BBB Accredited Business since

Tiger Chef

Phone: (877) 928-4437 Fax: (845) 406-4130 27 Chestnut St, Suffern, NY 10901 http://www.tigerchef.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Tiger Chef meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Tiger Chef include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 4 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 2
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Tiger Chef
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: June 28, 2010 Business started: 06/01/2005 in NY Business incorporated 09/14/2005 in NY
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Jacob Stefansky, President Mr. Sam Ilowitz, Marketing Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Jacob Stefansky, President
Business Category

RESTAURANT EQUIPMENT & SUPPLIES

Alternate Business Names
Suburban Bowery of Suffern

Additional Locations

  • 27 Chestnut St

    Suffern, NY 10901 (877) 928-4437

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

2/2/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Tigerchef.com was advertising a product for set price. After the order was confirm, Tigerchef.com changed the standard shipping and handling I chose and switched it to a 2 day priority mail to add $65.09 a hidden fee without my knowledge. Which is a misleading practice. The item in question is a Sieve listed price $18.49 + $8.82 shipping but a $65.09 for shipping and handling was charge without advising the customer (ME). I tried to get a resolution with tigerchef.com with different fixes like trying to cancel shipment before they shipped it. In which Tigerchef.com said that could not cancel. Also I tried to see is they could change the shipping to standard but again they did not want to work with me. I tried to find a resolution but tigerchefe.com will not find a resolution. Your add was misleading. You say that Sieve is List at Price: $43.83 but you are selling at list price with shippng at $18.49 + $8.82 shipping but are charging me $65.09 forshipping and handling. That is misleading and not right to do to customers.

Desired Settlement: I want to pay the amount they advertised the item in question, which the pice is $18.49 + $8.82 of shipping. Followed by an reimbursement of the the hidden fee $65.09 which they add with out my knowledge.

Business Response: *****, Thank you for reaching out to us and  I apologize for the frustration that this has caused .I can only address part of this issue. The reason that our representatives were not able to either cancel the order or switch the shipping method was because this order had already been processed and given over to ***. When an order comes into our systems marked as an expedited shipment we waste no time in shipping the order. As for the other part of your claim that the shipping method was switched  I am unable to address a thisthis as the  order was not placed through our website but through **********. As much as I would like to help you out we are only fulfilling an order that was placed through **********  As this order was placed through their website and not ours I feel this claim needs to be directed at them as we cant speak for what happens on their website.

All the Best

****

1/7/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: They advertised plates at $33.20/doz. We ordered a dozen since it said had to be ordered by the dozen. We paid, and when we received our order only 1 plate was in the box. We called and asked about the other plates and were told they made a mistake, they wouldn't honor the price they had listed and we paid them. Offered to refund our money or we could pay 33.20 ea for the other 11 plates.

Desired Settlement: I would like to receive the test of our order, that we paid for. If this was a store we would have the plates as soon as we paid.

Business Response: I would like to apologize to he customer for the website data error. We sell this item by the piece and our pricing was for the piece, unfortunately it was written that this was a box of 12 and for this error we are very apologetic for the frustration that this has caused the customer. We have already spoken with the customer and explained this error and we have already given the customer a full refund for the order and he can keep the one plate we sent him. 


Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me and the matter has been resolved.

Sincerely,

****** ******



 

12/11/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Tiger Chef ** ******** *** ******** ** ***** dba ************* Defective item from Order #: ****** Order Date: October *, 2014 Item Name Quantity Price Each Total Winco SSTC-32 2 14.40 28.80 When I unpacked the delivery on Friday, October **, 2014, I discovered that one of the items was as displayed, but one was defective. I sent the following email to ********************** Friday, October **, 2014 8:57 PM, with an attached image of the flaw: “I received the order today and all is good except one of the lids is defective. On one side of the handle the spot weld is missing. See attached. I slid an index card in the gap. Please advise. Thanks, ****” Attached image: I received no response on Monday 10/**/2014 so I attempted to engage them with their website's Live Chat application. I received a message stating they had no operators and to submit a displayed message form and someone would get back to me within 24 hrs. So I submitted their message form with the following information: “Order # ****** One of the lids is defective. On one side of the handle the spot weld is missing. I sent an email to ********************** on Friday with a picture of the flaw. Did you get my email?” I received no response on Tuesday 10/**/2014 so I attempted to engage them again with their website's Live Chat application. I again received a message stating they had no operators and to submit a displayed message form and someone would get back to me within 24 hrs. So I again submitted their message form with the following information: "Order # ****** One of the lids is defective. On one side of the handle the spot weld is missing. I sent an email to ********************** on Friday with a picture of the flaw. Did you get my email?" I sent this to Livechat yesterday morning at 9:13AM. I am about to make another Winco order. Would you please tell me how you can arrange to send the replacement lid with this order? What do you want me to do with the defective lid? I received no response on Wednesday 10/**/2014. So I went back to their website and found the following on My Account page: “Your dedicated account representative is: ***** ******** You can contact ***** to place an order, to check up on an order, for product questions, for bulk ordering, or just to chat! ******s contact info: Phone: ###-###-#### Email: *******************” So the same day I sent ***** ******** the following email and attached the above image: “Hi *****, I unpacked my order # ****** from tigerchef last Friday and all is good except one of the lids is defective. On one side of the handle the spot weld is missing. See attached. I slid an index card in the gap to show it. I sent an email to ********************** on Friday (10/**/14) with a picture of the flaw. I sent a message to Live Chat on Monday 10/** and another message to Live Chat on Tuesday 10/**. I have received no response. I finally found your name in My Account. Can you please help me? I placed another Winco order this morning (order #******). Maybe you could include a replacement lid with this order? And what do you want me to do with the defective lid? I don't call because I'm hearing impaired. Thanks, ****” No response Thursday, October **, 2014 So I sent ***** the following email: “Hi *****, I don't understand why I have heard nothing from you guys. Tiger Chef has a good rating with the NYC Better Business Bureau. If you are working on it and don't have it resolved yet, just let me know. Thanks, **** BTW: Live Chat still has no operators working.” It is now Monday October **, 2014 and I still have received no response from *************. Hence this complaint. **** ********** **** * *** ** ** ******* ** ***** ******************

Desired Settlement: Replace the defective lid with a non-defective lid.

Business Response:

The business has responded.  Please see below:

this replacement was  shipped on 11/**/14 and delivered  on 11/**/14

 

 

Thanks,

***** ****** ******* **** ******** **** ************ **** ************ ******* ******************* *****************

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me and the matter has been resolved.

It's interesting that I received the replacement lid with no communication from Tiger Chef.

Sincerely,

**** **********



 

5/22/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I orderd a case of bread & butter plates thinking they were china and they were plastic, we never used them & I sent them back paying the shipping to send back & they would not credit me nor give me a refund stating they were used. we did not use them nor do we need them, the company was unwilling to do anything for me except ship them back to me so i could donate them to a chairity house

Desired Settlement: I would of liked the company to at least give me a credit to possibly purchase china plates. I will never use this company again!

Business Response: Dear ******,
 
Thanks for writing into us, we are so sorry to hear what happened and we will do our best to sort out this situation and leave you completely satisfied. After reviewing your case, we really do apologize about what happened and we would love to make it up to you. We would be more than happy to offer you a store credit towards your purchase of China Plates. Please contact us, and we will make this possible. Again we are so sorry for all that has happened and we are awaiting your phone call.
 
Thanks,
 
Tigerchef Support
 
###-###-####
 
(ID# *******)

Business Response: Hello,
 
Regarding *** ******* 
Please refer the customer the initial offer that we provided. We are offering a store credit towards a future purchase of china plates.
 
Thanks for your help.
 
***** ********
Customer Support,
Tigerchef
**** ************ ******** *******************               
*****************
       
THE LEADING ONLINE SOURCE FOR
RESTAURANT EQUIPMENT & SUPPLY