Massive Netflix Phishing Scam Targeted Over 50 Million Users

  
     
November 09, 2017

A new Netflix phishing scam is targeting more than 50 million subscribers – a number that is expected to grow to 62 million by 2020 (Source: Benzinga). The email mimics an official message from the popular streaming service. The message claims that the user’s account has been disabled because their billing information is not valid. The “Login Now” button is supposed to be clicked on within 48 hours to re-enter payment information to restart membership. Once the user clicks on the link in the email, they are taken to a link that prompts them to enter their new payment information. The link is managed by scammers who then steal the money and use the payment information for future charges and potentially identity theft.  If you receive a suspicious email or text message, Netflix urges users to never enter login or financial details, to not click on any links or open attachments, and to not reply back to the communication.

Below is the phishing email that is showing up in the inboxes of Netflix users:

Netflix Phishing Email