BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In Northeast Florida & The Southeast Atlantic
Print

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Dan Vaden Chevrolet - Cadillac meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Dan Vaden Chevrolet - Cadillac include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 8 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

8 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 4 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 2
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 6
Total Closed Complaints 8

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

2 Customer Reviews on Dan Vaden Chevrolet - Cadillac
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 2
Total Customer Reviews 2

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: August 02, 1994 Business started: 02/01/1983 Business started locally: 01/01/1968
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Bill Daniel Jr., Vice President Ms. Marcie Thomas, Social Reputation
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Bill Daniel Jr., Vice President
Customer Contact: Ms. Marcie Thomas, Social Reputation
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars Auto Dealers - Used Cars Auto Parts & Supplies - New Auto Services Auto Body Repair & Painting

Alternate Business Names
Dan Vaden Chevrolet, Inc.
Industry Tips
USED CAR SALES

Additional Locations

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

Industry Tips

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (800) 878-1776 (Fax)
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

3/10/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: To Whom it May Concern: I had my vehicle worked on at the Dan Vaden Chevrolet on Abercorn Street in Savannah,Ga. I dropped the car off on Friday ******** *** **** ** ****** for a 10:00am appointment I had made with **** (in the service department) earlier that week. When i took the vehicle in, I asked that they inspect the power steering, oil leaks, and the transmission. The car did not get looked at until the next Tuesday February 18,2014. I had a very difficult time getting in touch with **** to get updates such as: Should i get a rental? How much is it going to be?. I finally received a phone call from **** Thursday February 20, 2014 at 9:43am. She said that the transmission fix would be $341 and that the oil leaks/power steering would be $2,300 total. We had already known about the leaks in both the oil and the power steering as I had it looked at by the ********e on Abercorn in November of 2013. We decided not to do the power steering/oil leaks but did have them go ahead and fix the transmission. After driving 3 blocks home, the car sat in the parking lot of my apartment until Sunday when I had family come into town. Upon starting the car on Sunday February 23, 2014, fluid spilled all over the asphalt and the steering wheel would no longer turn. My main concern here is that the people at Dan Vaden purposely did something to my vehicle to make it all of a sudden explode like this. This power steering leak had been there for atleast 4 months now and I was just adding some fluid when it got low. It is not just a coincidence to me and I would like this investigated please. The dealership is claiming "no foul play" and are expecting me to pay then $1,100 now.Thanks for your time, ******* ******

Desired Settlement: I do not know the extent of the damage now so I would not be able to give an adequate description at this time.

Business Response:

Dear BBB,

Thank you for bringing the concerns of our customers Mr. and Mrs. ****** to our attention. One of the customer’s original concerns when he first brought us the vehicle was a leak in the power steering system. We diagnosed his concern and indeed it was leaking. We provided an estimate for repair which was declined.

Unfortunately the leak worsened. When we were contacted by the customer, we arranged for our Master technician to examine the vehicle which he did. Our findings were consistent with the original diagnosis – the vehicle is in need of repair.

With regards to the concern, “that the people at Dan Vaden purposely did something to my vehicle to make it all of a sudden explode like this,” we categorically deny. However frustrating the mechanical failure of the vehicle may be, we will not be held responsible for its repair.

As a gesture of goodwill, our Service Manager reached out to Mr. ****** and agreed to refund the original diagnosis fee.

Should you have any further concerns, do not hesitate to contact us.

Sincerely,

***** *******

Business Response:

Dear BBB,

 

Our Service Director Ballard Jones has been in contact with Mr. Hubbard. After speaking, Ballard offered to pay the $87 rental charge incurred while the customer;s vehicle was in another repair facility. Mr. Hubbard agreed receipt of this payment would conclude their issue. The check for that amount should be cut and go out in the mail today or tomorrow.

 

Regards,

 

***** *******

Consumer Response:

 

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

Regards,

******* ******

 

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

1/15/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
9/10/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I bought a used vehicle from Dan Vaden VW in Savannah, GA on 16 July. (There was no option to select the VW dealership so I selected the only one available in Savannah, GA)Two weeks after I had purchased the vehicle I recieved a call from the salesperson (********)stating that the finance manager (***** *****)needed a copy of my military LES or ID so that they could finalize the title work so that they could turn the paperwork in prior to the end of the month in order to get the commission for the salesperson. I asked why it took two weeks to figure out that they needed that and I didn't recieve a satisfactory answer (I was told "I don't know")Two weeks after that the title still wasn't done and through several phone calls I found out that the dealership didn't have the title from the previous owner at the time of the sale (and still didn't have it) and that they were having to request a duplicate title. I was told at that time that I would need to go to the tag/title office where I live and get an extension to my temporary tag. This was unacceptable to me so the dealership sent me a tag which I recieved on the day that the original one expired. It has been almost another two weeks since then and my title is still not done. I have made several phone calls to the dealership and the tag/title section of Dan Vaden Group during this process. There have been several times that I was told "Let me find out what's going on and I will get back to you today" and half of the time have not recieved a return call. I don't understand how a dealership can sell a car when they don't physically have the title in hand. I would not recommend Dan Vaden to anyone.

Desired Settlement: I would like for my title work to be done so that I can get my tag and I would like to be compensated in some way for all of the time that I have put into this. I will have to take time from work to get my tag when this is resolved.

Business Response:

Dear BBB,

 

Thank you for contacting us regarding our customer Mr. ***********. We are in daily communication with the customer updating him on progress made with his tag and title paperwork. We do not anticipate any hiccups at this time. We are working hard to make him another one of our satisfied customers!

Sincerely,

 

***** *******

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

7/17/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues
3/26/2013 Problems with Product/Service
9/17/2012 Problems with Product/Service
4/16/2012 Problems with Product/Service
3/26/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues
1