BBB Accredited Business since

PexUniverse.com

Phone: (800) 818-3201 Fax: (800) 818-3211 196 Henry Street, Hempstead, NY 11550 http://www.pexuniverse.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that PexUniverse.com meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for PexUniverse.com include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 13 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

13 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 8 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 4
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 3
Problems with Product/Service 4
Total Closed Complaints 13

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on PexUniverse.com
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: August 27, 2009 Business started: 11/28/2006 in NY Business incorporated 11/28/2006 in NY
Type of Entity

Corporation

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Elik Burshtein, Managing Partner
Business Category

PLUMBING FIXTURES, PARTS, SUPPLIES-RETAIL


Additional Locations

  • 196 Henry Street

    Hempstead, NY 11550 (800) 818-3201

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

5/28/2015 Delivery Issues
4/30/2015 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
12/23/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a new pump from Pex Universe on May *** 2014. The pump was installed and working fine until early November. My first contact was with the pump manufacturer to see if they could assist in troubleshooting the pump. After several emails and phone calls it was determined by the manufacturer that the pump was defective. They instructed me to contact the company that I purchased the pump from(Pex Universe) for a warranty exchange. I contacted Pex and was told that the pump I had purchased was no longer available and they would send me the equivalent pump at an additional cost and I should return the defective pump and pay a 15% restocking fee. Quite amazed at this return policy I contacted the manufacturer to see if I could deal directly with them for the warranty exchange. They asked who I had purchased the pump from and I told them Pex Universe. They then informed me that Pex was not an authorized distributor of their products and that they had no sales or warranty agreements with them. I believed that at this point there wasn't much I could do except chalk it up as an expensive lesson. What happened next is what really angered me. I questioned Pex about the 15% restocking fee and they told me that the fee had nothing to do with them but it was charged by the manufacturer. People can tell you anything they'd like to rip you off but it shouldn't go as far as to tell you a lie to make the manufacturer look like the bad guy.

Desired Settlement: Replacement

Business Response: To whom it may concern:


We notified you that the manufacture had discontinued the product, per our return policy we informed you that if you would place an order for a new pump the cost of the defective pump would be refunded to you in full. However if you decide to request a refund without purchasing  new order there is a fee that is associated with the return of a item that has been installed quite sometime.  If indeed you place an order for the new comfort system pumps than a full refund will be given to you once the product is return. I'm not sure if there was a miscommunication between you and the customer representative. Please feel free to contact us for further assistance.



Sincerely,
****
###-###-####

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID# ********, and have determined that my complaint has NOT been resolved because:

Please find attached emails from both Pex Universe and the manufacturer to corroborate my claims

The defective pump is no longer available from the manufacturer.  There is a direct replacement model that the manufacturers regional sales representative told me is the same list price as the defective pump.  Pex Universe wants to charge me an additional $33.00 for the replacement.  If I don't purchase a replacement from them and only return the defective pump they will charge me a 15% restocking fee that they claim IS BEING CHARGED BY THE MANUFACTURER.  The attached correspondence from the manufacturer clearly states that THEY HAVE NO SALES OR WARRANTY AGREEMENTS WITH Pex Universe.  My sales contract is unfortunately only between me and Pex Universe but that doesn't give them the right TO BLAME THE MANUFACTURER FOR THEIR REDICULOUS RETURN FEES.  If a return is do to a customer's error then a restocking fee is acceptable but for a failed or defective product it has no place. 

 

 

 

 

In order for the BBB to appropriately process your response, you MUST answer the question above.


Sincerely,

****** ** *******




 

Business Response: As stated previously, the customer is more than welcome to return the product for a replacement. We have given him an RMA and the address where he can return the product. Please feel free to contact us if you'll need further assistance.

Sincerely,
******** ******* ****
PexUniverse.com
Toll-free: ###-###-#### (Mon-Fri, 9.00am-6.00pm EST)

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID# ********, and have determined that my complaint has NOT been resolved because:

What was not stated in the response is that there is an up charge for the replacement.  To me that doesn't add up to a "Replacement"

 

 

 

 

In order for the BBB to appropriately process your response, you MUST answer the question above.


Sincerely,

****** ** *******




 

10/1/2014 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Placed a order with this company on 6/**/14 $ 254.75. This package should have bin at my house by FedEx on 6/**/14. I never got the package. I called FedEx about the missing package they said it was delivered. They opened a case # **********. FedEx told me Pex universe has some kind of thing with shipping with this company if the package is lost or stolen Pex Universe must call FexEx to open up a claim. AS of 6/**/14 FedEx has not recieved any claim from this company. I call Pex Universe 7/**/14 about filing a claim They told me they filed a claim with fedex and Fedex denied it. I asked for a copy of Claim paper work so I can turn it over my ******** *******. The girl on the phone told me since I have called ******** ******* about the charges they cant do anything for me. I asked to talk with a manager she told me she is the only person to talk with. They want me to drop the claim with ******** ******* and they will give me the claim paper work That they say they filed with FedEx. I will do no such thing. I dont know of any company that ships out a package worth 254.75 and doesnt want someone to sigh for it.

Desired Settlement: I want a refund to my CC. I want them to produce the copy of the claim they sent to FedEx and the letter saying it was Denied Because Fedex says they never got one. My CC company need to see this claim form.

Business Response: To whom it may concern:


According to our records, ******* **** ( #******)placed an order through our website on 06/**/2014, and received his
shipment on 06/**/2014. On June ** 2014,*** **** called our customer service department
stating that he didn't receive the order and that he  opened a case with FedEx in regards to his shipment. The trace department  informed *** ****'s that it would take 24-48
hours for the driver to trace his route  upon completion of the  investigation the agent in charge would contact *** **** and PexUniverse with their findings.
Fedex trace agent  contacted (06/**/2014) PexUniverse.com and *** **** stating that the package was delivered at the
address provided on his order: **** *** **** ** ******** ** *****, I have attached proof of delivery(pdf file).
On June **** *** **** opened a dispute with his credit company(pdf) and is currently under process, his dispute doesn't allow us to either refund or
reship the item to the customer. On shipping policy  we states that" All Ground orders are shipped without Signature Confirmation by default. If signature confirmation is required, you may select this option at the Checkout page."

 
Many
thanks again for keeping track of this complain. I hope I have outlined

our
policy and this particular situation to your satisfaction, and that the, customer will understand that
businesses must adhere to their own publicly available policies.


Sincerely,

**** *********

Customer Service Team

***************

Toll-free: ###-###-#### (Mon-Fri, 9.00am-6.00pm EST)


customer will understand that businesses must adhere to their own publicly
available policies.

Sincerely,

**** *********

******** ******* **** *************** ********** ************ ********* ************* ****





Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID# ********, and have determined that my complaint has NOT been resolved because:

[Your Answer Here]

 This shipment was never received. I called FedEx They told me that they would send the driver back out to my house to see where the package was. NO Driver ever showed up. Fedex said they would call me back Never called me. I called Fedex on 07/**/14 they could not even tell me what number to call me back at. I fould out on 7/**/14 that FexEx closed the case because the shipper never filed a claim. FedEx never even called me to tell me this . They didnt have my phone number.
FedEx say this shipper has to call FedEx and make a claim the package was lost. FedEx said they never received a CLAIM .
I call Pex Universe and on 7/**/14 and asked them to file a claim with FedEx they said they did and it was declined. I asked them for a copy of this claim . They will not give me any paper work because I called ******** ******* and opened a claim.

1 - I need a copy of this claim they said was denied.
2 - The package was never delivered to this house.
3 - In the shippers responce they have proof the package was delivered where is proof.. Not a paper from FedEx saying Delivered with my address on it.
4 - ******** ******* wants the claim form from the shipper saying that FexEx denied the claim.

 

 

 

In order for the BBB to appropriately process your response, you MUST answer the question above.


Sincerely,

******* ****




 

Business Response: I have already submitted all the information to you in regards to this case, also the tracking number shows that the item was delivered. FedEx has sent the driver at the residence and confirmed that the package was delivered at the location that *** ******* **** provided. Prior of the completion of the investigation by Federal Express *** ******* **** opened a charge back with his credit card company which prevents us from refunding or reshipping the item. As I stated before due to the dispute our funds are not available for this transaction and the merchandise was shipped and delivered I would appreciate if you can close out this dispute.



Sincerely,
Customer Service.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID# ********, and have determined that my complaint has NOT been resolved because:

 

 I am still waiting to see the INS claim paper work from Pex universe that they sent to FedEx witch they say FedEx Denied.
No FedEx driver ever showed up at my house to track his package drops.
******** ******* dropped the charge back on 08/**/14 I never got a refund from Pex Universe witch they stated in past responses.
In Pex Universe last few responses they state . As I stated there is a open charge back with my CC witch prevents them from refunding or reshipping the items. the case has bin closed since 08/**/14 ******** ******* dropped the case . NO REFUND or RE SHIP. But then the state in the same response as I stated before due to the dispute our funds are not available for this transaction and the merchandise was shipped and delivered I would appreciate if you can close out this case.
 They say in the same response drop the charge back you will get a refund . ITS DROPPED but then they say it was delivered close the case . you cant have it both ways.
On 08/**/14 I made a fake order on Pex Universe web site because on there shipping & return page it says you must check the option for a signature on check out page. There is not box or option on that page. I called the company about this the same day . The lady that picks up the phone everytime you call them I asked her about this option she hung up on me.

 I have the fake order I need a way to fax it into the BBB so they can see there is no option for a signature on a delivery.

I want my refund. If I don't get a refund within 10 day of this response I will have no choice but to take the to small claims court. They will not produce the INS paper work from FedEx

In order for the BBB to appropriately process your response, you MUST answer the question above.


Sincerely,

******* ****




 

9/24/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a pump from Pexuniverse on ** July 2014. The pump has two year warranty. The pump became nonfunctional(quit working in Feb2014. I contacted Pexuniverse in April 2014 and the company confirmed the warranty period of two years. The pump was returned to Pexuniverse on ** June 2014 which is within the warranty period from time of purchase/receving the product. Pexuniverse has refused to refund the cost of the pump minus a 15% stocking fee. If you need a copy of the invoice please let me know.

Desired Settlement: To receive a refund for the product which failed within the warranty period of when I purchased and received the Little Giant Pump.

Business Response: *** **** purchased the product in 2012 not 2014 as the customer claims, the product has only a two year warranty. Little Giants warranty states the fallowing "LIMITED WARRANTY SUMP, EFFLUENT, & RESIDENTIAL SEWAGELittle Giant #6E, #8E, #9E, #10E, #14EH, and #16EH Series Submersible Effluent Pumps are recommended for use in sumps, basins or lift stations and suitable for pumping basement drainage water, effluent, wastewater and other non-explosive, non-corrosive, non-abrasive liquids not above 140°F with up to 3/4” spherical solids (1/2 inch on 6E models ) handling ability. (NOT TO BE USED FOR SEWAGE WATER EXCEPT TO PUMP SEPTIC TANK EFFLUENT.)Little Giant #9S, #10S, #14S, and #16S Series Submersible Sewage Ejector Pumps are recommended for use in sumps, basins or lift stations and suitable for pumping sewage, effluent, wastewater, and other non-explosive, non-corrosive, non-abrasive liquids not above 140°F with up to 2” spherical solids handling ability.Each of the above noted Little Giant products is guaranteed to be in perfect condition when it leaves our factory. During the time periods and subject to the conditions hereinafter set forth, LITTLE GIANT PUMP COMPANY, subsidiary of Franklin Electric Company, Inc., will repair or replace to the original user or consumer any portion of your new LITTLE GIANT product which proves defective due to materials or workmanship of LITTLE GIANT. Contact your nearest authorized Little Giant dealer for warranty service. At all times LITTLE GIANT shall have and possess the sole right and option to determine whether to repair or replace defective equipment, parts, or components. Damage due to lightning or conditions beyond the control of LITTLE GIANT is NOT COVERED BY THIS WARRANTY.WARRANTY PERIODPUMPS: 24 months from date of installation or 30 months from date of manufacture, whichever occurs first.LABOR, ETC. COSTS: LITTLE GIANT shall IN NO EVENT be responsible or liable for the cost of field labor or other charges incurred by any customer in removing and/or affixing any LITTLE GIANT product, part or component thereof units sold and/or shipped prior to such change or improvement." Therefore the customer's claim for a full refund under this warranty is not valid, our company has submitted the item to the manufacturer for repair or replacement and is currently waiting for its arrival.  *** **** is more than welcome to contact our customer service team for a follow up.


Sincerely,

****

************

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID# ********, and have determined that my complaint has NOT been resolved because:

[I do agree that I purchased the pump in 2012 on ** July and returned it in June of 2014 which is less than the 2 year expiration of the warranty.  The business response states that the product's warranty is 2 years from installation which would be after the date of purchase.   I continue to request a refund of the cost of the pump.]

 

 

 

 

In order for the BBB to appropriately process your response, you MUST answer the question above.


Sincerely,

***** ****




 

Business Response: The manufacture has returned the unit due to the expired warranty, however as a courtesy to *** *** PexUniveverse has mailed a refund check for the amount of $181.00 given that the pump was used well over 2 years. *** **** should receive the refund within 5 business days. Please feel free to contact us any time.


Sincerely,
Customer Service Team
PexUniverse.com

8/22/2014 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: "I have ordered from Pex Universe in the past and I had not had a problem until this order. However, I will say that this one experience was bad enough to erase any good ones. I placed three orders with them back to back for different client projects we had going on and on one of the orders I had merchandise that was missing. After I processed all 4 orders that I had received; I called them to tell them that the items were not in the shipment and to see if they were back ordered possibly. Needless to say, not only did they pretty much accuse me of lying about not receiving the merchandise, they have not intention of shipping what was missing or refunding the money I paid. So, let's evaluate...the 3 orders that I placed consecutively was $1400 plus dollars and I called them to find out where $31.50 worth merchandise was out of $1400 plus dollars and they said I was lying about not receiving the items in every way accept the straight out words...you're lying. The warehouse weighed the items and you got exactly what you ordered and it has already shipped. As I said, the worst customer service I have EVER experienced!!!!! Oh, and the so called manger didn't even have the decency to return my phone call. They also try and make it to where there is no other contact information to reach anyone else in the company. With me, that attempt failed!!! No $31.50 is not a lot of money, but it is about my character and the blatant defamation that they inflicted. Over $31.50 they are willing to loose thousands of dollars from me and anyone else that I have in the past recommended them to or would have recommended them to in the future. I wish I had enough characters to type out how it all went down; better yet, I wish I could have posted video of the conversation."

Desired Settlement: I want a refund of the $31.50 for the missing product or the missing product shipped to me. It's really simple.

Business Response: Although our company shipped the order in complete, we have went a head and refunded **** **** the 31.50 for the items that she claimed it was missing from her package.



Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID# ********, and have determined that my complaint has NOT been resolved because:

[Your Answer Here]

Yes, they have refunded the $31.50, however, they're still accusing me of lying about not receiving the items. It is a matter of principal here. Why would I claim to be missing such a small amount of merchandise out of thousands of dollars that I have purchased from them? Not that any amount is worth stealing, but I sure as hell wouldn't risk anything over $31.50.  

 

 

 

In order for the BBB to appropriately process your response, you MUST answer the question above.


Sincerely,

*** ****




 

8/1/2014 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I ordered a pump for an outside fountain (order number ******) and it should have been delivered via FedEx but it never came. My wife is home all day and when FedEx claims (tracking number ***************) the package was delivered the door bell never rang once that day or any other day for a FedEx delivery. It was never left at my door or with one of my neighbors by accident. I have tried to get this resolved by FedEx but they wont help me because the company doesn't make claims with FedEx and they cant do anything without a claim from the company. The company is telling me its not their fault they sent it out to be delivered. So now I have paid for a product that I have not received and neither the company nor the shipping company is willing to help me.

Desired Settlement: I would like PexUniverse to reship my product (Little Giant 5-MSP Manuel Pump) so I may receive it and use the product I ordered.

Business Response: We have spoken to the customer  and informed him that as soon as the declined payment(chargeback)is closed we will reship the order for the second time. However at this time the process is still in process. I have attached copy of the charge back and the first tracking number.

Thank you again



Sincerely,
****

7/31/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Opened Product to see if it worked and it did not. Emailed to Return product and then was asked to call them. Call resulted in them telling me I had to pay for Shipping a product back that was defective. Then They changed their mind saying that it was after 14days (even if it were before 14 days you have to pay a 15% restocking fee on defective items. ) and that we could not even return it. I had only been 25 days.

Desired Settlement: Refund with them paying for shipping to return it.

Business Response: Thank you for bringing this complaint to my attention.
Our company approved **** ******** return authorization (please view the attached documents)which initially she requested a replacement for the item that she thought to be defective, due to the fact that the item was installed we informed **** ******** that all  warranty claims  go through the manufacture which they would provide a replacement at no additional charge. **** ******** requested a refund per our return policy and the manufactures a refund for a defective item is subject of a fee. **** ******** claims that our company didn't provide and return information and opened a case on ****** website her claim was denied please view the attached document that is marked as ***** ********. Before opening a complaint with the BBB she submitted a charge back claim through her bank that the order that she placed was a unauthorized use of the credit card. I do apologize however at this time **** ******** has the item,and the money from her bank since she claimed that she didn't authorize the transaction please view the attachment marked as seller performance. 


Many thanks again for keeping track of this
complain. I hope I have outlined this particular situation to
your satisfaction, and that the customer will understand that businesses must
adhere to their own publicly available policies.



Sincerely,



**** *********



Customer Service Team

PexUniverse.com

********** ************ ********* ************* ****



5/6/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We ordered a pump from Pex Universe for a hydronic heating system. The pump we received was defective based on the trouble shooting done over the phone with the manufacturer. Grundfos, who is the manufacturer of the pump, said we needed to return the pump to the place of purchase. Upon returning the pump to Pex Universe we were charged a restocking fee. On top of that we paid shipping to get the part to us (we expected this) and also had to pay shipping to return the defective product (we did not expect this but not as important). What I feel was not a good business practice was charging a restocking fee on a defective part. We have sent Pex universe letters citing this inconsistency upon which we were told by Pex Universe that the fee was "unavoidable." As the pump is part of a heating system, time was of the essence and we had to replace the pump in a more timely manner from another vendor. I refused to pay freight again for another potentially defective pump that had been restocked from another customers fouled transaction.

Desired Settlement: The expected business practice on defective products is commonly that the supply company sends a call tag to the customer that can be used to send the defective product back, and there should not be a restock fee as there was no product to restock. It was a product that, from the outset should never have been sold and shipped to us, and most certainly should not now go back into stock to be sold and shipped to yet another unsuspecting customer. It is for this I am seeking a refund of the restock fee and return shipping.

Business Response:

Customer placed an order at our website at the time of purchase he agreed to our terms and conditions upon completion of an order.  Most manufacturer warranties allow for replacement only. Items are generally not eligible to return for credit. Customers are responsible for the shipping costs to send the warranty item back to us; PexUniverse.Com  will pay the shipping costs to send out the replacement. Our return policy states that if your item is defective we will replace it for you at no additional cost however if you chose to have a refund and not a replacement there is a fee that the customer will be charged upon the return of the unit.   *** ***** completed the return authorization and unfortunately his return had passed the allowed of time  which we would of be able to pick up the item at no cost to him (free freight return). On the return authorization *** ***** was offered the option for replacement at no additional cost  however *** ***** declined the replacement .. Customer stated that he "refused to pay freight for another potentially defective pump had been restocked from another customer’s fouled transaction.”  We offered  *** ***** a replacement at no charge for brand new product however *** ***** refused the replacement for a refund  therefore per our return policy *** ***** was refunded minus the 15% fee. All  defective products are returned to the manufacture for warranty. Customer requested a refund and a refund was made available.

****

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID# *******, and have determined that my complaint has NOT been resolved because:

 

 All shipping concerns aside why am I still paying a 15% restocking fee on a defective product? Are they putting the defective product back into stock? 

 


Sincerely,

**** *****




 

Business Response: Thank you for bringing this complaint to my
attention. Here is an excerpt from the return policy on our website
(****************************************):



"If product is found to be defective, you must report it within 14 days
from the delivery date - we will replace such products at no additional charge.
For orders over 14 days, customer is responsible for any shipping costs
associated with the return (see “Warranty Issues” part of this page for
details). If you wish to return a defective product without getting a
replacement, a 15% restocking fee will apply."



Our online customers agree to this return policy when placing an order with
PexUniverse. 



According to our records, **** ***** (order #*****) placed an order through our
website on 09/**/2013, and received his shipment on 09/**/2013. The customer
requested a return authorization on 10/**/2013, and returned the merchandise on
11/**/2013, having already replaced the pump through another source. 



To further clarify our policy, our "restocking fee" doesn't mean we
put the returned product back into our stock. If the returned item is
defective, we need to have it replaced with a new one so we can fulfill orders
for other customers. Hence, when a customer returns defective merchandise, we typically
send it back to the manufacturer for a replacement item. There are shipping and
labor costs associated with the replacement both on our end and for the
manufacturer. If the customer reports defective merchandise within 14 days, we
waive the fee, and we are glad to do it if we can replace the product with a
new one from our stock. This customer waited longer than the 14 days cited on
the return policy, and purchased a replacement from another source. The
customer was aware that per our return policy, he would be responsible for
shipping as well as the 15% restocking fee.



Many thanks again for keeping track of this complain. I hope I have outlined
our policy and this particular situation to your satisfaction, and that the
customer will understand that businesses must adhere to their own publicly
available policies.



Sincerely,



**** *********



Customer Service Team

***************

Toll-free: ###-###-#### (******** ************* ****

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID# ******** and have determined that my complaint has NOT been resolved because: If the business is satisfied treating customers this way I wish them luck.  As a retailer I know that if I were to have a policy such as this, I would not expect any return customers as they have lost this one.  It appears they have won the battle but lost the war.  

 

 

 

 

In order for the BBB to appropriately process your response, you MUST answer the question above.


Sincerely,

**** *****




 

1/15/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I orders an item from them they refuse to refund my money when i returned it two days after receiving it they said it was because i put a fedx return lable on the box. They said they could not resale the product because i put that piece of paper on the return box. someone else told me it was because i did not put it in a new box and she said that on the return info it says to put it in a new box and return it. Thats not what it says it says put in box and properly secure it, whats more secure then its orginal packaging ? This company has made every dumb excuss not to refund my money.

Desired Settlement: To get my refund of $212.87 and this company should not be able to steal customers money just for puttin a fedx return paper on the box i think thats one of the crazyest thing i have ever heard of everyone around me feels the same way its just an excuss to keep people money for no good reason.

Business Response: Customer didn't purchase this item from PEXUNIVERSE.COM her purchase was on ******.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID# *******, and have determined that my complaint has NOT been resolved because:

[Your Answer Here] They are the ones that refused my refund not ****** they are a third party seller ****** is very ,very disappointed in this company for the nonsense reason for not refunding my money,for having a fed x return paper on the box. They are stealing people money and they lied to you they are the reason I didn't get a refund. The package went back to their company.nortfort inc. **** ****** *** ******** *** ***** The package came from their company and was returned to their company. They are 100 percent responsible for my refund. Please help,Thank you for your time.

 

 

 

 

In order for the BBB to appropriately process your response, you MUST answer the question above.


Sincerely,

****** *******




 

Business Response: This customer is from **********, ****** HAS REFUNDED THIS ORDER IN FULL, I'mnot sure why they have opened BBB complain for PEXUNIVERSE.COM they order is not with PEXUNIVERSE.COM.




Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID# *******, and have determined that my complaint has NOT been resolved because:

[Your Answer Here] yes my bank was refunded on 1/**/14 and I can thank ****** for that I think they stopped  dealing with this company, Dont forget this was a third party that goes Thur ****** to sell their products,they lied to you they shipped the product from their warehouse not ******. The return went to them not ****** they are a third party seller. I talked to two different people at pex they are the ones who told me they would not give me back my refund because there was a fed x return paper on the box . I am thankful to ****** for getting my money refunded they could not believe this company did not want to refund my money because there was a fed x return paper on the box.This company tried to say their return policy said things that it did not say they made up things so they could keep my money,again this company pex is the one who refused my money back not ******.

 

 

 

 

In order for the BBB to appropriately process your response, you MUST answer the question above.


Sincerely,

****** *******




 

12/23/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: PexUniverse advertises pex tubing a low price, but the 5 boxes of "400 feet of tubing" was only 300 feet of tubing. Tried discussing with customer service, but only resolution they had was to return product. I was under a deadline and had to install what I had as I received it, not knowing I was being short-changed the footage. I was only wanted them to cover the missing footage. I asked for ********** who would not escalate to ******* and was hungup on by phone. They have no other contacts except 800 number. Additionally, I tried to write a review on their website for the product to voice my problem, and their website will only allow review to be accepted that reflect positive reviews, my negative reviews are not being added to the website - this seems very unfair to the customer and possibly illegal since a fair assessment by any customer can not be obtained.

Desired Settlement: That the company should ensure customers are actually getting the proper amount of product when purchased and that website should allow negative feedback as well!

Business Response: Our records indicate that ********* **** placed two separate orders; 85596 on October ** and the other order was placed on ***** on November *. Customer claimed that the pextubing was short by 100 feet, which at the time we ensured him that we would investigate the issue further.  We opened a brand new box from our inventory  from the same batch that we  fufilled *** ****'s order and verified that the tubing is marked every 5ft with is added up to 405ft, we also found out that the manufacturer provides  an extra 5 feet of tubing inside of every roll. To satisfy the customer we offered him to return the tubing at no additional cost however customer refused to return the merchandise. At this time we offer *** **** to return the product to us and we  will replace it at no cost to him or we can refund in full  since he is not satisfied with the product.Please feel free to contact us if you'll have additional inquiries.


Sincerely,
**** **********

###-###-####





Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID# *******, and have determined that my complaint has NOT been resolved because:

 

As explained in the conversation, the tubing was measured as installed at our project, each box is short by 100 feet and therefore because the tubing is installed it is unable to be returned, unless they want to agree to pay for the extraction and reinstallation of the tubing, it can not be returned due to the circumstances. 

Clearly there is a problem with the boxes I recieved because none of the tubing I have ordered and received from them is marked every 5 feet as they have stated!!

Also they have not addressed the other issues with the websites that do not allow customers to place negative feedback and theie poor quality of customer service that rudely hungup on me in the middle of conversation and inability to provide a ****** ***** **********/*******/***** to address this issue. 

Their response only further highlights a problem with my order.

 

 

 

In order for the BBB to appropriately process your response, you MUST answer the question above.


Sincerely,

****** ****



 

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me and the matter has been resolved.

Sincerely,

****** ****



 

9/3/2013 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Pex Universe.com customer care from the start has been looking for ways not to send a replacement item not honoring their advertised warranty policy. Example:: Yesterday I notified them and the manufacturer via phone of this product issue. The manufacturer is working to address the issue but Pex Universe sends me to there website to fill out a form that does not respond. Today I spoke with ******** this morning, I was put on hold for a half an hour. I hung up and called back and spoke with another representative I was again put on hold but ******** got on the phone again and questioned why did I not remove the top of the just purchased pump and inspect it before using it. My response was when you buy a new TV set do you disassemble it before you try it. The response I received was that's different,. I was once again put on hold but she returned a few minutes requesting I ship the damaged part to a address in Brooklyn NY and they would pay for shipping. Why would I be shipping this part to Brooklyn NY to be sent back to Franklin Electric Co. located in Oklahoma City Ok. when Pex Universe has there main store located in Hempstead NY. I am not sending this just purchased pump to a unknown address in Brooklyn NY. Sorry they can do better than that!

Desired Settlement: I am just requesting an exchange unit for this damaged unit to be shipped free of charge in a timely matter. Note if needed I can provide sent emails and additional information sent on line to Pex Universe.com.

Business Response:

To whom it may concern:

*** ********  purchased a pump on 08/**/2013,  we shipped his order with  Fedex ground  and delivered it Tues 8/**/2013 1:14 pm.  On August **** customer send an email with attached pictures of the damaged items, we advised him to file a return authorization; per our policy every customer must submit an electronic merchandise authorization. When customer submitted the request for the return authorization got declined because *** ******** reported the item damaged 7 days after the item was delivered( please view our return policy attached to this email), which states " 

If the product you received was damaged in transit:In order to comply with our carrier’s policy and offer a free of charge replacement for damaged products, they must be reported within 3 days from the delivery date. We cannot accept claims beyond 3 days due to deadline provided by carrier.

 When complete, our Electronic Return Form will provide an RMA# and instructions on preparing a damaged product for return. Our Customer Service Representative will contact you shortly afterwards to arrange a replacement.

PexUniverse.com has only certain days of opening a claim with Fedex for delivering a damage" ( please see attached request)  Although the return policy clearly states that if you do not report the item  damage within three days  PexUniverse would not be responsible for a replacement. However due to the circumstances  of this case ( internal damages of the pump ) PexUniverse allowed *** ******** to return the product for replacement. Our customer service  provided *** ******** with a  return address where he would ship the damage pump, and as soon as the pump is received, Pexuniverse would replace it at no additional cost.  ** ********"s complain is that Pexuniverse customer care is avoiding the advertized warranty policy, LITTLE GIANT which is the manufacturer would not honor any warranty if the items is damage because it doesn't fall under their guide lines under their warranty defects. Pexuniverse has provided *** ******** with the appropriate return address where damaged and defective items are received for inspection; not an "unknown address". At this time, we do not feel that we are liable for the customer’s dissatisfaction, as the information was readily available on our website. Furthermore, the customer refuses to return the item which is in accordance with our Return Policy, also available on our website.


**** *********.

********************* ************

4/25/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I ordered a shallow well pump model #****** EVERYTHING was as needed according to the description. They described EVERYTHING one needs to know about the pump.voltage, psi, gpm an mich more! Except 1 BIG detail that its only for indoor use. Hmm so when I contact pexuniverse I was told I should have read the installation manual!! Why not describe that big detail if your able to describe everything else?So I was told I would have to pay for shipping to return it especially cause i recieved FREE SHIPPING when i purchased it.after waiting an hour an a half cause the supervisor or as she told me the ONLY supervisor of the company for hee just to tell me that there is NOTHING THEY CAN DO. that I its a shallow well pump an will have electricity to it so how would I think that it would be outside an shouldve known. Sounds like they don't know what they are talking about. I would NEVER ORDER from this company again especially after deal with *** the so called ONLY supervisor in pexuniverse

Desired Settlement: They should pay for the shipping of the returned item.

Business Response:

To Whom It May Concern:

 

 

Customer ****** *******, purchased the FloForce FJP-100 Shallow Well Jet Pump w/ Pressure Switch, 1 HP, 115/230V On February 25, 2013.  At the time of the purchase customer did not inquired any additional information about the pump. He was satisfied with the price, description and free shipping option. On March 12, 2013 Mr. ******* called and wanted to know if the pump can be installed out side, per the our data guide provided on our website “Literature” (https://www.pexuniverse.com/docs/pdf/floforce-shallow-well-jet-pump-manual.pdf) notes that the location of the pump ‘’ The pump must be installed in a clean, dry and well ventilated location which provides protection from freezing temperatures and allows draining and priming the pump. The location must be accessible and have adequate room for servicing. The pump must be installed horizontally and bolted to a solid foundation, as possible – doing so will reduce friction inside the pipes and pressure drop and will help the jet pump to perform at its’ maximum capacity.’’  After explaining and reading the manual to Mr. ******* he decided to return the pump because it wouldn't work for his application. We informed him to file a RMA( Return Authorization Form) please see attachment A. In the return request customer states that the reason of the return is  “he no longer needed”Per our return  policy ‘’ If you ordered a wrong product and need to return it:

If you purchased a product in error, or it is no longer needed, it can be returned to PexUniverse.com within 30 days from the date of delivery – no restocking fees will apply(exceptions are listed below). For orders returned after 30 days, but not later than 60 days, a 15% restocking fee will apply. 

  

Returned product(s) must be in original manufacturer’s packaging, unopened, unused and undamaged. Upon receipt of the package, within 3-5 business days, PexUniverse.com will refund the product(s) cost, including any taxes paid and less shipping. If order qualified for free shipping, PexUniverse will withhold the amount it paid for shipping of such product(s). 

Used products or products missing any original parts/packaging/literature are non-returnable”  

 

Unfortunately Mr. *******’s complaint regarding the advertising has no merits. All the information needed is in our website, we also offer our customers technical support and customer service, if Mr. ******* was unsure or unfamiliar with the product he could of called our Toll Free # ###-###-#### at any time for  additional information in regards to the pump. With all due respect to you, at this time we do not feel responsible to pay for shipping cost of Mr. *******’s return however to avoid any altercation we created a shipping label to pick up the pump. We receive his return on March 26, 2013 the pump is used ( see attachment B), contrary to what Mr. ******* stated on his return.  I’ll leave this matter to you for further determination.   

 

 

Sincerely, 

 

**** *********

PexUniverse.com

*********** ************* ***** ****** ********** ******************* ******************** ********** ************ *************** ***************

 

Business Response:

To whom it may concern:

Pexuniverse.com always works with its costumers to reach an satisfactory resolution. We tried with Mr. *******'s case as well. Customer purchased the pump through our website; we do not make any suggestions that would of lead to dictated purchase by phone or by email due to liability. Therefore Mr. ******* is the only person that could come to such a conclusions; by reading the information on our website or by further research.  Our website has a variety of reliable information that can help someone to make further determination on a product/item such as descriptions, literature and on prior experience. Based on the information customer can come to a conclusion if the item would serve his/her purpose. Mr. ******* ordered the pump on our website, when he found out that the pump did not work for him he went online and filled a Return Merchandise Authorization. Customer clearly stated that he no longer needed the product and that the product was new, per our return policy he would have paid the shipping cost to return the pump to shipper. However customer claimed that we were responsible due to misleading information and he would not pay any shipping charges. To satisfy Mr. ******* we send FedEx to pick up the item at our expense, with the intention of refunding him the full amount. Unfortunately upon inspection our quality control team found out that Mr. ******* had installed the pump as we have previously presented the documents showing the pump with rust inside. We contacted Mr. ******* and explained that we cannot refund for an item that was previously installed/used, Mr. ******* denied the allegation and stated that the pump was outside and the rust was created from the water. However there was no evidence of discoloration out side the box and is unlikely that the water from the rain to enter on the horizontal side of the pump to create any residue of rust. Initially this claim was submitted to cover the shipping charges of the returned product no longer needed opened but not used.  Although our return policy clearly states:

"If you ordered a wrong product and need to return it: If you purchased a product in error, or it is no longer needed, it can be returned to PexUniverse.com within 30 days from the date of delivery – no restocking fees will apply(exceptions are listed below). For orders returned after 30 days, but not later than 60 days, a 15% restocking fee will apply.

 Returned product(s) must be in original manufacturer’s packaging, unopened, unused and undamaged. Upon receipt of the package, within 3-5 business days, PexUniverse.com will refund the product(s) cost, including any taxes paid and less shipping. If order qualified for free shipping, PexUniverse will withhold the amount it paid for shipping of such product(s).

Used products or products missing any original parts/packaging/literature are non-returnable."

By returning a used pump Mr. ******** violated his agreement to our company upon complement of his Return Merchandise Authorization. He verified that his return was in the same conditions as it was received. We enforce our return policy to all our customers’ therefore with the presented return we are not able to refund Mr. *******. However Mr. ******* can pick up his “used product” any time from our company.

Sincerely,

**** *********,

 

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID# *******, and have determined that my complaint has NOT been resolved because:

 

I have yet to hear from pexuniverse about refunding me the money for the purchase or returning the pump...I have even tried emailing them and haven't heard back from them!!

 

 

 

 

In order for the BBB to appropriately process your response, you MUST answer the question above.


Sincerely,

****** *******