Guest Blog: Steps to take after a DUI

March 25, 2015

You went near or into a DUI checkpoint and got arrested.  It happens too often.  You turn a corner and the traffic gets funneled right into the checkpoint.  It is by design.  There are very few options to avoid it and usually there is an officer waiting for people to make that quick turn away from the checkpoint.  

Some people come armed into the DUI Checkpoint knowing their rights while most believe if they are cooperative and somewhat honest to police they may make it through.  Some do...and some do not.  If you are arrested, you are taken to jail and your vehicle is towed unless there is someone with you who can drive (who would have likely driven if they were in the car).  

You would usually spend 8-14 hours in jail waiting to bail out.  The lingering thought of your jail experience will stay with you some time.

After a DUI arrest, the prosecutor will file a complaint in the Superior Court of California charging you with violations of California Vehicle Code Sections 23152 (a) (b), and possibly other vehicular offenses.  

In the meantime, you should hire an attorney as soon as possible.  You’ll have 10 days from the date of arrest to place a stay on your license suspension.  An APS hearing is key to being proactive in the DUI case.  You want to begin unearthing facts as soon as possible. 


Information provided by Law Offices of Mark Deniz. For more information click here