The Used Car Lemon Law covers non-commercial motor vehicles except for motorcycles, certain motor vehicle homes, and off-road vehicles. The law applies only to purchasers of used vehicles which:
If your used car has 18,000 miles or less, you may be protected by the new car lemon law.
If your car has more than 18,000 miles and up to and including 36,000 miles, the warranty must extend for at least 90 days or 4,000 miles, whichever comes first.
If your car has more than 36,000 but less than 80,000 miles, the warranty must extend for at least 60 days or 3,000 miles, whichever comes first.
If your car has 80,000 or more, but no more than 100,000 miles, the warranty must extend for at least 30 days or 1,000 miles, whichever comes first. Cars with over 100,000 miles are not covered.
If your engine, transmission, drive axle, brakes, radiator, steering, alternator, generator, starter or ignition are defective, the seller must repair it or reimburse you for the repairs.
If the same problem cannot be repaired after three or more attempts, or if your car is out of service for a total of 15 or more days, you are entitled to return the car and receive a refund of your purchase price, sales tax and fees. You may arbitrate the complaint through the New York State Attorney General's office for a fee of $110. This fee is refunded if you win the case. All used car dealers are required by New York State law to provide consumers, at the time of purchase or lease of a motor vehicle, with a copy of the used car lemon law.
For information on the New Car Lemon Law, click here.