BBB Accredited Business since

Lockport Outdoor Store

Phone: (716) 433-8991 Fax: (716) 433-9043 View Additional Phone Numbers 5943 South Transit Road, Lockport, NY 14094 http://www.lockportoutdoor.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This business offers clothing and workshoes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Lockport Outdoor Store meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Lockport Outdoor Store include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Lockport Outdoor Store
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: October 14, 1994 Business started: 01/01/1973 in NY Business started locally: 01/01/1973 Business incorporated 07/02/1973 in NY
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. James Kushner, President / Owner / Treasurer
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. James Kushner, President / Owner / Treasurer
Business Category

CLOTHING - RETAIL SHOES - RETAIL

Alternate Business Names
Lockport Surplus Center, Inc.

Additional Locations

  • 5943 South Transit Road

    Lockport, NY 14094

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

12/11/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have been a customer for years. I have bought multiple pairs of shoes & boots for myself & my family. I purchased a pair of Rocky boots just over a year ago and I brought them in today with the soles coming off. The salesman told me there was nothing he could do. So the manager was going to talk to me, he was rude and told me there was nothing he would do. I told him I was leaving for a hunting trip and needed boots. He offered nothing, I said so i have to go somewhere else to by my boots, he said yes. That is terrible customer service, I am the General Manager of a Construction company and if I turned good customers away like that I would not have any. I am disappointed because we as a family would like a trip to the outdoor store. But no more. I will not recommend your store any more.

Desired Settlement: A pair of boots that wont fall apart. The store has always been know as a place for quality outdoor gear and I have never had a problem until yesterday. The manager was not interested in my business at all. I have had such good results I taught we would be able to work something out be he just said NO

Business Response: Rocky Boots Inc. the manufacturer of these boots offers a limited 1 year warranty.  These boots were presented to our store without receipt and the customer stated they were over 1 year old.  Therefore unfortunately they are outside of the warranty period for Rocky Boots.  The 1 year warranty tends to be standard in the industry and it is generally considered decent wear out of a pair of footwear.  Unfortunately after the 1 year warranty has transpired there is nothing we can do as we are following the manufacture's guidelines.  

11/9/2012 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Hi there.On 09/15/2012 a pair of work boots was purchased from Lockport Outdoor Store in Lockport NY. On 10/03/2012 the sole started to separate from the shoe due to a poor quality glue been used. On 10/04/2012 I went to the store to return this boots and was told by one of the cashiers it is not a defect and they will not take this shoes back. They said it is normal wearing. I don't see this as normal wear since it is even not safe for me to use this shoes. The original receipt says 30 days for returns if a product is defective. On my question if the business is registered with BBB cashier lied to me by saying No it is not registered with BBB. Thank You.

Desired Settlement: Refund.

Business Response: To whom it may concern:


We do not take returns for any worn goods, but we do honor any complaints regarding defective products.  

The boots in question were in very good condition.  There was a very small amount of peeling on the rubber of the toe.  This is expected when considering the wear and tear that the average work boot goes through.  

The customer was told by the manager that if the problem gets any worse it might be a sign of a defect.  In this case we would treat the problem as we would any other defect, i.e. return the merchandise to the manufacturer and give the customer a store credit.

Please let us know if any other information is needed.

Thank you,
*

Consumer Response:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

Regards,

*

 

Now this boots is unusable any more. I can not return it to the store because the warranty is expired.Their receipt says 30 days. They waited for my  30 days to expire and now they answering. This is not the way to do business. They will lose customers. 3of my friends will newer go there any more.

Business Response: If the customer has a defective pair of boots, we will return them to the manufacturer up to one year after the original purchase date.  If the manufacturer gives us full credit (in the case that the footwear is defective), then the customer will receive a store credit for the full purchase amount.


This store credit never expires, but we suggest the customer use it for something other than the product he originally purchased if it did not stand up to the conditions he's used to.