BBB Accredited Business since

Mood Apparel Ltd.

Phone: (212) 730-5003 Fax: (212) 221-1932 225 W 37th St Fl 3, New York, NY 10018 http://www.moodfabric.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Mood Apparel Ltd. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Mood Apparel Ltd. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 2
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Mood Apparel Ltd.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: January 22, 2008 Business started: 04/16/1990 in NY Business incorporated 04/16/1990 in NY
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Philip Sauma, Co-owner
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Mr. Eric Sauma, Co-Owner/Vice President
Business Category

FABRIC SHOPS FABRIC SHOPS RETAIL STORES

Alternate Business Names
Mood Fabrics

Additional Locations

  • 225 W 37th St Fl 3

    New York, NY 10018

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

2/19/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On November ****, Mood fabric had all their fabric priced at $0. I placed an order at around 5pm for $13.99. I received that order with no questions asked. I placed a second odder later that night for $10.99 (they were still advertising their fabrics for$0), the company accidentally sent that order to a wrong address. When they received the order back they then noticed the that I was charged $10.99. And that the material was"sold" for $0. They tried to recharge me for the purchase UNAUTHORIZED, which my credit card company declined. I revived an e-mail that my order had been shipped. When I still hadn't received the package I emailed them on regards to the order they then told me that they would refund the $10.99 or I could resolve the order for the full price. They will not uphold the $0 mistake that their computer system made. AND they charged my credit card with an unauthorized purchase.

Desired Settlement: I believe they should should o we nup to their mistake and complete the order.

Business Response:

Here is out statement regarding the BBB complaint:

 

On November **, 2014 *************** had a system malfunction and was pricing orders at $0.00.  Our client ****** ********** placed two orders #********* and #*********.  We shipped the first order as it slipped through the cracks. For the second order we called and informed her that there was a malfunction in the system and the order was cancelled.   She was never charged for the items even though we authorized her credit card but then canceled the authorization.  She refused to pay for the new order and demanded that we send her all the items free of charge. I explained that we will not be able to do that we are very sorry for the inconvenience and I was willing to provide a 10% discount for her order.  She never again replied to that email.  ****** ********** continuous to place orders on our website.  Thank you and we hope that this clarifies the issue she is having with our company.  Please feel free to reach out if you have any further questions.

 

Thank you,

**** *****

 

-- 

**** *****

**** ******* **** **** *** *** ** *** ***** ** ***** ** ************ ** ************ *******************

11/11/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I placed an online order on May ****, 2014. I called in July because I had not received my item and was told that it had apparently been shipped to the wrong address and as the sale item I had purchased was no longer available they offered me another cut of fabric. I called back within a week, notified them of the previous agreement and placed an order for a different cut of fabric. In August I called to see where this new cut of fabric was and was told that the person who took my order no longer worked there and that they had not entered the information correctly, they were sorry about the delay and would reissue that second choice of fabric and I should expect an email about the new order. I never got an email. I called last Thursday or Friday and requested a refund after explaining the hassle I had been through. I was told that they were terribly sorry and I should see a refund to my account by Monday. It is now Wednesday evening, I still don't have my refund and this has been going on for four months.

Desired Settlement: I would like my $15.98 refunded to my account.

Business Response:

Dear ********,

       Thank you for sending me this complaint. After review we agree to refund this client but since this is an old order we no longer have the credit card stored. Is this something you should obtain for us or we should contact the customer directly to complete this refund? 

 

Thank you

****

 

-- 

**** ***** **** ******* **** **** *** *** ** *** ***** ** ***** ** ************ ** ************ *******************

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID# ********, and have determined that my complaint has NOT been resolved because:

[Your Answer Here]

 I have not received any sort of communication from them.  I tried calling the main store in NY to speak with **** ***** who replied to the initial message.  However, I was told that he was now working in the warehouse, was given a number for that location, but was unable to reach anyone or to leave a message.  I made these calls the morning of 10/**/2014.

My number is ###-###-#### and my email is *********************.  I would prefer a phone call.  Please bear in mind that I live on the west coast and am three hours behind the eastern time zone and contacting me early in your day is very early in my day and you will most likely not reach me.  If for any reason I do not pick up please leave a message and I will call you back as soon as possible.

Thank you,
****

 

 

 

In order for the BBB to appropriately process your response, you MUST answer the question above.


Sincerely,

**** *****




 

Business Response:

Ok thank you. 

We have tried calling numerous times throughout the day and emailed to no response. We will try again today after 12pm EST.   In order to process the refund we need the credit card information as the transaction is too old to do the refund.  We will process it manually in the system.  

 

Thank you,

**** *****

 

-- 

**** *****

**** ******* **** **** *** *** ** *** ***** ** ***** ** ************ ** ************ *******************

4/5/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: ******* and **** store management of Los Angeles misrepresent and unethical fraudulet selling practices about amount trim your allowed to purchase thier no written policy states you have purchase half a yards are more inorder to get service. ******* dept trim sales refuse cut less than half yard for trim. I asked **** he argue and said half a yard we don't cut. I soon discovered from other customers they didn't have buy a half yard are more I got another *********** and they cut the trim less than half and register thier no problems from **** nor ******* once discovered thier scam to upsell more than trim I needed for my collection. I have tax exempt license and register my business with them thier sales associate didn't register my email or information to rewards program and lied to me saying she was using a my non business register rewards thus wasn't the case she's scans new card keeps it with her. After I go checkout thier low points she never merge the cards she stole it with all my tax exempt information and **** didn't care to cancel the girl ******* who stole my card was nowhere to found I had cancel the card because they can't be trusted.

Desired Settlement: State in writing the policy for cutting trim so customers know right away fired whole staff of theives if they keep this business practices no one will ever trust this company

Consumer Response: I like wriiten  Mood statement on policy from trim cutting because I have other sales receipts were I able purchase less than half and If I could return some of trim that I brought more than half because Los Angeles Mood ******* refuse cut less than half and store manager  **** didn't care. My Mood card  has never been combined with my tax exempt business after requesting a new card they never combined the points nor cards .

Business Response:

Dear *****,

 

Thank you for your follow-up call today regarding BBD Complaint ID

******filed by ******

 

After investigating this complaint thoroughly, we have come to the conclusion that the customer went to great lengths to circumvent Mood Fabric’s retail store policy regarding the purchasing of trim at our location. Please see the attached signs.

 

In *** ****’s explanation, I am first confused by several statements and the timing of the complaint.

 

In the complaint background information listed on her form she stated;

 

Purchase Date: 1/**/2014

 

Problem occurred: 2/**/2014

 

Talked to company: 12/**/2013

 

Looking at the timeline, I simply don’t understand HER TIMELINE. How could she actually talk to the company on 12/**/2013 if the problem happened on 2/**/2014?

 

Also looking at her purchase date of 1/**/2014 but she claims the problem occurred on 2/**/2014.

 

How is that possible?

 

After meeting with ******* and ****, they remembered *** ****.  She went to both at separate times and asked to get less than ½ yard of trim and she was told by BOTH individuals we DO NOT sell or cut trim less than ½ yard because the cost of trim that runs from .25 to $50.00 per yard does not dictate the labor cost since the average of one yard of ribbon trim is 50 cents per yard.

 

However, she continued to approach sales people in the store until she found a new hire that helped her and never telling the employee she had been denied by several people and by management.

 

I can tell you that *** ****’s slanderous and libelous remarks are unacceptable against ******* and ****.

 

Combined these two employees have over 75 years in the fabric industry. 

There is no scam here and she clearly knows this because her account is not supported by her own facts.

 

She then claims in her written statement that ‘******* who stole my reward’s card”…we have no ******* and have never had a ******* working in the ********* LA location.

 

She also mentioned that she had two accounts and two rewards cards.

 

Typically what happens is a customer comes to Mood and gets a rewards'

card. One for their business and one for personal use.  Once they purchase $500 they get 5% back towards additional purchases.

 

Sometimes customers get two rewards' cards and usually in error because they claim they don’t have one, lost one, cannot find, etc.

 

However, when this happens we try to accommodate customers.

 

However, in *** ****’s case she states her tax exempt reward card she was trying to MERGE with her non tax exempt card.  As a business owner, she should certainly realize the ramifications of trying to combine personal and business expenses so that she benefits personally. That is a clear violation of the California Resale Tax Certificate business practices.

 

California is very strict on upholding state regulations and also hold retailers accountable by allowing this to happen or allowing business owners to combine accounts.

 

Also listed on our rewards card is “Rules are subject to change at any time. Please see store for details. “ I hope you understand we cannot be a party to her trying to combine her personal charges with her business charges so she can benefit financially.

 

We certainly try to help the customer.

 

However, we simply must follow the law.

 

Three weeks ago the customer came into the store with her sister.

 

******* approached the customer and her sister with a copy of the complaint and also brought the new hire, ****, that she finally talked into giving her less than ½ yard.

 

She asked her why after she was told twice why she continued to move throughout the store until she got someone to “help her out”? Her sister said she understood but *** **** simply walked away clearly because she had been caught in trying to get what she wanted.

 

In *** ****’s complaint, she mentioned the word “scam” numerous times.

However, she continues to shop here and was in again this week.  As a consumer, if I truly felt I was being scammed do you think I would continue to be scammed over and over?

 

We really want Mood customers to have a great experience and we go to extreme lengths to make that happen.

 

So based upon *** ****’s own written version, her timeline of the events and dates SHE presented, a thorough investigation with ****, ******* and Misserine, her continued patronage on a weekly basis her story is simply not supported by our finding of the facts and certainly not by her facts.

 

We hope to continue to provide *** **** in her future purchases and with exceptional service we just ask that she follow the guidelines set forth by *****and all State and Federal agencies.

 

We hope that based on the facts from both sides that you concur her claim is not valid.

 

Please feel free to contact me if I can be of further assistance with additional information.

 

Sincerely,

 

--

******************

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me and the matter has been resolved.

Sincerely,

****** ****