Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Chesterfield Federal Credit Union

Additional Locations

Phone: (804) 748-1417 Fax: (804) 796-7813 6737 Public Safety Rd, Chesterfield, VA 23832 http://www.chesterfieldfcu.net View Additional Web Addresses


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Savings Accounts, Checking Accounts, Auto Loans, Credit Cards, Personal Loans, Home Equity Loans & Lines of Credit


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Chesterfield Federal Credit Union meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Chesterfield Federal Credit Union include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Industry Ratings Comparison | Chart


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Chesterfield Federal Credit Union
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: September 08, 2003 Business started: 02/01/1963 in VA
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Ms. Jeanne Dotson, President Ellen Bruton, Vice President of Member Services Mr. Chris Miller, Vice President of Communications & Branding
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Ellen Bruton, Vice President of Member Services
Principal: Ms. Jeanne Dotson, President
Business Category

Credit Unions


Additional Locations

  • 13601 Midlothian Turnpike

    Midlothian, VA 23113

  • 4900 East Millridge Parkway

    Midlothian, VA 23112

  • 6737 Public Safety Rd

    Chesterfield, VA 23832 (804) 748-1417

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

6/7/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My payment is due on the 20th of the month. I have paid it on the 20th of the month many times and it has never been considered 30 days late. When in route to make my payment on January 20th, I called the CFCU and spoke to a male representative and inquired about hours. He advised they closed at 5pm. I never asked what time the lobby closed. The representative failed to provide the correct information including that the drivethru hours were until 5:30pm at the exact location where he was located while taking my phone call. He gave me other options including making deposit at ATM then paying online as well getting to another location or service center before 5pm. You will see per my attachment that due to the misinformation from the CFCU representative, I was unable to make my payment until the next morning at their Brandermill location which caused it to be 30 days late and discovered in March that the January payment was reported late on Experian. I disputed it and CFCU sent a manual update to Experian, Transunion and Equifax that I was late multiple times as many as 3x 30 Days late. My credit report was severely damaged over the course of the next 60+ days this credit union has erroneously placed late payments including a 30 day late for March 20th on March 20th. Documented. This all occurred while in the process for a new home loan and the credit union was advised of this...it has been very traumatic and stressful dealing with this matter with no goodwill or acceptance of responsibility from CFCU in fact it is moreso as if the VP of Lending by her emailed response, Jessica L****, is more interested in defending employees and retaliating against the customer by manually updating my credit report as 30 days late on the day I came in to make a payment. This is all documented.

Desired Settlement: Immediate removal of any late payments to all credit bureaus (Equifax, Experian and Transunion). I will consider this matter and my relationship with Chesterfield Federal Credit Union satisfied and resolved.

Business Response:

BBB Serving Central Virginia

720 Moorefield Park Dr., Ste 300

Richmond, VA 23236

 

Re: Case #********

 

Good afternoon,

Thank you for allowing us the opportunity to offer our accounting of the events as they transpired with our Member and in this case, the complainant.  

 

On April 20th, our member/complainant visited our Brandermill branch location and submitted an in-depth written request for Chesterfield FCU to correct erroneous credit reporting.  After speaking with the member in branch and doing their own review of account history, branch staff forwarded the request to the VP of Lending for additional assistance on April 25th.  On April 26th and 27th, a thorough review of the member’s account history, to include payment history, was done and an in-depth email response was then generated and sent to the member addressing each of his concerns individually and providing an accounting of the Credit Union’s actions and research.  In addition, immediate steps were made to ensure that all reporting was accurate and updated with all major credit bureaus.  

 

Our member’s complaint states that “My payment is due on the 20th of the month.  I have paid it on the 20th of the month many times and it has never been considered 30 days late.”  What it fails to say is that payment is generally made on or around the 20th of the following month.  Not the month it is due.  For example, the December 20th payment was paid on January 21st (32 days delinquent).  In addition, the March 20th

 

 

 

payment was paid on April 20th (31 days delinquent).     Our member is upset that we will not agree to erase these 30 day late payment recordings from the credit file.  At no time has the Credit Union reported the account as greater than 30 days late.    The Credit Union does acknowledge a mistake in the response dated April 27th stating that the March payment was paid 33 days late.  The correct information was 31 days late.  This mistake would not affect credit reporting.

 

In addition, our member’s complaint states that a male representative of Chesterfield FCU “failed to provide the correct information including that the drive thru hours were until 5:30pm”.  Again the member has failed to provide the full picture.  In the written dispute received by the Credit Union on April 20th, the member admits to asking about branch hour availability for making a Shared Branching transaction from his account with a different credit union.  As explained in the Credit Union’s response dated April 27th, Shared branching services (transactions from accounts held by credit unions other than Chesterfield FCU) may only be made in the lobby, not through the drive through.  Therefore the information provided to the member at approximately 4:50pm, when he called to inquire about hours of operation were correct, the lobby (where the type of transaction he was attempting to make must be made) closed at 5pm. 

 

The Credit Union is very sorry that this situation has caused undue stress and trauma on the complainant.  Chesterfield FCU takes member service and its role as a credit reporting furnisher very seriously.  At no time is it acceptable to fail to correct a mistake or provide misleading or incorrect information in a way that is less than professional and courteous.    However, Chesterfield FCU must also report information as it occurred and unfortunately, the complainant made two recent payments beyond 30 days past due.  This delinquency would negatively impact the credit file and rating associated.    Attached, you will find a copy of the credit union’s response dated April 27th as supporting documentation.  If additional information is required, please do not hesitate to inquire and it shall be presented, provided it doesn’t release protected information.

 

Thank you again, for your time and consideration of this response. 

 

Sincerely,

Ellen B. B*****

VP of Member Services

 

 

CONFIDENTIALITY NOTICE: This e-mail message, including any attachments, is for the sole use of the intended recipient(s) and may contain confidential and privileged information or otherwise be protected by law. Any unauthorized review, use, disclosure or distribution is prohibited. If you are not the intended recipient, please contact the sender by reply e-mail and destroy all copies of the original message.

 

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the offer and/or response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

The response is inaccurate just as their call center (lack of knowledge) and reporting have been.  What continues to transpire at this point is continued stress and some their Member being treated unfairly, discriminated against as proof will show that my account (just as Jessica L**** promised in her email reply that was attached) would be personally overseeing my account.  By promising to do this and following through with her retaliatory "promise", Ms. L****, acting on behalf of Chesterfield Federal Credit Union has handled my account reporting differently than "other Chesterfield Federal Credit Union loan/account holders."  I have been discriminated against and as this continues to draw out with Chesterfield Federal Credit Union and their resistance to do right by their member, it is clear that another venue is needed to fix an issue that could have been resolved months ago by Chesterfield Federal Credit Union and now as the damage has been done to me/my credit by Chesterfield Federal Credit Union not "listening" to their member and not actually "reading" the complaint instead interpreting it in the fashion that allows Jessica L**** and others at Chesterfield Federal Credit Union to hide behind their perceived correct handling of this situation.


It is more than obvious that a different set of eyes need to be laid upon this case.  This could have been handled differently through good customer service and common sense somewhere along the line at Chesterfield Federal Credit Union. 

Regards,

****** *****





Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Chesterfield Federal Credit Union
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)