Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Heritage Chevrolet, Inc.

Additional Locations

Phone: (804) 748-6461 12420 Jeff Davis Hwy, Chester, VA 23831 http://www.heritagechevrolet.com View Additional Web Addresses


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Heritage Chevrolet, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Heritage Chevrolet, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Industry Ratings Comparison | Chart


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Heritage Chevrolet, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: May 17, 1982 Business started: 01/04/1982 in VA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Motor Vehicle Dealer Board
2201 W. Broad Street, Suite 104, Richmond VA 23220
http://www.mvdb.vipnet.org
Phone Number: 804-367-1100
Fax Number: 804-367-1053

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Jay Burchell, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Jay Burchell, President
Related Businesses
Colonial Imports, Inc. Volvo Of Charlottesville Gateway Hyundai, Inc. Carter Myers Automotives Colonial Auto Center
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars Auto Parts & Supplies - New Appraisers Auto Diagnostic Service Auto Electric Service Auto Inspection Stations Auto Repair & Service Auto Warranty Processing Service Brake Service Radiators - Automotive Transmissions - Automobile Auto Services Auto Dealers - Used Cars Auto Air Conditioning Auto Accessories Auto Appraisers New Car Dealers (NAICS: 441110)

Hours of Operation
9am -9pm
Monday - Friday

9am - 6pm
Saturday
Industry Tips
Automobile Repair Buying a Used Car Transmission Repair

Additional Locations

  • 12420 Jeff Davis Hwy

    Chester, VA 23831 (804) 748-6461

  • PO Box 4020

    Chester, VA 23831

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

11/26/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I recently purchased a 20** ***** ***** from Heritage Chevrolet . When I purchased the vehicle it was equipped with a overhead light with sunglass holder and moveable lights. I recently had the car taken to the dealership after it broke down on in ******** . There was a dispute rather or not the reason for the damage to the axle was from a previous accident that was repaired by ******** ******* **** **** who is affiliated with Heritage Chevrolet. To make a long story short when I got my car back from the dealership the over head light had been changed out with a cheaper type with no sunglass holder. I pointed this out to my sales person Ian at the dealership . He did remember the original equipment and was as shocked as I was. So far the dealership has refused to make this right and I seem to be talking to deaf ears. The light option was one of the main reasons I bought this car and now I feel like I have been taken advantage of .

Desired Settlement: All I want is for the dealership to find the same Light that came with the car and replace it.

Business Response:

I have reviewed this concern with management.  Let me first say that we have every intention to assist the customer on this issue and are at this time still attempting to do so.  *** ***** has had no additional communication with us, Manager or otherwise since her conversation with her sales associate ***.

We would like to communicate directly with her to resolve this issue and I promise we will take good care and satisfy her concerns as we thought we were already in the process of doing.  See below my response based on what I know now.

·         We did sell the ***** to *** *****

·         *** *****’s car was involved in an accident and based on our knowledge was directed to ******** ******* **** **** at her parents request.  Not ours.

·         We are not Affiliated with ******** ******* **** ****.  They are a wholesale customer to our Parts Department and because of their location in ******** ******* we have recommended them to our customers in ********** occasionally.  We did not make this recommendation this time and had no knowledge that she had the accident or the car was in the **** **** until after the visit.

·         We were involved in a referral from the **** **** and the customer after she picked her completed car up because the car also had an axle issue that the **** **** was not originally aware of from the accident and it affected her drivability after pickup and it was necessary to tow.  The Insurance company instructed us to do and approved additional repairs.

·         Our repairs had nothing to do with the inside of the car and we did not change out and lights or sunglass holders

·         We are not aware of what the **** **** may have had to do to the interior of the car. 

·         *** ***** did come and see *** about her current concern.  *** attempted to determine at what point the items may have been changed out. He verified that our work did not include any interior work to the car.  He called the **** **** and was not able to get a response as to what they may had done inside the car.

·         The part that *** ***** wants replace is not a factory installed or ********* item and we had determined after talking to out parts people that it must have been installed by the previous customer that traded the car to us.  *** and the *** ***** agreed at that time that it would take some time to determine what and where we could secure the aftermarket part to replace for her.  It was ***** understanding that she would also look for a comparable part that she was happy with and advise us.

·         *** and our Parts department are still trying to locate a part that is similar or the same to reinstall in the car.  We have also contacted the **** **** again to get their assistance as it appears that the part must have been removed and replaced during the accident repairs.

·         We will continue to try to find a solution to her concern and will help get the appropriate parts.  I have instructed my Management team and *** that even if the **** **** does not participate in the replacement we will handle this for customer satisfaction as was our original intent.

 

We have every intention to secure and install or have the **** **** install the appropriate replacement item once we secure that which is acceptable to *** *****.  ***, my Parts Manager **** ***** and Service Manager **** ****** will follow-up and get this taken care of.

 

Thank you for your understanding

 

**** ** ***** ********* *r

President and Executive Manager

Heritage ********* –*********

Direct Office – ************

Office: ************

Cell: ************ 

Email: ******************************* ********************* ************************************************************ ************************************************************

10/10/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I dropped my 2005 ***** ********** off for repairs at Heritage Chevrolet because the engine light was on and to get a front end alignment. The service advisor ****, drove the vehicle and also advised me that the airbag light was on and the vehicle was slow starting and did I want these things checked out as well, I agreed. No mention of A/C and heat on at same time. **** called about 2 days later to say the sensor for the engine light needed replacing, a coil for the airbag, and a battery, aroung 1,590.00. I asked her to fax me something for the repairs and she faxed me a statement because I was going to my credit union and try to get the money. I called her the next day to say I was only prepared to get the sensor and the front end alignment done at this time. I paid 921.72 today and picked up the Avalance, did not even drive off their lot when I turned on the A/C and noticed that the heat and A/C was blowing at the same time. I went back and told **** what was going on and she came out to the truck and turn the knob to say I had it on the wrong setting, I accepted that, got a 1/2 mile away and the same thing, heat and A/C blowing. I called to say I was going to drop it off Tuesday and she said that the mechanic did not do anything to the A/C. I don't know what he did I just know that there was repairs done on my receipt that was not authorized and when I dropped the truck off the a/c was just fine. There is a lot of deception going on here. If you operate as a business things should be done ethically.

Desired Settlement: I would like the money charged for a Gasket Kit and my air conditioner restored back to the way it was.

Business Response:

I have recieved your information and will get right back to you on details.

 

**** ** ***** ********* **

Heritage Chevrolet

 

Business Response:

Complaint ID:

*******

 

Complaint Type:

Business Complaint

 

Date Filed:

8/31/2012 12:31 PM

 

Dispute Center:

BBB Serving Central Virginia, Inc.(Richmond, VA)

*** ********** **** ****** ***** *** ********* ******* ****** ************ **** ************ ****** **** ********************

 

Date Filed:

8/31/2012

 

*** ******** ** *****

 

 

Additional Response:

I have reviewed the concern referenced above and I have asked  **** ****** our ******* ******* and **** ****** or ******* *******.  To follow-up with you and the customer to get this resolved.  I am told that there were plans for *** ***** to bring the vehicle in today so we can see what her concerns are and how they relate to the repairs that she did approve on the service date.  It is our intention to assist the customer any way that we can to resolve the issue.  Thank you.

 

***

 

 

**** ** ***** ********* **

********* *** ********* *******

Heritage Chevrolet

Business Response:

Dear ******* *******

 

In re: *******

 

I have reviewed the concern referenced above with our ******* *******, **** ****** and ********* ******* ******** **** ******* who actually assisted the customer.  I feel we have a misunderstanding of the charges on her bill based on the language in her concern.  The gasket kit is a part that is necessary when replacing the sensors that were approved.  The customer also approved a front suspension alignment and authorized us to check two other areas of concern on which she declined repairs.  We did not charge a diagnostic fee on the two declined repairs.  The bill presented her at time of vehicle pick-up was consistent with the estimate that she approved and consisted of only the sensor repair and the front suspension alignment.  Of greater concern to me is her feeling that we worked on her A/C.  When she called back and expressed her concerns about the A/C system, we set an appointment for her to bring the vehicle back today.  As yet, she has not shown up for the appointment.  Certainly we would like the opportunity to look at the A/C system and address her concerns.  ****, ****, and myself have attempted to contact her today.  Thank you for bringing her concern to our attention.  We stand ready to address and remedy this concern.  

 

**** ******

******* *******

Consumer Response:

[A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's offer.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the offer made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution would be satisfactory to me. I will wait for the business to perform this action and, if it does, will consider this complaint resolved. If the company does not perform as promised I can get back to you at: complaints@richmond.bbb.org.

Regards,

******** *****


 

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the offer made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

[Provide details of why you are not satisfied with this resolution.]

Regards,

******** *****


 

-----Original Message-----

From: ******** ***** ********************************

Sent: Saturday, September 08, 2012 8:17 PM

To: Complaints

Subject: Re BBB complaint #*******

 

 

I will like u to get involved with my resolution, I will fax over the documents, stating that the reciept did not mention anything about the gaskits because I would have told them it was already done. I have a reciept for it. I dont know much about mechanic talk, but I know what I was told and not told.I dont want them to look at my truck any more because I dont trust them.

>BBB Serving Central Virginia, Inc. ********** ***

**** ********** **** ****** ***** ***

********** ** *****

******* ************

***** ************

>Email: *********************

>Web: ********************

>