BBB Accredited Business since

Comfort House

Phone: (973) 242-8080 Fax: (973) 242-0131 189 Frelinghuysen Ave, Newark, NJ 07114 http://www.comforthouse.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Comfort House meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Comfort House include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 6 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

6 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 5
Total Closed Complaints 6

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Comfort House
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: January 27, 2003 Business started: 04/01/1991 Business started locally: 04/01/1991 Business incorporated 04/01/1991 in NJ
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Jeffrey Gornstein, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Jeffrey Gornstein, President
Business Category

Internet Shopping


Additional Locations

  • 189 Frelinghuysen Ave

    Newark, NJ 07114 (973) 242-8080

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

1/12/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
9/24/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
9/5/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Purchased a Dynatrap DT2000XL Insect Eliminator from this company that was advertised to come with "includes two 6-watt UV bulbs (3000 hours/4 months), metal stand, and retaining cage. 115 volts; AC; 7' power cord. 1-year mfg. warranty."This did not come with the metal stand. When contacted they stated that what I bought does not come with the metal stand even though it was advertised. I requested some sort of replacement for the stand so I could hang this bug system as suggested by retailer. I was informed that if the product is eligible to be returned, I could return it at my own cost. Item #: 65611F Order comfort*******

Desired Settlement: I would like for them to send me any metal stand that I can hang this on , or a credit me for not including a part of the product that was advertised that I purchased

Business Response: Hi-

The client is correct the item did not come with a metal stand although metal stand was stated in our ad.  We apologize greatly for this error.  A stand had originally been included but there was a manufacturer’s specification change and it was removed from the package.  In error, the description was not fully updated when we removed the photo showing the item with the stand.

We rectified the description as soon as Ms. ******** made us aware of the error.  We informed her on July 22nd that since there was an error, the merchandise may be returned to us without any cost to her and we provided instructions on how to send it back using our prepaid label.

When we then received this compliant on 7/30, we called Ms. ******** and again informed her that the merchandise can be returned at our cost, not at her cost, with instructions on sending it back using our prepaid label.

Unfortunately we do not have a stand to send since this product no longer includes a stand.  We will issue a refund in full once the merchandise is received back.  She has 30 days from receipt of her delivery to return the merchandise.  If she wishes to keep the item, we will be happy to issue a store credit of $10 towards her next purchase to help make up for the inconvenience.

Thank you,
Comfort House

1/9/2014 Problems with Product/Service
12/24/2013 Problems with Product/Service
7/14/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable