2015 leaving a balance of $33.67. Ms. ******** has been contacted and we are honoring her desired resolution of contacting the collection agency and clearing the balance owed of $33.67. We are committed to 100% Customer Satisfaction. It is with this policy in mind that immediate action was taken for ******* ** *********. Sincerely, Christine N. Voice of the Customer Amsterdam

10/9/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I attempted to order calendars for my smalll business and was told the offer had free shipping. After I put my offer in it added 34.00 free shipping. What up ? This is dishonest if not fraud. Please advise why do you say free shipping and then 33. dollars and change. I will use another company now .Thi is so wrong. I have done business with this company and they messed up the order but they fixed it but they will not even give me ear for this

Desired Settlement: The free shipping offer or at least a better deal this is media mail for Gods sake about 1/4 regular mail. There is a real issue here.

Business Response: September 30, 2015 Better Business Bureau 100 Bryant Woods South Amherst, NY 14228 Re: ****** ** ********* Case # ******** Dear *****: I would like to respond to the complaint filed by ****** ** ******** in regards to Advertising Issues. Ms. ******** complained she wasn't honored free shipping as advertised on our website. An order of calendars was entered via our website by Ms. ******** on 9/29/2015 at a sale price of .99 each using a special coupon code. We are also advertising a separate offer of free shipping with a separate coupon code. I would also like to note that it is stated in our advertising we only allow one coupon per offer. Ms. ******** has been contacted and we are honoring both offers of sale pricing and free shipping. We are committed to 100% Customer Satisfaction. It is with this policy in mind that immediate action was taken for ****** *. ********. Sincerely, Christine N Voice of the Customer Amsterdam

10/1/2015 Billing/Collection Issues
8/22/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I ordered pens through this company for promotion. They said 99 cents per pen with free shipping. I sent in check with that amount and two months later get bill I owe 57.00 for set up fee. Since that I have gotten same advertisement from them same price no small print of any more amount of money. They have turned in the amount of extra payment to a collection agency. I have spoken to collection agency twice to this date tried to call Amsterdam Printing and get disconnected 10 times. Collection agency has contacted them twice and they have not replied to collection agency either. When I talked to the collection agency today the Lady named Jessica and the other named Tapeka said she would get back to me but also said I haven't got time to talk to u any more Mamm.

Desired Settlement: Settled and no more contact from Amsterdam or collection agency because they seem shady also. We get calls from collection agency three times weekly collection agency # ###-###-####. Amsterdam Printing ####-###-####

Business Response: I would like to respond to the complaint filed by ***** ** ******* in regards to Advertising Issues. Mr. ******* complained about an outstanding debt of $57.00 with Amsterdam. An order of pens were produced and shipped to Mr. ******* at an advertised price of .99 each . Mr. ******* sent a check in advance, along with a mailed in order to cover the cost of the product only. The check excluded extra charges to cover set-up charges and S&H. Mr. ******* stated the offer he took advantage of advertised free shipping. On 4/23, Mr. ******* spoke with an agent at Amsterdam concerning an invoice he received for the extra charges. The original mailed in order was located to advise Mr. ******* that there was no offer of free shipping advertised. All the extra charges Mr. ******* received an invoice for were mentioned in the mailing he received. Mr. ******* has been contacted and we have credited the extra charges he is disputing. The collection agency has also been contacted and updated to not contact Mr. ******* any further regarding this issue. We are committed to 100% Customer Satisfaction. It is with this policy in mind that immediate action was taken for Mr. *******. Sincerely, Christine N. Voice of the Customer

7/15/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
6/5/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We paid 3 invoices with Check *****, which cleared our account on 04/07/2015. Amsterdam Printing did not apply the check to the correct invoices. We contacted them on 4/29/2015, 5/5/2015 and 5/27/2015 asking for them to show us what the check was applied to (by email they provided us over the phone) and they haven't responded nor made any corrections. Today we received notice that they've turned some amount over to collections. We have asked for a detailed statement of all invoices and how all payments were applied, but they will not respond. We do not believe we owe Amsterdam Printing anything. We did have some additional invoices after the mis-applied payment, however we chose to pay these online using a credit card to avoid the errors on their part.

Desired Settlement: A detailed list of all charges, payments and how payments were applied for our account, so we can determine if there is something that we do owe, since our records indicate we do not. To be forevermore, removed form the mailing/marketing lists, as we will no longer authorize any purchases from them.

Business Response: Reference is made to telephone conversation on Thursday, June 4 with ***** ***** regarding her complaint  against Amsterdam Printing, case number noted above. Ms. ***** received a list of all charges and payments , and how the payments were applied as requested in her complaint. An error was made when applying a portion of her check # ***** to a different outstanding order under same name. As a result late charges were issued which we have credited in full. The collection agency has also been notified that we were at fault in sending this customer to collection. Balance due was discussed during said phone call and both parties are in agreement to what is currently owed to Amsterdam Printing. Ms. ***** has agreed to remain on our mailing list. I have offered to oversee any future orders for her to ensure  no issues or complications arise. At Amsterdam  Printing our goal  is always to achieve  100% Customer  Satisfaction. Cordially, Mallory R.  Executive Assistant

Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.  Regards, ***** *****

6/4/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: In the mail we received a flyer to place a re-order of the purchase that we made a few months previous for 50 customized flash drives. We were very happy with the quality of the product that we received previously, so we went ahead and placed the re-order. On the re-order form there was a pre-printed price of $327.50 for 50 flash drives. The form had a picture of our logo to print, the price, and address of where to mail the check. We placed our order and were happy to quickly receive the shipment. AFTER our order had been delivered, we received an invoice from Amsterdam Printing for $83.15. When we inquired today about the second charge, we were informed that the additional charge was a setup fee and shipping. The advertisement that received was a bait and switch technique to get us to place the order, pay for it upfront, and then charge us an additional fee after we received the item. We were never contacted or notified about the additional fee until AFTER we already received the order.

Desired Settlement: The entire price of the order should have been printed on the advertisement. If there is ever any additional fees that Amsterdam Printing believes a customer should pay after the customer has submitted the originally agreed upon payment amount, Amsterdam Printing should contact the customer to get the customer's approval BEFORE the order is shipped out. At no time ever should a customer be charged an additional fee after delivery of the shipment without any prior communication or acceptance of those additoinal charges. We expect the $83.15 charge to be dropped from our bill and Amsterdam Printing to change their marketing practice to notify customers of the full price of orders upfront and not bill customers later for fees that were never discussed or agreed upon.

Business Response: I would like to respond to the complaint filed by ******* ******. The complaint involved receiving an additional invoice to cover S&H and set-up charges that were not included in her original payment. I was able to locate the original order and verified the extra charges in question were noted and would be applied. After speaking with *******, we are agreeing to waive the $83.15 as she is requesting. The set-up charge is a standard charge in our business and S&H will always occur. I have advised ******* any future orders are subject to set-up charges and S&H. ******* was also unhappy there wasn't adequate communication from us that her pre-payment would not be enough for the completed order. We will review our internal procedure for entering mail orders with pre-payments enclosed. Our goal is to achieve 100% Customer Satisfaction. It is with this policy in mind that action was taken immediately for *******. Sincerely, ********* *********

Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.  Regards, ******* ******

3/23/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I ordered 50 pens for a total charge of $91.52 and was called within a half hour and told I could order a hundred pens for a total cost of $120.76. My account was charged and additional $57.51. I have tried calling but am put on hold without anyone picking up.

Desired Settlement: I want the adjustment made to my account of $28.27.

Business Response: I have been in contact with ***** ***** and this issue has been resolved to our customer's satisfaction as of today's date, 3/19/15, date we received complaint from BBB. We did not credit Ms. ***** the $28.27 she originally requested as this was incorrect. We did credit Ms. *****, with her approval, the amount of $9.56. Ms. ***** was satisfied that the complaint was rectified in a precise and timely manner. Thank you, ******* ********* Executive Assistant

Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. Pleased with the quick response time and very satisfied with results. Thank you Regards, ***** *****

2/18/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased pens form Amsterdam and they imprinted my logo over what appears to be an already existing logo. I called them to try to sort it out, but the person in charge said that I would have to sort through all the pens and send back the defective ones. At first i thought it was only a few, but to my surprise over 100 of my pens have the same issue. I am upset at the fact that the pens were recycled and that they passed quality control for a supposed reputable company. This is unfair for the consumer and if this was a means to recycle than Amsterdam should notify the consumer instead of letting them wait and get surprised with a sub par product. I expect a full refund for this and I agree to never do business with this company. I am sure I'm not the only consumer to go through this.

Desired Settlement: I would like a full refund. If they want the pens back than the company can send me the return box with full paid postage and i will mail all faulty pens back. Also, I would like the company to make it a standard to let the consumers know that they're recycling their pens to reduce cost. It's only fair. It should be the consumers choice to choose a refurbished pen at a discount vs. purchasing a new product. This is basic business ethics 101. Thank you for your consideration in this matter.

Business Response: I would like to respond to Mr. ******'s complaint regarding product issues. I have been in contact with Mr. ****** and he has accepted our resolution of replacing the poor quality order at no extra cost. We are also having the order returned back to Amsterdam at no extra cost to our customer. It is Amsterdam's goal to achieve 100% Customer Satisfaction with our customers. It is with this policy in mind that action was taken immediately for Mr. ******. Sincerely, ********* ********* VOC Amsterdam

Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.  Regards, ***** *******

10/29/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On September 18, 2014, my business received four (4) identical sales catalogs from Amsterdam Printing, all addressed to ******* ********. I've requested that our company name be removed from their mailing list on several occasions, and I'm still receiving multiple UNWANTED mailings from this company. I want this stopped now!

Desired Settlement: To never receive another piece of mail from Amsterdam Printing.

Business Response: I would like to respond to Mr. ******'s complaint regarding Service Issues. I have been in contact with Mr. ****** and advised him that Amsterdam has taken the necessary steps to prevent any future mailings. It is Amsterdam's goal to achieve 100% Customer Satisfaction with our customers. It is with this policy in mind that action was taken immediately today for ** ******. Sincerely, ********* ********* VOC Amsterdam


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

6 Customer Reviews on Amsterdam Printing Company
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart