Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

First Commonwealth Bank

Additional Locations

Phone: (800) 711-2265 Fax: (724) 463-5501 View Additional Phone Numbers 601 Philadelphia St, Indiana, PA 15701 http://www.fcbanking.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers commerical banking, trust services & insurance services.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that First Commonwealth Bank meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for First Commonwealth Bank include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 11 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

11 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 5 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 4
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 6
Total Closed Complaints 11

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on First Commonwealth Bank
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: August 05, 1997 Business started: 01/01/1983 in 0
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Pennsylvania Department of Banking and Securities
17 N Second Street, Suite 1300, Harrisburg PA 17101
http://www.banking.state.pa.us
Phone Number: 800-722-2657
Fax Number: 717-787-8773
The number is 7468.

Pennsylvania Department of Banking and Securities
17 N Second Street, Suite 1300, Harrisburg PA 17101
http://www.banking.state.pa.us
Phone Number: 800-722-2657
Fax Number: 717-787-8773
The number is 11505.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Ms. Molly Russell, Marketing Manager Mr. John Dolan, C.E.O. Mr. Scott D Vidovich, Regional Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Molly Russell, Marketing Manager
Customer Contact: Ms. Rose Waltermire, Management Team
Business Category

BANKS FINANCIAL PLANNING CONSULTANTS INSURANCE COMPANIES INVESTMENT ADVISORY SERVICE LOANS LOANS-SMALL BUSINESS CONSUMER FINANCE & LOAN CO. MONEY ORDERS & TRANSFERS MORTGAGE BROKERS RETIREMENT PLANNING SERVICE FINANCIAL SERVICES MORTGAGE BANKERS ESTATE PLANNING & MANAGEMENT

Alternate Business Names
First Commonwealth Financial Corp First Commonwealth Insurance Agency First Commonwealth Trust Co
Industry Tips
Mortgage - New Laws

Additional Locations

  • 10 Trinity Pl

    Washington, PA 15301 (724) 223-2960

  • 100 N Main St

    Butler, PA 16001

  • 100 N Main St

    South Fork, PA 15956 (724) 287-1704

  • 1001 Scalp Ave

    Johnstown, PA 15904 (814) 266-5826

  • 1001 Village Run Rd

    Wexford, PA 15090

  • 1001 Village Run Rd

    Wexford, PA 15090 (724) 933-4500

  • 1047 Franklin St

    Johnstown, PA 15905 (814) 533-6800

  • 105 Capitol Park Dr

    Sarver, PA 16055 (724) 934-4550

  • 108 E Mill St

    Saint Marys, PA 15857 (814) 781-1550

  • 1090 Wayne Ave

    Indiana, PA 15701

  • 11 Pine Creek Rd

    Wexford, PA 15090

  • 11 South Main St

    Cherry Tree, PA 15724 (814) 948-0875

  • 110 Village Dr

    Greensburg, PA 15601 (724) 830-6213

  • 1105 S Braddock Ave

    Pittsburgh, PA 15218 (412) 881-3383

  • 111 S Main St

    Greensburg, PA 15601 (724) 834-2310

  • 1147 S Leechburg Hill Rd

    Leechburg, PA 15656 (724) 842-0951

  • 1189 Freedom Rd

    Cranberry Twp, PA 16066

  • 1201 Main St

    Brockway, PA 15824 (814) 268-3735

  • 125 W Main St

    Saxonburg, PA 16056 (724) 934-4570

  • 131 Fleming Ave  Benscreek Shopping Center

    Johnstown, PA 15905 (814) 288-6977

  • 1400 Graham Ave

    Windber, PA 15963 (814) 262-1045

  • 1416 Mount Royal Blvd

    Glenshaw, PA 15116 (412) 492-2930

  • 14303 Clearfield Shawville Hwy

    Clearfield, PA 16830 (814) 765-2666

  • 1506 Route 30

    Ligonier, PA 15658 (724) 238-5636

  • 152 Grant Ave

    Vandergrift, PA 15690 (724) 567-6778

  • 152 Market St

    Leechburg, PA 15656 (724) 842-1181

  • 1525 3rd Ave

    Duncansville, PA 16635 (814) 695-4444

  • 1527 Lincoln Way

    White Oak, PA 15131 (412) 672-2112

  • 1531 9th Ave

    Altoona, PA 16602 (814) 942-0590

  • 1540 Oakland Ave Unit 4

    Indiana, PA 15701

  • 1541 Menoher Blvd

    Johnstown, PA 15905 (814) 262-2192

  • 1626 Pitt St

    Jennerstown, PA 15547 (814) 629-6611

  • 1653 Penn Ave

    Hollsopple, PA 15935

  • 1801 Jancey St

    Pittsburgh, PA 15206 (412) 690-2386

  • 18431 Bennetts Valley Hwy

    Weedville, PA 15868

  • 1880 Heights Plz

    Natrona Hts, PA 15065 (724) 224-2600

  • 198 Park Manor Dr

    Pittsburgh, PA 15205 (412) 747-8100

  • 2 E Long Ave

    Du Bois, PA 15801 (814) 371-2345

  • 200 S Chestnut St

    Derry, PA 15627 (724) 459-4697

  • 2000 Pittsburgh Mills Blvd

    Tarentum, PA 15084 (724) 226-4353

  • 2009 Pleasant Valley Blvd

    Altoona, PA 16602 (814) 943-8780

  • 2040 N Center Ave

    Somerset, PA 15501 (814) 443-3644

  • 217 Franklin St

    Johnstown, PA 15901 (814) 533-6820

  • 22 N 6th St

    Indiana, PA 15701 (800) 711-2265

  • 22 North Sixth St

    Indiana, PA 15701

  • 2210 Ardmore Blvd

    Pittsburgh, PA 15221 (412) 747-8109

  • 223 Main St

    Brookville, PA 15825 (814) 849-5361

  • 224 Main St, PO Box 687

    Blairsville, PA 15717 (724) 464-1576

  • 224 Main Street

    Plumville, PA 16246

  • 225 5th Ave

    Mckeesport, PA 15132 (412) 673-7400

  • 2254 Route 119 Hwy S

    Homer City, PA 15748 (724) 459-4682

  • 2501 E Carson St

    Pittsburgh, PA 15203 (412) 690-3910

  • 2501 Sharkys Dr

    Latrobe, PA 15650

  • 2547 W State St

    New Castle, PA 16101 (724) 658-1545

  • 27 E Washington St

    New Castle, PA 16101 (724) 658-3501

  • 2724 Harts Run Rd

    Allison Park, PA 15101 (412) 492-2920

  • 2905 W Liberty Ave

    Pittsburgh, PA 15216 (412) 561-0777

  • 2984 E. Pleasant Valley Blvd

    Bellwood, PA 16617

  • 301 Mount Lebanon Blvd

    Pittsburgh, PA 15234 (412) 341-5266

  • 3100 Oakland Ave Ste 27

    Indiana, PA 15701 (724) 463-8004

  • 311 Ski Gap Rd

    Claysburg, PA 16625

  • 311 W Barr St

    Mc Donald, PA 15057 (724) 926-1325

  • 3112 Elton Rd

    Johnstown, PA 15904 (814) 266-8608

  • 312 N Liberty St

    New Castle, PA 16102 (724) 658-8563

  • 320 North Center Ave

    New Stanton, PA 15672 (724) 925-8338

  • 331 E 6th Ave

    Tarentum, PA 15084 (724) 224-3100

  • 339 Mansfield Ave

    Pittsburgh, PA 15220

  • 3430 Wilmington Rd

    New Castle, PA 16105 (724) 654-8366

  • 367 Main St

    Kersey, PA 15846 (814) 885-8041

  • 38 Greensburg St

    Delmont, PA 15626 (724) 468-4101

  • 3880 Old William Penn Hwy

    Murrysville, PA 15668 (724) 327-5400

  • 4000 Hempfield Plaza Blvd  Ste 901

    Greensburg, PA 15601 (724) 836-6610

  • 409 E Poland Ave

    Bessemer, PA 16112 (724) 598-2497

  • 4198 Washington Rd

    Mcmurray, PA 15317

  • 427 Maple St

    South Fork, PA 15956 (814) 262-2185

  • 428 Station St

    Bridgeville, PA 15017 (724) 926-1305

  • 4327 Quaker Valley Rd

    Alum Bank, PA 15521 (814) 624-2005

  • 436 Magee Ave

    Patton, PA 16668 (814) 948-0879

  • 441 Smithfield St

    Pittsburgh, PA 15222 (412) 690-3901

  • 4600 Main St

    Munhall, PA 15120 (412) 881-3309

  • 4750 Clairton Blvd

    Pittsburgh, PA 15236 (412) 882-1721

  • 4900 Liberty Ave

    Pittsburgh, PA 15224 (412) 690-2358

  • 5 N Main St

    Du Bois, PA 15801 (814) 371-4448

  • 5 S 4th St

    Youngwood, PA 15697 (724) 925-7217

  • 500 E Waterfront Dr

    Homestead, PA 15120 (412) 886-2501

  • 501 Grant St Ste 150

    Pittsburgh, PA 15219

  • 5167 William Flynn Hwy

    Gibsonia, PA 15044

  • 520 Butler Crossings

    Butler, PA 16001

  • 5200 Butler St

    Pittsburgh, PA 15201 (412) 690-4585

  • 525 Sunshine Ave

    Central City, PA 15926 (814) 262-2197

  • 53 E Market St

    Blairsville, PA 15717 (724) 459-6780

  • 5355 Shaffer Rd

    Dubois, PA 15801

  • 548 Rock Run Rd

    Elizabeth, PA 15037 (412) 673-7081

  • 55 Alpha Dr W

    Pittsburgh, PA 15238 (724) 226-4300

  • 550 Market Place Dr

    Oakdale, PA 15071 (724) 926-1316

  • 5580 Goods Ln Ste 1012

    Altoona, PA 16602

  • 573 W Mahoning St

    Punxsutawney, PA 15767 (814) 938-6034

  • 5780 Kennedy Ave

    Export, PA 15632 (724) 327-4400

  • 5847 Forbes Ave

    Pittsburgh, PA 15217

  • 600 Philadelphia St

    Indiana, PA 15701 (724) 463-8555

  • 601 Philadelphia St

    Indiana, PA 15701

  • 601 Philadelphia St

    Indiana, PA 15701 (800) 711-2265

  • 6015 Mountain View Dr

    West Mifflin, PA 15122 (412) 881-2900

  • 614 Philadelphia St

    Indiana, PA 15701

  • 6514 Route 22

    Delmont, PA 15626 (724) 468-3022

  • 654 Philadelphia St

    Indiana, PA 15701

  • 6999 Crider Rd

    Mars, PA 16046 (724) 742-3860

  • 708 W High St

    Ebensburg, PA 15931 (814) 532-7261

  • 709 Hannah St

    Houtzdale, PA 16651 (814) 762-8981

  • 744 Little Deer Creek Valley Rd

    Russellton, PA 15076 (724) 934-4565

  • 750 E Pittsburgh St

    Greensburg, PA 15601 (724) 837-6400

  • 80 Wagner Rd

    Monaca, PA 15061 (724) 773-4380

  • 8291 State Route 22

    New Alexandri, PA 15670

  • 8470 William Penn Rd

    Osterburg, PA 16667 (814) 624-2012

  • 900 Saxonburg Blvd

    Pittsburgh, PA 15223 (412) 487-4200

  • 920 Philadelphia Ave

    N Cambria, PA 15714 (814) 948-5000

  • 9503 Lincoln Hwy  Lincoln Center

    Bedford, PA 15522 (814) 623-2003

  • Caste Village Shopping Center  Baptist & Grove Roads

    Pittsburgh, PA 15236 (412) 884-1301

  • Parks Drive Up, 200 Market St

    Leechburg, PA 15656 (724) 845-4610

  • PO Box 400  Philadelphia And 6th St

    Indiana, PA 15701 (800) 711-2265

  • Route 220, N Juniata St

    Hollidaysburg, PA 16648 (814) 696-1421

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

3/25/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I am a First Commonwealth Bank client who made a cash deposit of $250 1/30/15 through a foreign ATM. The ATM kept $100 of my deposit, didn't give a receipt, and went offline. I deposited the remaining $150 in another ATM to have record that I was there. I called the next day to get it corrected, customer service said they were processing the dispute. The foreign ATM was verified and confirmed that I was the last transaction before the machine failure and that the ATM was over $100. 2 weeks later I call to check on the status of my dispute with FCB only to find out it was never filed. They tell me there is no record of the attempted deposit in their system to try and offset but they will take another dispute form over the phone and mail it for me to sign. 8 days later still no dispute form in mail, I got to the ********** FCB branch 2/18/15 and she has me sign the form. 3/6/15 I call to check on dispute status because no one has attempted to contact me, card services again tells me there is no record of the transaction which i am assuming is due to the system and machine error. The foreign bank says under FEDERAL REGULATION E they can only give their system info to FCB directly but FCB will not even attempt to contact them to obtain it. FED REG E says I have 45 days from the error date to file or my funds are lost and the financial institution will be fined. 3/17/15 is the 45th day with still no answers. Have attempted to email and call headquarters but it just goes to a general mailbox. It's as if since no one knows what or how to rectify the matter they are passing it off. The foreign bank is treating me with better respect and understanding than FCB with whom I hold an account with. Should I be out of $100 due to an computer error?

Desired Settlement: I would like FCB to file the correct forms to obtain my funds from the foreign ATM before the 45 day deadline or be fined for violation. Also better training as far as problem solution. Thank you for your time and consider

Business Response:

I write to you in reference to a customer issue brought forth by Ms. ******* *******. Ms. ******* indicates that she attempted to make a cash deposit on January 30, 2015 at an ATM operated by another institution ******* ****) in the amount of $250.00. The ATM went down during her transaction but only a portion of the funds were returned to her $150.00; no acknowledgment was provided. She then proceeded to another foreign ATM operated by the same institution and made the deposit in the amount of $150.00.

Ms. ******* notified First Commonwealth of the situation and requested that a dispute be processed to obtain her remaining funds. First Commonwealth attempted to resolve the issue but since no record of the transaction is on our system and the client does not have a receipt for this transaction, a claim cannot be processed to ****** ****.

We have issued a provisional credit to Ms. ******* while we investigate and attempt to recoup her funds from ****** ****. In the event that ****** **** does not confirm the issue with their ATM and denies the transaction adjustment, the provisional credit may be reversed at that time.

If you have any questions or concerns regarding this issue, please contact me at ###-###-####.

Sincerely,

**** ************

Executive Assistant to the President

Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me at this time. I appreciate First Commonwealth trying to rectify this matter. Problems aren't a problem until they present themselves, then that's when a solution is to be created. It seems as if this may be the first of it's happenings since these ATMs are new, so a new solution needs to be devised to clear my matter and to possibly help clients in the future with similar occurrences.

Regards,

******* *******

2/23/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: This company took monies from my accountant without notifying or sustaining reasonable cause or justification in doing so. During the date in question or any date after, there was no mention of an negative balance on paper nor through the electronic-phone banking system. I realized this fraudulent consumer act while checking my account, when listening to the electronic-phone banking system, there was a withdrawal of monies I was not aware of. I had been monitoring the account from January 19 thru the 21of 2015. Upon noticing this deduction of funds, I immediately called the bank to inquire about the said amount in question. Upon speaking to the bank call center they informed me it was suppose to an over draft fee. I explained to the center that I was never notified of a negative balance nor did the electronic banking center state that there was a negative balance. They began to inform me that there has been many problems with the new electronic banking telephone system, which had been recently implemented, and other consumers have voiced concerns or problems also. I then drove to the ********** location in ************ **, and got a statement throughout he drive-thru which reiterated my position of no negative balance at anytime during the said week in question. I took the statement inside and spoke to a man whom had the word or (supervisor) named ***** ***** who also stated he couldn't explain why the statement didn't show a negative balance at some point that week. However he reiterated the call centers position with problems of the new electronic-telephone banking system, and stated that it probably happened around the hours of 12am and the wee-hours of the morning and the system missed it. Especially if you, meaning me the consumer had made a early deposit the same day in question. He said this is something he has seen happen many times and there working on making the system better for the consumers, however these things take time he stated. In addition Mr. ***** said he would speak to his boss tomorrow, and get back to me, because he could definitely understand why I should be refunded, but he's not the boss. Well it has been more than 10 days since the 22 of January, 2015 when I visited the ********** branch and spoke with Mr. ***** *****. This type of service is very questionable and I believe warrants an audit to see how many elderly/others people have been targeted in this manner, because this could total millions of unjust fees passed onto the consumers. I also stressed concerns of the same system giving out private information (account) to non-account holders which I also experienced on January 22, 2015. In addition to myself making a report to the First Commonwealth main call center of this grave situation, concerning the consumers privacy and account information given to non-account holders over the phone is another very serious matter I stressed about. There are multiple things going on here, and I can sustain the things I have addressed to the utmost pertaining to the treatment I have received, and a system that is flawed to say the least. It is my goal to be treated with respect, professionalism, courtesy, and fair business practices applied at all times. The electronic telephone-banking system is suppose to accurate 24/7 and the consumer should never be back-doored by any business especially a bank, because this could be construed as questionable stealing/improper business! The electronic telephone-banking system is apart of the benefits of doing business with First Commonwealth Bank, and the consumers cannot be penalized when it errors, because that is an internal matter which is not caused by the consumer. They want there cake and eat it to, which would be unfair to the consumers that entrust them to do what is fair, not to mention what is RIGHT. There is no room for error like this, where the consumer is of concern, and where means (MONEY) is apart of the equation. I'm requesting to be made whole promptly and an audit be done in the spirit of good business banking toward the consumers of Western Pennsylvania, for I more than strongly believe that many individual have been compromised and harmed on several occasions during the last 36 months.

Desired Settlement: Refund and Audit by independent auditor.

Business Response:

I am writing this letter in response to the complaint letter you received from ****** ***. In this complaint Mr. *** contends that First Commonwealth Bank took money from his account without notification and without cause to do so. He contends that when listening to his account information via telephone banking on the day that the incident occurred, there was no mention of a negative balance. He states that he monitored his account activity from January 19, 2015 through January 21, 2015, and was aware of the transactions that occurred and his account balance. He is requesting that this matter be reviewed, and that his account be refunded for the $35 service fee  he was assessed.

In researching the transaction activity on his account for the above mentioned dates, I found that on January 20, 2015, Mr. ***’s account ending **** had a beginning balance of $50.99. On that day, there were several transactions that posted to the account, including check # **** in the amount of $100, which left the account with a negative balance of $91.12. As a courtesy, this check was paid by the bank rather than being returned unpaid. The account was assessed a $35 service fee for the payment of the item. Mr. *** has been provided a copy of the statement detailing the account activity on the dates in question. This information is available to the Better Business Bureau upon request.

In addition, I have reviewed the telephone calls made by Mr. *** to the Convenience Banking Center. Mr. *** was advised on each call that his account had a negative balance on January 20, 2015, and that the posting of check #**** and subsequent fee for the overdrawn account, were the cause for the negative balance. When Mr. *** explained that he checked our telephone banking system for his account information, he was advised that depending on what time he checked his account via this channel, the check may not have posted to the account. I also spoke directly with ***** *****, the associate named in the complaint, concerning the conversation he had with Mr. *** at the branch. Mr. ***** explained that he reviewed the account activity with Mr. **** and also explained the possible discrepancy between the time he
called and received the account information from the telephone banking system, and the posting of the check to his account. Mr. ***** indicated that at no point did he advise Mr. *** that the account was due a refund of the $35 service fee.

At First Commonwealth Bank, we are committed to acting ethically and treating our customers with the utmost respect. In my review of this matter, I can find no evidence that we acted otherwise. Mr. *** is not due a refund for the service fee he received in this as a result of this matter. The check in the amount of $100.00 was written on January 18, 2015 with an account balance of $50.99. A deposit to the account was not made until January 21, 2015.

If there are any additional questions, please feel free to contact me directly at ###-###-####.

Sincerely,

 

 

********* ** ****** Vice-President

 

Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

What the business offered as a response, was a complete lie and the recordings will reflect that there was no mention of my account being overdrawn or in a negative status. You have my permission to listen to when I checked my account with the automated system on the 19, 20, and 21 of January 2015. The system has been having problems since they implemented the new automated system. It has given me other businesses private information, which I can prove also. If there needs to be a complaint filed with the Attorney General also, then let me know. It's the principal of the matter that is of my greatest concern, then my monies. The information I'm providing is true and they know it. If it takes three more months of contacting other agencies or filing a complaint with the banking commission then I will, because there behavior is very criminal and dishonest. 

Regards,

** ***

10/31/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: First Commonwealth Bank has charged me for fees they cannot explain. I fell into a banking problem earlier on in the year due to the way they handle my account. I spent many hours on the phone with the Manager for him to say "I don't understand" & "I don't know" if he has these types answers when I call how am I as a consumer going to know what this financial company is doing with my money? First I am being charged with a $35 fee for them to pay a check for me. Then within 24 hours of looking at my account I have another $35 fee for a returned check fee. I have been charged many times for one transaction coming into my account. When I am charged these fees there is nothing telling me who they are paying or returning to. I have put it writing I do not want this bank to pay anything for me. They continue to use my money as they see to and do not answer to me just keep taking. I am being told "You shouldn't take money out of a account with no money" I don't they do and put me into a checking account disaster. When I make a cash deposit it is pending until the next day. When I have money and authorized a transaction it is pending until the next day. If I make an error or a credit card tries to come threw without my authorization it goes right threw with 100's of dollars in fees. They will take their fees before the principle of the transaction. There is no personal banking anymore and with the economy being so bad why are they hurting their customers. All I asked was someone to tell me what the charges were for and I would deposit the money. This went on for weeks and is currently with fees they refuse to refund. I want to know what they are doing with my money not just taking because they choose.

Desired Settlement: I would like most fees returned to me due to their lack of knowledge of their own banking system.I would like to see on my statement what a fee is for and for whom it is for.I would like to choose what branch I talk to about my account. If I do not want to talk to a certain person or branch, I should be able to talk to any one of their branches and get the answer I need.

Business Response: Attached, please find the response for the ****** ****** issue. Thank you.

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.
First Commonwealth Bank has chose to control my checking account without my permission.  I have talked to numerous employees from management to tellers trying to get answers about my account.  I do not understand why the answers cannot be gotten by anyone within the First Commonwealth Bank structure and within the same day.  I have had to wait days for answers when I needed an answer right away to fix a problem.  I have been told to "ONLY"  talk to the ********** Branch because that is where I opened my 1st account and management in that branch is the only one to help me.  Management in ********** cannot help me because the response I  receive is "I don't understand",  "I'm not sure what you mean" & " I'm pretty sure that doesn't happen."  Great customer service.  Simple accounting and bookkeeping practices are a qualification anyone should have when dealing with account problems.

 The only reason I received fees back from First Commonwealth was/is because of the amounts of my deposits & I called questioning my account.  I made many phone calls to fix those mistakes made by the bank or myself.  The fees were not just reimbursed to me without 10 phone calls.  What happened to the phone  call to say: " hey can you stop in to First Commonwealth today?" I believe, had I not made those calls, First Commonwealth would not have done the right thing.  Between the teller and myself we could not figure out what my account balance was.  That is not acceptable! 

 I recently ran into some financial downfalls due to change in jobs, starting a part-time business, &  helping family members  with other businesses,  I am involved with,  due to the economy.  Times within 2014 I needed some help with my account.  I never expected the response I got:  "Well ******, you should probably not use the account with no money in it."  The deposit was in the night deposit and being posted during our conversation.

********** Branch chooses what they will help me with and what they will not.  It is not referenced on my statements or any statements I have seen within my family members, what is being paid and what they are returning for non payment both of which come with a $35 fee.  I  checked my statement online and got ready for the bank in the a.m.  I went into the bank next morning and I was sick to find out nothing I looked at that evening was going on at all(10 hours later) The choices to pay and not to pay with no reference on my statement.    What a mess! They take fees for situations that happened previously, the response for that is "The computer didn't catch it."  or "It's the computers fault, we have no control over that."    I called trying to get answers, no one could answer my question(s), I refused to put anymore money into my account until someone got back to me.  I did not receive a call back for 2 business days, which as you know, fees accumulated.  **********  Management chose not to call me until I went to ******** asking for help.

 I use a short term loan V.I.P Club.  I have other accounts I use to pay them so at times it got a bit confusing.   V.I.P. charge me a redeposit fee of $30.  This charge only happens  " IF" I need them to change accounts for payment.  First Commonwealth posted the $30 fee for 5 different checks, only two checks were posted with $35 fee for being paid,  two checks returned not paid with a $35 fee, and one was in limbo and was not found for 4 days!   How does this happen????????   V.I.P. believed they were paid in full.  I refused to deposit anything until someone could help me. Unfortunately,  Everyone was so confused no one knew where to start.  Meanwhile my account and myself suffers.  V.I.P received three checks back and called me.  Monies were deposited and they paid.   V.I.P charged me extra fees for late payments on the 3 checks.  

What happened to "PENDING?"  Up until this point ALL my transactions were pending, even cash transactions.  Pending was a problem when that started due to the way they chose to put it into effect.  Reimbursed for many fees that caused and now it doesn't work at all the way I read or explained to me.  Why does it change when I am having a problem?  More fees to First Commonwealth?   I try to check my account on a regular basis but lately I have spent way to much of my time checking my account.  I  believe if I had not have called the only correspondence I would have received from First Commonwealth would be their letters a week after the fact and $250 in fees.  ********** Management has never called me to help me.   I live closer to ********.  I choose to do 90% of my banking in ******** but I should be able to go to any Branch and get my questions answered and helped.  

Regards,

****** ******

9/11/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Monies where taken from my account due to multiple mistakes and employee's telling less than the truth. There are recorded telephone conversation that can easily correct the wrong, however the regional manager ****** said she favors the employee in question, namely ***** at the **** **** Branch. ****** refuses to listen to the series of recorded phone conversations from August 2, 2014 thur August 6, 2014 with the customer call center and I. I spoke to several ladies at the said call center in question and **** on multiple occasions. This conversation are clear on how monies where charged against my account. I think there should be an outside audit done, which I feel will uncover a pattern of unjust business behavior being applied to consumers in Southwestern Pennsylvania. This practice may have already caused elderly customers millions of dollars in unjust fees due to this communicaton scheme that is being applied and keenly enforced with the regional manager ******.

Desired Settlement: Monies return that have been taking by communication scheme, which could have been avoided by applying professional business practices. The recorded conversations will prove everything in a reasonable fashion. I have called the Senior VP Ms. ******* ******, whom is above ******, and await a phone call from her. If I'm able to resolve this matter I'll contact you by phone or email.

Business Response:

Attached, please find our response and supporting documentation for issue #********. My sincerest apologies regarding the due date for our response.

If you need anything further, please contact me directly at ###-###-####.

Sincerely,

**** **********

6/12/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: First Commonwealth Bank came to a class I attend called ********** ********** conducted at ******** ********* ** **********, First Commonwealth Bank made an offer for a promotion. The promotion offer was that if you worked, started a new account with First Commonwealth Bank, and make twelve transaction, after they confirmed your employment, and stay in good standing, First commonwealth would give you $100. I met all of the qualifications and they did not honor their promotion. I tried contacting them several times and then they then said, now we want to do a presentations at the job also to get the money. they changed the qualifications after the agreement.

Desired Settlement: I would like the one hundred dollars that I am entitled to.

Business Response:

Please find attached, First Commonwealth Bank's response to the issue that was brought forward from Ms. *********. Also attached is a copy of the ad she referenced in her complaint. Please let me know if you require further information.

Many thanks,

 

**** **********Executive Assistant to the President

First Commonwealth Bank

4/22/2013 Problems with Product/Service
3/27/2013 Problems with Product/Service
9/14/2012 Billing/Collection Issues
8/29/2012 Problems with Product/Service
8/23/2012 Billing/Collection Issues
8/1/2012 Problems with Product/Service