BBB Accredited Business since

My Business Venture

Phone: (631) 265-5661 Fax: (631) 265-5580 View Additional Phone Numbers 732 Smithtown Bypass Suite 302, Smithtown, NY 11787 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.mybusinessventure.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Before filing a complaint please read the following:

The company states that they are anxious to resolve customer challenges and encourages clients to send a detailed email to help@mybusinessventure.com or contact them by phone at 1-800-639-6644 and ask for the Customer Support Department.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that My Business Venture meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for My Business Venture include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 28 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

28 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 15 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 15
Billing/Collection Issues 3
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 10
Total Closed Complaints 28

Additional Complaint Information

The company states that they are anxious to resolve customer complaints and encourage clients to send a detailed email to help@mybusinessventure.com, or by phone at 1-800-639-6644 and ask for the Customer Support Department.

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on My Business Venture
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: October 01, 2000 Business started: 01/01/1996 Business incorporated 01/01/1996 in
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Joseph Kilgannon, President
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Mr. Joseph Kilgannon, President
Business Category

INTERNET SHOPPING SERVICES BUSINESS SERVICES (GENERAL) CREDIT CARD PROCESSING SERVICE


Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

My Business Venture has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 732 Smithtown Bypass Suite 302

    Smithtown, NY 11787 (800) 639-6644

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

7/26/2016 Problems with Product/Service
7/22/2016 Problems with Product/Service
5/19/2016 Billing/Collection Issues
5/9/2016 Advertising/Sales Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
4/18/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
3/4/2016 Advertising/Sales Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
2/3/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
1/17/2016 Advertising/Sales Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
11/14/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: When I decide to go into business with MyBusinessVenture I was told by the VP of sales that the prices offer on the business that I was going to acquire will beat any other place, allowing me to make quick sales "not big sales but quick sales to start earning money fast you can pay the $2945 of the business(words of the VP of sales)". That my website will be fully functional with all of the " e-commerce solutions offered by others providers", also that my website will be in the first page of ****** and that all of the products will have their SEO already written. After I agree to sign and pay them the $295.00 Fee to start the business they set up the store and showed to me, I received emails containing various information about the store and I came up to the following e-mails explaining how I can upgrade the store to be fully functional the email have the following parts or attachment to it " ***************************, ********************* etc". Once I have the site trying to lower the prices were pretty crazy it just allow me in coupe of them, most of the items are really outdated, nowadays no one is purchasing a 32"TV with DVD incorporated to it as an example of the products they have, but that didn't stop me to continue trying to sale any product out of their warehouse sunrise wholesale, I try to put the items on ****, ****** and various places, but I crash with reality, I was always the more expensive person putting items on these places. This made it unable to make a single sale. I am very unsatisfied with the inability to provide prices that are even close to anyone else's. other problem that I have is this company sells the same website the same products to 1000's more. When first approach I was told this is a turn key business but is not unless you are willing to pay an astronomical amount of money for their "marketing ". If you are reading this because you want to look for the a turn key business I WON'T RECOMMEND YOU TO TALK TO THIS COMPANY IS NOT WORTH YOUR TIME OR MONEY, and I said it as customer I got stuck with a $101 monthly bill for the next 3 years, I lost about $4600 and I will give you the breakdown because I'm pretty sure they going to said that I am exaggerating 1)$101*36= 3636 for the financing of the "turnkey business" 2)$295 for the initation fee 3)179.20 for the hosting of the website 5 months $29.95 ea 4)$40 for the gateway 5 months $8.00 5)$451.00 for the merchant account 40.95 monthly even if you don't make a single transaction plus $199.00 for early cancellation fee they make you sign for three years. I contacted the company and I expressed them that i don't want to talk to the VP of sales that give me this problem, but looks that they don' care and still transfer me to that person. This business should put on capital and bold letters that if you purchase the website you need to pay for the business $2495 plus $395 for the upgrade package 1 $395 for the package upgrade two and a extra $1000 for marketing and this prices do not include the $25.99 on hostage fee, the gateway fee and the merchant fees. It should stated that you need about $4000 to 5000 of your hard earn money to start your business.

Desired Settlement: Cancellation of contract, due to Misrepresentation of contract, I was Specifically told "this is a turnkey business". I don't want any back I just don't want to pay them anymore. i will take my looses and move on

Business Response:

Hello:

 

We are in receipt of the complaint filed by this customer.   We have been in contact with him and rectified the issue.  It turns out he does not really have the time or money to market the business effectively.  We have logged into his admin portal to see he has not been there for months.  When this happens, any business owner will have a hard time making sales as it takes time and effort to establish any new business.   After contacting him, we came up with a resolution that both parties were happy with.  It allows him to close down his website and we agreed to alleviate most of his financial obligation to our company.

The customer was very happy that we were able to work everything out and we wish him nothing but the best in any and all future endeavors.

I have attached a copy of our settlement paperwork for the BBB's records.

 

Thank you.

MBV Support Team

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me and the matter has been resolved.

Sincerely,

***** ******* ***



 

11/14/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I was threatened and verbally harassed after I made a complaint about the services promised to me initaly not meeting my standards or the contract agreement made prior. I never in my life felt so uncomfortable,angry, cheated, and helpless. They then have the nerve to deny me the ability to contest anything by hanging up on me, refusing to acknowledge my complaint...I was left on hold for 3 hours just to be told that they were going to lunch and instructed me to call back when somebody needs a good laugh because it must be funny that I am trying to stand up to this bully of a company. They literally threaten me via telephone saying I don't know who I'm messing with and he said "trust! Me you don't want to test me ,you'll regret it I promise you that" this is beyond unprofessional it's now criminal harassment. I need help they are attacking my credit with a $4000 bill that I can't seem to contest because of a contract that they null and voided by not providing agreed terms. What should I do this is not fair or legal and I need justice.

Desired Settlement: I want what funds they took initaly and the funds I've lost trying to rid them from my life. They also have a potential Harrasment case I'm interested in filing that could be legally taxing for them . I just want my credit fixed and justice to be served

Business Response:

Hello:

We have a customer who filed a complaint against us when it should have been against a collections company.  He had an account with us a long time ago, went into default, and an outside collections company now had the debt and they were calling him to try to get him to pay.  He assumed it was us and filed a complaint against us instead.  After speaking with him, he knows it was another company.  However, I contacted the collections company and got his debt erased, making him happy.   He signed a settlement with us and initialed on the first page acknowledging that the complaint should not be against MBV.  I have that attached.

Thank you.

MBV Support Team

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me and the matter has been resolved completely when I see said debt removal reflected on my credit report . As of now it is still showing as an active debt in collection .

Sincerely,

******* *****



 

10/28/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I am writing this complaint against My Business Venture to aware everyone about my very bad experience with this company. First to understand all l am French have been there for 2 years and still learning English it mean l have some weakness to run English business online by my own ! 1 Month ago l got a call from Mr Jason B***** to get started online business, l told him l was not interested by now. Few days after he called me again l told him l don t have $ 2800 to put down on his business because l am looking for something cheaper like affiliate program because l needed to make $ 10 000 cash on February next year. His own words "you will never reach your goal with affiliate program but with my business just what you have to do its pay $ 229 a month and you can earn at least from $3000 up to $7000 at the first month ! So he convinced me and decided to sign up ! Few days after l have noticed they give FREE DIAMOND MARKETING for those who pay off $ 2800 ! I was anxious and called him, he told me " without DIAMOND MARKETING he will be very hard for you to sell products" On my mind l said why he did not tell me that before and at this beginning time l was sure he just forgot certainly because he is very busy man and of course l totally trust him. So he call me to make me a favor for DIAMOND MARKETING if l put down $ 1397 and pay $ 116.50 a month for 1 year..because l needed to make sell soon l as can l sign up right way ! Few time after my website was alive but l have made any sale so l call him to ask him why ? He said you need to work on your website make marketing ...l said but l just did with DIAMONT MARKETING because l could not do nothing by myself. He told me the DIAMOND MARKETING its not enough you need driven traffic and leads and your website, l told him again "like you know Mr Jason l have any skill and l really need now to make money" and why you did not tell me that before because l will never sign up if l knew l have any more money and if l am still using my credit card l will put high utilization balance and loosing point on my credit score !!! He said my website does not look professional and this is why l make any sale.... So l have any choose to buy from him the whole package for $ 1995 to have Logo, Advertising, Blogging, Promotion, Video you tube, Blogs, Social media etc etc. Because l could not paid down $ 2000 he agree " to help me "to make it on 4 time paiement Here we are again and the 9/**/2015 l paid $ 500 but was so happy to hear from him "NOW it will going to work very well and be very successful very soon" After my logo was done suddenly it was silence from him so l wait 1 week and call him to ask him now what is the next steep after the Logo. And and his word but Mrs R****** you got for what you have paid...you have paid just $ 500 from $ 1995 and your balance is $ 1495 l could do nothing..l was so angry and very made he did not tell me the REEL TRUE before lie me just to have my money. So l told him BUT IF I WAIT 4 MONTH to paid off l will never make sell and have the money l need for February just what l see is I STILL SPEND MONEY and making ANY SALE ! So Mr Jason B***** "who want to help me" want again make favor for me if l pay now $ 964 he will paid from his pocket $ 531.... The next day l was very surprises to see he have the 9/**/2015 WIDRAW $ 1000 instead $ 964 We argue he said he will fix it and he never did ! l have very bad test loosing my trust just what l have told from him if is l still doing like this and calling he is going to cancel everything so l agree with him because for all is misleading l did not want to have business with him. l decide to cancel BUT he said l am not going to do any REFUND. Next morning dont know what to do l decided to call my bank and tell them all my story at the dispute department. The same day MIRACLE l have make one sale $ 39.90 I call him to asked him something regarding my bank account and told me he could not handle with me because he spent to much time with me and offer me the deal if l stop calling him he will not charge me anymore the $ 116,50 monthly for the website of course he liar me because this morning it was pending on my credit card account !! Here again the evening after my work l had another problem because l could not go though my website so l did want to bother him on the and sent him text message Friday and got any answer...usually he always answer me my only hope is calling my bank who offer me to block the merchant and help me to have my money back but because l am honest and did not want make mistake and also because l am new in this country and don t know the rules l tell them for now l don t want to do that, after all l have spend so much money and l really want it work for me. But what its happened to me yesterday l definitely decided to STOP everything and want to have nothing to do anymore with them. Mrs Jason B***** offer me $ 25 to use on the website to show me how he work when l will have a order from a customer. So l went online and pick up one idem it was perfume from Versace at cost $ 20. Yesterday l received this eau de toilette and was SHOKED to discover this perfume was nothing else than SAMPLE prohibited to sale. How l can run this kind of business ? This idem is selling online l took capture of I can proof it l have invoice.mail box,took picture also from the bottle. This company just took advantage from me, my weakness in English and naivety ! Have spent more than $ 3000 at the first month They are liar give to you inaccurate information Never tell you the true at the beginning or how much they will cost to you to run this business Its my worth experience l had never have! Thank to real all my long story! BE AWARE AND KEEP AWAY FROM THEM if you want to save money and save your time !

Desired Settlement: No further contact by the business.

Business Response:

Hello BBB.

We have reached out to this customer and ironed out all of our differences.  Initially when she was working with her representative, there seemed to be a communications gap, despite all of our agreements being in writing, there were things she didn't fully understand.  After spending time with her and going over her challenges, we are happy to report that we have worked everything out with this customer.

We are now assisting this client with free one on one training program, assisting her with financial obligations to our company, offering her a partial refund, and having her work directly with our operations and on site training staff.  We feel after working with her, she will be in a good position to operate her website going forward, with our help.  Since she is relatively new to this country, there was some communication issues initially so we are happy we were able to speak with her, explain what she was not fully understanding, and also helping her anyway we can to make her a happy client.

We are happy to say that we were able to do that and look forward to working with her for many years to come.

Best regards,

MBV Support Team

10/7/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
10/6/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: At the beginning of 2015, Some guy name Justin B******** from My Business Venture contacted my wife regarding a business opportunity. I decided to speak with him since my wife wasnt really understanding the nature of the business. The said representative explained that the business was a turn-key system that is guaranteed to make money. To get it set up, he requested the amount of $295.00. He soon insisted that they had several helpful packages that were available for purchase with "guaranteed" results according to the said Marketer named above. after much verbal guarantee from the said man above, an upgrade costing another $295.00 was made. He promised to make my website live and public in ******, bing, and yahoo which was a ouright lie, because when i looked up the site, it was only found in ******: not only that, i found in the search result the same website along with somelse's name. also, they set up a ****** analytic website for my site only to find out that there were two websites sharing that same ****** analytic account that was supposed to be mine. The worst part of it was that, the other website that was sharing my ****** analytic account with me was the same website that the said man above offered me during the start up process but i chose another option. I complained about this Problem, and he referred me to the so-called IT department called Joseph which i later found out was Justin's supervisor as i was told by a rep who picked my call. Joseph went along and told me that when he created the ****** analytic acct, he found the other unknown website there and couldnt take it off, but didnt inform me about it either. Joseph was very rude about my complain and i told this to Justin who in turn promised to fix things but never did, never called or cared to know how things were going even though he promised in the beginning that i could call him whenever there was a problem. He started ignoring my calls and several voice messages i sent. All these were happening from April 2015 thru july going back and forth. A few weeks back, i called again and requested to speak with justin's supervisor, only to be transferred to Joseph. I complained bitterely him about how i havent made a single dollar since april of starting this business. he expressed some form of sympathy, then offered to get me into the class they call university for free, also he promised to set up new ****** analytic acct: all promises of which none was fulfilled. This My Business Venture have failed woefully and i really regret putting any dollar into them. i have paid them $99.00 every month including $19.00 extra for other things they say they are doing. in total, i have paid to MBV over $1000.00 and havent earned $1.00 back in 5months. I request that they refund atleast my start up $295.00 and my upgrade of $295.00. they can keep all the monthly hosting money they have deceitfully taken. They are liars and as i have already told family members and friends who were interested in signing up, i say to others out there, THEY ARE LIARS AND SCAMMERS.

Desired Settlement: since their sales rep and supervisor/ tech named above have lied consistently to me, i'm requsting atleast my start up cost of $295.00 and upgrade fee which they compromised of $295.00 back to me. also, i would like to keep my domain name which i picked from the two choices that was given me. Then i want to cancel my acct and not have anything to do with MBV anymore. thanks.

Business Response: Dear BBB:

We are happy to report that we have worked out our issues with this valued customer.  There were some misunderstandings that are now clarified, and both parties are excited about moving forward.

The customer is remaining a client in good standing and we are providing them with a one one one training package, a social media package, and delaying his past due payment to a later date and waiving any late fees to help him get going in the right direction.  We feel that with this plan, he will be in great shape moving forward and he knows that should he ever need additional assistance, we will be here to help and support him along the way.


I have attached a copy of the signed resolution agreement for your records.


Have a great day.


Best regards, 

MBV Support Team 

9/17/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I signed up with this company in April as a way to make some extra money with my own online store. Needless to say, this company is a complete SCAM. It's advertised as a business you can start with $295, but after you sign their so called "contracts" then they tell you will need additional money for so many features they have to add before you can be successful with the company. This is also a complete LIE. I talked to other members who have been a victim of this company and it seems though if we all have the same issue as well as the same guy behind all of the SCAMS. Jason B***** was my representative and he was extremely pushy into getting me to constantly purchase more features even though I wasn't making any money. Then they put you on a payment plan for $100 plus additional charges for the merchant account and hosting which is roughly around $150 a month. So I've been paying $150 a month for a service that is not providing any outcome for me and it seems if they are just pushing people to sign up to get their commissions knowing that their services are a SCAM. When I called Jason to close the account and have payments stop coming from my account, he told me that I would still have to pay for the business even if I close my account. This does not make any sense to me whatsoever. Not only do I not want the business anymore, but I'm forced to continue payments for something I do not want.

Desired Settlement: I would like a full refund of the money I've put into the company and the rights to the name of my website since it is my intellectual property. I would like to not have to keep paying money for something I am not using and to have my "contract" voided if possible. I want back my initial $695 startup cost and I will agree to pay the overdue balance on the contract but nothing more.

Business Response: Dear BBB:

We are happy to report that we were able to reach out to our customer and rectify any challenges.  There were some misunderstandings we were able to discuss and resolve amicably.  We are happy that we were able to resolve this to the satisfaction of both parties.

We wish the customer all the best in the future and thank them for working with us to rectify any challenges they may have had.

I have attached a copy of the signed resolution agreement for your records.

Have a great day.

Best regards, 
MBV Support Team

9/11/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I signed up to go into business with MyBusinessVenture. When speaking with Mr. H******- I was told that all of the prices I would be able to offer would be cheaper than most other places, this would allow me to make easy sales and wholesale to other businesses. After the site went live, I ended up pretty ill. I also received several complaints on pricing. I then started comparing prices and found the pricing was unreal, and not even comparable to any other sites or stores. I am talking 60-80% higher the everyone. This made it unable to make a single sale. I am very unsatisfied with the inability to provide prices that are even close to anyone else's. Another problem I have is that this company is supplying 1000's of others with then same exact website and products. I find this to be misleading in several ways.

Desired Settlement: It would be greatly appreciated if I could be refunded the money I have paid to this company. I am not asking for any of my advertising costs, time, or web hosting expenses back. I just want back the amount I gave to the company and to have my account terminated with them immediately. Thank you

Business Response: Hello:

We are in receipt of the complaint filed by *** ********.  

Unfortunately, we have not been able to contact this customer once since their website was built.  We did receive one email from them the day before receiving this complaint explaining the prices on her products were too high.  We immediately reached out to her but she has not responded to our attempts to reach her via email or phone after several attempts.

It is unfortunate because her complaint revolves around the pricing on her products.  Had she contacted us, we would of been able to explain to her that the pricing on her site is suggested retail and not even close to the price that she pays as a gold member.  In fact, her cost is up to 200% less than the prices listed.  Once her website went live we contacted her to go over how to change pricing on her site as well as how to utilize all the other back end features in her administration panel.  Unfortunately, she said she was ill and we never spoke to her and instead of reaching out to us so we could explain what her pricing was, she instead filed a complaint without once even speaking to us.

The bothersome thing for our company is that what she is upset about is not even accurate and had she taken any of our phone calls or called us, we would explained that to her and showed her how to adjust the pricing on her products, which is very simple.

Since we cannot reach this customer and she may be having health issues, we are going to go ahead and close her account with us and cancel out any future money she may owe.   We cannot refund any of the money she paid, which was minimal, because we are already taking a big loss on the cost of the website. Secondly, her complaint is not even a valid one since what she is upset about, is not correct.  Once simple call to us would of explained that.  Our guess is the customer is having health issues and therefore does not want to have the website any longer.

As stated, everything going forward will be cancelled out as per the customers wishes and we wish the customer the best with her health and in any future endeavor.


Best regards,

MBV Support



Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID# ********, and have determined that my complaint has NOT been resolved because:

[Your Answer Here]

 I disagree with Mr. H****** reply!! I have contacted Mr. H****** and left several messages along with emails. I NEVE RECIEVED ANY RESPONSE FROM HIM!!!! I am glad to see he is willing to close the account, but still feel I should be entitled my money back due to the lack of communication! I sat around my house waiting for Mr. H****** to contact me for two days, I never received a phone, email Nothing!!! And to his reply- "He feels do to my health concerns- He feels I'm trying to back out" THIS AGAIN IS NOT TRUE!!! I feel Mr H****** is just taken my money and has been NO help since!! I'm tired of trying to contact him, I'm tired of his lack of communication and I feel due to this; This company is not and does not have my best interest! Only wanting my money!!! Again- I FEEL I AM ENTITLED TO MY MONEY BACK DUE TO THIS!!!

 

 

 

In order for the BBB to appropriately process your response, you MUST answer the question above.


Sincerely,
****** ********** ********




 

Business Response: Hello:

We have read the customers response.  We are happy that she is satisfied that we have cancelled out her remaining payments with us, which is a substantial amount.  We have received our phone records and could not locate any calls from her to any of our telephone numbers once her website was launched.  We also scoured our support emails and database for notes and not once did she call in for any help or assistance with her website.  In fact, the whole reason she wanted to cancel was not even a valid one. The prices she thought were high were not the prices she pays or even close.  In fact, had she spoken to anyone here in our support team, we would of explained this to her and this whole issue would of been avoided.  We went above and beyond to cancel out her financial obligation to us when her reason for being upset was not even a valid one, but are unable to refund her small initial investment (less than $300) as we are already taking a big loss on the account.

In fact, we would prefer if she would call us toll free at ###-###-#### to allow us to explain how the pricing works and get her back on board.  It is a shame that she cancelled a great website program over something she did not understand or reach out to allow us to explain.  Our toll free number ALWAYS has a live person answering it during normal business hours and our support email is monitored 24 hours a day and we have not received a call from this client even once since her website went live and she had an issue due to her misunderstanding her prices on the items.

We regret that we were not given a chance to speak with her prior to filing the complaint and she even failed to respond to our calls and emails after the complaint was filed giving us no way to even rectify her issue.

Thank you.
MBV Support

8/26/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I did an online search about business opportunities and was contacted by MBV.They told me if I sold one item a week I could make 2,000.They also told me that with my purchase I would receive a marketing package.I have asked them about the package several times.They have not responded.I gave these money grabbers 2,800 for the business and now they want a small fortune for additional advertising. Which was not what we talked about in the beginning. I find it hard to believe that these SALES oriented crooks have an A+ rating.Unreal! I have yet to sell one item. And all they want is more money.

Desired Settlement: I would at least like to get my money back. And also force them to be upfront about the business instead of being sales motivated!

Business Response: Hello:

After speaking with our valued customer, he apologized and agreed that he jumped the gun and filed a complaint without reaching out to us first for help.  

We have spoken to him, worked to provide him with all the tools he needs moving forward, and have set him up with some one on one training and help to get things going in the right direction and he is a happy customer.

Many times, there can be issues when working with any company but we pride ourselves in providing the best possible service and support out there and we are happy to report another satisfied customer after working through the areas he needed help.

I have attached a copy of our agreement with him for your records.

Have a great day!

MBV Support Team

8/25/2015 Problems with Product/Service
8/19/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: This Company keeps calling me and trying to collect money form me after I contacted them and told them that I DID NOT want to be in business with them. I don’t owe them any money, because from the start their representative provided me with miss leading inaccurate information and lies while I was franchising the company and while I was in business with them. After NOT making any SALES other than my family who I had to beg to buy something from me, I called and asked the representative to provide me with some type of prove that they were a profitable company and he told me that he COULD NOT provide me with that type of information, so I asked him, can you provided me with phone numbers to other franchise owners so I could call them an verify if they were profitable or not and he told me NO as well, that raised a RED FLAG for me. After speaking with him I was really skeptical of why he would deny me prove, even something as simple as a public phone number. I took it upon myself to do some research and google to see if I could find other website of other franchise owners, I found a few websites out there and I called the numbers listed on their site. I manage to reach out to few owners and after speaking to them, they told me that they were not profitable and some have been in business with this company raging from 1 month up to 3 years. We exchange story on what they were told by their representative and it turns out they are providing miss leading and inaccurate information to everybody just to sell them their company site and once they get you signed up all you do is pay them money and you make no sales what’s so ever. I have ALL the phone numbers and names of other owners I’ve talk to and I’m willing to provide you with all the information including emails. All I want is to be taken off their call list and taken off whatever paper work they made me sign because the representative was not truthful at all, lie to me to sell me the site and get me to sign a contract with a company that tell inaccurate information to possible customers. I’m a war veteran, with a child on the way, I work hard for the money I earn and I don’t want pay money to a company that lies and scams people.

Desired Settlement: I want be taken off any paper work I signed and I do not want to pay them or owe them any money that they say I owe them and I want to be take off their call list.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me and the matter has been resolved.

Sincerely,
******** ***********



 

6/6/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: When going into business with MyBusinessVenture I was told that all of the prices I would be able to offer would be cheaper than most other places, therefore allowing me to make easy sales and wholesale to other businesses. When getting the site prices were pretty crazy, and not even comparable to any other sites or stores. This made it unable to make a single sale. I am very unsatisfied with the inability to provide prices that are even close to anyone else's. Another problem I have is that this company is supplying 1000's of others with then same exact website and products. I just discovered that someone else has the exact same site as me and they live just a few miles away

Desired Settlement: It would be greatly appreciated if I could be refunded the money I have paid to this company. I am not asking for any of my advertising costs, time, or web hosting expenses back. I just want back the amount I gave to the company. Thank you

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me and the matter has been resolved.

Sincerely,

******* *******



 

5/17/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: After I requested information on a website business opportunity, I was contacted by *** ***** ****** it was the last week/first week of March/April 2015. *** ****** said that the business would cost $295.00 down to start, only if I got enrolled with him Today (he said that it usually cost $600 running a special). He said that it was a turnkey website. After I spent time making changes appropriate to my page (took about two hours), he then told me about the additional cost of “the business”, which was the cost of SEO advertisement ($300.00 - $2000.00 per month for the next 6 months) and that was before any money even came in. He never mentioned anything about SEO, before the signing of the “Contract”. I am extremely upset, to say the least, about this “bait and switch” type of practice from the MBV Company, as I am on SSDI limited income of $653.00. To resolve this I have requested a cancellation of the contract. Furthermore, I am demanding a full refund of the $299.95. The company refused to admit deceit and has refused a refund, but ***** ****** called me back the same day after 10 minutes and "told me I could cancel if I gave him $500.00 USD. I will provide a copy of said “Contract” Only upon request. Side note I also found out that this company is using ***** ****** ************ Products (formerly ***) which only cost $39.95monthly w/ FREE web address and no other cost except the cost of purchase of products and S&H, this also had no fee for merchant account, so I then purchased items from both websites to find out if the products were different and they were absolutely the same items. So I got curious and decided to look for other companies doing the same type of services and found several like SLC, all w/similar pricing and S&H, no fee merchant accounts, I am only asking to be refunded what was deceptively taken from me, “I DO REQUEST” that the web address named (*********************) be retained by me as I came up with the name and it belongs to my intellectual property, and I will call it even (considering the problems) along w/ a full refund of money paid to MBV by Me.

Desired Settlement: Cancellation of contract, due to Misrepresentation of contract, I was Specifically told "this is a turnkey business". It is no such thing. I also wish to retain the name of website named ********************* as it is created by me and is my personal itellectual property

Business Response: Hello.

We have received the inquiry from *** ******** and have reached out to him to settle the matter.  We have emailed him 3 times and called and left him several messages but he has not returned any of our calls.

We have agreed to his settlement request and have sent him the necessary forms to sign so we can complete his request.  However, he has yet to sign them or return them.  Please have the customer reach out to us toll free at ###-###-#### so we can finalize his settlement request.

I have attached a copy of the paperwork the client needs to sign so we can cancel out his services.

We are happy to have resolved this and wish the customer nothing but the best in any future endeavors.

Best regards,
MBV Support Team

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me and the matter has been resolved.

Sincerely,

******* ********



 

5/12/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
1/30/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I signed up with MBV . Upon signing up I was offered a fully functional Website that I am able to use as my online store. Along with this I was given products from a vendor to sell and was also told I was going to be able to post my merchandise along with those from the vendor to the website. On January ** 2015 I tried to upload my own merchandise to the site as we discussed. I was unable to do so I called technical support who told me they would send me an email with the instructions I received none. January **, 2015 I called again asking for ways to upload my good on the website. The tech personal told me it was a mistake on the part of the sales person because they do not offer that service yet. I was transfer to the sales person who told me I could not because he put me on new platform and they were going to eventually offer the service however he does not know when I will be able to get the service. They said they had an older version of a website they could give to me. I did not pay for that so I refused it. They are selling a product they do not have. I am stuck with my merchandise not being able to sell my own stocks for a store I have paid for. They have no idea when this will be possible.All they have offered me is wait and maybe one day soon I will be able to upload my merchandise when they clearly told me I would be able to do so pior to me signing the contract with them

Desired Settlement: I would settle for cancellation of the contract without penalty with the rights to use domain name as my own without cash refund. if I cannot have the rights of the domain name then I would like a full refund and exit out of the contract without penalty

Business Response: Dear BBB.

We are familiar with this client and the issue at hand.  We had just built her a website to her specifications containing over 12,000 items.  The website has every feature imaginable that a website owner would want.  In fact, our site has been featured as one of the most technologically advanced websites available out there for a very affordable price.

Unfortunately the option this customer was looking to utilize is in its final testing phase and we asked her to give us a few days to complete testing so she could utilize the feature.  She agreed and we did not hear from her until we received this complaint.  It was quite upsetting because we were working with her to resolve this and she never gave us the time to respond to her issue.  

On a positive note, we have spoken to the customer and worked out an agreement together.  Both parties are happy with the agreement and we wish this customer nothing but the best in any future endeavors.

I have attached a copy of the signed settlement agreement with the customer for your records.

If you have any questions, please feel free to contact us.

Best regards,
MBV Support

1/13/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I had consulted with marketing rep concerning an online web store. From November **, 2014 to December **, 2014 a total of $776.65 has been aid out of my pocket toward this so-called business that has not produced any sales. I had called marketing rep. explaining to him that I have not had any sales out of this total of money that I have paid to My Business Venture on November **, 2014, marketing rep. told me he could get a 6 month package involving search engines to drive traffic to my site. None of this money has driven any traffic to my site (no business at all). I called again to talk to marketing rep about no sales and no traffic, his reply was that the packages would be going up at the first of the year and he could get me a deal for $300.00. It seems as though this company wants me to continue to pay money with no results at all. Here is a breakdown of what I have paid: November **, 2014 $219.95 to get started, **** $25.00, **** $18.95, **** $300.00, December *, 2014 $25.00, $25.00, $25.00, $24.95, *** $25.00,**** $25.00, $**** $25.00, **** $37.80 Total $776.65 have sold nothing. I have no evidence to show where all of this extra money has gone. I also let him know that I no longer had a job. With as shady as this business venture has been, I would not personally recommend anyone to get involved with this so-called venture.

Desired Settlement: To refund me back all of my money, because it just seems like every time I talk to this company they want more and more money.

Business Response: Dear BBB.

We are well aware of the challenges with this client.  We were contracted to build a website, merchant account, and payment gateway so she could sell her products online.  Once her site was live, she made a small additional investment in a search engine program.  We did this at our cost because the customer claimed they had very limited funds.  

When a website is live on the internet, it needs to be marketed, just like any business.  The customer believed that by spending $300 marketing her business that within days she would receive sales.  It does not work that way and takes a good 30-60 days for her website to appear in the search engines.  We explained this to her but she said she needed to make sales now.  She did nothing on her own to market her business and we continuously explained to her that SHE needed to run her business if she was to be successful.  It takes real time and effort and she did not have the resources, time, or willingness to put in the work needed.

After speaking with her, we are happy to report that we have resolved our issues and both parties are happy with the outcome.  It is disappointing that she felt the need to report this as a complaint and she said apologized and she would retract it since we resolved our issues. It was simply a case of a person not understanding that it takes real commitment to run a business of any type and success is not quick nor guaranteed.  Hopefully the client has learned a valuable lesson and we wish her nothing but success in the future.

We have attached a copy of a signed settlement agreement with this client for your records.

Thank you very much.

MBV Operations Dept.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me and the matter has been resolved.

Sincerely,

****** *****



 

11/5/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I spoke to ** ***** ****** several times on the phone and he promised me the World to me that I would make more money than ever he guaranteed sales from day 1 of the website going live and he also promised me that traffic would be directed to my website from My Business Venture and would be making sales from that advertisement, ** ****** aslo promised me that I would have Gold Membership pricing and one of the upgrades that would normally not come with the program he said he was going to include ,and so from the guarantees that he was making with me it sounded good so I agreed to go along with the business and paid 175.00 up front to get started I was also charged 18.95 for the merchant account totaling 193.95. After signing up I find out that the upgrade was never put through and it would cost ,me 395.00 to upgrade to that package and that the Gold pricing was not included and that there wold be an additional 19.95 per month fee to have that which originally ** ****** said this would be included with my initial investment, ever since i joined this company I find out there are additional costs for everything that was initially promised to me that would not cost me money. ** ****** is well aware of my financial situation and I told him I do not have the money to keep paying for additional services that if he wanted me to join that the services mentioned above would be included and he told me that would be fine. I am not happy about this opportunity. The bottom line is that ** ****** did not fully disclose to me that there was going to be additional costs through my business venture after the initial investment to guarantee traffic and to have gold membership and other services that they offer thinking that was all included in the initial investments of 2.875.00 that would cost me over 36 months. He basically lied to me just to get me to sign up so that he could most likely make his commission/ I cannot believe that this company has an A rating with the BBB because of the false statements they are making to customers They are not being fully transparent with the customer and they are promising services to the customer they cannot deliver on just so that the sales person could make a sale. .

Desired Settlement: I would like to have a full refund of the money that i have invested into this company. I have had several conversations with *** ****** and every time he has lied to me. I do not trust this company anymore and do not want to do business with them any longer. I have a very bad taste in my mouth about them. So I would like to have the 175.00 refunded back to me along with the 18.95 for the merchant account charge that was charged to me also and we can separate as business partners and not have any other charged to my account. So i am looking for have a total of 193.95 refunded back to me and the would satisfy me and would like to separate myself from doing business with this company

Business Response: Hello;

Good afternoon.

We are happy to say that we have reached an amicable settlement with this client.  There was a lot of misunderstanding on his part as to what was involved and what was required of him.  As evidenced by the customers letter, we were clearly on a different page than this client and we take great pride in making sure our communication with our customers is second to none.


After speaking with the customer,  it was apparent at this point that the client was not going to be able to effectively run a website and we felt is was prudent for us to move on, so we agreed to take a loss on the account, refund him any money he paid, and cancel out his agreement with us going forward.

We wish him nothing but the best in the future and hope he is a little more diligent reading the agreements before entering into a financial obligation with a company.

I have attached a copy of the clients settlement and release paperwork showing that this has been resolved amicably.

Have a great day!

Best regards,
*** ********** **** 

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me and the matter has been resolved.

Sincerely,

******* **********



 

10/10/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: In January of 2013, I fell for lies and false promises of E-Commerce Exchange, I invested $2495.00 which was put on my American Express card for a set up fee and all inclusive website for an online retail store, that was to generate a profit within 60 days and to have earned my full amount investment back within 90days. I was told that the cancellation period was 3 days after signing, I took the reps word and went forward with the transaction. But, after the three day period I was informed that it wasnt ready and the excuses started. The web team was busy and it would be up the next day, etc. Finally when the site was up, I had been promised that I could add my own products and change prices, add coupons and other customizations. But after the site was up and the cancellation period expired, I was told by the rep. ***** ***** that I couldnt change prices or make changes according to our prior discussion, he then told me that they were part of the up grade, so if I wanted this feature which he strongly suggested I could spend $790.00 for the up graded package 1 and 2. I went along with his suggestion and put the charges on my Visa Credit card. Several weeks went by and still no sales, I was getting very angry with ***** *****, but some how he coned me into spending more money, suggesting that I buy a social media package for $568.42, this would give me the tools I needed to generate sales. As it turns out, ***** ***** lied to me again, this package did no good and has not contributed to generating any sales. As of this day I have not made any money with this program. This program was sold to me as a turnkey business with all the tools needed to make it a profitable business. It turns out instead, to be a fraud, using corrupt and deceitful business practices.

Desired Settlement: 100% refund of $3853.42

Business Response: Hello:

We are in receipt of the complaint filed by *** **********.   We have since spoke with the customer and there seems there were some issues regarding the customer understanding how to effectively run and promote his business.  After speaking with the client, we have come to an agreement and have offered to assist him with free training with our corporate trainer at no charge for 2 full months.  During this time, we will help educate and train him on how to utilize social media, and other marketing techniques that are integral to running his business.  This educational program will be provided by us at no charge to the client as our ultimate goal is always a satisfied customer.

We are happy to report that *** ********** is going to continue working with our company and we look forward to making him another happy client!

Attached find his letter of retraction regarding this complaint and his satisfaction with the ultimate resolution.

If you have any questions, please feel free to contact us.

Support Team

8/25/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: 7/**/2013 I made a down payment of $195 and then started paying $99.95 a month for a website to sell a wide range of products. I was told by ***** ****** that I wasn't making money because I needed to get some thing going money wise to bring enough traffic to my website. He said that if I would get their package to own the site that they'd be able to give me what was needed to get the traffic and make sales. 8/**/2013 I was told if I spent $295 that that would help me increase my sales to get traffic and make sales.10/**/2013 I spent $349 and told it would also help me.11/**/2013 spent $1979.48 to have the site officially mine. Told all that I got with that money would also help me.5/*/2014 spent $479 which was suppost to help me. I have not made any money and was under the impression all of this would help me make money. I wasn't promised to get rich but, was suppose to be able to make money. Today is 8/*/2014 and Wed. 8/*/2014 will be a week that my website has been down for the third time. They say I keep going to places that are causing the overload of hits to my site. I occasionally click on a video msn has on their home page. A video on ********. Promote my webstore on the following: *********** ****** ******** ****** *** *******, ******** and merchant circle 6 days a week. As far as I am concerned that is the main things I do on the computer. I do not see any place that I would be going to cause the issue of the site going down as many times as it has. I don't open up emails that I don't recognize the sender. My husband wants me to get my money back. I am going through you so I can get help if they deny me the money back. They were miss leading. How many times do I have to give money to get at least a few sales to start out with. ****** ********* is the customer support *******, you can contact hime at ###-###-####.

Desired Settlement: My husband isn't expecting to get the monthly payments of $99.95 and the down payment of $195. However, the amount requested back is $3102.48. That is the amount total of what I mentioned above.

Business Response: Hello.

We have read *** ********'s complaint and have contacted her.  *** ********s has had some issues getting her website up and making sales and was frustrated by that.  After speaking with her, we have put together an educational package to assist her at no charge to her.  We will be having our corporate trainer contacting *** ********s within the next day or so to find out what she needs help with, what she does not understand, and what we can do to educate her on running her website.  We will enroll her in our training package at no cost to her.  In addition, we have agreed to provide her with free hosting on her website through the remainder of the year to help alleviate the fees and help her get back on her feet.

We have always had a great relationship with *** ********s and we have spoken to her regularly.  We are happy to retain her as a happy customer and resolve this issue.

Attached find a copy of our settlement letter showing both parties are agreeable and happy with the outcome.

If you have any other questions, please feel free to contact us.

Best regards,
MBV Operations Team

5/16/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: when I joined this co. I informed Mr. ******* that I only made 721.00 a month and he failed to disclose all conditions required to take advantage of this offer. I was told by MR.******* that he would make sure that the business he would set up for me would pay for itself. He promised me that I would be able to make enough money to more than cover the initial cost of 219.95 and then the following monthly costs of 153.45 a month They promised me traffic but didn't tell me I had to pay for the traffic. They offer programs to generate traffic but you must pay for them. for my web sight to generate sales. I would have had to pay more money to generate a lot off traffic which is needed to pay bills and succeed and he did not tell me that when I signed the package. If I had known that I needed to spend some real money (which I didn't have) to get traffic to my sight I would have never signed the contract and without those packages its impossible to sell products and make money. Mr. ******* gave products for the website 800.00 worth, which is worthless if there is no traffic to the site. Its nothing for the traffic which only works if you have enough traffic. Then when time went by I got no sales I started to complain and he finally gave me a package for traffic and I don't Know how good that would work after I am so far behind. and the problem is I need 18.95 for to pay for the gateway to let credit cards go through before any of his packages will work which he knows I don't have, and wont give it to me. Now I m 295.00 indebt with my lease . All this happened because Mr. ******* didn't disclose all conditions required to take advantage of this offer. He said that he and me would work together to make the traffic happen. But no all he gave me was 50 ways to make traffic happen and 75% was with money. I worked what I could of the fifty ways but the traffic was so measly amount, I never sold anything but finally went to ebay and sold one product on ebay. I couldn't stress it enough to MR. ******* when I was signing up for this offer that I need traffic and he assured it to me without telling me I had to pay for it up to1400.00 for what the good packages are and I have no money like that and the cheep packages are 300.00. I don't have that kind of money and he knows that.

Desired Settlement: I been misrepresented which is not fare. I took out a loan on my own bank account for 219.95 to make the initial payment and I want that returned and the lese canceled of 3600 which I have no money to pay and they know that. and my 295.00 that I owe on my lease to the business as well as all other fees that I owe to be cancelled. I have no more money to take out any more loans I thought the business would pay for that!

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me and the matter has been resolved.

Sincerely,

*** ** *****



 

Business Response: Hello:

This letter is in response to the complaint filed by *** *******. After reading the complaint, it is apparent that the client did not adequately prepare herself financially to start a business. If she needed to secure a loan for the $200 start up as she states, she should of passed on getting started. As anyone understands, it takes capital to run a business and some kind of advertising budget. In fact, the customer could not pay the $18.95 fee to activate her merchant account so if anyone went to her website to purchase, sales would not have happened anyway.  She asked us if we could just pay it for her or lend her the $18.95 and we said that we cannot do that as we provided her with over $800 of free marketing tools and traffic programs to assist her since she had no money to pay for any of it.

We wholeheartedly refute all of her claims, insinuating we never disclosed the terms, yet she signed and initialed our disclosure form that she understood all of the terms and conditions. We told her we were very unhappy that she would make up false claims to try to prove her case and asked her why she would do that, and she had no answer.  We believe Ms. ******* simply wanted to get out of her obligation once it was clear she could not afford to make her payments to us.

In the end, we spoke with her and she said she had no way to afford the website or keep up with the payments. We agreed to alleviate her of all responsibility and take the loss on the account.  We hope Ms. ******* uses better judgement in the future when undertaking such an endeavor.

This complaint has been settled amicably and both parties are satisfied with the outcome.  I have attached a copy of our settlement and release agreement for your records.

Best regards,
My Business Venture

5/8/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

1 Customer Review on My Business Venture
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart