BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In Metropolitan New York, Long Island, and the Mid-Hudson Region

BBB Accredited Business since

My Business Venture

Fax: (631) 863-2249 View Additional Phone Numbers 732 Smithtown Bypass Suite 302, Smithtown, NY 11787 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.mybusinessventure.com

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

The company states that they are anxious to resolve customer challenges and encourages clients to send a detailed email to help@mybusinessventure.com or contact them by phone at 1-800-639-6644 and ask for the Customer Support Department.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that My Business Venture meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for My Business Venture include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 14 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

14 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 9
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 4
Total Closed Complaints 14

Additional Complaint Information

The company states that they are anxious to resolve customer complaints and encourage clients to send a detailed email to help@mybusinessventure.com, or by phone at 1-800-639-6644 and ask for the Customer Support Department.

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: October 01, 2000 Business started: 01/01/1996 Business incorporated: 01/01/1996 in
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Thomas Stridiron, President Mr. Joseph Kilgannon, Vice President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Thomas Stridiron, President
Business Category

INTERNET SHOPPING SERVICES BUSINESS SERVICES (GENERAL) CREDIT CARD PROCESSING SERVICE


Additional Locations

  • 732 Smithtown Bypass Suite 302

    Smithtown, NY 11787 (800) 639-6644

  • 1
X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (631) 265-5661(Phone)
  • (800) 639-6644(Phone)
X

Additional Email Addresses

  • - Customer Service
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

8/21/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: An advertisement misrepresenting a service. An advertisement that failed to disclose all conditions required to take advantage of an offer. An advertisement with unrealistic/unsubstantiated claims. A sales presentation that misrepresents the product. A sales presentation that misrepresents the service. A sales presentation that did not disclose complete pricing information. A sales presentation that failed to disclose key conditions of the offer.

Desired Settlement: It has to end before I go broke trying to do the impossible and they know it. I am not happy with the preloaded products. The SEO & Marketing, The Catalogues, The 36 month -Lease - and its "ton of finance charges" Unending Fees

Business Response:

Hello:

We have reached out to *** ****** and have addressed her concerns.  She had an issue with finance charges so we have allowed her to buyout of her agreement early at 25% of the amount due and have cancelled her leasing obligation to our organization for the services we have provided.

We also had *** ****** email us a list of challenges and we have addressed each one.  We are now in the process of working with her to make changes to her website that she requested. 

We believe the matter is now resolved amicably and we look forward to working with *** ****** in the future.

If you have any questions, please call us at ###-###-#### or email us at ******************

Best regards,

ECX Support Team

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID# *******, and have determined that my complaint has NOT been resolved because:

The site is not searchable/ratable on the web - on any [US] browser.

This is an important component of success for any online business. The products?

 

 

 

 

In order for the BBB to appropriately process your response, you MUST answer the question above.


Sincerely,

******* ******




 

Business Response:

Dear BBB.

We are in receipt of the issue in question and are happy to report that *** *****'s website is now submitted, verified, and indexed in ******.  If you search her domain name **************** you will see that not only does her main page come up but also various indexed pages for her website as well.  If you specifically search "inetshoppers" (with the quotations), you will also see the site comes up first on the ****** page.  As stated previously, search engine submission is not a perfect science and it can take time to get sites indexed properly at times.  I have attached a printscreen of our findings and are continuing to work with *** ****** to make her business a successful one.

Regarding the products, I understand *** ****** still would like more variation and we addressed that in our other responses, how she can add any other products to her site and work with other drop shippers if she so chooses.  While she felt misinformed by the representative, she did initial the disclosure form agreeing to the product line that we were going to be stocking on her website.  As time goes on, more and more items will be added that she may find a good fit.

Thank you and if you have any further questions, feel free to have *** ****** contact us via email or toll free at ###-###-####.

Best regards,

Support Team

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me and the matter has been resolved.

Sincerely,

******* ******



 

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

6/27/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I signed up with e commerce exchange for the amount of $219.95, they where also going to charge me $28.95 for a monthly merchant fee and $99.95 for a monthly lease along with $24.95 for web hosting I cancelled 4 days later and they said I didn't do it on time within there 8 day grace period and I now owe them $12000 I then had to change my banking account number so they did not have any further access to it because they had me give them my account number because they said my earnings go directly into my bank account and then they had told me to make business cards and I had to purchase merchandise from them 1st and try to sell it at a flee market at first they said they would build me a web site so customers could buy from my web site they would design for me and do all the shipping for aswell and now I see on line they are a complete scam in wich I did not see in the 1st place I found out about this company they are in the home business magazine

Desired Settlement: I would like my $219.95 back and make sure they can not sue me for the $1200 they are saying I owe them and if they could just go away and leave me alone instead of harassing me 4 times a day with phone calls and threats

Business Response:

Hello:

We have reached out to *** **** and we are pleased to report that we were able to solve our dispute amicably.

Both *** **** and ECX are now happy with the resolution and both have agreed to move forward. 

We have alleviated any further obligation *** **** has to our company and terminated his services with our company.

If you have any further questions, feel free to contact us at ****************** or at ###-###-####.

Best regards,

ECX Support Dept.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

6/7/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I was trying to cancel my contract with these guys just 1 day after siging due to the fact that I started to look at there sample webiste and didnt like the prices. ***** called me up and said that those were the retail price and that my wholesale prices would only be about a quarter of that price. I told ***** the only way I would stay in, is if he could guaranteed me that the wholesale prices was a steal of a deal, he replied and told me that they order hunderds of thousand of units all at once so they can get the wholesale price at the same price Walmart and Best Buy was getting there wholesale price and then the company would pass that same price on to me. I then asked *****, to give me an example and said how much does a 40inch TV cost at wholesale and he said that my price would be only $105. This in fact was a lie. The price is actually over $280. Just about $50 under Walmart. These guys dont order anything in build or buy the hundreds of thousand of units, they partner them out to a third party company which I could of joined for only $30 a month on my own instead of paying these guys $3600. They lie to you, and then make you sign a contract, and tell you that within the next 5 days they will have your back office all uploaded and you will have access to THERE WAREHOUSE so you can view the products and see the wholesale prices. After 5 days they send you the memberships and then you find out that you are getting bad product and also the prices are almost the same prices at walmart. Big SCAM!!!

Desired Settlement: Since I was lied to about everything and deceived, I want a full refund of $220. I have not even had my website or membership with the wholesaler longer than 3 days.

Business Response:

Hello:

We have been in touch with Mr. ******* throughout the whole process and even before he filed the complaint.  He says that he did not read his emails from us and filed the complaint prematurely.

In any event, we have decided to issue a refund and cancel out all related services that were provided to this customer, as per his wishes. 

We consider the matter now closed amicably. 

Attached find a copy of the settlement agreement signed by Mr. *******.

If you have any other questions, please feel free to contact us.

Best regards,

ECX Support Team

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ** ******** and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me and the matter has been resolved.

Sincerely, ***** *******



 

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

3/6/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Re: ECX Stores After requesting information on a business opportunity, I was contacted by Mr. **** ********. The initial contact with Mr. **** *’****** was on or about Jan. 22, 2013. Mr. ******* said that the business would cost $219.95; Only if I got enrolled with him now (he said that it usually cost $500) . He said that I could be making money in a week. What was NOT DISCLOSED during any discussions was the additional cost of “the business”. After I sent Mr. ******** the $219.95 on Feb, 5th, 2013. the “Store” was set up. The next day he disclosed that there is the monthly fee of “Only $99” for 36 months to pay for the business. Or I can pay a “discounted” $2500 now. Had I known this up front, I would not have given him the $219.95. I had to set up a credit card account. ECX took $18.95 out of my account on Feb. 12th. This is before any sales and I was not notified of the withdrawal. The store was set up and I had to make many changes to the pages of the store before it was ready to go on-line. After I spent time making changes appropriate to my page, Mr. ******** then said that I now need to buy the “advertising package”, that’s another $600. I am extremely upset, to say the least, about this “bait and switch” type of practice from the ECX Company. To resolve this I have requested a cancellation of the contract. Furthermore, I am demanding a full refund of the $219.95 and the $18.95 with a total of $238.90. The company refused to admit deceit and has refused a refund.

Desired Settlement: Immediately send me a total of $238.90 via Federal Express to my home address. Make sure there are no other automatic debits from my credit card.

Business Response:

Hello. 

We have reviewed the customer's challenge, have contacted him, and we have worked out our differences with him.  Mr. ***** and ECX consider this matter resolved and even more importantly, closed in an amicable manner.

Mr. ***** as well as E-Commerce Exchange are happy with the outcome and wish each other the best of success in any future endeavors. 

If you have any further questions, please feel free to contact us. 

  

Thank you. 

E-Commerce Exchange 

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

2/19/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: E-commerce exchange advertised that they had a e-commerce store that: 1. They warehouse and ship the products. We found out that they go through athird party that is free to sign up for nad e commerce exchange does not warehouse or ship anything. 2. We pay a monthly price an dit comes with everything we saw on the demo website set up. This was false because after we signed up we had to pay severl hundred dollars to get half of the features they advertised and they did not tell us until after we paid that w ehad ot pay more just to receive half of the features. 3. The company did not tell me that I had to receive financing for the website. 4. We were overcharged and they misrepresented th emerchant account and said they would give us free hosting despite they overdrew our account. Not one claim regaridng billing was correct, then they said we owed them money. 5. We sent aletter to their place of business canceling the product within the money back guarantee time, then 2 months later we recieve notification form the finance company that we were financed without knowing it and that they never cancelled and gave us our refund as we were promised in the guarantee by our rep **** *******. 6. They said we would have 100% to 200% markups when on some of the products it was not even a 30% markup.

Desired Settlement: We closed our bank account due to the charges they were trying to pull out so we would like a full refund of the extra add ons as wlel as the money we invested into this scam immediately. If we do not, then we will be filing a complaint with the attorney general for New York on their unlawful business practices. We also will seek legal action for the scam. They cna make the check out to ******* ***** and send it to my address that I have listed.

Business Response:

Hello.

We reviewed the customer's challenge, have contacted him, and we have worked out our differences with him.  *** ***** and his ECX representative had a good relationship and we are glad we were able to work everything out. 

Mr. Phair as well as E-Commerce Exchange are happy with the outcome and wish each other the best of success in any future endeavors.

If you have any further questions, please feel free to contact us.

 

Thank you.

E-Commerce Exchange

 

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

1/13/2013 Problems with Product/Service
10/12/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues
10/6/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues
9/28/2012 Billing/Collection Issues
8/1/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues
6/16/2012 Problems with Product/Service
2/22/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues
12/1/2011 Problems with Product/Service
5/4/2011 Advertising/Sales Issues
1