This business is not BBB accredited.

Quality Matters

Phone: (503) 946-5869 Fax: (503) 822-9951 PO Box 23128, Portland, OR 97281 http://www.qualitymatters.com ! There is an alert on Quality Matters !


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers home and garden products, small appliances and gifts.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Based on BBB files, this business has a BBB Rating of No Rating. The reason is as follows:

  • This business has no rating because it is out of business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

6 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 2
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 6

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Quality Matters
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: August 24, 2006 Business started: 02/01/2004 Business started locally: 02/01/2004
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Oregon Secretary of State Corporations Division
255 Capitol St NE Ste 151, Salem OR 97310
http://www.sos.state.or.us
Phone Number: (503) 986-2200
corporation.division@state.or.us

Business Management
Ms. Renee Hall, Owner Mr. Doug Hall, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Renee Hall, Owner
Business Category

Housewares - Retail Internet Shopping Lawn & Garden Equipment & Supplies Garden Centers Home Centers

Alternate Business Names
QualityMatters.com

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    PO Box 23128

    Portland, OR 97281 (503) 946-5869

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

12/4/2013 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: SENT WRONG WARRANTY COVERAGE AND CAN NO LONGER FIND BUSINESS RESPONSE

Desired Settlement: OBTAIN CORRECT WARRANTY FOR PRODUCT BOUGHT

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/11/20) */ Although our website is completely shut down as we are out of business and we have no access to customer or order information I would like more details about this situation as I might be able to help. When was your purchase? What did you buy? Which warranty did you receive and which one were you expecting? Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 12, 2013/11/27) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) problem not solved, I still did not get the warranty I bought. can I get refund for the warrnaty so I can purchase my own warranty from a different vendor? Final Business Response /* (4000, 10, 2013/11/27) */ Had we been contacted right away upon your purchase of the contract we could have helped you. Again we have no access to records as our business has been closed since 10/15/13 and we no longer have a relationship with the warranty contract vendor.

10/29/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We purchased a portable air conditioner that was large enough for our space. It was not cooling the space and then the starter went bad on the unit. I contacted Quality Matters and told them the unit was not doing what it was needed to do and they deferred me to the manufacturer of the unit. I told them that i just wanted to return the unit but they would not return the unit for a refund because it was not "defective" Only the manufacturer could determine the unit defective according to the quality matters team. Once I spoke with ******** they wanted me to send them the unit for repair. I did, and then received it back. Only a day later and the unit was broken down again. I contacted Quality Matters again because I have never been happy with the purchase and they now tell me that I am out of the 30 days and they will not do anything to help me. I spoke with *****, the owner, and she told me they are closing the business and there was nothing that they are willing to do. In the end I have to deal only with ******* because QM will not do anything to help with the matter, and ***** ended our conversation by hanging up on me while yelling that they are not breaking their policy and for us to deal with the manufacturer. Horrible customer service. They never tried to resolve the issue, instead they passed the responsibility on to the manufacturer, when I clearly stated the first call , that I was completely unhappy with the unit.

Desired Settlement: Full Refund of the unit. We will ship the unit back at our cost, but want our money back for a unit that does not work, and does not fulfill our needs.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 16, 2013/10/17) */ When an item is under warranty and outside of 30 days, as per our return policy, customers must contact the manufacturer directly to get service or a replacement. Further, my recollection of the conversation with the customer is that he was yelling & I ended up having to hang up (I always say I am going to hang up before I do) because he kept arguing the same point, was yelling at me & refused to let me speak. Regardless once again I would like to reiterate that if a unit is defective it cannot simply be returned for a refund, as per our return policy. The customer must deal directly with ******* & it is true that we have closed our business. Final Consumer Response /* (3000, 18, 2013/10/17) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I called only days after receiving the unit to express how unhappy we were. We were guided to the unit by their company and it didn't perform. They would not take the unit back unless I contacted ******* tech support. They knew that ******* had the policy of trying to repair the unit. In the end, the return policy they have means nothing if they find every way possible around it. Instead of being a good business and returning the unit because it was not making the customer happy, they just redirected the blame and pressure on to *******. In the end, they are out of business and if it has anything to do with their customer relations then it all makes sense. The women I called said she was the owner and honestly never let me get my full story out. She was one of the most unprofessional people I have ever had to deal with, and I deal with customers everyday of my life. When your a business, you need to let the customer tell their story first, and then try to understand the issue and find a common ground so everyone is understood and happy. She raised her voice to talk over me as I tried to explain the situation. Final Business Response /* (4000, 20, 2013/10/18) */ Our return policy indicates customers must contact the manufacturer to troubleshoot. When customers claim that air conditioners are not working properly it is highly subjective. They are often purchased for too small of a space. It would be impossible to just take back every air conditioner without requiring the situation be troubleshot first. I am sorry this person feels I am so unprofessional, and as I indicated before I have a different recollection of the situation.

10/8/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Our restaurant ************** in Austin, MN purchased a freezer from this company on July 18, 2013. It was a Summitt 3 Drawer Built-IN SS Freezer (Product # SPF5DSSTBADA). Once we recieved this we had all kind of problems with it. I called Quality Matters and they referred me to the manufacturer (Summit). The freezer would not hold temp and the drawers were broke within the first month. While looking up the product info on the manufacturers website it said that the freezer that we purchased was designed for medical grade use. This was nowhere on quality matters website and I called Quality Matters and they basically told me it wasn't there problem and to contact Summit. I then called Summit and they said that they would send a technician out. After two weeks and no technician I then called Summit again and they said that there was not a tech in my area and Summit advised me to send the item back to the distributor (Quality Matters) which we are in the process of doing. No where on Quality Matters web site did they specify that this was a medical grade freezer.

Desired Settlement: Would like our money back ($1,871.09) as well as the cost of shipping we are charged for sending it to back to them.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 6, 2013/09/23) */ As our return policy indicates an item may be returned within 30 days. Beyond 30 days the matter must be handled directly with the manufacturer. Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 12, 2013/10/02) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) Obviously your horrible custumer service and lack of responsiveness is not going to be changed by the Better Business Bureau, this is disputed on my credit card and a credit will be issuesd to me. we will not take back the broken item that is under warranty and not being repaired. We purchased the product from you and your terrible customer service speaks volumes! This is 100% unacceptable! Final Business Response /* (4000, 10, 2013/09/30) */ We did not authorize the return of this item. It is well outside of our return policy period. An item cannot be returned without a return authorization. IF Summit did actually tell the customer to return it to us they should not have. We have no obligation to take it back. Further, when an item is under warranty the matter is handled between the manufacturer & the customer. If anything it should be sent back to Summit. If it is returned to us it will be refused.

5/23/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I was told I could convert a grill and when I looked into it further I could not. When I asked about it they said to bad and walked around the issue.

Desired Settlement: I would like to return it

Business Response: Business' Initial Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/05/09) */ The customer ordered a barbeque from us without getting confirmation that there is a conversion kit available for it, even though she, apparently, needed one for her application. We shipped her exactly what she ordered and she is responsible for all return fees based on our return policy. After she contacted us with her concern I sent her a follow up email offering to split the return costs with her since information she received prior to ordering could have been misconstrued. She has not responded.

3/11/2013 Guarantee/Warranty Issues
2/11/2013 Problems with Product/Service