BBB Accredited Business since

Voxx International Corporation

Phone: (631) 231-7750 Fax: (631) 231-0677 View Additional Phone Numbers 150 Marcus Blvd., Hauppauge, NY 11788 http://www.audiovox.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Voxx International Corporation meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for Voxx International Corporation include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 17 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

17 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 2
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 2
Problems with Product/Service 12
Total Closed Complaints 17

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

2 Customer Reviews on Voxx International Corporation
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 2
Total Customer Reviews 2

Additional Information

BBB file opened: March 01, 1971 Business started: 12/22/1960 in DE Business incorporated 12/22/1960 in NY
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. John J. Shalam, President Mr. Carl Peters, VP of Customer Service
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. John J. Shalam, President
Business Category

HOME ELECTRONICS


Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Voxx International Corporation has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 150 Marcus Blvd.

    Hauppauge, NY 11788 (631) 231-7750

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

2/15/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a RCA ANT 1450BF and couldn't figure out why I was only getting 8 -12 channels on my televison depending on where I place the antenna. I bought a cheaper antenna and got 18 channels on the same televison. I removed the amp that comes with the antenna and still received only 12 channels. I live thirty five miles from Miami. According to online info pertaining to this antenna, I should have a fifty miles radius to receive most of the channels listed in my zip code. I'm not getting the lower channels or local channels and sometimes I don't get the same channels I had before. Once the channels are found during the television set- up, I shouldn't have to constantly adjust the antenna because a channel didn't come in, but was found by the antenna. This is a multi-directional amplified antenna that should get approx. thirty five channels listed in my area. I know all the channels may not be available in my area, but I should get more than 12 channels.

Desired Settlement: Replacement

Business Response: A customer service representative spoke with the consumer this afternoon.  It was determined he would do better with a directional amplified antenna.  The representative is sending the directional antenna at no charge.  The consumer was given the reps direct contact information in the event he has a problem setting up the new antenna. 

6/4/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased the RCA TH2014 MP3 Player from ****** ******* ***. within a year. According to the Start Guide, the player is to recharged in the computer with the selector switch set to on. I've done that, and the battery is drained. I've tried it with the selector switch set to off, and the result is the same. I've tried to seek help online, but the manufacturer has no documents for this product online; it would also not let me set up an account. I searched the internet for their phone number, and contacted customer service. The woman who answered said that since I didn't retain my receipt, service would cost $30; the cost of the product is $35. I asked for a supervisor, and she took my number; she said she would call me back, but never did. I searched for an email address, and they have none for this product line. I insist they contact me with an offer to repair or replace this product, or I won't buy from them again.

Desired Settlement: I want the unit repaired or replaced at their expense, because they sold me a defective product. If they do not comply, I will not purchase anymore of their products. I will also make sure as many people as I can know how poor of quality their products are, and how poor of quality their customer service is.

Business Response: Regarding complaint ID# ********, a representative of Voxx International called and spoke with the consumer at 9:20am on 5/**/15.  He told the representative he had resolved the problem and needed no additional help.  The representative told him he could call her directly if he experienced any further difficulties.  This matter is now considered closed.

2/7/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I got a ******** portable dvd player for christmas but it does not work because the CD is rubbing on the lid that you have to close in order for it to play. Therefore the dvd player won't play the dvd. I called customer service and they lady on the phone said she could not help me because it was a gift and I did not make the purchase myself. When I asked for her name she immediately hung up on me. The model number of this player is DS9849 it is a 9" portable dvd player. I feel that it is very disrespectful and unprofessional to hang up on your customers.

Desired Settlement: I want a new dvd player that works and I will send them back the defective one.

Business Response: Regarding complaint ID# ********, a representative of ******** contacted the consumer on 1/**/15.  Arrangements were made to ship the DVD player back to ******** at no cost to the consumer.   When the unit is received and if found to be defective,  it will be repaired or replaced, also at no cost to the consumer. This resolution was satisfactory to both parties.

1/28/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The web site directed me to buy a product that is not compatible with my system: I have the Code alarm **** *** alarm which has the LCD remote that is rechargeable You sold me the VOX CATXMLC (order# ********). My remote is CATXMLSS the one sent is CATX-MLC, FCC ID H5OTR35. My remote is FCC IDH5OTR38. The new remote will not program to my alarm system. I would like my $100.00 back please

Desired Settlement: I would like the correct remote if it is available or my money back.

Business Response: Regarding Complaint# *********  the customer has been contacted and is returning his incorrect transmitter.  When the transmitter is received, he will be refunded in full.  This matter is now considered closed.

12/17/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: They make worthless products that do not last longer than a few months.

Desired Settlement: I would like to get a speaker that works.

Business Response: Regarding complaint ID#******** concerning the AR2001 sound bar.  The product referred to in this complaint is not sold or supported by Voxx International Corp.  After researching the model number on the internet, the product is supported by **** **** **** **** **** ********* ** *****.  Their customer support number is ###-###-#### and hours of operation are ******** ***.   A representative of Voxx International will call the consumer with the above information.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me and the matter has been resolved.

Sincerely,

***** ********



 

12/9/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a remote starter through ****** on 11/**/2013 brand new from ******. I had it professionally installed and everything was working. Within the last 2 weeks the 2 way remote has stopped receiving signals from the antenna or brain in the car. I called Audiovox and they told me it was either the remote, antenna or brain, but since I didn't buy directly through them it would not be under warranty, but had I purchased through Audiovox it would be under warranty. I have never purchased an item from ****** and not had a company not honor their warranty. I have never seen a remote start only work 1 year. They should last years. And for Audiovox to not stand by their warranty, just because I didn't buy directly from them is absurd.

Desired Settlement: I would like to replace the remote starter or will purchase a Viper. I just want my remote started to work longer than 1 year.

Business Response: Regarding complaint ID#********, a representative of Audiovox spoke with the consumer on 11/**/14, listened to his complaint and offered to repair his product or replace it with a unit of equal value.  However, if he chose the replacement, his car would have to be rewired.  He wanted to think it over and said he would call back with his answer.  He called on 12/**/14 and chose the new product.  The replacement unit is scheduled to ship on 12/*/14.  The consumer was happy with the outcome.  We now consider this matter closed. 

12/3/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: See attached emails. Recently you requested personal assistance from our on-line support center. Below is a summary of your request and our response. If this issue is not resolved to your satisfaction, you may reopen it within the next 28 days. Thank you for allowing us to be of service to you. To access your question from our support site, click here Summary of Issue No sound on via bluetooth Response By Email (*****) (11/**/2014 ***** **) Dear ****, I am sorry, bur a copy of the receipt is required for warranty. We do not repair these, we exchange them. Thank you for using Audiovox Electronics. *****, Customer Service Customer By CSS Email (**** *****) (11/**/2014 ***** **) I really do not know what to do.. obviously the product is defective. I work and live on the railroad so most of my purchases are a mixture of cash and cards. I am so sad and disappointed. --- Original Message --- Response By Email (*****) (11/**/2014 ***** **) Then it needs to be sent in to be replaced, ****. Try to remember where you purchased it and which credit card you used. Thank you for using Audiovox Electronics. *****, Customer Service Customer By CSS Email (**** *****) (11/**/2014 ***** **) Yes CANZ is selected on my laptop . I have it on my phone and iPhone too. But I turn the Bluetooth off while trying to connect. Yesterday I got a headphone jack to try it that way unfortunately I did not work as well. --- Original Message --- Response By Email (*****) (11/**/2014 ***** **) Dear ****, I am sorry that you feel this way. Many companies require the original receipt and original packaging. We only require a copy of the receipt. Does this work when directly connected? Is CANZ selected in the Settings menu of the device? Is it selected more than once? Thank you for using Audiovox Electronics. *****, Customer Service Customer By CSS Email (**** *****) (11/**/2014 ***** **) Yes I do have a Bluetooth laptop am am not sure how I paid for it I cant seam to find the transaction m this is nit right to be treated this way for been loyal and standing by your products. This is not at all fair. --- Original Message --- Response By Email (*****) (11/**/2014 ***** **) Dear ****, If you purchased this with a credit card within the last 12 months the store should be able to give you a duplicate receipt. Is your laptop Bluetooth? Thank you for using Audiovox Electronics. *****, Customer Service Customer By CSS Email (**** *****) (11/**/2014 ***** **) Hi there its not fair, I do not jave my receipt and have to pay almost $20 for what could be a defective product. This is not right. Can someone please call me ###-###-#### --- Original Message --- Response By Email (*****) (11/**/2014 ***** **) Dear ****, If there is something wrong with that unit it should be sent in to Audiovox for service. If it is still in warranty (12 months and valid receipt), we will repair it at no charge (copy of sales receipt required). If there is physical damage or you do not have your purchase receipt, there is no warranty. If the unit is out of warranty there will be a flat rate repair charge of $18.50. You can pay for the repair with a check, money order or any major credit card. For your protection please send the unit and all original components by *** or ***** ground to: Shine Electronics ATT: Audiovox Repairs ***** **** **** **** ****** ***** ** ***** Please include your name, address, telephone number and receipt copy or payment along with a short note describing the problem. If paying with a check or money order, make it payable to Audiovox. If paying with a credit card include the credit card number and expiration date, your telephone number, the name and address EXACTLY as it appears on your credit card statement and the name and complete ship to address. If it is a VISA, we also need the last three digits on the back of the card. Record the tracking number of your shipment to us so that we can trace the package if necessary. Thank you for using Audiovox Electronics. *****, Customer Service PURCHASES FROM SOME INTERNET SITES ARE NOT COVERED UNDER WARRANTY Customer By CSS Web (**** *****) (11/**/2014 ***** **) I play music through my ipod, loptop and galaxy s3, after switching to laptop the bluthooth music has nver played again. there is no volume and eventhough i may sync, pair no sound is played back Question Reference # ************* Date Created: 11/**/2014 ***** ** Date Last Updated: 11/**/2014 ***** ** Status: Solved

Desired Settlement: Replace defective product. AT NO COST TO ME

Business Response: Regarding complaint ID#********, a representative of Audiovox spoke with the consumer on 12/**/14, listened to his complaint and agreed to send a replacement.  She also explained, since the consumer's product is no longer available, the product will be replaced by one of equal or greater value.  He was very pleased and this matter is now considered closed.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me and the matter has been resolved.

Sincerely,

**** *****



 

11/13/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
11/7/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
11/5/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
10/20/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
9/12/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
3/4/2014 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I entered a contest on ******** and WON a pair of 808 Audio headphones.I was contacted by 808 Audio by email on * January and they stated that after I confirmed that I was the winner I would thereby receive my prize within 4-6 weeks. That window of time has expired. I have contacted 808 Audio by email three times regarding this issue but have NOT received a response as of yet. The 12th man contest was hosted by ******** but delivery of my prize is the responsibility of 808 Audio. 808 Audio is owned by Voxx International. I could not find an address for 808 Audio so I am listing Voxx as parent Co.

Desired Settlement: I would like to receive my prize ASAP since it is long over due.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ******** and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me and the matter has been resolved.


Please be advised that I received a phone call from 808 audio this morning. The rep who called me was ***** *****. She did inform me that she has shipped my prize ( one 808 audio headphones) and also said she was sorry that there was a problem getting them to me. She was very cordial and sincere. She provided me with a UPS tracking number so I did verify that the package was in transit to me. I would like to Thank the fine people at BBB for addressing this problem to Voxx International in my behalf. It's nice to know that the BBB is always there to help consumers with problems like mine. Again I am most grateful for your kind help. 
Sincerely,

**** ********



 

1/3/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
11/28/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
11/27/2013 Delivery Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
10/30/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

2 Customer Reviews on Voxx International Corporation
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart