BBB Accredited Business since

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Carol Wright Gifts meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Carol Wright Gifts include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 79 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

79 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 30 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 8
Billing/Collection Issues 28
Delivery Issues 9
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 34
Total Closed Complaints 79

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Carol Wright Gifts
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: January 05, 2000 Business started: 03/01/1979 Business started locally: 01/05/2000
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Ms. Leigh A Tricamo, Vice President, Marketing
Business Category

Mail Order & Catalog Shopping

Alternate Business Names
Dr. Leonard's Healthcare

Additional Locations

  • 100 Nixon Ln

    Edison, NJ 08837 (732) 225-0100

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

3/23/2015 Billing/Collection Issues
3/23/2015 Problems with Product/Service
3/12/2015 Problems with Product/Service
2/19/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues
2/13/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues
1/26/2015 Problems with Product/Service
1/13/2015 Problems with Product/Service
12/15/2014 Problems with Product/Service
12/2/2014 Billing/Collection Issues
11/6/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: cwg has blocked me from entering coupon because i entered too much same coupon on every order which i have over 500.00 bill now with them for over ayear my issue is they blocked me from all coupons and the coupon never stated you cant use it but so many time it only stated when you order enter coupon for $10.00 off your order . if they didnt entend for us to us coupon why issue them then.

Desired Settlement: allow me to use my coupons and better define how many cna be used or clear my current balance and cancel my membership with them for frauding me on coupons it never stated how many i could use or how often i could use them

Business Response: I have received and investigated the complaint from Ms. ********.  We send our customers who have been offered and accepted trial memberships in our Passport to Health plan.  The coupon is coded PHB1.  The coupon is for their use only.

Ms. ******** has never been offered a membership and it appears that she found the coupon code on another website and used it.  When we were made aware that someone other than our company  had published the coupon code, our computer system stopped accepting them unless the account shows activity in a membership..

As a web customer, Ms. ******** will be offered other sale promotions, which she can take advantage of.  These will be presented in the form of special e-mails addressed to our customers only.


Consumer Response:  

I am rejecting this response because:

10-12-14 I joined membership and was accepted which i still have an email stating this for the smartshopper club and the code i used was  1 phb1 not phb1

if they do not honor their own coupon which i am a member of  i will not honor my debt of $574.30 with them seems fair they forfeit  my trust with them so i forfeit my responcibiliy to pay them.

this was thier error or oversite on limition of coupon and not noted and i did try other codes they do not work either which was emailed to me october 12-2014. the other ones  which btw  they did email me those codes. they are trying to make an escape goat out of me whic i will not tolerate in any matter.


Order DetailsItem DescriptionQuantityItem PriceSubtotal 6-Piece BBQ Condiments Set
Item# 24217

here is an attached text copy of the CONFIRMAtion EMAIL I STILL HAVE THAT WAS EMAILED OT ME

     1 $4.99$4.99ORDER SUMMARYMerchandise Total:$4.99Shop Smart Club Membership Fee:$9.99 EARLY HOLIDAYS SAVINGS! ($0.50) Standard Shipping Cost: FREE Handling Charge:$3.95 Priority Service Plus prompt free replacement for orders lost in transit $1.95 Order Total: $20.38





 

Business Response: The notice of coupon abuse was for coupon 1PHB1 only.  As stated, this coupon is for members of our "Passport to Health" plan only.  Those members get 5 coupons for $10.00 upon trying the membership.  Ms. ******** was never offered this membership or mailed these coupons but did use the code on 12 occasions.     Our website did show this coupon code and we did honor the 12 orders with a 10% discount.  We have since fixed the site, and as I said our system no longer allows this code to be used when a membership in Passport to Health has not been purchased.  Passport to Health offers discounts in healthcare expenses, and has a monthly cost of $29.99.

On 10/12 Ms. ********, placed an order through a special e-mail and received a 10% discount on her order - The code for that particular special was CWEHSV.  On that order she also purchasde a Shop Smart Membership which will entitle her to a 5% discount on every order placed after that for 1 year.  The cost of this is $9.99 and at the end of the year, if the savings is not $9.99 - the balance is refunded to the customer.  This is not the same as the Passport to Health membership.

I sincerely hope that this explanation clears any misunderstandings.  I was not clear in the response and did not name the membership program that the coupon 1PHB1 belonged to and I do apologize.  As a courtesy, we will not be charging Ms. ******** the $9.99 enrollment fee for our Shop Smart Club, but she will receive the 5% discount on orders she places with us, or she can choose to use our future sale promotions.

 

10/28/2014 Billing/Collection Issues
10/25/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
10/22/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
9/30/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
9/23/2014 Billing/Collection Issues
9/3/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
8/11/2014 Problems with Product/Service
7/20/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: we bought a deluxe screen door off there website and when we got it it was not complete and the add said no tools required but it says you have to drill holes for it so they lied to us and are committing fraud on customers.

Desired Settlement: we want all our money back right away

Business Response: I have received and investigated the complaint from Mr. *******.  I am sorry that he is disappointed with our item #*****.  When he called on July 7, 2014, we issued a full refund for the product including the handling charge of the order which totaled $20.89.  This credit was applied to the Master Card he used to make the purchase.

We have also sent him a postage paid label so that he could return the item with no cost to him. 

Again, I apologize for the inconvenience and if I can be of any further assistance, please contact me directly.

Sincerely,

7/18/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Returned defective merchandise, and have been charged for shipping despite explicitly stating that the company would pay all fees. Company is now charging a monthly finance charge in addition to shipping charge. Have contacted Business about this error at least 5 times by phone and letter.

Desired Settlement: Cancel all debts, and inform credit agencies that the company was acting in bad faith when billing the customer. Do not contact us again after the situation is resolved.

Business Response: I have received and investigation this complaint, and although we have no record of any written correspondance with this customer, I would like to apologize to Ms. *****, as this clearly should have been taken care of, with her first call to us.  As of today July 7, 2014, I have written off the balance on the account.  When processed, tomorrow,  it will bring the balance to $0.00.

If I can be of any further assistance, please contact me directly.

S

7/9/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Mail order catalog company placed a derogatory entry on my credit report after items were ordered from their catalog (at my former address) without my authorization. I have an antry on my Experian report from Carol Wright for items that were shipped to a former address. I have disputed the charges with the credit reporting agency. I wrote to the company several times in an attempt to pay off the charge of $163 and receive a deletion from my credit report but I have received no response from Carol Wright and Experian refuses to delete.

Desired Settlement: Please delete #***************** from the credit bureaus.

Business Response: I have received and investigated the complaint from ******* ****.  Customer Service shows no record of any correspondence with this customer in regards to an order that was shipped October 7, 2011.  I was able to contact our credit department.  Since the customer did make payments on the account on May 20, 2013, June 17, 2013 and July 5, 2013, enough to pay for the order.  I have asked that they write off the late and finance charges on the account.  I was told that this was done and would be reflected on her account by the end of the week. 

I also requested that they contact the credit bureau and remove any derogatory entries regarding this account.  They assured me that this would be done, but would not be reflected until July 14, 2014.  We value our customers and should the need arise, please contact me directly.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID 1*******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Regards,

******* ****

6/24/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
6/5/2014 Problems with Product/Service
5/28/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues
5/19/2014 Billing/Collection Issues
5/13/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: In March I orderd (2) owls from Carol Wright Gifts a the cost of $12.99 each. I processed the order which amounted to $3.95 processing and handling and $1.95 priority service to the total of $31.88. I agreed with the amount and provided my credit card info to complete the order. I printed out my reciept which included all the above information and nothing else. Later I discovered a charge of $12.97 on my credit card from a company called FREESHIPPING.com, that I never heard of before. When I called them at ###-###-#### they said that I had signed up for this service. I had never heard of nor signed for this service and was told that this was a non-refundable payment and I can only cancel. I called Carol Wright and they said FREESHIPPING.com was a partner with them and they cannot do anything even though FREESHIPPING.com got my credit card info from Carol Wright. I assured both companies that I did not know anything about FREESHIPPING.com

Desired Settlement: I want my refund of $12.97 and for Carol Wright to stop these cramming practices

Business Response: I have investigated the complaint from Ms. *********  Freeshipping.com is an affillate who's website appears when one of our customers completes placing an order on our website.  There are three places where a customer must read and agree, before any action is taken.  In order for her to be billed for the service, she had to complete these steps.  I apologize for her inconvenience, but we have been told that a phone call, by Ms. *******s  to Freeshipping.com can correct the problem if it was done in error.  Unfortunately, we do not have the control to address this complaint. 

Please contact me directly, if I can be of any further assistance.

********** *** ********** ******** ** ***** ******** *************************

Consumer Response:
I am rejecting this response because:
There was mentioned a site that came up after completing an order, there was no such site.
I never heard of nor requested anything from FREESHIPPING.
This was added after I made my order and I never heard anything from this company nor got any membership info. All I recieved was a fee attched to my credit card.
This was added by someone other than me. Judging from all of the complaints that I have seen when I Googled FREESHIPPING, this is a normal practice. 





























5/9/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I paid off a Carol Wright (Dr Leonard's) account some time ago, then in April I received a bill for a recent purchase. The total is $28.92, date for purchase on the invoice is 4/2/2014. I called ###-###-#### on 4/21/14 and explained that I had not placed or received an order. They said there was a call in order on 3/31/14, the phone number on the account was not mine, the delivery address was not mine. I asked for it to be corrected because that was not my information and I did not authorize. ******* in customer service said I would have to file a dispute and needed a police report. He said whomever placed the order had my information, so I'm responsible for the bill. He said identity theft happens all the time. I found out later that this company doesn't have my soc sec #, so I don't know what information was used to verify. They were supposed to mail the dispute packet to me, but I have yet to receive it. I called them back later that week and cancelled the account; also requesting that they investigate--maybe there was a mix up when the order was placed. I didn't hear from them, but when I called ###-###-#### to pay on my ********* account on 5/1/14, the rep asked if I also wanted to pay on my Dr Leonard's account. I advised her of the situation, so she spoke to her supervisor. She said they will investigate, and asked me to call back Monday. I found a remittance stub from when I used to have a balance with Carol Wright (Dr Leonard's) and the account # was different. I compared an old ********* stub to my current ********* bill, and the account #s matched . I called Carol Wright, but the rep just said she doesn't see that old number, only the new one. I questioned the discrepancy, but she had no answer that made sense to me.

Desired Settlement: I want my information removed from this account since I didn't order or receive the merchandise. I want Carol Wright to confirm their error and cease to hold me responsible for the balance. I do not want to receive any catalogs, emails, or other advertisements.

Business Response: I have received and investigated the complaint from Ms. ********.  When she spoke to our cusotmer service agent on 5/2/14, the complaint was brought to our credit deparments attention.  The charges on the account were reversed and the account was closed as requested.  The current balance on the account is zero.

I apologize for the inconvenience that was caused this customer and if there is anything further that I can assist with, please contact me directly.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Please have a letter mailed with this resolition.

Regards,

 ********
















4/11/2014 Billing/Collection Issues
4/4/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I paid off my account 2/27/14, the company double charged me and admitted they had done so, but since then I have gotten nothing but the run around about returning the money to my debit card that they owe me. They make excuses, talk about sending paper messages to their credit department, etc.

Desired Settlement: I want those funds that they double charged me returned to my debit card immediately.

Business Response: I have received and investigated the complaint from Ms.*****.  She is correct in stating that her payment had been processed twice.  The error was corrected and the refund was issued on March 5, 2014.  Please see the attached for the current account statement.

I apologize for the inconvenience that we have caused this customer.

Sincerely,

*** *********
Director of Order Services

4/3/2014 Billing/Collection Issues
4/3/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I placed an order with Carol Wright Gifts on Sunday, Feb 23, 2014. Due to reasons that need not be disclosed, I needed to cancel the order. Per their return/cancellation policy, we are to email them to cancel. I did that at 4am on Monday, Feb 24, 2014 (less than 24 hrs). In fact, I emailed them twice. Once at 4AM and later again that morning. I received a response from them at 1:43PM stating: "Thank you for your inquiry. We do apologize but this order is already on the truck going out for shipment. Please allow 7-10 business days for delivery. If further assistance is needed please feel free to contact us." This was an outright lie as the shipping tracking number for fedex shows the items shipped on Feb 25. They completely disregarded my request for cancellation. If their company had no cancellation policy, then fine, I would accept my part and return the package losing additional money for shipping. However, to be blatantly lied to by a customer service representative of their company, that is not acceptable behavior.

Desired Settlement: I will send everything back unopened but I want a full refund including shipping because I would not have been charged that cost had they cancelled the order as stated by their own policy and procedures.

Business Response: I have received and investigated the complaint from Ms. ********.  The order was pleased on February 23, 2014 and was picked, packed and loaded into the truck on February 24, 2014.  When she notified us of her wish to cancel the order on February 24, unfortunately we were not able to accommodate her.  Once an order is on the truck, with thousands of others, it is impossible for us to search out one order to pull back.  I am sorry that our agent did not fully explain that to her.

Our tracking system shows that the order was delivered to Ms. ******** on March 1, 2014.  Each of the two packages contain a packing slip with a "Return Label" attached.  I have waived the fee of these labels and have marked her account so that she is provided with a full refund upon receipt by our facility.

I apologize for the inconvenience we have caused, but we take pride in the fact that our normal pick/pack time is within twenty four hours of receipt of the order.

If I can be of any further assistance, please contact me directly.

Sincerely,
*** *********
Director of Order Services

Consumer Response: Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:

As you can see on the attached from their own website, the ship date is 2/25/14 and not 2/24/14 as stated by CarolWrightGifts.  I'd like to know how it could be already packaged and on the truck per your response of the 24th if the ship date shows the 25th?  I returned everything but it ended up costing me 10.94.  Shipping costs of 8.99 as well as an additional cost of 1.95 to replace the items if lost in shipping.

If the items were shipped on the 24th as stated by CarolWrightGifts, I would not have filed this complaint.  if their website said that I couldn't cancel the order via email or phone, I would not have filed this complaint.  The order could have been cancelled but they chose not to.




Regards,

**** ********





























Business Response: When I responded to the first complaint all facts were stated.  At that time I also advised our "Returns Department" to issue a full refund when the items were received.  The return and my comments crossed and that was not done.  Today, I have issued a refund check in the amount of $10.94 for the the original postage paid.

I apologize for the inconvenience, and if I can be of any further assistance.

Sincerely,
*** *********
Director of Order Services

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.  I receive the refund of the postage on March 27th.  I stand by my comments on the actions of the customer service department but I am thankful that I received a complete refund. 



Regards,

**** ********




















3/21/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I called to place an order, nearing the close of the order the woman told me I would be charged $10.00 S&H. When I heard that I told her to cancel the order. I was emphatic about canceling this order. Several days later I was checking my bank account and saw the charge from Carol Wright. I called Carol Wright and asked if the conversation with the order taker was reviewed as advertised-that it was clear that I canceled the order. The young woman suggested that I return the unopened package marked refused. I did that ! I also e-mailed them inquiring about my money that was supposed to be returned. No answer. I called this morning and was told that I would be returned ONLY the price of the item -less the S&H once it was documented that the refused item was at their facility. I want all my money returned to me since I told them I did not want the item during the initial phone call.

Desired Settlement: I want all my money returned to me and that includes S&H.

Business Response: I have received and investigated the complaint from Ms. **********.  I did listen to the recording of the call and the customer clearly did not want to continue to place the order.  She did ask the agent to cancel the order.  I have issued a complete refund of $38.93 to her Visa card.  This credit will be processed tonight and should appear on her next billing statement.

I apologize for the inconvenience we have caused this customer, and hope to be able to better serve her in the future.

Sincerely,

*** *********
Director of Order Services

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Regards,

**** **********




















3/10/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased some products from this company. The item in dispute is a 3 piece Angel Christmas Ornament set. One of the ornaments BROKE when it was hanging on our tree in December when I was turning it on so it would light up. I notified this company about what happened and my dissatisfaction of the product quality. I requested a refund on said product and if they wanted the item back to send me a prepaid return label, which they did. This item was sent back to them by USPS and last week when I contacted them they said they had it and my account was issued a credit, which it has NOT. I have not yet made a payment on this balance because of their refusal to correct my account balance and I am NOT paying for something I sent back to them. Their credit department are threatening to post negatively on my credit record when I am waiting for them to fix this issue. Their company is one of the worst I have EVER done business with. Right from the start, they had lost track of my order and were preparing to send me a replacement order, when the first order had arrived in the mail. From that point, it has been a nightmare dealing with them.

Desired Settlement: Either outcome is desired A. Total dismissal of all charges on my account because of the hassle, dishonesty and threats they have directed towards me. B. Issue of the credit amount to show on my record and cessation of threatening letters from their credit department. Also a written apology for being lied to by their customer service and for threats from the credit department, instead of them adjusting my account.

Business Response: I have investigated the complaint from **** ******.  She placed the order with us on October 15, 2013, using our Shop Now Pay Plan.  The order was for 4 items totalling $34.90  The order was shipped to her and arrived at her home on October 22, 2013.  That said, the first payment on the account was do at the end of November.

We received a call on January 6, 2014 advising us of the defective item.  We send a prepaid label to the cusotmer so that he could return it for a refund.  When the customer called on January 14, 2014, saying that he returned the item, the return was not yet processed.  The customer service agent taking that call, issued a credit on that day for $6.99 (the price of the item).  The actual item was received and reported on January 29th.

Our records show that the current balance on the account is $39.69, this balance does reflect the credit of $6.99.  It also shows finance and late charges incurred according to our terms and conditions which sent in a first class letter to this customer on October 16, 13.  I have attached a copy of his account statement.  Had the order been only for the one defective item, an adjustment to finance and lates charges would have be considered. 

Sincerely,
*** *********
Director of Order Services

Consumer Response:

Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:
 
 
 
 
They are lying about the dates and means of contact. They are also lying about the date they got the item back. I have an e-mail saying they had the items on the 27th of January. I had e-mailed them on January 24th to ask why they had not credited my account and as of their reply on the 27th they said it was being processed. They actually had it long before that but I deleted the first e-mail when they confirmed the return because I thought they  were an honest company which I see now they are not.

While we are negotiating this, their credit department is STILL sending me threatening letters about ruining my credit and turning it over to collections. How HARD is it for them to look and see that I have started this complaint and leave it until this is settled?

They also lied about when I first contacted them. I contacted them in DECEMBER BY E-MAIL when the ornament broke.  I sent the item back to them when they sent me a prepaid label. Here it is February and we are involved in this and had they been honest and credited it when they first told me they got it, I would have paid the bill. If I pay what they claim I owe right now, my account balance will still show $10.00 due.

I am looking at my online account and it STILL does NOT reflect a credit on the account. It says I owe $49.69. NOT the $39.69 the respondent claims it shows. See attached picture showing my account status for relevant info. 

I fully intend to pay this account at such a time as my account reflects the amount the respondent says I owe and not until. I told them I would pay it when it was properly deducted from my account. I am not paying for something I returned to them. 


Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:



Regards,

**** ******





























Business Response: I have attached the customers account history, including a statement of his account, showing that we issued a credit for the defective item upon notification that he had sent it back.  Please see the credit of $6.99 shown on 1/15/14.  The current balance on his account includes late fees and interest charged since the order was received on October 22, 2014.

The principle of the account is currently $27.91 which is the original $34.90 less the $6.99 for the defective item.  Late and interest fees are currently $$22.28.  I will be happy to write off the interest and late charges if a payment of $27.91 is made within 30 days.

Please send payment directly to me, so that I can deduct the other charges from the account.

Sincerely,
*** *********
Director of Order Services
100 Nixon Lane
Edison, NJ 08837

2/10/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
1/27/2014 Billing/Collection Issues
1/9/2014 Problems with Product/Service
1/3/2014 Problems with Product/Service
12/24/2013 Delivery Issues
12/3/2013 Delivery Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
12/2/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On 9/24/2013 I called CWGs and placed a order for purchase via the Order rep who took the call and I asked if I could have these items shipped to a ONE TIME ONLY address where I do volunteer work at the *** "******* ****** ******* - **** ** ******* *** *****".. I was assured by her that this could be done and thats what I thought took place until 10/14/2013 I noticed one of CWGs catalog on the mail desk at the library that had there address and my name on it, I was shocked because I was told that address info would be used as I requested i.e ONE TIME ONLY and that was a lie. Now that same address information has been sent out via a mailing list by CWGs to other entities that they have agreements with to share information and that same library that I have volunteered at, will receive future solitications addressed as that catalog was addressed that I viewed on 10/14th which was "****** ********* **** ** ******* *** *****, I called CWGs on Tuesday 10/15/2013 spoke to a customer service rep ****** explained to her this horrIble situation and she apologized telling me it will take at least 2+ mos to delete the mailing address information! I told her that was not acceptable, please let me speak to a supervisor! She came back to the phone and told me supervisor ******** said the same thing that she had said, I asked her why I couldn't speak to the Supervisor, if its repentitive then so be it, she transferred me to Supervisor ******** who said they could reduce the tat to less than 2 mos and apologized to which I told her this is going to hurt me because NO personal mail should be going to the library's address addressed to me and I am fearful with the upcoming holidays that there are going to be alot of catalogs/solicitations etc coming to this library. I have already had to explain this situation to the manager of the that branch library and I want assurance from UPPER management that the **** ** ******* *** address be removed ASAP and not 2+ mos.

This is to correct the purchase date to 7/21/2013 as it relates to the address complaint to which CWGs kept that ONE TIME ONLY address and forwarded it to other mailing list entities which was not what I requested and not what the order rep told me. 

Desired Settlement: I want verbal and/or written assurance that any mailing list from CWGs reflecting '****** ********* **** ** ******* *** *********** *****" be removed from my account and mailing list asap! It should not take 2 mos or 3 mos in the tech age where anything can be done at the drop of a hat or push of a button! I am not even at that library branch anymore and volunteer work has assignments at various locales. I enjoy the CWGs items and have been a customer for some time so for a Order rep to say something could be done when it can't is just plain wrong and can have serious repercussions as we see via this complaint because its obvious someone dropped the ball on this one.

Business Response: I have received and investigated the complaint from Ms. ********** regarding the mailing of our catalog to her ship to address.  I sincerely apologize for the unfortunate situation that we have created. I have contaced the vice President of Markeing and she will forward the information to the appropriate parties, to remove as soon as possible.  I must tell you that, a catalog may already be printed and in the mail to that address.  There is nothing that we can do to stop current mailings.

Again, I do apologize for the situation we have caused you.  If I can be of any further assistance, please contact me directly.

Sincerely,

*** *********
******** ** ***** ********

11/17/2013 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On September 25, 2013, I placed an order with Carol Wright Gifts and paid with a money order (#******). After weeks of not getting anything delivered in the mail, I contacted Carol Wright Gifts on Monday, October 28, 2013. The representative stated that she has not received the money order. I then contacted my local Currency Exchange and asked the agent if the money order had been cashed. She then stated that it would cost $2 to find out if the money order was received. She then let me know that the payment of $24 had been paid.

Desired Settlement: I would like my refund to be paid in the form of a check including the $2 that I paid to find out if the money order was cashed. I would like the total of my refund to be $26.

Business Response: I have received and investigated the complaint from Ms. *******.  I have been able to locate the order and money order that was sent to us in September.  I apologize for the inconvenience that was caused, but our orders are scanned and entered into the computer during a mail opening procedure.  The reason that the order could not be located was that included with the money order #****** was an order form addressed to a different person. (Copy provided). The order was processed and shipped to the same apartment complex as Ms. *******, but to a different apt. number.  The orders are shipped to the name and address printed on the order form.  There were no corrections made, so we did not take any corrective action.   The person that did receive the order notified us that she did not order it.

Upon finding this, I have already issued a refund check in the amount of $26.00.  The check will be processed tonight and mailed tomorrow.  Again, I do apologize, and if I can be of any further assistance, please contact me directly.

11/17/2013 Problems with Product/Service
9/23/2013 Problems with Product/Service
9/23/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: In April of this year, Ref. No. ************** - Acct No. ****************, I ordered several items from their catalog. The promotion of no shipping and handling charges with purchase of $50.00 or more was accepted by me. Since my credit is not good, an advance was requiered. I subsequently mailed a check for $20.62 which was a little less than half. The contract was broken when my order was one item (allegedly not available) was backordered. The company then omitted the amount of the item, which then placed me below the $50.00 promotion. I was then charged a $10.94 postage and handling charge. I decided to dispute this and did not send the remaining balance until this was settled. I tried on numerous times to resolve this matter. All I kept receiving was a $20.00 Late Charge. That was a total insult to my intelligence. By removing one item for $3.99, I was placed below the promotional item and by their action, the contract was broken. I finally mailed the PROPER balance due of $34.72. My order is paid in full. I have since been received later charges of $20.00 to the tune and balance remaining of $78.96. If this was done to me, how many other unsuspecting victom has been taken by this unfair, and to me illegal practice.Please help me resolve this issue and I want this practice not done to low income people. Not nice. Their products are more for people with disabilities and I find this offensive.

Desired Settlement: I want my account mark paid in full, my name removed from their mailing list, and an acknowlegement of what was done.

Business Response: I have received and investigated the complaintfrom Ms. *******.  I must say that I am confused, by some of the facts stated.  We received a mailed in order on 3/4/13 and processed on 3/6/13.  (See a copy of the order form we received.)  The order form shows a credit offer of $50.00, but does not state anywhere that there would be free shipping on orders over $50.00.    The order was for 5 items, with a quantity of 8 total pieces.  With postage, handling and tax, the order totaled $70.62.  The postage and handling charge on the order was $10.94.  We do occasionally offer free shipping, but that is stated on the order form. Ms. ******* did add the P&H amount.  The total on her order form was not added correctly, making the P&H a higher amount.  

In processing the order, our credit department requested a down payment of $20.62 prior to us shipping the order.  Ms. ******* did send this in.  The amount was credited to her account on 4/16/13. The order was then sent to our warehouse for shipment.  At that time the silver weight loss ring was on back order.  The package containing all other items was shipped on 4/17/13 vis USPS and delivered to her on 4/19/13.
The balance on her account was $50.00.

The back ordered item was sent to her as soon as we received it, it was sent Standard Mail on 5/16/13 and our tracking shows that it was delivered to her home on 5/20/13.

Payment was due on her account on 5/17/13.  Finance and late charges are added to the account monthly, when payment is not received. I have included a copy of her statement, to show that late fees were added on 6/3 and 7/5.  We finally received a payment of $34.72 on 7/8/13.

Our terms and conditions of credit are explained in the material that was mailed to her on April 12. 2013.  Due to the late fees, and finance charges applied to them her current balance is $98.96.  At this time we feel that the money owed to us is correct and payment is expected.

9/14/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
9/4/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
8/14/2013 Problems with Product/Service
8/13/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
8/12/2013 Delivery Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
7/29/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
7/16/2013 Problems with Product/Service
7/9/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
6/26/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
6/4/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
5/21/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
5/16/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
4/22/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
4/8/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
2/12/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
2/5/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
1/17/2013 Delivery Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
12/19/2012 Billing/Collection Issues
11/15/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues
10/5/2012 Billing/Collection Issues
9/18/2012 Billing/Collection Issues
9/5/2012 Delivery Issues
9/5/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues
8/21/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues
7/30/2012 Delivery Issues
7/23/2012 Delivery Issues
7/12/2012 Billing/Collection Issues
6/30/2012 Billing/Collection Issues
6/26/2012 Delivery Issues
6/22/2012 Problems with Product/Service
6/19/2012 Problems with Product/Service
6/2/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues
5/25/2012 Problems with Product/Service
5/16/2012 Billing/Collection Issues
4/20/2012 Billing/Collection Issues
4/17/2012 Problems with Product/Service