This business is not BBB accredited.

Behr's Baby & Kid's Furniture

Phone: (516) 541-2347 1220 Hicksville Road, Rte. 107, Seaford, NY 11783

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

On 9/8/2016 this business's accreditation in the BBB was revoked by the BBB's Board of Directors due to its failure to adhere to the BBB requirement that Accredited Businesses meet and abide by the following standards:

  • 6. Address marketplace disputes quickly, professionally, and in good faith.
  • 6A. Promptly respond to all complaints forwarded by BBB by:
    1. Resolving the complaint directly with the complainant and notifying BBB, or
    2. Providing BBB with a response that BBB determines:
      • is professional,
      • addresses all of the issues raised by the complainant,
      • includes appropriate evidence and documents supporting the business' position, and
      • explains why any relief sought by the complainant cannot or should not be granted.

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for Behr's Baby & Kid's Furniture include:

  • Failure to respond to 7 complaint(s) filed against business

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

14 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 9 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 6
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 6
Total Closed Complaints 14

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

2 Customer Reviews on Behr's Baby & Kid's Furniture
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 2
Total Customer Reviews 2

Additional Information

BBB file opened: October 01, 1985 Business started: 01/01/1972
Business Category


Alternate Business Names
Behr's Furniture Behr, Henry & Son Inc. Henry S. Behr Inc.

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Behr's Baby & Kid's Furniture has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of F.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations


    1220 Hicksville Road, Rte. 107

    Seaford, NY 11783


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

9/14/2016 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: Order #***** was placed on January *, 2016 which included 3 total nursery pieces of furniture: infant crib, infant dresser and changing table top. Partial payment of $800 was also left on this date to solidify the order. My husband and I were told that furniture would take 6-8 weeks to come in, which would be mid-March around 3/12 latest. It was around this time we started to check in with the store for updates, as we have not heard of a delivery status. We were told that the furniture was at the customs port in Vietnam and they were waiting for more containers to come in before clearance - delivery would be in about 2 weeks. We did not receive a call or an update in that 2 week window so another call was made. Same answer - furniture was waiting to clear customs in Vietnam, call back in 2 weeks. At this point, we were incredibly frustrated and asked to speak to management. We were given information that the containers were now in Canada, though he could not identify or guarantee the contents of that bin were of our furniture items. Estimated time of arrival to their store - about 1 week and we would have it in a few days. At this point, we have heard no other information - only that their "systems are down" due to an inventory check and no information was available at this time, to call back once again at the end of the week. My baby will be here in a few weeks and his room is nowhere in tact, due to our inability to store or decorate the space without his furniture. The closer I get to my due date, to weaker my mobility gets to be arranging and decorating a nursery. Waiting 15 weeks for our delivery with no valid updates or tracking information is unacceptable, especially when the business is holding hundreds of our dollars as a deposit.

Desired Settlement: Delivery of order immediately along with a monetary discount off the balance due to compensate the stress and inconvenience.

9/14/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: Placed an order first week of February was told that my order would take 10 weeks - Was unable to get in touch with an associate for days. After finally getting in touch with someone today 4/**/16, I was told the store was closing, previously ordered inventory would NOT be delivered to the seafood location anymore, if by chance it does get delivered to another location it would take atleast 10-12 weeks. They suggested that I call my credit card company and dispute the charge. They had no intentions of calling customers to inform them of this closing, and are leaving people high and dry who have paid them.

Desired Settlement: Refund

9/14/2016 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: This company sold us two beds, mattresses and accessories for our children's bedroom at the end of January. It is now the end of April, and we were told to keep calling to follow up. We just called AGAIN, and they said they're going through a "re-org" and gave us our money back. This is INSUFFICIENT. We have been waiting and waiting and waiting. I want them to pay us the discount we were to receive at their establishment at wherever we go to get our new set of beds. I'm livid that they strung us along as customers for nearly 4 months. This is unacceptable. We've certainly been damaged in that the beds we want may not longer be on the market and now we'll need to pay full price for what they contractually agreed to provide us. It's a breach of contract, negligent infliction of emotional distress, and just ridiculous. If you're company is in dire straits, you should contact your customers if you're not going to be able to deliver. We had to contact THEM to find out that we were waiting for no reason. This is fraud.

Desired Settlement: 1) Refund + their payment of a discount wherever we now need to get the beds from 2) an apology 3) a call from them

9/14/2016 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I ordered a baby furniture set over 10 weeks ago. I left a $1000 deposit with my master card and was told 12-14 weeks for delivery. When I just called to check on my order I was told my order was never place and they will not be refunding the $1000 deposit I left and that its on me to call my credit card and dispute the charge.

Desired Settlement: Delivery of Order.  How is it that my new born son will now be with out furniture because nothing I order now will be here on time. And I've been paying interest and $1000 for the last 4 months and their response is it not their problem anymore.

9/14/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: Ordered furniture seven weeks ago for over $2,000 in which I was supposed to have delivered in 8-12 weeks. After 7 weeks I read an article stating they were going out of business and customers were complaining they weren't getting their furniture or their money back, so I called Behr's to find out the same issue; Behr's representative informed me they weren't fulfilling my order and if I would like a refund (who wouldn't want their $2,263 back) I would have to dispute that with my credit card company. Now I have to wait 90 days to get my funds back, meanwhile now I have to go elsewhere to find a crib and hope they could deliver it in time. It would of been nice if Behr's would of reached out to its customers to inform them they were going out of business and not fulfilling their orders and unable to process a refund for them. Not a great way to end a business after being around for almost 100 years.

Desired Settlement: I want a expedited refund of my money.

9/14/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I was delivered a damaged rails/conversion kit and have an email from Behrs acknowledging it was damaged and needs to be replaced. I paid in full, but as of late April 2016, they closed their business with no notice, no refund

Desired Settlement: they need to replace the part, as promised and paid for

6/12/2016 Guarantee/Warranty Issues
4/3/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: Hello this crib set product was purchased 9/*/15 and upon initial purchase we was advised merchandise would take approx 16 wks and would arrive by Dec **, 2015. Luckily the crib & dresser arrived early on Nov * 2015 but i am still missing items that are part of the original order which consist of night stand, changing station & toddler rail which still have not been received. This gift was purchased by my mother in law and when me and her call to check on status of remaining delivery of our items we was initially told same story that the shipping containers have to be full before they are delivered and now are are being told constantly another 2 wks or to call back or to call customer service since Dec & it is now almost March. It has been 6 months since order was paid in full and yet we still have not received the rest of our order. When i call store sales rep over phone advised we are also waiting for the toddler rail & conversion kit. I have also sent emails as well asking to check on of order and still not received. Can someone in the BBB dept please look into this problem my son is 5 months old and I have to go back to work next month and would sincerely like to get this problem resolved. it just seems quite absurd and is a huge turn off from me wanting to do business with Behr's again in the future. Also additional money of $245 was paid as well on 9/*/15 receipt order no. ***** for nightstand to be added. Reggie was our sales rep who gave great customer service the problem is that we still have not received rest of the items yet, which we keep being referred to call customer service. Calls made to Behrs was on 12/**/15, 1/**/15, 2/**/15 & and emails was sent to Behrs 12/**/15 & 12/**/15 Behrs Order # ***** Thank you for your time in this important business matter.

Desired Settlement: I would like delivery of the rest of my order that Behr's was already paid in full for order no. *****

Business Response: In Reference to complaint, Behr's has reached out to *** ***** and explained how this mishap happened and settled with her in a satisfying manner.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID# ********, and have determined that my complaint has NOT been resolved because:

[Your Answer Here]

 I have received only 2 of the remaining 3 items that were on back order. I received the toddler rails and changing station table on Sat Mar ** and I was advised by manager John that the night stand was damaged during delivery to his store. I would like this complaint to stay open at least another 2wks until I receive the night stand which is the final part of my order. 

Thank you




In order for the BBB to appropriately process your response, you MUST answer the question above.


******* *****


Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

At this time, my complaint, ID ******** regarding Behr's Baby & Kid's Furniture has been resolved.

(By clicking "OK", your complaint will be closed as Resolved.)


******* *****

12/21/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: Received a broken rocking chair for my baby's room. Store says I can't get a new one. I paid $600 for a new chair and they said they'll get some parts to fix it. I don't want one fixed. I want it new. I ordered it 3 months ago and it would be another 3 months for a new one. My baby is due any day and I need it now. I want refund

Desired Settlement: I want refund

Business Response:

We have been in contact with our mutual customer in regards to the matter specified in her complaint. We are satisfying the customer's request and consider this matter resolved to the customer's satisfaction. 


- John, Manager

Behr's Furniture

9/10/2015 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I ordered a nursery bedroom set for my unborn child at the end of May 2015. I was told that the set would be delivered by the third or fourth week of July at the latest. Because I am due to give birth on August **, 2015, I proceeded with the order assuming that the furniture would be delivered well before my due date. My husband first called the store on the third week of July to inquire about the delivery date. We were told it was scheduled to arrive at the store within 2 weeks and would be delivered the first week of August. We were not happy, but again assumed that it would be here well before the baby's arrival. On the first week of August, we called again to inquire about a firm delivery date and were told that only the crib was in, and that the rest of the furniture was on due to be delivered at the end of that week, and they would call us to schedule delivery for the 2nd week of August. When the second week of August started, and we still did not have a firm date, we called again. I called this time and spoke with Danielle who told me that the crib and one of the dressers were in and that they were waiting for one other dresser which was going to be on the delivery truck for Thursday or Friday. She informed me that the changing kit would be delayed, but that the furniture set would be delivered first and they could deliver the changing kit when it came in. She said they would call when the truck was unloaded and we would get delivery the following week. When I did not hear from them on Thursday, I called Friday afternoon and again spoke with Danielle. She informed me that the crib and the changing kit were in but both dressers were now on back order with the manufacturer. I asked her about the discrepancy in what I was told earlier in the week and she said she did not know. She then told me that it was possible that a delivery would come in Monday or Tuesday and that we would get the furniture delivered this week. I informed her that my due date is August **, and that I needed the furniture before the birth of my child. I asked her what they could do to speed up delivery, she had no answer. She told me that she would call me back on Monday or Tuesday to let me know if the furniture had come in. Instead, later that day, on Friday August **, 2015, she called my husband to inform him the furniture would not be in on Monday or Tuesday, and would probably be on the truck for this week on Thursday or Friday and we would likely have delivery on Monday August **, 2015. My husband called today and spoke with Linda. This time Linda told my husband that only the crib was in and that there was no way they could deliver anything to us on Monday. Upon hearing this, I got on the phone with Linda and asked about the discrepancy in what we were told originally. She told me that IF the furniture was on the truck for tomorrow, that could not deliver the furniture until the end of next week because they do not have any trucks available to come into my area to deliver the furniture. She then said they usually do not schedule delivery for 3 to 4 days after a shipment arrives. I informed her that Danielle had told us that it takes 2 days for delivery, and that she said if it came in this week we would get it by Monday. At this point, Linda became very rude. She was upset that she was no longer speaking with my husband and proceeded to speak over me while I was asking her about delivery. She then backtracked and told me that the company does schedule delivery in 2 days, but that they didn't have any trucks for my area and didn't have the furniture, so couldn't schedule anything for us. She said she could only schedule the crib delivery but not until the end of next week. I informed her that my due date is this Saturday, and to not have this furniture and be dealing with delivery with a newborn was unacceptable. I asked her what they do for expecting parents in this situation. She told me that they are concerned about all their customers and did not give me an answer. At the end of the conversation, she told me that the delivery truck comes in between 10 am and 4 pm and they would not know if our furniture was in before then. She then told me that I could call, but that it would basically be a waste of time because they would call me if the furniture was in. She did not give me any other information or attempt in any way to rectify this situation.

Desired Settlement: I ordered this furniture over 2 months ago and now have no furniture for my nursery. I want a firm delivery date and for delivery to happen next week, hopefully before I go into labor or return home from the hospital. I also think for this hassle I should get a waived or reduced delivery fee. I paid a lot of money for the set that I ordered and put down a deposit of half of the furniture. Thus, I now have to wait and cannot get a replacement. And I likely have to bring my new baby home to an empty room.

Business Response: Customer received delivery of all merchandise on August **, 2015. Customer signed for the merchandise and accepted it in good condition. 

We apologize for the delivery delays the customer experienced with her order. We are offering the customer compensation for these delays.


Behr's Furniture 

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me and the matter has been resolved.  I would like to add that we received our furniture a few days after the complaint was made and the delivery staff was very courteous and professional.  Additionally, John the manager called me to apologize for the delay with the delivery and the customer service issues.  John was very courteous and professional as well.  Further, Behrs has offered me more than fair compensation for the delivery delay and customer service issues, which I have accepted.  Overall, I am very happy with the stores response and will definitely shop there again as a result of their efforts to rectify the situation.  Thank you for all your help with this matter.


******** ******


8/10/2015 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I ordered a crib, dresser and mattress on 4/*/15. I was told this furniture would be delivered in 10 weeks time. It is now 15+ weeks and the furniture has not shipped from the manufacturer. I have called multiple times and been told that it will ship soon. I received a voicemail from Behr on 7/* stating that the furniture would ship in the middle of that week. It is now 7/** and I have just learned that the furniture has still not shipped. This is completely unacceptable. I demand to understand WHEN exactly this furniture will arrive. Does Behr understand their customers are expectant parents with a FIRM DEADLINE on when they need the furniture delivered?


Business Response: We delivered the customer's furniture on July ****, 2015, and the customer signed for the furniture in good condition. The customer accepted the compensation that we offered. 

6/24/2015 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I ordered a crib and dresser from this company five months ago. It was supposed to be delivered in 8-12 weeks, this was pushed back four additional weeks and now it still is not available.

Desired Settlement: I would like my crib and dresser. I would also like accountability by the store. They are not helpful in any possible way and they act as if they are doing no wrong. They need to take responsibility for the shipment of the products they are selling and to abide by the agreement of delivery at the time of purchase.

Business Response: First, we apologize for the delays our customer has experienced with her order. Our only goal is deliver the customer's order in the time frame we originally told her, but the manufacturer had extreme delays that affected all sales nationally. We have attached a copy of a letter given to us by the *** of the manufacturer taking full responsibility for the delays and explaining them to the best of their ability. We truly share in the customer's frustration with the delay in delivering her furniture, but unfortunately our hands were tied because the product simply was no available to deliver until very recently. 

When we finally received the customer's furniture, we immediately delivered her furniture on June ****, for which all goods were signed for and accepted. 

6/4/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I went to this store on April **, 2015. I was helped by *****. I explained to him that due to a previous order from another business I was on a time crunch to get a bedroom set for my daughter. I asked questions regarding availability and delivery of the bedroom set I was considering buying. He went and called the company and came back and told me the set was available and assured me I would get it within 4 weeks. I made the decision to place the order due to that fact. I called customer service on Tuesday May *** 2015 to check status of the order. After being put on hold the woman came back and told me the manufacturer is waiting on a part and that I can expect the bedroom set within two weeks. That would be two weeks past what I was told! Being in the situation I had no option but to wait. Called again on May **** 2015 for the status of set. I was again put on hold and when the woman came back the same information was given too me. The manufacturer is still waiting for a part and they do not expect until mid June. When I asked why wasn't I informed she told me that unless the customer calls for a status they would not know to call manufacturer for an update. Keep in mind I only ordered this set because I was told it was available and I would have it in 4 weeks! How does a business in good standing NOT tell OR contact their customers if something is backordered or not available? ***** knew my time frame he knew my situations and still sold me the product. When I spoke to the woman in customer service (who was very nice) and told her this is unacceptable all she could do is say that she would give my information to the manger (who will be out for a few days) and have him call me.

Desired Settlement: the company should compensate and deduct a percentage from the order and give some sort of guarantee of delivery of item promised ... Also they should consider their customers and be HONEST about the products availability and delivery... I feel like I was taken advantage of because he knew the situation

Business Response: We spoke with our mutual customer. We apologized greatly for any inconvenience we caused her. The customer is correct that we told her the items were in stock when she placed her order. That information was given to us by the manufacturer on the date the customer placed her order with us. After discovering the delay, we contacted the manufacturer again, and the manufacturer's customer service supervisor explained that the person we spoke with when the customer placed her order was mistaken and that this item has been out of stock for some time and will not be in again until the middle of June. We assuredly had no intention of misleading the customer, but we were unfortunately given bad information by the manufacturer. 

We reached out to our mutual customer and explained to her what happened. We apologized greatly and told her that we will update her with any new information the manufacturer gives us. 

We offered the customer compensation for her delays, and the customer was satisfied with the compensation we offered.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me and the matter has been resolved.


**** *******


5/6/2015 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: Order for baby furniture placed 01/**/2015. When the order was placed we were very clear to the salesman that we would go with another furniture company if they could not guarantee that our furniture would be in by the end of March as we wanted to make sure we had time to setup the baby's room before she arrived. We were promised and it was written on our receipt that the furniture would be delivered by the end of March. We gave a deposit of $1180. When the end of March arrived and we had not received a call for delivery we made several calls to the store and were given the same answer each time. "There is a delivery coming in soon and your furniture might be on that truck". As we progressed into April we decided to ask for a *******s assistance. We spoke to the ******* **** on April *** or *** and he promised us a call back by the next Monday with a status. He never called on Monday and when we called on Tuesday we found out that he was out of the office until Thursday. When I finally got to speak to him on Thursday April *** he spoke to me in a very unprofessional manner and lied to me about the fact that he promised us a call back by Monday, in fact he denied that he ever even spoke to us. He then told me that one of the pieces would be in within a day or two, the second piece would be in by April **** and the last piece would be very delayed and not available until the end of April. It is now April ****, my wife delivered the baby a few days ago and we have not heard from Behrs at all. I called this morning and was told that our furniture should be on the truck that is coming in a few days, but they couldn't tell me which pieces of my order. Again, the ******* is out of the office and won't be available until Friday. When I asked who else I could speak to and expressed my frustration I was told that there is nobody else that I can speak to. ****, the guy that lied to me and didn't deliver on his promises is the only employee that I can complain to.

Desired Settlement: The business has a responsibility to: 1. Sincerely apologize to my wife who is putting baby clothes in bins and changing our daughter on the dining room table. 2. Deliver our furniture immediately without charge. 3. Provide an additional discount for the stress and aggravation they have caused us in addition to the fact that we paid them $1100 already and they are severely delayed on their part of the bargain. 4. Make a commitment to their customers that they will provide a better management structure that knows how to focus on customer service.

Business Response: First, let me thank you for being our customer. We understand that you have several options when shopping for baby furniture and appreciate that you chose Behr's. 

On April ***** we delivered all of the customer's furniture, which the customer accepted in good condition. Prior to the delivery, our store ******* **** contacted the customer directly and apologized for the delays with his order. **** also refunded the customer the delivery charge. Further, we are evaluating our customer service procedures to continue to ensure that our customers have the best possible shopping experience at Behr's. 

Thank you, again. 

- Behr's

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me and the matter has been resolved.


****** ********


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

2 Customer Reviews on Behr's Baby & Kid's Furniture
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart