This Business Is Not BBB Accredited
Is this your business? Claim it now. ?

Banyan Hill Publishing

Banyan Hill Publishing

(866) 584-4096

Banyan Hill Publishing

5 years in business
98 SE 6th Ave STE 2
Delray Beach, FL 33483-5363
Additional Phone Numbers
  • (410) 622-3003
BBB File Opened: 12/22/2009
Business Started: 01/09/2013
Business Incorporated: 08/01/2006 in FL
Type of Entity
Limited Liability Company (LLC)
Business Management
  • Amanda Feero, Manager
  • Brandt Huseman, Manager
Contact Information
  • Principal: Mr. Aaron DeHoog, Publisher
  • Amanda Goss, COO
Business Category
  • Investment Advisory Services
  • Investment Seminars

Additional Information
  • BBB files contain a pattern of complaints from consumers allege they were charged more than the price advertised for the subscription they signed up for. Consumers also allege that they encounter difficulty when attempting to contact the business for...
  • BBB files contain a pattern of complaints from consumers allege they were charged more than the price advertised for the subscription they signed up for. Consumers also allege that they encounter difficulty when attempting to contact the business for a refund. On March 28, 2018, BBB sent correspondence to Banyan Hill Publishing requesting their voluntary cooperation in providing steps it will implement to eliminate the pattern of customer complaints. On April 2, 2018 Banyan Hill responded to BBB stating the following: In regards to customers alleging they were charged more for the advertised price, invariably they are choosing either the incorrect price on our order form, an upsell, or both. We are making some changes to our order forms so choices are clearer, and customers have to opt-in for some offer items -- automatic renewal programs, cross-sold products, free trial subscriptions -- that should eliminate some of this confusion. Customers will be required to check a box saying they want to take advantage of these aspects of an order, including the upsell or cross sell. In any case, we always allow customers to contact us and make changes to their order if they make a mistake on the original purchase, which leads to the other set of complaints. Due to a recent acquisition of another publishing company our call and email volume far surpasses what we are able to handle. Even when we forecasted based on our highest expectations of customer contacts, we have not been able to staff correctly. This is by far the biggest contributor to BBB complaints. We offer a full-refund period of an entire year for all of our newsletter services, but are finding customers lodge BBB complaints if they have to wait more than 10 minutes to speak with a live agents or haven't heard a response from their emailed cancellation request within a few days. We do have a robust forecasting, hiring and training plan, and continue to recruit agents to staff our contact centers. We hope to be fully staffed by the end of April 2018. We are also rolling out enhanced functionality on the self-help area of our website https://banyanhill.comicustomer-self-service/ so customers can cancel the automatic renewal function on their account, or cancel one of our newsletter services and get a refund. The former is already live and we are hoping to roll out the latter in the next few months. BBB will continue to monitor and update the company's report as needed.

Alternate Business Names
  • Banyan Hill
  • Sovereign Offshore Services, LLC
Licensing, Bonding or Registration
This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

Alerts & Actions

Products & Services

PLEASE NOTE: BBB has recently received numerous inquiries regarding a program being promoted by Banyan Hill via radio and television in various parts of the U.S. regarding "Freedom Checks." BBB reached out to Banyan Hill on April 5, 2018, requesting substantiation of earnings claims that are being quoted in the company's advertising, as well as information regarding the details of the promotion. BBB requested that the company respond by April 19, 2018

On April 16, 2018 a company representative contacted BBB and requested an extension of time in responding to BBB's request. On April 26, 2018, the company contacted BBB again, requesting another extension of time. BBB reviewed the company's website at that time and noted that a similar promotion continues to be advertised.

BBB's report regarding this program will be updated as more information is received and developed by BBB.

Pattern of Complaints

BBB files contain a pattern of complaints from consumers allege they were charged more than the price advertised for the subscription they signed up for. Consumers also allege that they encounter difficulty when attempting to contact the business for a refund.

On March 28, 2018, BBB sent correspondence to Banyan Hill Publishing requesting their voluntary cooperation in providing steps it will implement to eliminate the pattern of customer complaints.

On April 2, 2018 Banyan Hill responded to BBB stating the following:

In regards to customers alleging they were charged more for the advertised price, invariably they are choosing either the incorrect price on our order form, an upsell, or both. We are making some changes to our order forms so choices are clearer, and customers have to opt-in for some offer items -- automatic renewal programs, cross-sold products, free trial subscriptions -- that should eliminate some of this confusion. Customers will be required to check a box saying they want to take advantage of these aspects of an order, including the upsell or cross sell.

In any case, we always allow customers to contact us and make changes to their order if they make a mistake on the original purchase, which leads to the other set of complaints.

Due to a recent acquisition of another publishing company our call and email volume far surpasses what we are able to handle. Even when we forecasted based on our highest expectations of customer contacts, we have not been able to staff correctly. This is by far the biggest contributor to BBB complaints. We offer a full-refund period of an entire year for all of our newsletter services, but are finding customers lodge BBB complaints if they have to wait more than 10 minutes to speak with a live agents or haven't heard a response from their emailed cancellation request within a few days.

We do have a robust forecasting, hiring and training plan, and continue to recruit agents to staff our contact centers. We hope to be fully staffed by the end of April 2018.

We are also rolling out enhanced functionality on the self-help area of our website https://banyanhill.comicustomer-self-service/ so customers can cancel the automatic renewal function on their account, or cancel one of our newsletter services and get a refund. The former is already live and we are hoping to roll out the latter in the next few months.

BBB will continue to monitor and update the company's report as needed.

Banyan Hill Publishing

This Business Is Not BBB Accredited

Banyan Hill Publishing

Customer Review Rating:

12%
12%
75%