BBB Accredited Business since

SKS Bottle & Packaging, Inc.

Phone: (518) 880-6980 Fax: (518) 880-6990 2600 7th Ave., Building 60 West, Watervliet , NY 12189 http://www.sks-bottle.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This business offers packaging materials to include, plastic/glass bottles, jars and containers.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that SKS Bottle & Packaging, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for SKS Bottle & Packaging, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 6 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

6 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 3
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 6

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

7 Customer Reviews on SKS Bottle & Packaging, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 3
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 4
Total Customer Reviews 7

Additional Information

BBB file opened: October 11, 2010 Business started: 01/01/1986 in NY Business started locally: 01/01/1986 Business incorporated 10/30/1986 in NY
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Ms. Amanda Boisvert, Sales Manager Mr. Kendall Horan, President
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Amanda Boisvert, Sales Manager
Principal: Mr. Kendall Horan, President
Business Category

PACKAGING MATERIALS BOTTLES - WHOLESALE & MANUFACTURERS


Additional Locations

  • 2600 7th Ave., Building 60 West

    Watervliet , NY 12189 (518) 880-6980

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

11/22/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Packages were mailed to my home with an unknown name. I contacted SKS asking them to have UPS pick them up- that there was no such person at this address. UPS did not pick the packages up, and when I contacted SKS they told me that they had contacted the named individual and instructed them to pick the packages up. This individual was not the previous homeowner, but apparently a previous occupant. We have unresolved legal issues with the previous owner and theft and trespassing by relatives/relations. It is very disconcerting that rather than asking UPS to pick-up and re-deliver, they would instruct an unknown individual to trespass to retrieve the packages after otherwise was specifically requested of them by the property owner.

Desired Settlement: Practice common sense- if a package is delivered incorrectly- use the shipper to correct the problem- by no means do you instruct an individual to trespass on private property.

Business Response: To Whom It May Concern:
We at SKS take complaints about our business very seriously. We have reviewed complaint
#******** from our customer and detai ls on our review of this complaint follow.
The individual who filed this complaint is not an SKS Bottle & Packaging customer. Our
customer, ******, placed an order on our website and entered in their shipping address. From
what we understand, ****** no longer resides at this address. When Mr. ****** contacted us to
let us know that the packages were at his residence, we contact ******. ****** informed our
customer service representative, ********, that he would go get the packages from Mr. ******.
******** then advised Mr. ****** that ****** would pick these items up, and Mr. ******
indicated at that point that ****** was not allowed on the property. ******** told Mr. ******
that if ****** wasn't allowed on the property, then she would suggest contacting the local
authorities as Mr. ****** had indicated they were already involved. She also advised Mr. ******
that if he did not want ****** to pick the packages up, that he should dispose of the packages.
Mr. ****** contacted the Better Business Bureau after our business had closed on 10/29, before
******** was able to respond to his email regarding the issue. She responded to him first thing
in the morning on 10/30. I have included a copy of the emails between Mr. ****** and ********.
If you have any questions about Complaint #******** or need any further documentation,
please do not hesitate to contact me personally. I can be reached at ###-###-#### Ext.***.
Thank you for your attention to this matter.
Best Regards,
****** ********
Inside Sales Manager

9/1/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have called and e-mailed the customer service department on numerous occasions regarding the status of my order that was placed on 8/1 (I believe). The charge for my order finally went through on 8/5, however I have never received a confirmation e-mail stating my order number, or anything, thus making it impossible for me to see where my order is in terms of being processed and shipped. When I try to talk to a live customer service rep as their website advertises, no one is available. When I call, I am repeatedly sent to voicemail. I have e-mailed and have received no response. I am very discouraged and am looking to find information about my order for my own piece of mind before I call my credit card company and cancel the order all together. I have also tried to reset my password for the website and am unable to do that as well.

Desired Settlement: Not only do I feel like I should have my order expedited due to the company's lack of communication, but I feel I should get a response from the company in the form of an e-mail with my order number and package tracking number. This lack of communication is hurting my business as well as theirs, as I will not order from this company again unless their customer service department changes for the better.

Business Response: We at SKS take complaints about our business very seriously. We have reviewed complaint
#******** from our customer and details on our review of this complaint follow.
Our customer placed their order on Friday, 8/1/14. The order was processed into our warehouse
and shipped on Tuesday, 8/5/14. Our orders do ship in 2-3 business days, and our customers
order did ship within this time frame. This customer received her order on the same day that the
complaint was issued with the Better Business Bureau. When placing an order on our website,
as soon as the order is placed, a confirmation email is sent to the email address used when
placing the order. We do find that occasionally, these emails do go to our customers junk/spam
folders, which may have happened in this case. We also send tracking information once an order
has shipped. We will certainly look into why this particular customer did not receive these
emails, but again, they are automatically generated as soon as the order is placed, and again once
the order has shipped.
If you have any questions about Complaint #******** or need any further documentation,
please do not hesitate to contact me personally. I can be reached at ###-###-#### Ext.***.
Thank you for your attention to this matter.
Best Regards,
****** ********
Inside Sales Manager

8/1/2014 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I ordered my products on June 4, 2014. Until I called and complained on June 18, 2014 no effort had been made to ship my products. June 19 and 20, 23 2014 my orders were supposedly ready to ship, but had not shipped.

Desired Settlement: I want my products shipped via overnight delivery.

Business Response: 7/10/2014
To Whom It May Concern:
We at SKS take complaints about our business very seriously. We have reviewed complaint
# ******** from our customer and details on our review of this complaint follow.
Our customer placed their order on 6/4 after hours, and it was received on 6/5. We contacted the
customer to retrieve details regarding the shipping address on the order, and based on review of
this order, once it was received, was never released to our warehouse for processing. This is
not typical of procedures at SKS Bottle & Packaging, and we do regret that this incident
occurred. At the time the customer contacted the Better Business Bureau, the order had already
shipped from our warehouse, so we are not able to complete the desired settlement. Our
customer can contact us, and we can look into a credit for our customer to use on a future order.
If you have any questions about Complaint # ******** or need any further documentation,
please do not hesitate to contact me personally. I can be reached at ###-###-#### Ext.***.
Thank you for your attention to this matter.
Best Regards,
****** ********
Inside Sales Manager

6/20/2014 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Sks Bottling Company failed to correct the shipping address for my order. However, they corrected the billing address so that they could receive payment. Per UPS, my order was delivered to a VACANT home. When I called to talk to a customer service representative, I was tossed around line to line then eventually forwarded to a voicemail. I have left several voicemails and emails but no one is responding. BILL TO: **** ******* (*******) ***** ******** ***** ** Jacksonville, FL 32219 United States of America SHIP VIA: UPSRG SUBTOTAL $55.56 SHIPPING $19.58 ORDER TOTAL $75.14 was paid 05/09/2014 by credit card. No one is trying correct the problem or ensure that I receive my order.

Desired Settlement: Refund

Business Response: 6/13/2014
We at SKS take complaints about our business very seriously. We have reviewed complaint
# ******** and details on our review of this complaint follow.
We have reviewed our customers order that she placed on our website, and have determined that
the order was delivered that was entered when she placed order. We also reviewed all phone
calls from our customer since she stated she did call and had the address corrected, however, we
are unable to find any phone calls from this customer showing this. Since the customer entered
the address on the order, we have advised her that she would need to place a new order. We are
unable to retrieve the package that was shipped. I have included the email between myself and
the customer explaining that we shipped to the address that was entered, and also copied a copy
of the order confirmation into that email. Those documents are enclosed. While SKS did ship to
the address on the order, we will issue our customer the full refund they have requested of
$75.19
If you have any questions about Complaint # I ******* or need any further documentation,
please do not hesitate to contact me personally. I can be reached at * *********** **** ****
Thank you for your attention to this matter.
Best Regards,
****** ********
Inside Sales Manager

4/16/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I PLACED AND ORDER ONLINE ON 3/17/14 IN THE A.M. AND THE WEBSITE ADVERTISED 2-3 DAYS SHIPPING FOR ALL ITEMS. ALSO I PAID THE SAME AMOUN FOR SHIPPING AS I DID FOR MY ITEM. UPS GROUND DOESNT COST THAT MUCH. SO I CALLED AND INQUIRED ABOUT MY ITEMS BECAUSE I NEVER RECIEVED THE EMAIL CONFIRMATION FOR MY ORDER ON THE 17TH. AFTER CALLING 22 TIMES AND NOT BEING ABLE TO GET A HUMAN ON THE PHONE I SUBMIITED A EMAIL VIA THE WEBSITE. I GOT A RESPONSE FROM A GUY NAMED ****. HE THEN GOT THE INVOICE T ME AND ALSO TOLD ME HE WOULD PUT A RUSH ON MY ORDERBECAUSE THE WAREHOUSE WAS BACKED UP. WELL IF YOUR BACKED UP AND CANT KEEP WITH YOUR WORD YOU GET SOME TEMPS. THEN I CALLED BACK ON THE 20TH AS REQUESTED AND I WAS TOLDMY ORDER STILL HASNT SHIPPED. SO ON FRIDAY I CONTACTED **** WHO TOLD ME MY ORDER WOULD IN FACT GO OUT FRIDAY. TO NO AVAIL I NEVER RECIEVED A EMAIL SAYING MY ITEM SHIPPED. SO I CALLED THE CUSTOMER SERVICE LINE MONDAY MORNING AND WASTOLD MY ITEM STILL HADN'T SHIPPED BUT IT WOULD GO OUT. AT 11:50 STILL NO CONFIRMATION. I EMAILED **** AND ASK FOR A SUPERVISORS LINE AND HE DISREGARDS THAT AND TELLS ME MY ITEM SHIPPED. YET IM STILL WAITING ON A CONFIRMATIONS. THIS IS CRAP AND THIS BUSINESS NEEDS TO GET THINGS IN ORDER. I HAVE NEVER EXPERIENCED SUCH A THING.

Desired Settlement: MY SHIPPING COST.

Business Response: Better Business Bureau
100 Bryant Woods South
Amherst, NY 14228
Complaint ID: *******
To Whom It May Concern:
4/ 11 /2014
We at SKS take complaints about our business very seriously. We have reviewed complaint
#******* from ******** ****** and details on our review of this complaint follow.
While SKS does typically ship orders out within 2-3 business days, we do sometimes see delays
with processing due to the amount of orders we are receiving. We have recently updated our
processing time to 3-5 days to more accurately portray our shipping times.
To resolve this issue with our customer, SKS will credit the cost of shipping to Ms. ******. The
credit of$16.72 will be issued back to the credit card that was used to place this order.
If you have any questions about Complaint #******* or need any further documentation, please
do not hesitate to contact me personally. I can be reached at ###-###-#### Ext.***. Thank you
for your attention to this matter.
Best Regards,
****** ********
Inside Sales Manager

11/6/2013 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: A shipment of jars was purchased from SKS which was delivered to our facility without the Certificate of Compliance (CoC). By FDA guidelines, all products (raw materials or packaging components) require a Certificate of Analysis or Certificate (CoA) of Compliance to show the item is the correct item and it meets standards and specifications. SKS was contacted with regards to this issue, but responded that their manufacturer charges them a $50 fee for each CoC and since SKS does not require this document, this fee needs to be paid by the customer which is unlawful.

Desired Settlement: We require all the proper documents including the CoC at no cost.

Business Response:

Better Business Bureau
100 Bryant Woods South
Amherst, NY 14228
Complaint ID: *******
To Whom It May Concern:
We at SKS take complaints about our business very seriously . We have reviewed complaint
#******* from **** **** and details on our review of this complaint follow.
Mr. **** ordered 16 cases of our 80z Black PCR PET Straight Sided Jars (item # ************),
and after reviewing the purchase order that was sent in, we did find that the Certificate of
Compliance request was missed on the entry of the order. We will be sending Mr. **** a
Certificate of Compliance at no charge.
SKS is not required to provide a Certificate of Compliance as a distributor, and there is no area
on our website indicating that these will be provided for all items. We are considering adding
information to our website to indicate that Certificate of Compliance may not be available for all
stock items, and that charges may apply for Certificate of Compliance certificates on some cases.
If you have any questions about Complaint #******* or need any further documentation, please
do not hesitate to contact me personally. I can be reached at ###-###-#### Ext. ***. Thank you
for your attention to this matter.
Best Regards,
****** ********
Inside Sales Manager


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

7 Customer Reviews on SKS Bottle & Packaging, Inc.
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart