BBB Accredited Business since

aBaby.com

Phone: (718) 633-3760 Fax: (718) 972-0397 View Additional Phone Numbers 1958 59th Street, Brooklyn, NY 11204 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.ababy.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that aBaby.com meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for aBaby.com include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 15 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

15 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 6 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 3
Billing/Collection Issues 2
Delivery Issues 8
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 15

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

2 Customer Reviews on aBaby.com
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 2

Additional Information

BBB file opened: October 01, 2002 Business started: 01/01/1998 in NY Business incorporated 02/23/1999 in NY
Business Management
Mr. Isaac Greenfeld, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Isaac Greenfeld, President
Business Category

FURNITURE-CHILDREN'S BABY ACCESSORIES & SERVICES

Alternate Business Names
ABaby, Inc.

Additional Locations

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

2/5/2015 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My Mom ordered a crib for my baby on December **. It was paid in full and was listed as a product that would ship in 2-3 business days. After a week, my order was still only listed as "processing." I placed 2 phone calls, left messages both times with no response. The third time I called, I spoke to a rep who told me she would call me back. I didn't get a call back but I got an email informing me on January ** that the product I chose was on back order. The email specifically stated, the natural color crib was on back order but the crib was available to ship "in white today (Jan **)." So I gave my approval to change the color and recieved an email response stating the order had been updated and I would get a shipping confirmation via email once the item had shipped. I never received shipping notification and my order status is still showing as only "processing" when I check online. 3 days ago, I called to follow up. I was told, the warehouse would be contacted and they would make sure the crib would be shipped. I emailed 2 days ago to inform them I still had not received shipping notification. I explained that I needed to know the status as my baby is due soon and I need to cancel my order and make other arrangements if they will not be able to send the crib in a timely manner. I have yet to get any response from that email. I wrote again this evening and decided to file a complaint as well. I need my crib shipped within a week or a full refund needs to be issued to my mother. The crib was over $470.

Desired Settlement: Delivery of order within 7 days or a full refund, please.

Business Response: Hi

We do apologize for any inconvenience this delay caused. The order shipped with ups tracking number ****************** and will be delivered by the **** of January.
ababy ***** *******

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me and the matter has been resolved.

Sincerely,

******* *******


 

12/30/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: placed order on line 11-*-2014 hit sumit button twice by mistake tried to cancel one order # ****** would not cancel, got email from ***** ******** 11-** saying "not sure what i wanted" i explained , on 11-** i pick one of two packages from *** they sent order ****** back to sender, ababy them emailed me request for RA # sent number , email from ababy stating "yes see RA# and shows return of item, will see credit on my end 7-10 busniness days." 12-* i sent email requiring about my money? 12-* email from ababy "should see it on my end shortly" 12-** i sent email again asking about money? 12-** email from ,***** ** * ***** **** stating"sorry for delay waiting for warehouse to confirm return?? will get back to me ASAP w/update! have not had any contact since??

Desired Settlement: would like my money! noticed this has happened before w/ababy.com

Business Response: To whom this may concern:
the return process does take time but as a courtesy we will do the refund right away.
ababy ***** *******

12/16/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The online company Ababy.com has falsely advertised an item I purchased from their website. They have failed to disclose pertinent information about the item and have misled me to believe I was having someone purchase from my registry with them a Toddler daybed kit which they feature in a picture on their website. The bed was purchased from my registry with the perception it was going to be exactly what was shown in the picture since no further description of the item was given. Ababy.com is in violation of California business code *****. An item I purchased from their website showed a clear picture of the item expected to be received with no further description or clarification that the item they will ship you is only one piece of the whole item in the picture. The item I bought from them was labeled Casablanca Toddler Daybed Kit and is feature as shown below. Casablanca Toddler Daybed Kit Item #. A024476 Custom Item Color Shipping: Free Ground Shipping Price $210.00 Qty Availability: Ships in 8-10 weeks *************************************************************************************** the following link will take you to the direct page where from there you can see there is no description other than the picture and the title of the item. No diagram, Asterisks, or footnote explaining to the potential customer that what you see in the image is not what you are buying, what you are actually buying is only one rail side to the bed. They also mention that it is a daybed kit persuading the customer to believe they are receiving a kit to make the day bed shown in the picture. A kit pertains to several items that will need to be assembled. However, the item shipped is yet one piece of the kit and not a kit at all. California business code 17500 section *****, states the following, “It is unlawful for any person, firm, corporation or association to make an advertising claim or representation pertaining to more than one article of merchandise or type of service, within the same class of merchandise or service, if any price set forth in such claim or representation does not clearly and conspicuously identify the article of merchandise or type of service to which it relates. Disclosure of the relationship between the price and particular article of merchandise or type of service by means of an asterisk or other symbol, and corresponding footnote, does not meet the requirement of clear and conspicuous identification when the particular article of merchandise or type of service is not represented pictorially”. The item is neither pictured pictorially or described because the only picture that is shown is of an entire daybed which you will not receive. Ababy.com is in violation of California false advertisement laws.

Desired Settlement: The outcome I wish to receive is a refund for the amount spent on the item, or the rest of the bed that is featured in the picture on their site. I waited a long time to receive what I thought was a toddler daybed kit and now have nothing for my baby who is due in a month. I expect full reimbursement. I understand that the item is labeled custom, and there are provisions on custom items as stated on their site. however, this is also an incorrect statement made by the Ababy.com website. A custom item by definition cannot be ready to order or in stock before a purchase is made. The item was featured on the Ababy.com website as in stock and I made no special request for the item to be considered custom. The previous mention of the failure to accurately label an item as custom does not overshadow the false advertisement violation and my request for reimbursement should be made immediately to avoid penalty or criminal prosecution being pursued.

Business Response: Hi
We are sorry if the customer misunderstood. But we do list clearly the Casablanca Premiere Iron Crib and Casablanca Toddler Daybed Kit beneath. We do not state anywhere that the Casablanca Toddler Daybed Kit will serve as a crib or a toddler bed. Only that the daybed kit will allow customers to use their Casablanca Premiere Iron Crib as a toddler daybed if the kit is purchased. Since the item is labeled custom we cannot accept it back.
***** *******

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID# ********, and have determined that my complaint has NOT been resolved because:

[Your Answer Here]

The website never indicates that the daybed kit will need the crib in order to work as a daybed. The website only displays a photo of the daybed with no further description. They falsely mislead the customer to believe that what they are purchasing is what they see from the photo they display. since there is no other description or any type of information available for the customer other than a photo that shows a whole daybed they fail to disclose pertinent information to their customers which is considered false advertisement, and further legal actions will be acquired if the company is unwilling to refund me.  

 

 

 

In order for the BBB to appropriately process your response, you MUST answer the question above.


Sincerely,

****** *******




 

Business Response: Hi
We are sorry if the customer misunderstood. But we do list clearly the Casablanca Premiere Iron Crib and Casablanca Toddler Daybed Kit beneath. We do not state anywhere that the Casablanca Toddler Daybed Kit will serve as a crib or a toddler bed. Only that the daybed kit will allow customers to use their Casablanca Premiere Iron Crib as a toddler daybed if the kit is purchased. Since the item is labeled custom we cannot accept it back.
***** *******

9/22/2014 Delivery Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
9/16/2014 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I ordered an item on ********* for a bassinet cover on August *** 2014. The order itself was to come from *********, an affiliate that sells there product on *********. After several weeks I contacted ********* to find out about my order. I was told that it would be delivered to my home on the **** of Aug. they resubmitted the order to *********. On August **** I contacted sears by email. I received an email stating that I need to contact the seller(*********) myself. Which I think was very unprofessional in and of itself. I contacted the seller only to find out that my order was overlooked and that now it is on back order. I never received a letter or call regarding this problem. They said it may or may not be available in a week. My problem lies with the unprofessional way that this was handled. They could have let me or ********* know there was a issue. There response was now they would contact me periodically to let me know where my order stands. They also suggested that I could pick something different and they would send it out. My complaint is that I do not want something different, I wanted what I ordered. And if they knew there was a problem they should have notified me right away.

Desired Settlement: If they are unable to provide me with what I ordered, they should compensate me to upgrade my order to something different. I would also like them just to be aware of how there actions can affect people. They had several opportunities to let me know that my order was on back order, but failed to let me know. My first grandchild's baby shower is next week. The bassinet cover was supposed to cover my sons (baby daddy) bassinet when he was born 31 years ago. So as you can see this was a very special item.

Business Response: Our mutual customer ordered the Little Angel Bassinet liner & hood. We are in contact at this point and will work this out together.

9/4/2014 Delivery Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
1/30/2014 Delivery Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
1/24/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
11/21/2013 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On 8/**/13 I ordered a My Little Seat Travel High Chair - Coco Fabric from ABaby.com. At the time when I ordered the item, the item was stated to be in stock, and it was not back ordered or discontinued. On 8/**/13, my credit card was charged the actual price of $25.00. I assumed that the item has been shipped, but I did not receive any form of shipping confirmation or tracking information even after several days of waiting. As of 8/**/13, I have not received any form of shipping or tracking confirmation. Thus, I proceeded to contact the company regarding this issue. I received a reply from ***** *. from ABaby.com customer service on 8/**/13 stating that the item will ship that same day, Monday 8/**/13. Today is 8/**/13, and I have not received any form of shipping or tracking information. I even logged onto my account on their website and the purchase status has not changed from "in process" to "shipped." As of today, we have not received any packages from this vendor and it has been 11 days since the purchase day.

Desired Settlement: I would like the item to be shipped promptly and upgrade to overnight shipping at no extra charge. Further delays and failure to deliver will result in a report to our credit card company to dispute this purchase.

Business Response: ** * *******

There was a technical error and the My Little seat travel high chair in the coco fabric was available to purchase on our site but it was not in stock. We did offer the customer  other options  but he requested to cancel the order so we issued a refund.



***** *********

11/19/2013 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Odered cradle bedding on 9-*-13. Have made 7 calls and was told it should ship anytime now. Was told on 10-**-13 that it would be overnighted and when I checked it hasn't even been sent out. It has been 5 weeks. My daughter's baby is due now and I am without bedding. They were paid in full on 9-*-13.

Desired Settlement: I would like the bedding I ordered overnighted to me ASAP!!

Business Response: ID# *******

There was a technical error in production so there was a delay on the cradle bedding. We did ny our best to rush the order and ship the bedding to the customer as soon as possible. The cradle bedding the customer ordered was shipped on 10/**/2013 and delivered on 10/**/2013 with the following ups tracking number ******************.

***** *********

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID# *******, and have determined that my complaint has NOT been resolved because:

[Your Answer Here]

 

 No technical error for cradle bedding takes 6 weeks to fix. My grandaughter was born before I received the bedding! Don't want another mother to have to go through this disappointment. They even lied to me. I called n asked if it was sent and would be over nighted. I was told, "yes". It was another week and a half after that when I finally received it. True lack of customer care.

 

 

In order for the BBB to appropriately process your response, you MUST answer the question above.


Sincerely,

******* ****




 

7/29/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: After canceling my order with Ababy.com, they filled my order and charged my credit card anyway. My original order date was May **, 2013. The order was canceled June **. I got an email from ababy.com saying they would contact me in 48 hours. They never did. June **** i received an email saying the item had been processed. Immediately I contacted ****** and they said they would contact Ababy.com and take care of it. 2 days later I received another email from Ababy.com saying they would contact me in 48 hours which they never did, for the second time. The next day the money was taken out of my bank account. IMMEDIATELY I contacted both companies. ****** sent another email to Ababy.com and I left a voice mail for Ababy.com. Ababy.com didnt call me back the next day, so I called them and they informed me they didn't checked their voice mails. I told them what happened and that I wanted my money back. The customer service rep told me they would contact me in 48 hours. Having been ignored twice by that excuse, I SAID NO! LET ME TALK TO WHO IS IN CHARGE AND THEN SHE HUNG UP ON ME! Then I contacted my bank and the Better Business Bureau. My money is gone and I still don't have the item which I cancelled within 2 weeks of ordering. I am greatly displeased. ABABY.COM ROBBED ME!

Desired Settlement: I want my money back. I want ababy.com to be aware of their imperfections. I want the customer service rep that hung up on me to stump her toe really hard later today.

Business Response: To whom this may concern:

We apologize for the inconvenience. There were some technical issues but the order was cancelled as per the customer's request and credited her account.




***** *********

7/8/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: This company accepted an ordered (#******) for an item (#******) at a website listed price for $78.00 shipped. They are saying that the product is no longer availible at this price due to a manufacturer model update and it is now $109.00 for the new model. According to them, they attempted to contact us of the situation the next day (left a message on our answering maching ), which they did not do. At the time of the order it did not state anything about being "out of Stock" or any model changes affecting pricing. The part number is still the same as the one we ordered and they refuse to sell us/me one for the price at the time of the order placement. For now they are only willing to refund the Credit Card Charge amount.

Desired Settlement: I wish for them to accept the order and ship the item at the listed price at time of the original order.

Business Response: To whom it may concern:

The customer placed her order on 6/*/2013 for an item that has been discontinued. We try our best to keep our site updated with current items and prices. In this case we still had an old model on our site that has already been discontinued. We contacted the customer right away to notify her and offer a similar item. The customer did not pick up so we left a message. We apologize if the message did not go through. We apologize for the inconvenience but unfortunately the model the customer ordered is not available.

Sincerely,
************

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID# *******, and have determined that my complaint has NOT been resolved because:

 

[Your Answer Here]

They refuse to honor the order as it was placed and are unwilling to take any further steps to resolve the issue. What ever happened to "the customer is always right" or "Customer Satisfaction"? I'll just order it from a different store/site.

 They will never get any business from me, my family, friends, or any one else that I can tell this story to.

 

 

In order for the BBB to appropriately process your response, you MUST answer the question above.


Sincerely,

****** *****




 

Business Response: To whom this may concern:


As we mentioned the first time around that although the pricing and information on our site has been checked for accuracy occasional error may occur. We reserve the right to made corrections to any errors which may have gone unnoticed. Thus we did refuse to honor the order as it was discontinued. We apologize for the inconvenience.




***** *********

4/11/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I had ordered two rugs on March ****. When they came they were not what I expected. I emailed the company twice for a return number and called them and left a message. There policy states you can not make any returns without emailing them and getting a return number. I have not heard from them. I called during regular business house but there was a recording that they were not there. I left a message but have not received a return call.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me and the matter has been resolved.

Sincerely,

***** *********



 

10/31/2012 Problems with Product/Service
9/23/2012 Delivery Issues