Reviews & Complaints

View Customer Reviews [0]
Sort By:
Filter By:

Customer Complaints Summary

6 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues2
Problems with Product / Service4
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints6

The business responded to the dispute but failed to make a good faith effort to resolve it. (1 complaint)

01/29/2015
Problems with Product / Service

The Business addressed the issues within the complaint, but the consumer did not accept the response, OR BBB has not heard back from the consumer as to their satisfaction. (5 complaints)

06/29/2017
Problems with Product / Service

Complaint

Unwilling to process a refund for a two year contract cancelled after 7 days
My father had a listing in their online directory for his law firm. The listing renewed on 4/7/2017 for $999 and was for 24 months. My father passed **** 4/16/2017 and my mother and I have tried to cancel and request a refund multiple times since then. We were told they would not issue a refund.

We were not involved in the operations of my father's firm and had originally asked what services were being provided. The communication we received from mediation.com was vague. When we asked for a copy of the contract that indicated that the payment was non-refundable and while ****** ******** told us multiple times that he was pulling the paperwork, he would not produce a copy of the contract/agreement that he had with my father.

In searching the website, while the phone number associated with the listing is out of service (I believe it was routed through them as it is not a number my father had), the listing is still visible.

The payment was auto renewed on 4/7/2017 via credit card for $999.

Desired Settlement

We have asked for a prorated refund of the 24 month service. My father passed **** a week after the service was renewed. He was a sole proprietor, so the listing was of no use to us.

Consumer Business Dialog

Business Response
While we feel sorry about the death of Ms. ********'s father there was no pro rata provision contained in the agreement for the listing.The payment was processed and approved by Mr.******** 9 days before his death.While we understand her feelings there is no pro rata provision to refund her with.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I have asked repeatedly for a copy of the listing agreement and have been told multiple times that they are pulling the paperwork, but they have never given me a copy of any such agreement. Failure to produce the agreement that is cited as not having a pro rata provision leaves me skeptical that such a provision exists.

Final Business Response
I put in writing to her that there is no pro rata refund provision in our agreement.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
He emailed me to explain that there was no pro rata refund provision in the agreement, but he is still unable to produce the agreement that my father signed when they charged him $999.

He has told me he was pulling paperwork on numerous occasions, so I believe that 1) either a signed agreement exists and he is unwilling to provide me a copy or 2) no such agreement exists in which case we should receive a pro rata refund.

08/10/2016
Problems with Product / Service

Complaint

Owner, Lee Rough, told me when he called in Dec. 2015 that he would increase my visibility on google and provide me with clients for mediation and arbitration for approximately $1,000 for two years. After viewing the posting he provided (information taken from my web site(capitalregionmediation.com) I realized that this was not what I had hoped it to be. I called Rough and asked for a refund-his response was to "not renew." He called me and said he had just signed a contract with some sixty firms in the Albany, NY area for mediation/arbitration services-he wanted another $300. I refused and said I would consider addition payments if he provided me with clients-I have nor received a single referral from him-he is a con artist! I want a refund of the money I initially gave to him. He has not provided me with the services he verbally offered.
Product_Or_Service: increase on line awareness-provide clients

Desired Settlement

I would accept a refund of $700. I have copies of emails

Consumer Business Dialog

Business Response
I have already responded once. We built a listing for Mr. ******* exactly to his specifications. he approved and confirmed it. He has complained every week since inception and can't be satisfied no matter how hard we try. We have told him not to renew his listing with us. We have over 10,000 listings and many testimonials on our web site confirming our product. Mr. ******* is not interested in what we have to say he only wants to complain and we are no longer going to respond to his every week rants.

Consumer Response
Forwarded message
From: ***** ******* <****@frontiernet.net>
Date: Thu, Jul 21, 2016 at 1:06 PM
Subject: Mediation.com Complaint
To: Eneida Cardona <********@bbbsefl.org>


This is a recap of our recent telephone conversation: I joined Mediation. com in January2016 for two years for $999. I spoke to Lee Rough (XXX XXX XXXX). My purpose in joining was the expectation that Mediation.com would provide me with clients in need of mediation and/or arbitration. I have my own web site (capitalregionmediation.com) and Rough copied biographical information from that site and provided a listing. Soon after I joined(within the month) I called Rough and told him I did not believe his company was right for me-I asked for my money back. Since January they have sent me I possibility-a person who has a full stay away order on her husband-that in itself would disqualify me from mediating their divorce.
Three weeks ago I got a call from someone working for Rough to set an appointment for him to call me-someone called at that time and said Rough couldn't talk then. He asked to set another time in the following week-wedid, and no one called.
This guy Rough is a condesending arrogant person-I have emails from him that I prointed and can fax to you if you wish. If you need more, call. ***** *******


Final Business Response
I have responded numerous times to Mr. *******'s complaint yet he just keeps sending them in. he has a contract with us and there is no refund due him and I am not going to respond anymore to this man.He is not rational and is not deserving of any more explanations as they won't matter to him.

02/29/2016
Advertising / Sales Issues

Complaint

Con artist operation including a bait and switch approach.
I have paid for membership with this company for years. I never received one referral through them. After withdrawing in the last year, I was contacted and assured that I would immediately be a part of a conference call with a national law firm & begin receiving referrals if I would just rejoin for $299.00. That was on 1/20/2016. on or about 2/5/2016. I was again called and told that tbere was a change in plans, the same promise was made but could only happen if I paid an additional $400.00. They refused to give me any confirmation of what firm they were referring to and started snding irate e-mails. This appears to be an operation of con maen that should not be allowed to operate.

Desired Settlement

They should cease operations including any contact with me.

Consumer Business Dialog

Business Response
February 12, 2016

Case # ******** ***** ****** ******

***** ****** ****** purchased a membership on our web site Mediation.com in January 2014 for $799 for 2 years. He was contacted by Lee Rough our sales manager in January 2016 and offered to renew as a "lifetime" member for $299.Then on February 5, 2016 he responded to an email we sent to all members about a new program we were offering our members. He was told by Lee that there would be another fee of $400 to get into that program. Subsequently However lee contacted him on February 10 to say that was an error and because he was a lifetime member there would be no additional fee.What we didn't know however was Mr. ************* had already filed a charge back to his credit card company and they debited us the $299 he paid.

At that point we informed him that we were removing him from our site and we would not send any cases to him. He has in fact been removed and wee will never contact him again.




Thomas M ********
Operations Manager


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
The $299 program and the $400 program are exactly alike. That is the bait & switch. Both programs invovlved referrals. When I asked for the identity of the referral source. I was angrily refused that information. After they angrily refused to provide information on their sources they even apologized for the bait & switch but continued to refuse to provide any information to substantiate what they were claiming to do.

Final Business Response
When we spoke to Mr. ****** ****** he asked for "proof" of our source of referrals. However by that time he had already filed a charge back to us from his credit card for the $299. Therefore we were not going to provide our source of referral to him because he was no longer a member and in fact had not told y=us he filed the charge back and therefore we owed him no explanation of our source. If the BBB wants proof of our source of referrals or the names of people we have already referred cases to we would be glad to provide it to the BBB but not to Mr. ****** ****** who is a deceitful liar.

Read More Complaints: << < 1 2 > >>