BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In Metropolitan New York, Long Island, and the Mid-Hudson Region

BBB Accredited Business since

PexUniverse.com

Phone: (800) 818-3201 Fax: (800) 818-3211 196 Henry Street, Hempstead, NY 11550 http://www.pexuniverse.com

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that PexUniverse.com meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for PexUniverse.com include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 9 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

9 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 4 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 2
Billing/Collection Issues 2
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 9

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: August 27, 2009 Business started: 11/28/2006 in NY Business incorporated: 11/28/2006 in NY
Type of Entity

Corporation

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Elik Burshtein, Managing Partner
Business Category

PLUMBING FIXTURES, PARTS, SUPPLIES-RETAIL


Additional Locations

  • 196 Henry Street

    Hempstead, NY 11550 (800) 818-3201

  • 1
X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

5/6/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We ordered a pump from Pex Universe for a hydronic heating system. The pump we received was defective based on the trouble shooting done over the phone with the manufacturer. Grundfos, who is the manufacturer of the pump, said we needed to return the pump to the place of purchase. Upon returning the pump to Pex Universe we were charged a restocking fee. On top of that we paid shipping to get the part to us (we expected this) and also had to pay shipping to return the defective product (we did not expect this but not as important). What I feel was not a good business practice was charging a restocking fee on a defective part. We have sent Pex universe letters citing this inconsistency upon which we were told by Pex Universe that the fee was "unavoidable." As the pump is part of a heating system, time was of the essence and we had to replace the pump in a more timely manner from another vendor. I refused to pay freight again for another potentially defective pump that had been restocked from another customers fouled transaction.

Desired Settlement: The expected business practice on defective products is commonly that the supply company sends a call tag to the customer that can be used to send the defective product back, and there should not be a restock fee as there was no product to restock. It was a product that, from the outset should never have been sold and shipped to us, and most certainly should not now go back into stock to be sold and shipped to yet another unsuspecting customer. It is for this I am seeking a refund of the restock fee and return shipping.

Business Response:

Customer placed an order at our website at the time of purchase he agreed to our terms and conditions upon completion of an order.  Most manufacturer warranties allow for replacement only. Items are generally not eligible to return for credit. Customers are responsible for the shipping costs to send the warranty item back to us; PexUniverse.Com  will pay the shipping costs to send out the replacement. Our return policy states that if your item is defective we will replace it for you at no additional cost however if you chose to have a refund and not a replacement there is a fee that the customer will be charged upon the return of the unit.   *** ***** completed the return authorization and unfortunately his return had passed the allowed of time  which we would of be able to pick up the item at no cost to him (free freight return). On the return authorization *** ***** was offered the option for replacement at no additional cost  however *** ***** declined the replacement .. Customer stated that he "refused to pay freight for another potentially defective pump had been restocked from another customer’s fouled transaction.”  We offered  *** ***** a replacement at no charge for brand new product however *** ***** refused the replacement for a refund  therefore per our return policy *** ***** was refunded minus the 15% fee. All  defective products are returned to the manufacture for warranty. Customer requested a refund and a refund was made available.

****

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID# *******, and have determined that my complaint has NOT been resolved because:

 

 All shipping concerns aside why am I still paying a 15% restocking fee on a defective product? Are they putting the defective product back into stock? 

 


Sincerely,

**** *****




 

Business Response: Thank you for bringing this complaint to my
attention. Here is an excerpt from the return policy on our website
(****************************************):



"If product is found to be defective, you must report it within 14 days
from the delivery date - we will replace such products at no additional charge.
For orders over 14 days, customer is responsible for any shipping costs
associated with the return (see “Warranty Issues” part of this page for
details). If you wish to return a defective product without getting a
replacement, a 15% restocking fee will apply."



Our online customers agree to this return policy when placing an order with
PexUniverse. 



According to our records, **** ***** (order #*****) placed an order through our
website on 09/**/2013, and received his shipment on 09/**/2013. The customer
requested a return authorization on 10/**/2013, and returned the merchandise on
11/**/2013, having already replaced the pump through another source. 



To further clarify our policy, our "restocking fee" doesn't mean we
put the returned product back into our stock. If the returned item is
defective, we need to have it replaced with a new one so we can fulfill orders
for other customers. Hence, when a customer returns defective merchandise, we typically
send it back to the manufacturer for a replacement item. There are shipping and
labor costs associated with the replacement both on our end and for the
manufacturer. If the customer reports defective merchandise within 14 days, we
waive the fee, and we are glad to do it if we can replace the product with a
new one from our stock. This customer waited longer than the 14 days cited on
the return policy, and purchased a replacement from another source. The
customer was aware that per our return policy, he would be responsible for
shipping as well as the 15% restocking fee.



Many thanks again for keeping track of this complain. I hope I have outlined
our policy and this particular situation to your satisfaction, and that the
customer will understand that businesses must adhere to their own publicly
available policies.



Sincerely,



**** *********



Customer Service Team

***************

Toll-free: ###-###-#### (******** ************* ****

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID# ******** and have determined that my complaint has NOT been resolved because: If the business is satisfied treating customers this way I wish them luck.  As a retailer I know that if I were to have a policy such as this, I would not expect any return customers as they have lost this one.  It appears they have won the battle but lost the war.  

 

 

 

 

In order for the BBB to appropriately process your response, you MUST answer the question above.


Sincerely,

**** *****




 

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable effort to address the complaint. However the consumer remains dissatisfied.

1/15/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I orders an item from them they refuse to refund my money when i returned it two days after receiving it they said it was because i put a fedx return lable on the box. They said they could not resale the product because i put that piece of paper on the return box. someone else told me it was because i did not put it in a new box and she said that on the return info it says to put it in a new box and return it. Thats not what it says it says put in box and properly secure it, whats more secure then its orginal packaging ? This company has made every dumb excuss not to refund my money.

Desired Settlement: To get my refund of $212.87 and this company should not be able to steal customers money just for puttin a fedx return paper on the box i think thats one of the crazyest thing i have ever heard of everyone around me feels the same way its just an excuss to keep people money for no good reason.

Business Response: Customer didn't purchase this item from PEXUNIVERSE.COM her purchase was on ******.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID# *******, and have determined that my complaint has NOT been resolved because:

[Your Answer Here] They are the ones that refused my refund not ****** they are a third party seller ****** is very ,very disappointed in this company for the nonsense reason for not refunding my money,for having a fed x return paper on the box. They are stealing people money and they lied to you they are the reason I didn't get a refund. The package went back to their company.nortfort inc. **** ****** *** ******** *** ***** The package came from their company and was returned to their company. They are 100 percent responsible for my refund. Please help,Thank you for your time.

 

 

 

 

In order for the BBB to appropriately process your response, you MUST answer the question above.


Sincerely,

****** *******




 

Business Response: This customer is from **********, ****** HAS REFUNDED THIS ORDER IN FULL, I'mnot sure why they have opened BBB complain for PEXUNIVERSE.COM they order is not with PEXUNIVERSE.COM.




Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID# *******, and have determined that my complaint has NOT been resolved because:

[Your Answer Here] yes my bank was refunded on 1/**/14 and I can thank ****** for that I think they stopped  dealing with this company, Dont forget this was a third party that goes Thur ****** to sell their products,they lied to you they shipped the product from their warehouse not ******. The return went to them not ****** they are a third party seller. I talked to two different people at pex they are the ones who told me they would not give me back my refund because there was a fed x return paper on the box . I am thankful to ****** for getting my money refunded they could not believe this company did not want to refund my money because there was a fed x return paper on the box.This company tried to say their return policy said things that it did not say they made up things so they could keep my money,again this company pex is the one who refused my money back not ******.

 

 

 

 

In order for the BBB to appropriately process your response, you MUST answer the question above.


Sincerely,

****** *******




 

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable effort to address the complaint. However the consumer remains dissatisfied.

12/23/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: PexUniverse advertises pex tubing a low price, but the 5 boxes of "400 feet of tubing" was only 300 feet of tubing. Tried discussing with customer service, but only resolution they had was to return product. I was under a deadline and had to install what I had as I received it, not knowing I was being short-changed the footage. I was only wanted them to cover the missing footage. I asked for ********** who would not escalate to ******* and was hungup on by phone. They have no other contacts except 800 number. Additionally, I tried to write a review on their website for the product to voice my problem, and their website will only allow review to be accepted that reflect positive reviews, my negative reviews are not being added to the website - this seems very unfair to the customer and possibly illegal since a fair assessment by any customer can not be obtained.

Desired Settlement: That the company should ensure customers are actually getting the proper amount of product when purchased and that website should allow negative feedback as well!

Business Response: Our records indicate that ********* **** placed two separate orders; 85596 on October ** and the other order was placed on ***** on November *. Customer claimed that the pextubing was short by 100 feet, which at the time we ensured him that we would investigate the issue further.  We opened a brand new box from our inventory  from the same batch that we  fufilled *** ****'s order and verified that the tubing is marked every 5ft with is added up to 405ft, we also found out that the manufacturer provides  an extra 5 feet of tubing inside of every roll. To satisfy the customer we offered him to return the tubing at no additional cost however customer refused to return the merchandise. At this time we offer *** **** to return the product to us and we  will replace it at no cost to him or we can refund in full  since he is not satisfied with the product.Please feel free to contact us if you'll have additional inquiries.


Sincerely,
**** **********

###-###-####





Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID# *******, and have determined that my complaint has NOT been resolved because:

 

As explained in the conversation, the tubing was measured as installed at our project, each box is short by 100 feet and therefore because the tubing is installed it is unable to be returned, unless they want to agree to pay for the extraction and reinstallation of the tubing, it can not be returned due to the circumstances. 

Clearly there is a problem with the boxes I recieved because none of the tubing I have ordered and received from them is marked every 5 feet as they have stated!!

Also they have not addressed the other issues with the websites that do not allow customers to place negative feedback and theie poor quality of customer service that rudely hungup on me in the middle of conversation and inability to provide a ****** ***** **********/*******/***** to address this issue. 

Their response only further highlights a problem with my order.

 

 

 

In order for the BBB to appropriately process your response, you MUST answer the question above.


Sincerely,

****** ****



 

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me and the matter has been resolved.

Sincerely,

****** ****



 

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

9/3/2013 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Pex Universe.com customer care from the start has been looking for ways not to send a replacement item not honoring their advertised warranty policy. Example:: Yesterday I notified them and the manufacturer via phone of this product issue. The manufacturer is working to address the issue but Pex Universe sends me to there website to fill out a form that does not respond. Today I spoke with ******** this morning, I was put on hold for a half an hour. I hung up and called back and spoke with another representative I was again put on hold but ******** got on the phone again and questioned why did I not remove the top of the just purchased pump and inspect it before using it. My response was when you buy a new TV set do you disassemble it before you try it. The response I received was that's different,. I was once again put on hold but she returned a few minutes requesting I ship the damaged part to a address in Brooklyn NY and they would pay for shipping. Why would I be shipping this part to Brooklyn NY to be sent back to Franklin Electric Co. located in Oklahoma City Ok. when Pex Universe has there main store located in Hempstead NY. I am not sending this just purchased pump to a unknown address in Brooklyn NY. Sorry they can do better than that!

Desired Settlement: I am just requesting an exchange unit for this damaged unit to be shipped free of charge in a timely matter. Note if needed I can provide sent emails and additional information sent on line to Pex Universe.com.

Business Response:

To whom it may concern:

*** ********  purchased a pump on 08/**/2013,  we shipped his order with  Fedex ground  and delivered it Tues 8/**/2013 1:14 pm.  On August **** customer send an email with attached pictures of the damaged items, we advised him to file a return authorization; per our policy every customer must submit an electronic merchandise authorization. When customer submitted the request for the return authorization got declined because *** ******** reported the item damaged 7 days after the item was delivered( please view our return policy attached to this email), which states " 

If the product you received was damaged in transit:In order to comply with our carrier’s policy and offer a free of charge replacement for damaged products, they must be reported within 3 days from the delivery date. We cannot accept claims beyond 3 days due to deadline provided by carrier.

 When complete, our Electronic Return Form will provide an RMA# and instructions on preparing a damaged product for return. Our Customer Service Representative will contact you shortly afterwards to arrange a replacement.

PexUniverse.com has only certain days of opening a claim with Fedex for delivering a damage" ( please see attached request)  Although the return policy clearly states that if you do not report the item  damage within three days  PexUniverse would not be responsible for a replacement. However due to the circumstances  of this case ( internal damages of the pump ) PexUniverse allowed *** ******** to return the product for replacement. Our customer service  provided *** ******** with a  return address where he would ship the damage pump, and as soon as the pump is received, Pexuniverse would replace it at no additional cost.  ** ********"s complain is that Pexuniverse customer care is avoiding the advertized warranty policy, LITTLE GIANT which is the manufacturer would not honor any warranty if the items is damage because it doesn't fall under their guide lines under their warranty defects. Pexuniverse has provided *** ******** with the appropriate return address where damaged and defective items are received for inspection; not an "unknown address". At this time, we do not feel that we are liable for the customer’s dissatisfaction, as the information was readily available on our website. Furthermore, the customer refuses to return the item which is in accordance with our Return Policy, also available on our website.


**** *********.

********************* ************

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

4/25/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I ordered a shallow well pump model #****** EVERYTHING was as needed according to the description. They described EVERYTHING one needs to know about the pump.voltage, psi, gpm an mich more! Except 1 BIG detail that its only for indoor use. Hmm so when I contact pexuniverse I was told I should have read the installation manual!! Why not describe that big detail if your able to describe everything else?So I was told I would have to pay for shipping to return it especially cause i recieved FREE SHIPPING when i purchased it.after waiting an hour an a half cause the supervisor or as she told me the ONLY supervisor of the company for hee just to tell me that there is NOTHING THEY CAN DO. that I its a shallow well pump an will have electricity to it so how would I think that it would be outside an shouldve known. Sounds like they don't know what they are talking about. I would NEVER ORDER from this company again especially after deal with *** the so called ONLY supervisor in pexuniverse

Desired Settlement: They should pay for the shipping of the returned item.

Business Response:

To Whom It May Concern:

 

 

Customer ****** *******, purchased the FloForce FJP-100 Shallow Well Jet Pump w/ Pressure Switch, 1 HP, 115/230V On February 25, 2013.  At the time of the purchase customer did not inquired any additional information about the pump. He was satisfied with the price, description and free shipping option. On March 12, 2013 Mr. ******* called and wanted to know if the pump can be installed out side, per the our data guide provided on our website “Literature” (https://www.pexuniverse.com/docs/pdf/floforce-shallow-well-jet-pump-manual.pdf) notes that the location of the pump ‘’ The pump must be installed in a clean, dry and well ventilated location which provides protection from freezing temperatures and allows draining and priming the pump. The location must be accessible and have adequate room for servicing. The pump must be installed horizontally and bolted to a solid foundation, as possible – doing so will reduce friction inside the pipes and pressure drop and will help the jet pump to perform at its’ maximum capacity.’’  After explaining and reading the manual to Mr. ******* he decided to return the pump because it wouldn't work for his application. We informed him to file a RMA( Return Authorization Form) please see attachment A. In the return request customer states that the reason of the return is  “he no longer needed”Per our return  policy ‘’ If you ordered a wrong product and need to return it:

If you purchased a product in error, or it is no longer needed, it can be returned to PexUniverse.com within 30 days from the date of delivery – no restocking fees will apply(exceptions are listed below). For orders returned after 30 days, but not later than 60 days, a 15% restocking fee will apply. 

  

Returned product(s) must be in original manufacturer’s packaging, unopened, unused and undamaged. Upon receipt of the package, within 3-5 business days, PexUniverse.com will refund the product(s) cost, including any taxes paid and less shipping. If order qualified for free shipping, PexUniverse will withhold the amount it paid for shipping of such product(s). 

Used products or products missing any original parts/packaging/literature are non-returnable”  

 

Unfortunately Mr. *******’s complaint regarding the advertising has no merits. All the information needed is in our website, we also offer our customers technical support and customer service, if Mr. ******* was unsure or unfamiliar with the product he could of called our Toll Free # ###-###-#### at any time for  additional information in regards to the pump. With all due respect to you, at this time we do not feel responsible to pay for shipping cost of Mr. *******’s return however to avoid any altercation we created a shipping label to pick up the pump. We receive his return on March 26, 2013 the pump is used ( see attachment B), contrary to what Mr. ******* stated on his return.  I’ll leave this matter to you for further determination.   

 

 

Sincerely, 

 

**** *********

PexUniverse.com

*********** ************* ***** ****** ********** ******************* ******************** ********** ************ *************** ***************

 

Business Response:

To whom it may concern:

Pexuniverse.com always works with its costumers to reach an satisfactory resolution. We tried with Mr. *******'s case as well. Customer purchased the pump through our website; we do not make any suggestions that would of lead to dictated purchase by phone or by email due to liability. Therefore Mr. ******* is the only person that could come to such a conclusions; by reading the information on our website or by further research.  Our website has a variety of reliable information that can help someone to make further determination on a product/item such as descriptions, literature and on prior experience. Based on the information customer can come to a conclusion if the item would serve his/her purpose. Mr. ******* ordered the pump on our website, when he found out that the pump did not work for him he went online and filled a Return Merchandise Authorization. Customer clearly stated that he no longer needed the product and that the product was new, per our return policy he would have paid the shipping cost to return the pump to shipper. However customer claimed that we were responsible due to misleading information and he would not pay any shipping charges. To satisfy Mr. ******* we send FedEx to pick up the item at our expense, with the intention of refunding him the full amount. Unfortunately upon inspection our quality control team found out that Mr. ******* had installed the pump as we have previously presented the documents showing the pump with rust inside. We contacted Mr. ******* and explained that we cannot refund for an item that was previously installed/used, Mr. ******* denied the allegation and stated that the pump was outside and the rust was created from the water. However there was no evidence of discoloration out side the box and is unlikely that the water from the rain to enter on the horizontal side of the pump to create any residue of rust. Initially this claim was submitted to cover the shipping charges of the returned product no longer needed opened but not used.  Although our return policy clearly states:

"If you ordered a wrong product and need to return it: If you purchased a product in error, or it is no longer needed, it can be returned to PexUniverse.com within 30 days from the date of delivery – no restocking fees will apply(exceptions are listed below). For orders returned after 30 days, but not later than 60 days, a 15% restocking fee will apply.

 Returned product(s) must be in original manufacturer’s packaging, unopened, unused and undamaged. Upon receipt of the package, within 3-5 business days, PexUniverse.com will refund the product(s) cost, including any taxes paid and less shipping. If order qualified for free shipping, PexUniverse will withhold the amount it paid for shipping of such product(s).

Used products or products missing any original parts/packaging/literature are non-returnable."

By returning a used pump Mr. ******** violated his agreement to our company upon complement of his Return Merchandise Authorization. He verified that his return was in the same conditions as it was received. We enforce our return policy to all our customers’ therefore with the presented return we are not able to refund Mr. *******. However Mr. ******* can pick up his “used product” any time from our company.

Sincerely,

**** *********,

 

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID# *******, and have determined that my complaint has NOT been resolved because:

 

I have yet to hear from pexuniverse about refunding me the money for the purchase or returning the pump...I have even tried emailing them and haven't heard back from them!!

 

 

 

 

In order for the BBB to appropriately process your response, you MUST answer the question above.


Sincerely,

****** ******* 




 

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable effort to address the complaint. However the consumer remains dissatisfied.

6/22/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues
6/9/2012 Delivery Issues
3/14/2012 Problems with Product/Service
10/3/2011 Billing/Collection Issues
1