BBB Accredited Business since

Beach Trading Co. Inc.

Additional Locations

Phone: (800) 572-3224 Fax: (732) 968-2283 View Additional Phone Numbers 80 Carter Dr, Edison, NJ 08817 http://www.beachcamera.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers digital camera and video products.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Beach Trading Co. Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Beach Trading Co. Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 32 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

32 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 11 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 6
Billing/Collection Issues 4
Delivery Issues 8
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 2
Problems with Product/Service 12
Total Closed Complaints 32

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Beach Trading Co. Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: June 06, 1996 Business started: 10/01/1991 Business started locally: 11/05/1991 Business incorporated 11/05/1991 in NJ
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Maurice J., Manager Mr. Albert R Mosseri, V.P.
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Maurice J., Manager
Business Category

Photographic Equipment & Supplies - Retail

Alternate Business Names
Beach Camera and Electronics of NJ BuyDig.com

Additional Locations

  • 203 Route 22 East

    Green Brook, NJ 08812

  • 80 Carter Dr

    Edison, NJ 08817 7324241100acctg 8005723224orders

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

6/25/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased two items in less than 2 months and both items where defective with the exact issues. One was purchased on 12/11/14 and 1/20/15 the items both have issues where charge does not hold, also the chrome on the outer ring has Knicks in it the power button is sunken in and not aligned with other buttons. The units blink on and off and the micro SD slot does not effectively read card. I requested a new replacement once again and was told being I no longer have the box nothing can be done. I am not asking for my money back, I am asking for a item of equal or greater value and not defective.

Desired Settlement: A new unit of equal or greater value and not defective

Business Response: We apologize however without the manufacturers' packaging, we cannot accept the return.

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

The case is not resolved because the company NEVER responded at all, not mail, phone or on line. This tablet is now not working at all and I am very upset being it was supposed to be exchanged and they never responded back. Please call me if you have any questions ************. Thank you

Regards,

******* *******

Business Response: Unfortunately according to our policy without the manufacture box we are unable to do a return or exchange. 

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:
I sent proof of receipt which shows the item had still been newly purchased and I did inform the company this was the Second exact same item which had the same defects and the first one didn't have the box as well, receipt was used as proof of purchase. I think this company is selling refurbished items that's why the second unit is doing the exact same as the first, they are DEFECTIVE and the company knows it, that is why they want the box. The receipt and order number should suffice for proof of purchase and exchange. I am NOT asking for my money back I am asking for a replacement being this is the second unit that had the EXACT same defects and again, the first one didn't have the box either. The serial number is all that should be needed as well as proof of purchase. It is not fair that the company got their money and I have once again a unit that does not work properly and has Knicks on the body of it. I seriously believe this company is a SCAM and they are selling DAMAGED and DEFECTIVE items. Again, I'm not asking for my money I am asking for a replacement as I should be entitled too.


Regards,

******* *******

Business Response: I apologize for this inconvenience, 
unfortunately if there is no manufactures box we would be unable to take a return for an exchange or a refund.
The customer was made aware of this on 2-17-2015.
The only other answer is if you were to replace the order and use the new order box for this one and then at that point send this one back. 
so sorry for this trouble have a great day !  

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********


I am rejecting this response because:



Regards,what sense would that even make if the serial number won't match the box? You are asking me to repurchase and send the damaged one back in the new box right? Even though the serial number won't match the one I am sending back? Just to be clear....so is this right?


******* *******

Business Response: This is correct. 
sorry for this confusion. 
we love all of our customer and we do the best to help everyone. 

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because: Please tell the BBb you are creating the damaged one to be returned in the brand new box when I order it. Am I understanding this properly? Even though the serial numbers don't match I should put the damaged one in the new ones box right?



Regards,

******* *******

Business Response: In order to take a return for this without the manufacture box. 

We advised the customer to order a new one and use the new box to send this old one back to us. 

If the customer would like to do this.. let us know. 

Consumer Response: [A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Regards,

******* *******

As long as they exchange it wits the new ones box after I place the order. The company is agreeing to exchange aND I am fine with that.

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:
after viewing your online availability everything is open box which means it was used. I would appreciate a refund being the company cannot guarantee me an unusual open unused item. I will be awaiting their response. They may even contact me by phone *** *** ****. Thank you



Regards,

******* *******

Business Response: The order is a product that was brand new. 
unfortunately at this time we would b e unable to take a return without the box.

Business Response: I sincerely apologize for this inconvenience. 

We sell both open box and brand new ..  unfortunately we were contacted very late in reference to this order. 

unfortunately we are unable to take a return 4 months later. 

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:
I contacted the company less than a month later in fact, days late et and they gave the run around. As you can see this complaint has never been resolved and is in arbitration. 


Regards,

******* *******

6/11/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Beach Camera's return policy is apparently to charge 33% of the original cost of an item when you initiate a return. This happened to me when I tried to cancel an order for a TV I purchased from them. KEEP IN MIND I THAT I DIDN'T RECEIVE THE TV UNTIL JUNE 3, 2015 (I understandably refused the delivery). THE ORIGINAL ORDER WAS PLACED ON APRIL 22, 2015. The delivery had to be canceled twice yet delivery was still attempted 3 weeks passed the orginal promised date of delivery. A person at Beach Camera named Bill ***** claimed that his delivery company had tried to contact me multiple times but were unsuccessful. THIS IS UNTRUE! The delivery company only called me twice to set-up delivery. The first call the delivery company left a voicemail. The second call (one day after the first call) was the day delivery was attempted. I refused delivery at that point. The items original cost was $999.00. Beach Camera wanted $350.00 in return shipping. Ridiculous??? Yes!!! This company is on also Amazon.com so BEWARE if you're contemplating a purchase from Beach Camera as they are scam artists!

Desired Settlement: Full refund of $999.00 as promised

Business Response: The delivery team tried many times with many voice mails left for the customers for more then a month to try and deliver this tv. 
the customer had not responded to them once.. they finally did and wanted a return thinking this was a tv purchased from another company... we can not loose $350.00 for the customers mistake. 

Consumer Response: Beach Trading Co. are dishonest people. I WAS NOT CONTACTED until 1 day before delivery was attempted. Bill ***** at Beach claims to have "personally" sent me 2 emails about the delivery yet he can't produce copies of these emails. He and Beach are clearly not telling the truth. I strongly reject their version of events and would never do business with these people. As an example of their dishonesty consider this, they've changed the amount they claim they paid for shipping from $350 to $250 during the course of the back and forth with them. They can't even get their own story straight. Did they pay $250 or $350 for shipping? And if they paid that much for shipping a relatively small LED TV and offered free shipping with the purchase one would think they might try to find a cheaper shipper like UPS, FEDEX , USPS, Old Dominion etc. That's what I'd call common sense. No, I believe they've changed their story because they are not telling the truth. My description of events has not changed at all throughout this. 

Business Response: It looks like amazon already refunded the customer

4/27/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We planned a trip in Europe for our honeymoon and we were in need of a nicer camera since we only had our Samsung S5 and S4 smart phones. They are good but we wanted to take nicer pictures. We went online and made the purchase on bestbuy.com after the checkout we noticed that the camera is being sold and shipped from and by Beach Camera. The delivery date was a day before our departure. We went ahead and made purchase. A day before delivery date , we went online to track the package and the tracking number from Fedex showed a different date. The delivery was the same day with our departing date. We couldn't be in two places at the same time. We left our home with no camera. The next day we received an email that the package was delivered. We immediately called my cousin and asked him to go pick it up for us. He went to our house after he got off work, around 9:00 pm. The package wasn't there anymore. He asked the neighbors and nothing. We couldn't do anything about. We asked him to file a claim for us since we were travelling in Europe but that did not work. The very first day after we came back in the States I called the company and explained them what happened. They said that is not a problem and they will look into it. Two weeks later after i filled the claim no response from them. I called beach camera again and I asked them what is the status of this claim. This lady said she will email me and that i should reply and everything will be taken care of. No emails, no calls. I called the third time to see what is the status of this claim and I got to talk with this lady and she said she remembers my claim ( three weeks ago) and that she will loo into it. She called me the same day around 7:00 pm and she said that they would like to help me but claim office denied the request because it has been more than a month since the item was purchased and they told me that i should talk with best buy. I don't know what to do anymore!

Desired Settlement: I do not need any camera from this company. I will personally go and buy one from a local store. We were supposed to have this camera for our honey moon but they were able to ruin it.

Business Response: We spoke with the customer on Friday the 17th. we are taking care of it. 

The customer advised they will remove the BBB complaint. 

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

4/20/2015 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Ordered a MB-D12 battery grip for a Nikon D810 and placed the order for next day delivery. The website clearly stated if I ordered within the next 15 hours I would receive the item the next day. Beach Camera failed to send the package until 2 days later. I requested Beach Camera refund the next day delivery charge and they agreed. I never received the refund. I would like the delivery charge refunded due to Beach Camera failing to send the package withing the time frame given.

Desired Settlement: Refund the next day delivery charge.

Business Response: I emailed the customer saying that we will send a refund check through us mail.

unfortunately the refund the Paypal account failed twice. 

4/12/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I recently received an email for a company I had never heard of... Beach Camera.... I tried to follow the unsubscribe link and the site posted an ERROR and would not let me unsubscribe. I do not want this crap hitting my inbox. I have never purchased or signed up to get this stuff. Now since the site errors on my unsub I feel like this garbage isn't going to stop.

Desired Settlement: i want a clear response and assurance I will never get an email from this company again.

Business Response: The name and address has been unsubscribed

4/2/2015 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I ordered a lens from beach camera for Christmas. As I filled the order for out I accidentally typed in my neighbors address, which is an one number difference. Beach Camera's policy states all packages require a signature on delivery. When the package came ***** left the package on the steps and didn't request a signature. The package was stolen. I used beach camera because this policy was used and during the holidays packages are more likely to be stolen in my area of ********* ****. I requested a refund because Beach camera didn't follow their policy for signatures on every delivery. I had to purchase the item again from ******.

Desired Settlement: I would like a refund back to the card used.

Business Response: We shipped this package to the customer address provided. Perhaps the customer entered an incorrect address, however, we didn't know any other address. We shipped to the address on file and the product was delivered. The customer isn't entitled to a refund. We apologize for the trouble. 

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

Their policy is all packages require a signature and that's why I ordered the $500 item from this company and not ******. It clearly states this policy online. The package was left on steps accessible to the street and did not request a signature. If it was signed for I would take all responsibility but the company didn't even use its own policy. I had to reorder through ****** because Beach camera was out of stock.

Regards,

****** *****

Business Response: Please provide the order/reference number so we can review this account

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because: the order/reference number is *********



Regards,

****** *****

Business Response: I apologize however our policy is that once we deliver to the address provided to us by the customer, we cannot provide a refund unless the shipping company admits/confesses to an incorrect delivery.

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because: they admitted your company did not request a signature upon delivery and that's why they were able to release the package at the door. It is your policy that you require a signature on every package not *****. Your company never required ***** or paid for the service to have a signature required for the delivery which is against your policy and that is on your web page



Regards,

****** *****

Business Response: We have an email with the customer advising that he input the incorrect address.  below is a back and forth of that conversation.
 Dear Customer,

Thank you for contacting us.

 

I apologize for the inconvenience.  We have shipped this item to the
address requested upon checkout.  If this information was incorrect we
could have requested ***** to return this package to our warehouse for a
refund; however, this was not advised. It is under the ***** driver discretion
to deliver the package without a signature.  

 

Sincerely,

***** 

 

 

---------------Original Message---------------




From:


****** ***** < >




Subject:


Re: BeachCamera.com Shipping Confirmation




 


 
I put the incorrect address for shipping. ***** delivered it without a
signature. Why was there not a signature required for a $400+ package?
On Dec 18, 2014 9:56 AM, "BeachCamera.com" <customerservice@beachcamera.com>
wrote:









 







Cameras


Televisions


Computers


Tablet PCs


Printers


Clearance







 






Dear ****** *****,
Thank you for
shopping with BeachCamera.com.
Your order, *********,
has been shipped.
Your tracking number
is ***************



 




Hey Beach Camera Fans! Join us on Facebook for periodic sweepstakes and exclusive
offers. Feel free to brag about our low prices and let us know what else
you'd like to find a deal on. We'll chime in from time to time with some
great offers.












You
may check the status of your package after 10PM (EST) by clicking here or by calling 800-***** (************). On Sundays
and legal holidays, tracking information will be available only after
10PM of the next business day
Some
packages may require a signature upon delivery. These packages will not
be left without a signature. For your convenience, we will email you a
tracking number on all successfully processed and shipped orders.
Please
note:
small accessories may be shipped by post office.
If we
may be of further assistance, please reply via email to customerservice@beachcamera.com
We
hope you enjoy your order! Thank
you for shopping with us!
Sincerely,

BeachCamera.com

















The following items have been shipped:






 






Item Code


Item Description


Qty




SAMEXM60SBUS


Samsung
NX 60mm f/2.8 Macro ED OIS SSA Camera Lens


1















BeachCamera.com
is committed to customer satisfaction. We would be very grateful if you
could spend a few minutes completing our survey so that we can learn from your experience.









4/1/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I would like to bring your attention that I have purchased A Nikon D5200 Refurbished Camera with 55-200 mm and 18-55 mm Lens Package from Beach Camera Ebay Store. My date of order is 02/26/2015 and the invoice no is ** *******. I have received incomplete Package on 3rd March. When I have carefully opened the Package, I have found everything except the Battery inside the package. I have found 2 different boxes, of which one box contained the D5200 Camera, 1 USB connecting cable, 1 yellow/Red colored cable, MH 24 Charger for battery, Manual/CD/90 Day warranty card, Nikon Strap, 18-55 mm Lens. While other box had 55-200 mm Lens & its cover. But I did not find out to get the Battery inside the package without which I could not test the functionality of the camera. Immediately I called Customer care but it was closed. After that almost every day from 4th March onward everyday, I used to call Beach Camera Customer support to request to send me the missing battery. Every time I used to wait 20 - 30 min to connect and every Rep said they are sending me battery on that very day this and I should receive this in 4 business days. On 6th March and 9th March, I also connected them and made humble requests and again they told me the same story that it is going to ship out today from warehouse. And I should get email notification about tracking no etc. Today, entire day passed still they did not send me email about shipping confirmation. Since the unit has 90 days warranty period from date of purchase, It is almost 2 weeks passed , still I dont know when I will receive the battery. I am completely frustrated with their assistance. I have tried emailing them, tried to contact thought their ebay support page without any negative feedback. So I decided to file complain against them to BBB, It has crossed my limit of waiting. Your help will be appreciated. Thanks

Desired Settlement: Since the unit has 90 days warranty period from date of purchase, I am completely frustrated with their assistance. So I decided to file complain against them to BBB, It has crossed my limit of waiting. It is almost 2 weeks passed , still I dont know when I will receive the battery. My question is will Nikon will extend my warranty for another 2 weeks, since it is not my fault. Please send me the battery as soon as possible. I want it to get that within 2 days. I hope Beach Camera's higher authority will listen their worse customer service they are providing to customers. Your help will be appreciated. Thanks

Business Response: The replacement battery has been shipped to the customer

Consumer Response:  

I am rejecting this response because: The battery came to me after 3 weeks of my purchase and the 90 days camera's limited warranty also has passed 3 weeks. After 3-4 attempts to call the Rep. did not take any action. 


 

3/27/2015 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a new ***** d5100 from ****** which in turn has used this company for the supplier. During the first time I used the produce the strap failed to properly secure the camera and it dropped and fell down the stairs I was coming down. I responsibly contacted ***** and obtained proper documents and procedures to send the camera to ***** repair/warranty office for repairs. ***** will not repair the camera NOR will they even repair it if I were to pay for the repairs. 1).they stated the product should have included a product registration form. 2).they state that the camera is a gray market camera. and not a original ***** product. 3).I now own a defective unit that is not useable. $457.79 that they just want me to toss out the window and move on. Unacceptable business conduct !!! additional reviews and complaints: "If I could give ZERO STAR , I WOULD! I actually never received it.THE BEACH CAMERA COMPANY SCAMMED ME FOR ABOUT $400. I was away on business trip when the package arrived with the main part missing! When I contacted the store they refused to send the **** Vertical Battery Grip justifying it as the claim time lapsed. Neither did ****** helped with sending me the item I paid for. NEVER USE BEACH CAMERA SELLER!!! BUY SOMEWHERE ELSE! THEY RUN A SCAM ON ******.COM and ****** ACCEPTS IT!!!" "This company has incredibly poor customer service. They did not process my order when I placed it, shipped it late, and sent it to the wrong address! Getting in touch with them for help has also been difficult. Now I'm having trouble getting an RMA to return the merchandise since the intended recipient is no longer in the country. Never use this company. " "Stay away! Ordered a camera. 4 business days later they contacted me to verify the shipping address.They made no apologies 4 this extraordinary slow service. They made no offer to upgrade to 2-3 business day delivery to make up for their poor service.What good is their 2-5 day shipping if they don't ship.

Desired Settlement: I do not want another non repairable product from this business. If they had explained or disclosed that the unit is a as is product. and if you experience issues or damages you will not have a source to have it corrected or repaired. once again this is unacceptable and shady business practice. other reviews and complaints: "If I could give ZERO STAR , I WOULD! I actually never received it. THE BEACH CAMERA COMPANY SCAMMED ME FOR ABOUT $400. I was away on business trip when the package arrived with the main part missing! When I contacted the store they refused to send the **** Vertical Battery Grip justifying it as the claim time lapsed. Neither did ****** helped with sending me the item I paid for. NEVER USE BEACH CAMERA SELLER!!! BUY SOMEWHERE ELSE! THEY RUN A SCAM ON ******.COM and ****** ACCEPTS IT!!!"

Business Response: This order was shipped via ****** fulfillment. Which means although we may or may not have supplied ****** with the product,
all customer service issues that are purchased via ****** fulfillment, must be taken up through ****** direct, as they provide excellent support. 

1/18/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Bought a Nikon J4 camera from retailer. Order # *********. Called back about a month later asking if they can sell me extra lens for $150 since ********** has the camera and extra lens after rebate which net the lens to $150 Customer service transferred me to their sales dept. The sales rep said if ****** has the rebate, they would have it too. He will check with their buyer and call me back. No one did. I called back a few weeks later. Another sales rep said the same thing, check with buyer and call me back. No one did. Today I called again talked to ***** at sales. Said nothing he can do since camera bought 3 months ago. I told him, I could have returned it back in August, when i first called if they told me no. I have sent emails too but no reply. Now most major retailers are selling the same model camera and extra lens for $646-649. I felt I was mislead with their sales dept and both time told me they would call me back, no one every did and now I cannot even return the camera.

Business Response: I apologize. This order number pertains to an order for a television. This is why the complaint couldnt be addressed. 

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because: I did not buy a TV from Beach. I bought a digital camera.
See attached invoice



Regards,

****** 

Business Response: We will need a valid order number, or copy of your invoice. We will be more than happy to assist you with this

Business Response: *********-this is the invoice number....
in reference to the customers concern, our policy is that we do not match prices of our competitors.

1/16/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I ordered two activity trackers advertised as "******* UP Bluetooth Enabled Wireless Activity Tracker" on **** listing ID# ************. This **** listing is from the business Beach Camera. I paid $51.99 for each product totaling $103.98. I received the items on 11/06/2014. I looked at the package and found that the item that was shipped was not bluetooth enabled. To confirm that I contacted the manufacturer ******* on 11/07/2014 and they confirmed that the product I received is not bluetooth enabled. Learning that I received the wrong product I called Beach Camera customer service on 11/07/2014 ad was greeted by ***. I explained her that by mistake they may have sent wrong product. They said that it was their mistake and they can issue me a refund. I insisted that they send me the right product as it was advertised. She transferred me to the manager and he too declined to send the right product (******* UP Bluetooth Enabled Wireless Activity Tracker) that was advertised.

Desired Settlement: What I want from the business is to send me the advertised product "******* UP Bluetooth Enabled Wireless Activity Tracker".

Business Response:

This error was made in the **** listing. We were unable to honor the price they offered. Sometimes we can, however, this mistake, **** wasn’t willing to compensate.

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

Business has created a bait and switch situation. They have falsely advertised the price.

I'm willing to compromise with the merchant if they would:

1. Send me one of the correct product out of two and return for a full refund one of the two items purchased.

OR

2. issue me a $30 credit on each of the two products purchased.

OR

3. Recall all of the products sold on the erroneous **** listing if the merchant feels that there was an error on the listing and issue refunds to ~600 buyers.


Regards,

****** ********

1/8/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I had purchased a Solid State Drive from Beach Camera via Best Buy on November 26, 2014. Best Buy told me that I need to deal with Beach Camera directly which I have done many, many times about this issue. Beach Camera sold me an SSD and removed the cost of the item from my checking account via a Debit Card KNOWING that the item was out of stock; that was on November 26, 2014. I know this for a fact because one of their reps told me that. "Oh, we do that all the time" is what I was told later. The status of the order showed that the SSD was still at the warehouse waiting to be shipped on December 3, 2014. I called 3 different times and each time the reps told me they had to do some research and would call me back which sounded suspicious. No one ever called me back. I finally spoke to an extremely rude "supervisor" called *****. I got him to admit that they took my money knowing full well that the item was out of stock. ***** offered me a slightly more expensive replacement. I verified with Best Buy that the replacement would work; they told me it would not. I called ***** back and told him to cancel the order and refund my money. ***** told me it would take 2-3 business days for a refund. I had not received my money back on 12/10/2014 and called back. The rep I spoke to told me that the refund had not yet been started but she would initiate it. This is a full week after being promised that the refund would be completed. As of this writing on December 13, 2014 I have not yet received my money back. My experiences with Beach Camera has been deceitful, dishonest and shameful. I file this complaint to warn others about their practices.

Desired Settlement: I want my money back now!

Business Response: we have refunded this accounnt. 

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

7/18/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: They are advertising on a Canon EOS Rebel SL1 SLR for $649 and a special offer $300 instant rebate. They indicate if purchased separately the cost is $814.99. Therefore the price should be $519.99. When I called to order one at $519.99 I was told that the price of $649 included the $300 rebate. I told them that this is called "fuzzy math". The conversation was ended. The URL= http://www.beachcamera.com/shop/product.aspx?sku=E3CNDRSL11855

Desired Settlement: That they honor the advertised rebate price of $519.99

Business Response: We will be contacting the customer for an explanation. We suspect some confusion here, as such rebates never existed. We can and will be happy to provide an update here after correspondence with the customer.

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:
They advertised the camera online at a certain price and refused to honor it.  If there is any confusion it's because they did not make the offer clear.

the question is now moot. I purchased the camera elsewhere at a lower price and my wife is very happy with it.


Regards,

****** *******

3/28/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues
1/31/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I ordered a ******* Series 9 ************ 11.6-Inch Laptop from ****** and sold by Beach Camera on August 7, 2012 (Order #*******************). On the ****** page, they clearly state that the warranty was valid for 3 years and it can still be seen at http://www.******.com. I has been over a year since I bought it and recently, my display stopped working. Hence I contacted *******, who told me that the warranty is only valid for 1 year. The 3 year warranty was one of the main reasons I bought this item and now I need to pay for ******* to even look at my issue. I feel that I was cheated into this purchase and I would like to get a refund for my order.

Desired Settlement: A refund would be my first preference but I would also willing to replace this with a brand new product so that I would get at least once more year of warranty.

Business Response: We can work this out. Please contact ***** at *** *** ***** ****. He can work this out, and resolve these issues. 

Consumer Response:
Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because there is no clear indication of what will be the resolution to this. I have contacted the person mentioned in the response and have emailed him some details he requested but even he was not able to what Beach Camera would do for me and said that he would get back to me on that. I would like to keep this case open until I get a clear answer on how this issue will resolved. Hope that is okay. Thanks.



Regards,

**** ********





























Business Response: You're welcome to keep the case opened. Once again for closure, please contact ***** for a smooth and certain resolution. 

1/16/2014 Billing/Collection Issues
12/3/2013 Delivery Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
9/24/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
8/16/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I placed my order on 7/19 for a nightowl security camera system. the credit card company declined the purchase because they believed it was a fraudulent charge. Resolving this issue was complicated due to lack of communication. I recieved an email with instructions to contact the billing department. Well i was on the phone for a half hour and when i finally talked to someone in billing, i was told i need to talk to customer service. This happened not once but twice. It took another hour to talk to someonein customer service. Once this was all resolved, fast forward to yesterday (7/24) i called to check on the status because i had not received an email of confirmation. Now i find out my item is on backorder after another hour waiting to talk to someone. They did upgrade my shipping because of this so i was somewhat satisfied with that. Today (7/25) i recieve a notice of cancellation because they will not be able to order my item anymore. After all that hassle and trying to contact them, the item i set out to purchase was never really in stock and they will no longer stock this item even though it was advertised as in stock and availible.

Desired Settlement: To refund me my money and to explain to me why this process has been so difficult. Upon being told that the item was on back order i was told that they would be able to order it next week for me and upgrade my shipping. I had no problem with that but then the whole order was canceled. I don't know if they were lying to me or what but that was un called for. The company should refund me my money and do what they think is right to resolve this problem.

4/27/2013 Delivery Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
4/16/2013 Delivery Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
3/22/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
2/22/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
2/14/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
2/5/2013 Problems with Product/Service
1/22/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
1/22/2013 Delivery Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
1/22/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
1/21/2013 Delivery Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
1/16/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
1/11/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
11/5/2012 Delivery Issues
9/14/2012 Billing/Collection Issues