Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Argent Federal Credit Union

Additional Locations

Phone: (804) 748-9488 Fax: (804) 748-7388 View Additional Phone Numbers PO Box 72, Chesterfield, VA 23832 http://www.argentcu.org View Additional Web Addresses



BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Argent Federal Credit Union meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Argent Federal Credit Union include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Industry Ratings Comparison | Chart


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Argent Federal Credit Union
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: September 02, 1986 Business started: 06/01/1956
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Ms. Rose Gilliam, President Mr. Rick Crocker , Marketing Vice President Mr. Ricky McCormick, Vice President
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Mr. Rick Crocker , Marketing Vice President
Principal: Ms. Rose Gilliam, President
Business Category

Credit Unions

Products & Services

Argent Federal Credit Union offers the following product(s): Banking Services


Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Argent Federal Credit Union has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 11651 Alliance Circle (Operations Center)

    Chester, VA 23831 (804) 748-9488

  • 11900 Chester Village Dr.

    Chester , VA 23831 (804) 748-9488

  • 1901 Walmart Way

    Midlothian , VA 23113 (804) 748-9488

  • 3611 Oxbridge Rd.

    Richmond, VA 23236 (804) 748-9488

  • 5403 Jefferson Davis Hwy.

    Richmond, VA 23234 (804) 748-9488

  • PO Box 72

    Chesterfield, VA 23832

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

11/2/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My husband, ******* ** ****** passed away 5/30/15. I notified the credit union of this regarding a credit card he had in his name only with them (with a balance of $4,000). They said there was no problem, it would be noted, and that I was not responsible for the debt on the card. I told them there was no estate at the time of the phone call. I also went to their office off ******* *** **** ***** and took them a certified Death Certificate and again was told I was not responsible for the debt, and at that time I also told the employee that there was no estate. We had a joint savings account at the credit union with a balance of $3000. They told me they would have to take that money to use against the credit card debt, which they did and left a balance of $900 dollars or so. I have continuously received bills for that balance and now they have turned the debt over to a law firm for collection. How do I stop them from this action. I have repeatedly notified them that he left no estate so I am not responsible. I need your help with this. Please have someone contact me to get this matter cleared up. Thank you kindly.

Desired Settlement: I need Argent to understand there is no estate and I am not responsible for this debt nor is there any money to pay this debt. I also need the law firm notified that there is no estate, and want them to drop this threatening action against me, as well as to stop them from further notifications and to stop sending the bill to collection agencies.

Business Response: Dear ** ***:
I am responding to your email to **** **** dated October 21, 2015 regarding the above referenced complaint.
As we discussed in our telephone conversation, the statement provided by **** ***** is correct in some matters but incorrect in others. The following is a synopsis of the circumstance related to ** **** account.
** ***** passed away on May 30, 2015. Argent Credit Union was not notified by *** ***** of ** **** passing until July 8, 2015. Also on July 8, 2015 at 11:39am contact was made with our credit card processer from someone is possession of ** **** *** card. The reason for the contact is unknown by the individual failed to properly answer specific security questions related to ** **** card. This failure to properly answer the security questions required the credit card processor to status the card in such a way that it cannot be used. The credit union was contacted later that day by phone by ** ***** informing is of ** **** passing. An e-mail from our Call Center dated 7/8/15 at 12:12pm was sent to the Loan Department informing us of his death. This **** account was in the name of ** **** only. *** ***** was not on the card and was not an authorized user of the **** card.
** **** state that she was a joint owner of ** **** saving account with a balance of $3,000.00. Although **** **** was joint primary saving account (identified as an S-1 account), the balance in that account was $5.00 ** **** did have a secondary saving account (identified as an S-2 account) with a balance of $3,066.90 that *** **** was not a joint owner. A review of the history of the S-2 account shows that on June 15, 2015 (16 days after ** **** death) a withdrawal in the mount of $1,000.00 was made at a credit union service center located at **** ** *** **** in ***** **** *****. The service center is not an Argent credit Union Branch. This withdrawal should not have been allowed as it was from the S-2 account. Unfortunately, I cannot speak to the procedures that were or were not followed by the service center to identify account ownership nor can I say who made that withdrawal.
On September 8, 2015, the credit union did transfer $3,066.90 to the **** account which brought the balance of the S-2 saving account to $0.00. the credit union also credited ** **** **** account $25.46 representing the interest charged on his last billing cycle and another $25,00 representing the late fee charged on his last billing cycle. The remaining balance of $978.66 was charged off as a loss to the credit union on 9/28/15.
Argent credit Union’s procedures for all deceased accounts where a loss is incurred is to forward the account to our attorney to pursue any estate that might exist in an attempt to satisfy the loss to Argent. The statement from ** **** that there was no estate does not change the credit union procedures. It is the responsibility of the attorney to determine what, if any, assets might exist and pursue those assets to satisfy the credit union’s loss. If it is determined that no estate is assets exist, the case is then closed. The credit union understands that ** **** is not responsible for the debt and all communication from our attorney would be referencing the estate of William E Bolton. We are not pursuing ** ***** for any payment but any correspondence would be going to the address of record of ** ***, which is also **** ***** address.
Please be advised that if needed Argent Credit Union can provide any supporting documentation necessary to substantiate the statements made in this correspondence in include Membership and Account Agreement, **** Credit Card line or Credit Agreement, signature card for the S-2 account signed by ** **** opened 10.28.94, records collections comments, e-mail correspondence and Death Claim Outline. As stated in several of these documents the member pledges all shared or deposits in any joint or individual account as security of any amounts owed to the credit union. Based on these documents, the credit union exercised its rights to offset part of the balance of ** ***** VISA credit card account by transferring funds from his S-2 account. The $5.00 in the S-1 account remains in place as of this writing.
Please let me know if there are any additional questions concerning this matter. I can be reached during normal business hours at ********* extension ****.

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the offer and/or response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

[Provide details of why you are not satisfied with this resolution.]

Regards,

***** ******

There is absolutely NO ESTATE and the attorney does not need to pursue this matter any further.  I do not want to receive any more billings from Argent Federal Credit Union to the Estate of ******* ** ****** nor any further correspondence from the attorney involved.  There is no money to pay anything!  Please have the Credit Union and attorney close out this case. 

Thank you.



Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

1 Customer Review on Argent Federal Credit Union
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart