BBB Accredited Business since

Global Polygraph Network, Inc.

Phone: (607) 398-9009 Fax: (607) 398-9062 PO Box 4444, Elmira, NY 14904 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.polytest.org


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This business offers lie detection (polygraph) services & referrals.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Global Polygraph Network, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Global Polygraph Network, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 4 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 4
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

4 Customer Reviews on Global Polygraph Network, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 4
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 4

Additional Information

BBB file opened: January 20, 2009 Business started: 04/01/1987 in NY Business started locally: 04/01/1987 Business incorporated 03/20/2007 in PA
Type of Entity

Corporation

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. R. Michael Martin, President
Business Category

LIE DETECTION SERVICE


Additional Locations

  • PO Box 4444

    Elmira, NY 14904

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

5/4/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Global Polygraph Network, Inc.Complaint: I paid $750.00 to take a lie detector. When test was administered the whole process wasn't explained to me properly., They had me sign all the paperwork PRIOR to initiating the pretesting and test which I later found out was overtly flawed by Micheal M improper questioning, I did not agree to the test questions. I initially and with your rework his "rewording" of the questions made me even more uncomfortable. This test was taken for my own purpose, for my own piece of mind, under my authority and I paid for it. The test site was in a run down cold damp smelly dreary very noisy uncomfortable private airport room. Not in a professionally sound environment . I clearly told Micheal M at least twice about my reservations as to the way he worded the questions. I clearly informed Mr ****** verbatim "you the way you worded the questions would rise "doubt". Mr ****** as a polygraph professional should have stopped rite there as apparently any "doubt" will flaw a polygraph test. I will not debate what I clearly Micheal ****** of nor will I debate that Micheal ****** flawed the test by not listening to me; the customer. Additionally Micheal ****** stopped the test indicating that I "appeared tired" yet another symptom of Mr ******s inability to properly test an examinee After I supposedly "failed" the questions that were asked to me which I know are truthful, I informed Micheal ****** that his test was flawed and that in fact her had created the flaw in the test. Polygraph network is supposed to be bbb accredited but after testing and looking up where they sent me to be tested, that place is not. I wouldn't have proceeded with the test if I knew this. I wanted a testing site that would be upfront and explain the testing process not someone who AFTER testing me tells me that other factors could affect my results. All this information should have been up front not after the incorrectly obtained alleged results were given. I was sent an email saying my results were "unfavorable". Why would anybody spend $750.00 if they know they are a liar? especially for there own purpose. I wasn't even provided a receipt. I'm very upset because I was mislead and I never would have chosen Micheal ****** of Polygraph network, Micheal ****** knew this, My sole purpose was to clear my name but instead I was taken for $750.00. I have since retested with a Reputable Polygraph firm and my results using the same method test are that I am telling the truth.

Desired Settlement: I would like a full and complete refund. I want all this infraction of Polygraph ethics By Micheal ****** including the results from the same test as conducted by another Polygraph agency using the same testing materials with a 100% opposite result to be published herein and this to be noted on BBB's website. I do not want anyone to be tricked into a situation like this. It not fair nor is it right. I would also like to publish my latest test results so people can see what a cheat Micheal ****** Polygraph is

Business Response: ***** *******This is a simple case of the customer not liking the results he obtained, so after he failed our exam he shopped around until he found a company that would give him the result he wanted.  

*** ******* signed a release form before and after the exam stating "I understand that the results of such a test and the conclusions drawn therefrom by Global Polygraph Network, its officers, agents, and employees, may prove unfavorable to me.  I do, none-the-less, hold Global Polygraph Network Network, its officers, agents, and employees free and harmless from any claim I might otherwise have against them for any damages to me or any liabilities resulting trom the taking of the test and disclosure of its results and the conclusions drawn therefrom.  On behalf of myself and my heirs, I hereby release, waive and forever discharge each of the above-named corporations, firms, their respective officers, agents and employees, from any and all action or cause of action, claim, demand or liability, which I have now or may have resulting directly or indirectly from my taking said examination and the oral and written opinions rendered because of said exam."  This document is available for inspection upon request.

*** ******* was attempting to prove that his ex-girlfriend failed to return $4,740 of cash she removed from their joint bank account.  During the interview, *** ******* stated that she did give him $300 which was likely from the money that she took.   I suggested asking the question with a "buffer" zone to avoid any issues of uncertainty about the dollar amount, so I formulated questions to determine if *** ******* had been given "more than $500" of that money, and he agreed to that question without hesitation.  I asked him if he was certain, because uncertainty can cause a problem with the results.  He assured me he was certain that the amount she gave him did not exceed $500.  I administered the exam, and he was found DI (deception indicated).  The testing format I used was a specific issue Utah Zone Comparison Test with Directed Lies and scored using the Empirical Scoring System (ESS), a technique validated by the American Polygraph Association.

AFTER the exam, *** ******* expressed concerns that he may not have been certain about the dollar amount she gave him, a concern he did not express before.  It is my duty to design the best fact-based questions possible for a given situation, and this was absolutely done in this case.

If *** ******* wishes, I will submit my test materials to an APA qualified expert for Quality Control review, as long *** *******' second exam undergoes the same process.  No refund is due because services were rendered and results provided.   I openly challenge both exams to undergo expert review and scrutiny.

Global Polygraph Network only provides real exams with real results.  We don't simply give clients the results they are hoping to achieve.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********* and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

The response by Mr ****** in totally misrepresented piecemeal and far from factual, furthermore Mr ****** again exhibits his totally unethical and unprofessional resolve by including private and confidential explicit details of items discussed. The mere fact that Mr ****** has needlessly improperly disclosed private and confidential information of a client needs now also be addressed and forwarded to the American Polygraph association.. The outline of my personal and confidential detail as made by Micheal ****** must be, at this time,  deleted from this database as Micheal ****** has no authority or signed release to disclose any such item specific personal and confidential detail of my case. 

American Polygraph Association Code of Ethics

4. Division IV Code of Ethics, Last Revised 01/10/1999)

4.1 Rights of Examinees
4.1.1 A member shall respect the rights and dignity of all persons to whom they administer polygraph examinations.
4.7 Standards of Reporting
4.7.1 A member shall not knowingly submit, or permit employees to submit, a misleading or false polygraph examination report. Each polygraph report shall be a factual, impartial, and objective account of information developed during the examination, and the examiner's professional conclusion based on analysis of the polygraph data.
4.8 Advertisements
4.8.1 A member shall not knowingly make, publish, or cause to be published any false or misleading statements or advertisements relating to the Association or the polygraph profession. No member shall make any false representation as to category of membership in the Association. All advertisements making reference to membership in the Association shall also list the category of membership.

4.9 Release of Non-relevant Information
4.9.1 A member shall not disclose to any person any irrelevant personal information gained during the course of a polygraph examination which has no connection to the relevant issue, and which may embarrass or tend to embarrass the examinee, except where such disclosure is required by law.

It should be Clearly noted that Mr ****** is also now  unprofessionally attempting to discredit the renown Polygraph examiner I retained to properly preform the same test correctly yest another ethics concern. It appears that Mr ****** is concluding and accusing that I may have paid off an other examiner to have alter test result !!!!!!  This in its self is clearly unprofessional Nonsense! 
Mr ****** was afforded the opportunity to retest me. He was afforded the opportunity to provide me with a partial refund. He initially agreed then rescinded his offer. There after I hired another examination company. that conducted the test with PROPER questioning and Proper Results. 
Mr ****** is clearly exhibiting his unethical and unprofessional demure here in his response.  Prior to my furtherance, escalation & publication of this matter, that would most likely result in the embarrassment of Michael ****** & Global Poly Graph Network, I simply ask that Mr ****** immediately and without impunity to either party Refund me not less than $500.00 

Regards,






Business Response: I did in fact offer *** ******* a retest at a reduced price ($150 discount) but he rejected that offer.

The fact that *** ******* is unwilling to have BOTH exams subjected to Quality Control is telling.  I have made no disparaging remarks regarding *** ******* second examiner.  The identity of that examiner is unknown to me.  An independent Quality Control of both exams and both examiners could be helpful, and I support that avenue wholeheartedly.

In response to my having disclosed "private and confidential information", the issue of why *** ******* failed his exam was pertinent and necessary for my response to his complaint, as *** ******* states he should not have failed his exam.  The facts of *** ******* case are relevant to my position.  Furthermore, no identifying information was provided by me regarding the other party or parties involved.  By filing this complaint, *** ******* opened the door himself for the case details to be examined by third parties (BBB, APA) to determine whether the examination was conducted properly.

Please allow both exams to undergo a Quality Control review by an APA-approved independent expert so that the test results can be validated.

A refund is not due.  An exam was provided, and results and a formal report were produced.  *** ******* simply does not like the results of my exam.

Copies of my report, and *** ******** signed release form are available upon request.

4/23/2014 Problems with Product/Service
11/2/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I paid for a lie detector test from Global Polygraph Network. At the time, I was sick and getting over bronchitis. During the exam interview, which lasted at least an hour, I was coughing throughout. A few minutes before I was to be hooked up to the machine, the examiner, ******* ******, told me that I would not be able to cough during the test or it would not read accurately. Though I was still coughing, he decided to administer the test. He started 5 tests. I was able to complete 2 and coughed at the beginning (or near beginning) of another 3. When I received the results, he insisted that he had "no decision" due to my coughing. Therefore, I have paid $648.00 and have no results. The company is suggesting that since they could not obtain enough tests, they are not at fault and will not re-do my test for free. I do not have any experience with lie detector tests and was relying on the expertise of the examiner. I believe he should have stopped the test and rescheduled for a time that I was not sick and could test without coughing.

Desired Settlement: I would like to get my money back for this test. I know that the examiner incurred fees to get to the location but since I was given no results, I feel that I did not get anything for this. In addition, there was another exam before mine so he would have had to get to this location any way. The amount I paid was $600 plus 8% sales tax for a total of $648.

Business Response: The customer acknowledges that polygraph services were provided to her on 10/22/13. 

First, please note that there are four possible outcomes of a polygraph exam:

1.  Deception Indicated - generally indicating deception
2.  No Deception Indicated - generally indicating truthfulness
3.  Inconclusive - examiner unable to render decision after collecting sufficient data
4.  No Opinion - polygraph charts too distorted or artifacted to analyze

Before and after the exam, the customer voluntarily signed a release form stating "I understand that the results of such a test and conclusions drawn therefrom by Global Polygraph Network, its officers, agents, and employees may prove unfavorable to me.  I also acknowledge the possibility that the examiner may be unable to render a decision based on this exam."

Inconclusive results are usually the fault of the examiner, often due to poor exam or question design.  In this case, however, the customer demonstrated an intermittent cough.  Each exam (chart) lasts about 6 minutes, during which time the person being tested must remain perfectly still except for answering the questions and breathing.  Coughing creates a significant amount of test distortion.  One or two coughs during a chart can often be compensated for, but in this case the customer began to cough uncontrollably during 3 of the 5 exams I conducted, thereby rendering the exams worthless.  It is noteworthy that the customer was able to refrain from coughing uncontrollably during the one hour interview process (before the actual test).  It is not the fault of the examiner that the customer was unable to sit still as she was instructed to do.  The customer acknowledges in her complaint that she did receive that instruction.

By way of compromise, I did offer to retest her at half my regular price the next time I was testing in her area, even though the cause of the "no opinion" test result was out of my control.  This offer still stands.

8/20/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I paid $475 to take a lie detector. When test was administered the whole process wasn't explained to me which I later found out. After I supposedly "failed" the questions that were asked to me which I know are truthful, I called the administer and he then tells me other factors could have affected that question which was not told to me during the interview or other questions would have been asked as well so that question could be clarified. He also told me that only 2 of the 7asked were graded so how could he even get a result? Polygraph network is supposed to be bbb accrediated but after testing and looking up where they sent me to be tested, that place is not. I wouldn't have proceeded with the test if I knew this. I wanted a testing site that would be upfront and explain the testing process not someone who after testing me tells me that other factors could affect my results, insist I send them $150 before I can even get an appointment, hang up on me, tell my try to convince someone else and be flat out rude. He didn't even collect the remaing of the fee until I was leaving nor were the results discussed with me alone. I was just sent an email saying I failed. Why would anybody spend $475 if they know they are a liar? I wasn't even provided a receipt. I'm very upset because I was misleaded and I never would have chosen this site if I knew this. My sole purpose was to clear my name but instead I was taken for $475.

Desired Settlement: I would like a refund and this to be noted on bbb's website. I do not want anyone to be tricked into a situation like this. It not fair nor is it right.

Business Response: The complaining party did not provide their name, the examiner's name, or the testing location.  Without any information I can not pull up their records.  We handle thousands of requests per year and take examiner complaints very seriously, if founded.

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

[To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, we would like to know your view on the matter.]

Regards,

******** **********

 

 

They said they needed additional information which is included below

Name: ******** **********

Site: ******* ****** (THIS PLACE IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED AS GLOBAL POLYGRAPH HAS BBB STICKER ON WEBSITE)

            ***** ******* ****

            Glen Allen, VA

Test Date: August 7, 2013

Examiner: ******* ***** ***** ******

 

Business Response: On 3/6/13 *** ********** registered with the Global Polygraph Network (GPN) requesting a referral to our member in Richmond VA (**** *****) and paid GPN a $100 referral fee.  We sent the case to *** ***** who contacted *** ********** and proceeded to schedule 3 different appointments, but ********** canceled each one.  Her file was closed after 30 days.  Then, five months later, ********** contacted *** ***** and wanted to go ahead with the exam.  This exam took place on 8/7/13 regarding an issue of suspected infidelity during her current relationship.  The examination results were "deception indicated" to the relevant questions. 

Point #1 = *** ********** did not agree with the test results.  Neither GPN nor the examiner have control over the test results.  They are what they are.  Results are calculated through use of a numerical scoring system approved by the American Polygraph Association and American Society for Testing and Materials. 

Point #2 - GPN is a referral service for polygraph experts.  *** ********** paid us $100 for a referral to a qualified expert, and this referral was completed.

Point #3 - *** ***** is a member of our organization, not an employee or a contractor.  In short, *** ***** does not work for GPN.  Once we completed the referral for *** ********** our obligation to her was satisfied.  GPN did not administer *** **********'s exam.  We do have guarantees published on our web site, such as relating to the examiner's qualifications and time frame that the examiner will offer appointments.  You can find our guarantees at www.polytest.org.  Since *** ***** is not an employee or contractor of GPN, we do not have oversight of his individual cases.

Point #4 - I am not familiar with the "******* ******," the company mentioned by *** ********** in her complaint.  Our members are all individuals, not companies.  I am not responsible for companies I have no relationship with or knowledge of.

Point #5 - GPN is a BBB accredited business.  Our members can choose to be BBB members or not.  We do not claim that our members are BBB members.

Point #6 - *** ********** suggests that she was misled by GPN.  If there is anything GPN did to mislead *** ********** in any way I am certainly receptive to hearing about it.  The information on our web site is extensive and available for all to review before scheduling an exam with one of our members.

Point #7 - *** ***** graciously offered to send the charts from her exam to a qualified QC examiner for a quality control review of the data.  *** ********** declined this offer.

In closing, any grievance *** ********** has regarding *** *****' polygraph examination needs to be addressed with him or his licensing authority.  GPN received only $100 from *** **********,, which constituted our referral fee and nothing more.  We did not conduct this exam for her.  We do stand behind our members, however, so if *** ********** can document any professional misconduct or malfeasance on *** ***** part I would be willing to hear all about it.  Her simple claim that the test results are wrong have no foundation.



Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

[To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, we would like to know your view on the matter.]

Regards,

******** **********

 

 ******* ****** is the COMPANY that **** works for which is NOT bbb accredited like GPN says their examiners. Therefore I was mislead and no charts or anything where discussed or shown to me after testing so how am i to know they are the actual results?

Business Response: This complaint was filed against Global Polygraph Network, a referral service.  GPN referred the client to a qualified examiner, **** *****.  The client has never disputed the fact that this referral was completed.  The client has never disputed the accuracy of *** *****' credentials that GPN has published online.  GPN has provided the requested service to this client, which was completed on 3/6/13.

The client was not referred to the ******* Agency, *** *****' employer.  *** ***** is a GPN member.  ******* ****** is not a GPN member.  GPN has no direct affiliation with ******* *******  The fact that *** ***** is employed by ******* is immaterial.  GPN has no relationship with *******, contractually or otherwise.  GPN is not responsible for who is and who is not a member of the BBB.  GPN is an accredited member of the BBB.  GPN has never stated or published that each of its members are also BBB members.

It is NOT common practice for examiners to show, produce, or release their charts (work product) to clients.

The client stated that she has no way of knowing if her results are "actual" results.  *** ***** offered to have his examination results Quality Controlled by an independent expert.  The client declined this offer.

GPN has provided the service requested by this client.  GPN has represented its member's credentials accurately on our web site.  GPN can do no more for this client.



Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

4 Customer Reviews on Global Polygraph Network, Inc.
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart