BBB Accredited Business since

Best Buys Direct, Inc.

Additional Locations

Phone: (973) 628-8100 Fax: (973) 628-1199 1044 Route 23 North Suite 310, Wayne, NJ 07470 http://www.bestbuysdirect.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

The business offers various products through mail in orders, phone orders and orders online.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Best Buys Direct, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Best Buys Direct, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 16 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

16 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 7 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 6
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 8
Total Closed Complaints 16

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Best Buys Direct, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: January 24, 2003 Business started: 07/15/1994 in NJ Business incorporated 07/14/1994 in NJ
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Robert Perlman, President Mr. Seymour Shapiro, VP
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Robert Perlman, President
Customer Contact: Mr. Seymour Shapiro, VP
Business Category

Mail Order & Catalog Shopping

Alternate Business Names
Canada Green Grass

Additional Locations

  • 1044 Route 23 North Suite 310

    Wayne, NJ 07470 (973) 628-8100

  • PO Box 450

    Wayne, NJ 07474

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

6/29/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: ****** ***** represents that their product is green and foams in order to stay in place. This product is neither green, nor does it foam and stay in place. In addition they indicate that it will "grow anywhere" but when you receive the product it tells you that you need to add top soil and prepare the area in a particular way . This product is not at all what it claims to be and I would like a refund.

Desired Settlement: I would like to have a full refund of what I paid for the product

Business Response: We do not sell this item....they will have to get in contact with the person that they purchased it from..
On the complaint is an email
***************************


Linda
Customer Service

Consumer Response:

 

Please update that this item has been resolved – the company has provided a product refund – but no refund for shipping and handling.

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********* and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Regards,

***** *****

5/13/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Responding to an ad for "Canada Green" grass seed, I was spurred on by the printed facts that one only had to scatter the seed and were done. When I received the product, the packaging gave very specific directions as to soil preparation, watering, etc. contrary to the ad. I called them and someone is to get back to me on directions to return the product. They said they were sorry about the mistake. I consider this to be blatant erroneous advertising that should be stopped.

Desired Settlement: That the company be penalized for this flagrant misrepresentation, require to remove or correct the ad and offer compensation to others who have purchased the product, but have not come forth to complain.

Business Response: our directions are as follows:

The bag directions are for starting a new lawn.......and this can also can be scattered by hand or in a lawn spreader...for adding to an established lawn.


*****
Customer Service

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because: The bag instructions cover new lawns, established lawns and spot repairs. In all 3 cases, preparations and additional materials are required unlike the ad which states "No preparation. Just broadcast seed, water or let nature do it." In addition they were to get back to me with instructions regarding product return and I have yet to hear anything. Called early yesterday AM. 



Regards,

******** ******

Business Response: The return address is as follows:


Fosdick
26 Barnes Industrial Rd. North
Wallingford Ct.   06492
Attn:   Returns....


*****
Customer Service

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:I believe the company should provide me a shipping account so I do not have to pay for the return. I also believe that they should amend their ad for this product to provide more accurate information regarding what is required for installation. In the interim I am disputing their charge with my credit card company. 



Regards,

******** ******

4/21/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I ordered 2 lb bag of the Canada Green grass seed. It germinated but then died within three weeks. They said that there was an unconditional money back or replacement guarantee on the product. I have contacted the company through their Best Buy Direct distributor and was told that someone front he company would be contacting me. It has been here weeks and still nothing. I would like to file a complaint for the lack of response and the replacement/refund guarantee.

Desired Settlement: To get my refund sent to me.

Business Response: Hi

We will send a replacement to them......this order is a year old...and cannot refund money over a year.



*****
Best Buys Direct

Consumer Response: [A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********* and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Regards,

*** *****

2/12/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues
10/3/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I ORERED A CAN OF LEX1 SPRAY AND GOT 2 BILLS. ONE IS FOR 3CANS OF SRAY AND THE OTHER IS FOR 1 . I ONLY ORDERED 1 CAN

Desired Settlement: I JUST WANT 1 CAN OF SPRAY NOT 4

Business Response: Attn: BBB

This order has been cancelled on 9/24 for the 3cans of Leakender.



*****
Customer Service

Consumer Response: [A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********* and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Regards,

***** *******

8/13/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues
7/30/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
5/29/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues
5/23/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I ordered grass seed and they shipped it out but never put the actual alphabetic part of my address on the shipping label, therefore it was sent back. They never called me to let me know of the problem I had to call the shipping carrier and they explained what happened. Called the company and spoke with ***** who was rude and not very helpful. I finally requested a refund after no help from them. I was told it would take 5-7 business days and almost 30 days later still waiting. Finally I guess they got tired of me calling and stated they issued me a credit. That was suppose to have been done on 4/30 and still nothing. They told me to call my card company because they did their part and my bank stated that nothing has been received or pending. Called back and spoke with **** a manager and she stated it has been processed and I should wait 30 days. All I want is my money because this business is apparently not trustworthy.

Desired Settlement: I would like my credit to my credit card and not have to keep calling them and waiting anger 30 days.

Business Response: Hi


A refund was issued to this customer..



*****
Customer Service

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:
They sent me an email back on 4/30/2014 stating they issued a credit and here it is 5/22/2014 and still no credit. I have called that bank where my card is from and they have no documentation of  credit from this company or anything pending. I have told the company this and still nothing. They keep telling me it is done and their is nothing they can do but to wait. There is no credit apparently coming. I do not feel that it should take almost 30 dyas for it to go back on my card. All i want is my credit ASAP.........


Regards,

Tanya Jefferson





























Business Response:
We were told when issuing this refund that it can take up to 30days to post depending on the card company....the refund was done on 4/25.

The following number I had given to *** ********* to check with the card company reference number *****************************..this was given to me by ***** ***********





*****
Customer Service

4/22/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues
3/27/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I wanted to buy one 18lb bag of grass seed online, somehow, two bags were ordered (order #*********. The company does not give any way to delete one of the orders. I called the only 800 number available. The person I talked to said they would have someone from customer service contact me withing 5 days. That was on 01/13/14. On 03/18/14: I received this email: Dear ******* * ********, Thank you for your recent order from Best Buys Direct. Your order ***************** has been shipped on 03/18/14 to the following address: ******* * ******** *** ******** ***** ********** ** ***** No one has contacted me and when I called the 800 number again, they said the same thing to me They are shipping me 6lbs. They are billing me for $180.00 for 36lbs.

Desired Settlement: I just want the 18lbs for $90 free shipping.

Business Response: *******Hi

We are shipping the 18lbs. of grass seed to *** *********



*****
Customer Service

Consumer Response: Complaint: 9977097

I am rejecting this response because:



Regards,

Michael Ferguson


Before I sign off on the complaint, I want to be sure I am refunded $90.00 of $180.00 and receive the 18lbs. of grass seed.  I have attached the letter (above) I received from the grass seed company.

 The form you sent me just states that they will send me the grass seed. It does not say anything about the refund.  I hate to be anal about wording, however, I would hate ti sign off and not get my refund.



 























Business Response: Hi

Your refund was done on 3/21.

The shipment will be delivered 3/27.



*****
Customer Service

Consumer Response: [A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Regards,

Michael Ferguson



















5/14/2013 Guarantee/Warranty Issues
5/7/2013 Problems with Product/Service
3/8/2013 Problems with Product/Service
11/14/2012 Problems with Product/Service
9/14/2012 Problems with Product/Service