Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Connects Federal Credit Union

Phone: (804) 756-5000 Fax: (804) 756-5005 7700 Shrader Rd, Richmond, VA 23228 http://www.connectsfcu.org/


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Connects Federal Credit Union meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Connects Federal Credit Union include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Industry Ratings Comparison | Chart


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Connects Federal Credit Union
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: October 09, 1986 Business started: 04/04/1950
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Ms. Evelyn G. Dowdy, President
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Evelyn G. Dowdy, President
Business Category

Credit Unions

Alternate Business Names
C & P Telephone Employees Credit Union Chesapeake & Potomac Tele.Employ.Credit Union

Additional Locations

  • 7700 Shrader Rd

    Richmond, VA 23228 (804) 756-5000

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

6/5/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My husband, ***** ****** , went to the credit union and signed papers to have our account closed on May 1, 2015 at which time a new account was opened. (May 13, 2015) 1:21 P.M. - I spoke with ******** at Connects Federal Credit Union today and was told that the account was still open even though it was supposed to be closed on May 1, 2015, by ***** ****** and a new account was opened (Account Number: on that day by ***** by ********* ****) and was instructed by the Branch Manager, ********, on May 7, 2015. The account would be finally closed and a lockbox would prevent any further transaction from going through the account. I was also told today, May 13, 2015 that the account would remain open for 45 additional days if we wanted to settle up the account and then it would be charged off even though he signed paperwork closing the account and threaten thatit would go on our credit report.

Desired Settlement: Account Closed immediately as requested on May 1, 2015.

Business Response: RE: BBB Case# ******** 

After reviewing account and discussing with employees involved, the member's checking account was 
closed on May 29, 2015. The member does not owe anything concerning this checking account being 
closed. On Monday, June 1, 2015, our VP of Ops/Lending left a message for member to call. The VP of 
Ops/Lending wanted to inform the member their checking account was closed and was there anything 
else needed. At time of this writing, the member has not returned the call. 

Please let me know if there is something else needed. 

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the offer made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution would be satisfactory to me. I will wait for the business to perform this action and, if it does, will consider this complaint resolved. If the company does not perform as promised I can get back to you at: ***************************.

Regards,

****** ******


BBB spoke with the customer by phone on June 5, 2015, who confirmed that the business had addressed her issues and she did consider the complaint resolved. 

3/12/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: CONNECTS FCU failed to mail my bills to the correct address. I called and gave Federal Connects my updated address of *** * **** ** **** * ********* ******** ** *****. They then sent mail to a mix of my old address and the newer address that i gave them ( a mistake made on their end). I never received a bill from that point forward and then the company refers my account to collections despite them having my email address and phone number. They then summoned me to court and sent the letter (again) to an address that does not exist. When I called to point out the error made on their end, the woman on the other end laughed and said there was nothing she could do. Horrible customer service.

Desired Settlement: I would like a full review of my matter and I would like the money back that CONNECTS FCU gave to ********* ***** * ******** to notify me of this issue seeing as how the address is still incorrect . I am more that sure that if you properly review my account, you will see the issue is not on my end. The people who work there should actually listen and verify information to be sure.

Business Response: It appears this member is complaining that Connects Federal
Credit Union had an incorrect address for her account. Therefore she did not
receive notice of a balance due on her **** credit card with Connects Federal
Credit Union. It is general procedure that if the credit union does not receive
response on past due accounts, the account is turned over to our attorney for
further collections. Credit Union documents reflect collection costs, if
needed.

Connects FCU needs to have change of address information
either signed by the member or the Credit Union can use the notice of address
change from the US Post Office. After researching this member’s account and
reviewing the change of address documents, Connect FCU only has changes from
the US Post office. The latest change of address documents, Connects FCU only
has changes from the US Post Office. The latest change of address from we
received it dated November 2012 (copy sent with this response). And the address
on this form is:

**********

****** ********

This is still the same address we have on record.

Please let me know if there is something else needed.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the offer made by the business in reference to complaint ID********, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

Again I would like to stress that *** * **** ** *** ** *** ******* ** ***** is not even an address. It doesn't even come up on ****** ****, I can hardly believe USPS approved this as an actual address. The address I gave you which I can prove is *** * **** ** *** * ********* ******** ** ****** That is where I lived at the time of the address change. Imagine the shock when I found out my wages were being garnished. I went to the post office and they confirmed that the address does not exist. 

Regards,

****** ******




Business Response: BBB spoke with the business. The address change came from the post office not from the business and that is the only address change they have received.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the offer made by the business in reference to complaint ID********, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below. There is no proof that I ever gave the Post Office that address and it does not exist despite what the Post Office says. I know I for one never received any bills once I called and gave FCU my updated address. I can provide call records from my cell phone company. I called them myself and gave them the updated address of *** * **** ** **** * ********* ******** *** If an address shows changed by the Post Office but not confirmed by the user shouldn't a call be placed to me or email or something? How am I to know the post office submitted a change of address using an address that does not exist.

Regards,

****** ******




Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Connects Federal Credit Union
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)