Start Business Review
BBB Reliability Report for

Pathways for Change


A BBB Accredited Charity since 10/25/2016.

 
 

End Business Review Header
BBB issues Charity Reports on all organizations, whether or not they are BBB accredited. If an organization is a BBB Accredited Charity, it is stated in this report.
Name: Pathways for Change
Phone: (850) 346-2922
Fax: (850) 637-1429
Address: 1211 W Fairfield Dr
Pensacola, FL 32501-1107
Website: www.pathwaysforchange.org
Report Creation Date: October 20, 2016
Report Expiration Date: October 20, 2018
Original Business Start Date: February 2005
Principal: Ms. Connie Bookman, Founder/CEO
Customer Contact: Ms. Connie Bookman, Founder/CEO - (850) 346-2922
Entity: Corporation
Incorporated: July 2010, FL
Type of Business: Drug Abuse & Addiction - Info & Treatment, Charity - Local, Marriage, Family, Child, Individual Counselors
BBB Accreditation: Pathways for Change is a BBB Accredited Charity.

Stated Purpose

Vision

Pathways For Change offers a comprehensive, caring vision. We assess each individual who comes to PFC for help and we offer assistance in whatever areas are needed. all the lacking areas. If we build lives, one at a time, and do it well, we will save a neighborhood and then a community. We depend greatly on our partners and volunteers; that bond allows those individuals to accomplish their own missions. We all benefit.

We believe that the only way to true healing is through the love of God and a daily relationship with Him.

We envision healthy activities, such as a community vegetable garden, with area residents growing and selling their produce. We plan daily exercise classes for children, adults and senior citizens. We see a future that is healthy, ripe with opportunities.

Mission

Pathways For Change is committed to our clients and our community. Human transformation is our business; Pathways for Change saves people from the destructive lifestyle too often perpetuated by poverty, abuse of alcohol and other drugs, and lack of education.

Pathways For Change reduces crime on many fronts. We reduce recidivism at a rate of 70 percent, meaning the vast majority of our clients do not go out and commit new crimes. We help young people and families know that they have a future as law-abiding citizens. They do not need to hang with the gang, give up hope or dreams, or settle for a life that is not what God has intended for them.

Pathways For Change builds futures for children by providing a summer camp and an after-school program for middle-school boys and girls. We build futures for families by showing them how to live free of drugs and crime. We build futures of the elderly residents who live right next door to the Family Center; they now have meaningful work to do -- volunteering as tutors, mentors, instructors, childcare sitters, librarians, office coordinators. We are reviving a neighborhood, called "homeless town," working with each other to save lives, increase safety and build futures.

Core Values


Faith - We believe it is not about us, it is about God's Leadership.
Commitment - We show love and compassion for each other and those we serve, as we make a difference in our community.
Communication - We practice daily, the vital sharing and understanding of information in a safe, nurturing environment.
Integrity - We deliver transparency in our organization, earning trust and respect.
Hope - We believe that every life is a life worth saving.
Stewardship - We make wise and responsible decisions regarding all that we have been given.
Excellence - We deliver excellence through personal responsibility, accountability and continuous improvement.


Evaluation Conclusions

This organization has been evaluated according to the 20 BBB Standards for Charity Accountability. Donors must decide for themselves the relative importance of the Standards in question.

The following Standard for Charity Accountability was either not in effect or did not apply to this charity at the time of the evaluation.

19: Clearly disclose how the charity benefits from the sale of products or services (i.e., cause-related marketing) that state or imply that a charity will benefit from a consumer sale or transaction. Such promotions should disclose, at the point of solicitation: (a) the actual or anticipated portion of the purchase price that will benefit the charity (e.g., 5 cents will be contributed to abc charity for every xyz company product sold), (b) the duration of the campaign (e.g., the month of October), (c) any maximum or guaranteed minimum contribution amount (e.g., up to a maximum of $200,000).

Pathways for Change meets the remaining 19 Standards for Charity Accountability.


Programs

Total Program Expenses:$619,595

Governance

Chief Executive Officer:Connie Bookman
CEO Compensation:$66,945
Highest Paid Executive:Connie Bookman
Highest Paid Executive Compensation:$66,945
Chair of the Board:Ted Gorder
Chair's Profession / Business Affiliation:IMS Expert Services
Board Size:10
Paid Staff Size:10 FT Full Time. 5 PT Part Time.

Tax Status

This organization is tax-exempt under section 501(c)(3) of the Internal Revenue Code. It is eligible to receive contributions deductible as charitable donations for federal income tax purposes.


Financial

According to Pathways for Change's Sept. 30, 2015 Audited Financial Stmts for the year ended September 30, 2015:


Income
 Total Income:$1,013,651
 
Expenses     % of total
Expenses
% of total
Income
  Programs: $619,595   68.11% 61.13%
  Fund Raising: $97,651   10.73% 9.63%
  Administrative: $192,430   21.15% 18.98%
  Other: $0   0.00% 0.00%
  Total Expenses: $909,676
 
Excess of Income over Expenses$103,975
Beginning Net Assets$942,557
Ending Net Assets:$1,047,661
Total Assets$1,118,419
Total Liabilities$70,757

* Excess for the year indicates the portion of income remaining after expenses.


Notes and Comments

Pathways for Change is a 2017 Torch Award for Marketplace Ethics Winner. The Torch Award for Marketplace Ethics program was created by the Better Business Bureau Foundation serving Northwest Florida to publicly recognize businesses and charities that maintain a solid commitment to conducting their business practices in an ethical manner. For more information on the Torch Award for Marketplace Ethics, visit nwfl.bbb.org/TorchAward.


Additional Contact Information

Additional Addresses
2050 W Blount St
Pensacola, FL  32501
Tel: (850) 202-0028

PO Box 17852
Pensacola, FL  32522-7852

Additional Phone Numbers
Tel: (850) 637-1429

Additional Fax Numbers
Fax: (850) 202-0032
Fax: (850) 637-1056


Back to top

Industry Tips

Charitable Giving Tips

Ten Tips for Better Giving

Most charities are honest and ethical, but questionable solicitors are counting on the fact that you won't bother to check out the charity before you give. Here is some basic wise giving advise:

1. Watch out for similar names. As there are many charities raising funds for similar causes, some charity names sound the same. Be sure to look at the name carefully, because the charity soliciting you may not be the one you have in mind.

2. Do not be pressured to make an immediate gift. Be wary of solicitors that demand an "on the spot donation." Charities should welcome your gift whenever you want to send it.

3. Question vague appeals. Appeals should clearly identify the charity's programs. Watch out for appeals that are strong on identifying a problem, but weak on describing what specifically the charity intends to do about it.

4. Do not give out personal information to phone solicitors. Don't give out credit card numbers, checking account numbers or any other personal information to unknown telephone solicitors.

5. Do not give cash. Write out a check to the charity's full official name, not to an individual or third party that may be collecting the donation.

6. Keep record of your donations (receipts, canceled checks and bank statements) so you can document your charitable giving at tax time. (Note: The IRS requires donations of $250 or more to be substantiated through a written receipt from the charity.)

7. If you want a deduction, make sure the organization is a charity. There are many different types of soliciting nonprofit organizations. Most appeals will indicate if the organization is eligible to receive gifts deductible as charitable donations. (To be sure, review the list of organizations in IRS Publication 78 or ask the charity for a copy of its tax exempt status determination letter.)

8. Don't hesitate to ask the charity for written information on its programs and finances. This tip can be particularly helpful in responding to phone appeals from charities that interest you.

9. To verify if a charity is registered to solicit, contact your state government. In most cases, this will be the state's office of the attorney general. Remember that state registration does not mean "approval, " it means the group has filed the appropriate forms.

10. Report bad practices. Contact your Better Business Bureau and your state's Attorney General office about solicitation problems.


ID: 90026727
Report as of September 21, 2017 07:21
Copyright© 2017 Better Business Bureau


An organization may change its practices at any time without notice. Donors must decide for themselves the significance of any variation from BBB Standards, taking into account the relative importance of the practice in question in the context of the organization's total performance.

This report reflects the results of an evaluation of informational materials provided voluntarily by the organization. The report is not intended to recommend or deprecate, and is furnished solely to assist you in exercising your own judgement.

This report is not to be used for fund raising or promotional purposes.


Send to:
Printer | Email
What is a BBB Accredited Business?
What are BBB Ratings?
X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.