Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Safford Chrysler Jeep Dodge Of Warrenton

Phone: (540) 347-6622 Fax: (540) 891-9685 7308 Cedar Run Dr, Warrenton, VA 20187 http://www.saffordofwarrenton.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Safford Chrysler Jeep Dodge Of Warrenton meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for Safford Chrysler Jeep Dodge Of Warrenton include:

  • 4 complaint(s) filed against business

Factors that raised the rating for Safford Chrysler Jeep Dodge Of Warrenton include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Response to 4 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Industry Ratings Comparison | Chart


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Safford Chrysler Jeep Dodge Of Warrenton
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: December 22, 2006 Business started: 01/01/1979 in VA Business incorporated 12/31/2001 in VA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Motor Vehicle Dealer Board
2201 W. Broad Street, Suite 104, Richmond VA 23220
http://www.mvdb.vipnet.org
Phone Number: 804-367-1100
Fax Number: 804-367-1053

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. James Gramm, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. James Gramm, Owner
Related Businesses
Safford Chrysler Jeep Dodge Of Fredericksburg Safford RV
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars Auto Parts & Supplies - New Auto Repair & Service New Car Dealers (NAICS: 441110)

Hours of Operation
9:00am - 9:00pm
Monday - Friday

9:00am - 6:00pm
Saturday (Sales)
Alternate Business Names
Safford Motors Dodge and RVs LLC Safford of Warrenton
Industry Tips
Automobile Repair Buying a Used Car

Additional Locations

  • 7308 Cedar Run Dr

    Warrenton, VA 20187 (540) 347-6622

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

12/8/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I bought a **** **** ******** on 9/30. It broke down on 10/12 less than two weeks from date of purchase. They claimed it was fixed and the computer had to be reset. I picked it up on 10/16 about 10:15 am. The exact same problem happened at about 11:45 am and had to be towed again to a different dealership. The customer service that I have received from the dealership is very disappointing. It was not fixed properly and again I was put in a bad situation driving a very unsafe car. I should not be having these problems with a brand new car. I also had to pay a $65 towing charge to get the **** to their dealership and paid a car rental bill. They didn't tell me I had to rent a ******** vehicle and I am now told they will only pay $20 per day for the first rental . I am very disappointed in the service and the **** they sold me.

Desired Settlement: I personally think they should take the **** back and offer me one comparable to the one that I bought or a different model. I don't know how they expect me to feel safe in a brand new car that is having these issues.

Business Response: BBB spoke with ***** from company. He stated that******** has her in a rental car and that she has been reimbursed for the tow bill and rental bill. ***** also stated that the consumer will get a new vehicle, its just a matter of time for the paperwork to be processed.

9/29/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I recently had a vehicle in storage that would not start. Given I was interested in trading it in, I decided to have it taken to Safford Jeep of Warrenton. I took it in a couple days before the end of the month, which understandably they stated they were a little backlogged for the couple days but would then work on it. I was given a service estimate of 1200, which I agreed to, and stated I had a 10% off coupon for parts & labor. I called backed the start of the week to service to check on it, and was told still needed permission, even though I had already turned down their sales calls on the trade-in value. The work was finally completed 2-3 days later, and when I picked it up, I was charged 1300, and only partially received the coupon value on labor (and it was not a matter of it being capped at $100 either). I was also charged additional fees on the inspection sticker, and haven't received any clarification on this or the overage on the estimate from the service tech or service manager after calls and emails.

Desired Settlement: I want precise information on all these charges, credited for overages, and an apology.

Business Response: BBB spoke with ***** from the business and he stated that the consumer was refunded $147.00 on September 5, 2014.

4/17/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The negotiation on my new car involved discussion of various options. I was given a car with several of the options, but containing a 1600 dollar option I did not want (a sun roof). I was verbally told and shown on paper (a paper that was later taken away and not seen again) that the car contained *********** an option that has many enhanced safety features. The car does not have those features. I was remiss in not doing a final review of the car and refusing delivery, but my complaint is about what amounts to a bait and switch. I went through what I did and did not want on this car and took a compromise (the sun roof) because of the great ********* features. In subsequent conversations and emails with the sales manager they finally offered a package of services and warranties valued at $830, just over half the amount of the undesired option I received on the car. We requested the addition of a $500 gas card to finish this matter up. The dealer went silent, ignoring emails and phone calls for a week. I am extremely displeased with this treatment. I offered a compromise on the gas card in a voicemail yesterday and have not heard anything back. They said I would be receiving materials on the warranty and maintenance package but there has been no sign of that, even though I did receive a piece of administrative correspondence from them.

Desired Settlement: I would like three things: 1) A gas card in addition to the maintenance and warranty packaged offered, or as a compromise, a fill-up whenever I bring in the car for the maintenance covered by the package they offered. 2) Receipt of the promised maintenance and warranty package in writing. 3) An answer to emails and voicemails in a reasonable time.

Business Response: Dear ****** *****:

On Saturday March 22, 2014 the customer came to our dealership to see the ******** 300 sedans.  The customer was shown not only the vehicles that we physically have at our dealership, but was also shown on the computer the *** ****** that we had at our sister stores.  For all of these vehicles, the customer was shown ********’s window stickers for each vehicle.

After we presented a price to the customer, he announced that he was eligible for ********’s Affiliates Rewards employee pricing through his employer.  We printed out a Priced Order Confirmation sheet on the ******** *** that they picked out.  This showed both the MSRP and the Factory Wholesale Prices for each of the options on the 300.  We revised the price of the *** to match his employer’s fixed pricing agreement with ********. 

Either when reviewing ********’s Pricing & Acknowledgement Form or when they read their employer’s email about the ******** Affiliates fixed pricing program, the customer noticed that the pricing was based on ********’s invoice so they asked to see a copy of the invoice.  We printed the invoice for them which showed both the base price and prices for each option on the vehicle and they agreed that the price matched the pricing that we offered.

The customer returned on March 23rd to take delivery of their *** after it arrived from our Springfield location.  There was no mention at this time of any differences in the vehicle’s equipment.

The customer called our dealership on March 24th and stated that the vehicle was missing the SafetyTec package.  We explained to him that the vehicle did not have this option and that he was not charged for it as it was not a listed or priced option on the vehicle’s window
sticker, Priced Order Confirmation or invoice.

The customer also stated that he did not receive copies of some of his paperwork.  We went through the folder for his purchase
and scanned and emailed several pages to the customer.  He stated that he still did not receive the papers that he was looking for.  We
invited the customer to stop by the dealership at his convenience to look through his paperwork and make copies of any that he did not have a copy of.  So far, he has declined this offer.

Even though the customer was shown on three different forms the equipment that was on the *** and only charged for the equipment on the vehicle, he asked if there was anything the dealership could do to compensate them.

On March 31st, as an act of good faith our dealership provided the customer with a program called the Triple Value Package.  This package provided them with oil changes, trip interruption coverage, and road hazard tire and wheel protection.  This package normally sells for approximately $***.

The customer has now asked the dealership to provide them with a full tank of gas every time they get their oil is changed.  Based on
the facts that the car was not represented to have the ****** *** option, and that the customer was not charged for the option, I feel the dealership has made a fair and reasonable attempt to satisfy the customer and resolve the issue with the triple value package.

Regards,

***** ***** ******* ** *********

Consumer Response: [A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's offer.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the offer made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution would be satisfactory to me. I will wait for the business to perform this action and, if it does, will consider this complaint resolved. If the company does not perform as promised I can get back to you at: complaints@richmond.bbb.org.

I know what I saw, a handwritten worksheet that had the word ********* written at the top and circled. It was not a printed form, simply a worksheet used to sell the vehicle before the actual documents with specifications were presented. I will accept the package the dealership has offered. It represents half the cost of the unwanted and inconvenient sunroof option on the vehicle. I came up with a reasonable additional compensation, but since the dealership does not want to provide a courtesy fill-up like the ***** dealer does for my wife's car when it is brought in for maintenance. Since that is not acceptable I will go to a ***** dealership first when shopping for my next car.

Regards,

*********** ****

2/4/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I am regularly contacted on my cell phone with Robocalls from this business. I have called and spoke to managers asking them to stop calling me without success. I have complained to the FTC, Office of the Attorney General of Virginia and Chrysler corp.

Desired Settlement: IMEDIATELY REMOVED FROM ROBOCALL LIST- I AM NO LONGER YOUR CUSTOMER!!!

Business Response: *** ******** contacted our service manager on January 27th and requested that his number be removed from our automated service call system for service appointments and reminders.  *** ****** promptly contacted the service we use via email to remove *** ********** phone number from the call list.  We received a follow up email in return on January 28th from the service confirming that his number was added to there do not call list.  If there are any further questions or any way I can be of assistance please contact me.

 
***** ***** 
Safford of Warrenton
**********************
************
 

Consumer Response: [A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's offer.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the action made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution would be satisfactory to me. I will wait for the business to perform this action and, if it does, will consider this complaint resolved. If the company does not perform as promised I can get back to you at: ***************************.

Regards,

****** ********