BBB Accredited Business since

Comfort House

Phone: (973) 242-8080 Fax: (973) 242-0131 189 Frelinghuysen Ave, Newark, NJ 07114 http://www.comforthouse.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Comfort House meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Comfort House include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 5 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

5 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 4
Total Closed Complaints 5

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Comfort House
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: January 27, 2003 Business started: 04/01/1991 Business started locally: 04/01/1991 Business incorporated 04/01/1991 in NJ
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Jeffrey Gornstein, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Jeffrey Gornstein, President
Business Category

Internet Shopping


Additional Locations

  • 189 Frelinghuysen Ave

    Newark, NJ 07114 (973) 242-8080

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

1/12/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
9/24/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
9/5/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Purchased a Dynatrap DT2000XL Insect Eliminator from this company that was advertised to come with "includes two 6-watt UV bulbs (3000 hours/4 months), metal stand, and retaining cage. 115 volts; AC; 7' power cord. 1-year mfg. warranty."This did not come with the metal stand. When contacted they stated that what I bought does not come with the metal stand even though it was advertised. I requested some sort of replacement for the stand so I could hang this bug system as suggested by retailer. I was informed that if the product is eligible to be returned, I could return it at my own cost. Item #: 65611F Order comfort*******

Desired Settlement: I would like for them to send me any metal stand that I can hang this on , or a credit me for not including a part of the product that was advertised that I purchased

Business Response: Hi-

The client is correct the item did not come with a metal stand although metal stand was stated in our ad.  We apologize greatly for this error.  A stand had originally been included but there was a manufacturer’s specification change and it was removed from the package.  In error, the description was not fully updated when we removed the photo showing the item with the stand.

We rectified the description as soon as Ms. ******** made us aware of the error.  We informed her on July 22nd that since there was an error, the merchandise may be returned to us without any cost to her and we provided instructions on how to send it back using our prepaid label.

When we then received this compliant on 7/30, we called Ms. ******** and again informed her that the merchandise can be returned at our cost, not at her cost, with instructions on sending it back using our prepaid label.

Unfortunately we do not have a stand to send since this product no longer includes a stand.  We will issue a refund in full once the merchandise is received back.  She has 30 days from receipt of her delivery to return the merchandise.  If she wishes to keep the item, we will be happy to issue a store credit of $10 towards her next purchase to help make up for the inconvenience.

Thank you,
Comfort House

1/9/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
12/24/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I bought a box of six Cuisinart GF-80 Cleanwater Coutertop replacement Filters from ComfortHouse.com on 10/22/12 for my Cuisinart CleanWater 2-Gallon Coutertop Water-Filtration System. Several months later, I conclude that four out of six filters are defective. I contacted Comfort House on 6/05/13 and they told me that the warranty period of the product I purchased is 90 days, so they cannot do anything about it. The reason I want to file a complaint is because it is impossible for me to know if any filters has defective or not during 90 days because the way the water-filtration system works. It is a common sense to replace a filter for any water dispenser every three to four months. For the one I purchased, the manual says every three months. The first filter I used is a functioning one so I used it for three months (90 days). Three months later, when I replaced it with the second filter, and I found it is defective. However, the 90 days warranty period has passed. It is unreasonable to ask anyone to "try" or "test" all six filters right away after the purchase, before you actually need to replace an existing dirty filter. Given the fact that each filter is sealed in a plastic bag to prevent dust, and once you "test" it, how would you store it and keep it dry and clean again? On top of that, there are 6 steps from the manual to setup a filter and it takes 20 ***utes to setup each filter. I also contacted Cuisinart regarding this, and they said the retailer is responsible for selling defective products.

Desired Settlement: I am seeking for partial refund.

Business Response:

Good morning. We received your complaint concerning ***-*** ****.

To address the matter, we’ve  never received a single complaint or even heard about a problem with a Cuisinart Water Filter before ***-*** **** contacted us in June of 2013 about an October 2012 purchase of 6 filters which were $12 each at that time.

We’re sorry this client had a problem with them, however, it was many months beyond our return time when. customer contacted us and customer was referred to Cuisinart customer service for warranty assistance. We dispute the fact that Cuisinart advised this client that we sold defective products. I don’t believe there is any possible way anyone from Cuisinart, whom we‘ve done business with for 15 years, would say to a consumer that Comfort House sells defective product.

If Cuisinart is unable to replace the filters directly under factory warranty, which is the normal procedure, customer should immediately send them back to Comfort House and we will as a courtesy replace them, free of charge despite the purchase being made over one year ago. Customer must first provide the specific name and phone extension of the representative at Cuisinart who told the custom er that Cuisinart would not be able to assist them as we will have to supply this information to Cuisinart to be reimbursed for the replacement merchandise. If client does not have the information. about the Cuisinart representative, it must be obtained again from Cuisinart so that it can be provided to us to process a replacement.

Based on the fact this order was placed over a year ago, and that our store has documented 30- day return policy, and that proper procedure was followed by referring client to Cuisinart when he contacted us in June, I don’t believe this should be considered a valid complaint and count on our record. I therefore request this dispute be dismissed and that this response be provided to customer. on an. informational basis only so that the merchandise can be replaced for him if Cuisinart is unable to.

Sincerely yours,


Consumer Response: [A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Regards,

***-*** ****





















Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

1 Customer Review on Comfort House
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart