This business is not BBB accredited.

The Weather Busters - Heating and Cooling

Phone: (201) 368-0005 85 South Farview Avenue, Paramus, NJ 07652 ! The Weather Busters - Heating and Cooling is Believed to Be Out of Business !


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Based on BBB files, this business has a BBB Rating of No Rating. The reason is as follows:

  • This business has no rating because BBB has information indicating it is out of business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

11 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 4
Problems with Product/Service 7
Total Closed Complaints 11

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on The Weather Busters - Heating and Cooling
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: May 01, 2003 Business started: 01/01/1972 Business started locally: 01/01/1972 Business incorporated 10/01/1972 in NJ
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Jim, General Manager Ms. Denise Fano, Office Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Jim, General Manager
Business Category

Air Conditioning Contractors & Systems Heating Contractors

Alternate Business Names
Airflow Systems By Palisade-Temptrol, Inc.

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    85 South Farview Avenue

    Paramus, NJ 07652 (201) 368-0005

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

1/6/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a furnace, air conditioner and 5 year maintenance contract including air filters with this company in May 2012. I have just learned the company went out of business in January. They did not contact me to let me know or provide any fix for failing to complete their service agreement.

Desired Settlement: I am owed 6 maintenance visits (2 per year) and 3 filters at a value of approximately $700.

8/12/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a new Boiler in March of 2013 and paid for an extended 5 year warranty which was over $1600. I called the company number ************ and was told by the person answering the phone that Weather Busters had closed, however, they are a heating and cooling company and they can take a service call. I find it very fishy that a heating and cooling company has the the same telephone number as Weather Busters. I think this is a scam because they do not want to honor their warranty. The new company said that Weather Busters closed in November of 2013 but I received a call from a Technitian in January 2014 asking if I wanted to go ahead with the HVAC replacement.. Fishy

Desired Settlement: I would like a full refund of my extended warranty or soemthing done to this company because I am sure that there are other people out there that have been scammed by this company.

6/18/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have paid for service contracts for 5 years with this company who installed both my air conditioning and my new boiler hearing unit. They claim to be suspending operations due to a family emergency. I visiting their location at the address listing in the complaint and it's empty with all the customer files thrown into huge dumpsters. When I found an alternative phone number that belonged to one of the installers, it was picked up by a woman who claimed the company was "A Degree Above Heating and Cooling. She claimed they had no affiliation to The Weather Busters but gave me a roundabout explaination as to why they were still using The Weather Busters phone numbers. It's clear they've changed their names in order to avoid fulfilling the commitment to the 100's of service contracts they sold at an average price of $800! That should have run for 5 years! This is not FAIR practice, I want someone to dig into the paperwork and find out the trail of tears on this stinky scam!

Desired Settlement: I want to company who bought all of The Weather Busters phone numbers and contacts to also have to uphold the service contracts to customers who paid good money for them in good faith to The Weather Busters 

6/11/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased an HVAC system from this company with a 5 year maintenance agreement. They closed their doors in January and are not honoring the maintenance agreement. However the number rolls over to a new company thats willing to provide maintenance for an additional fee. The new company told me they are only previous employees and have no affiliation with the Weather Busters. They told me that they were lucky to receive the same phone number as the Weather Busters. I believe they switched owners on paper but the same people are running the new company. The new company is * ****** ***** ******* * ******* *** ****** ****** ** ***** ************************************** ************************************* ************** **************

Desired Settlement: Refund the maintenance agreement or honor previous companies agreement.

5/20/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: i have had a service contract with Weatherbusters of Paramus for my heating and cooling systems for a number of years. My last contract was to be in effect from 1/1/14 to 1/1/15 for a total cost of $546.00 which I paid. Today, 5/15/14 , I called to schedule my spring maintenence and found out that the company is no longer in business and the company that has taken over, * ****** ****** did not purchase any service agreements from the prior company. I was told that those agreements were with *******. Is there a way to get any of my money back?

5/16/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: In May, 2010, I purchased a new heating/cooling unit with a 10-year warranty contract valid until May 31, 2021. I had issues this winter and received service on 12-6-13. In February, 2014, I called for another service call due to issues occurring again from 12-6-13 service call. When I called the company which goes by Airflow Systems and Weatherbusters (NJ Reg# 13VH00016400) I received a recorded message as follows: Due to a family emergency, Weatherbusters has ceased operations sorry for any inconvenience. I have emailed the General Manager, *** ****** and my email was returned undeliverable. I continued to call and received the same message until today (4-22-14) that the line has been disconnected. Customers in my condominium building did not receive any notice or correspondence as to the next step regarding our service contracts. I appreciate any information you can provide regarding this company. Thank you, ***** ******

Desired Settlement: I would like to know who is taking over the customers for this company and would like my current warranty contract honored by them. I would also appreciate something in writing from the company. In the past, they were very professional but now it is as if they have disappeared and left no way for customers to reach them.

5/7/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I had a service contract with this comapny that ends 08/2015 which includes two service visits for my HVAC and I just learned that the company just shut down back in the end of January and they are no where to be contacted or located. They replaced my HVAC system and I had warranties on the units but now I don;t know if they are still valid since the comapny shut down and failed to notify their customers

Desired Settlement: I want to be reimbursed for the services and I want to know what happens to my warranties.

4/2/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: In early summer 2013, Weather Busters installed a ******** air conditioning unit in my home. Despite their numerous attempts to fix it over the course of the summer, it has never worked properly. We have a written contract that says: "100% money back guarantee: we guarantee that the equipment we have installed will perform as we have stated. If the system does not heat and cool your home to your satisfaction, we will remove it and return 100% of your investment." I called Weather Busters at the phone number on the contract (###-###-####) in January to claim the refund. I spoke with *********, who asked me to call back after he had a chance to speak with the vendor of the equipment. I called back approximately two weeks later and received this voice mail message: "You have reached the Weather Busters. Due to a family emergency, we have temporarily suspended operations. We apologize for any inconvenience this may have caused. Please do not leave a message in this voice mail as it will not be checked." This has been the voice mail message for over three weeks now. I was able to locate Mr.******, who has now left the company; I called him on February 27, and he told me he was no longer employed at Weather Busters, saying "I was let go along with everyone else." According to Mr.******, Weather Busters is owned by *** **** but may be in the process of being sold. I have not been able to find Mr.****. I have also tried calling the employee, **** ******** (###-###-####), whose name is on the contract, but he has not returned my call.

Desired Settlement: Full refund of $9,503.00 for the defective unit Weather Busters installed.

4/2/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: In May 2013 we contracted The Weather Busters to install heating and air conditioning units in our child care center. We also purchased a maintenance plan and warranty for the units. On February 5th, 2013 our heating units stopped working. Upon calling The Weather Busters, we were surprised with a voice mail message which stated that "due to a family emergency" they have "temporarily suspended operations". No further information or alternate contact arrangements were provided. Today is the 5th day that our units have not worked and we have no way of getting in touch with The Weather Busters.

Desired Settlement: Our desired outcome is that The Weather Busters comply with our contract and provide the service and repair that our units need to work properly. In addition, we expect a maintenance plan refund for the pro-rated time that our units have not been working and that we have not been able to reach The Weather Busters for assistance.

3/20/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We purchased a new York furnace, AC ,and a water heater from Weather Busters of Paramus, NJ in July of 2013. They said we could get a contract for service/maintenance with them. Recently the furnace has been leaking badly, something is definitely wrong. We called them for servicing and were told the company is now out of business.. Any guarantees or warrantees we had with them are gone. Any suggestions as to what we may be able do re the company and the faulty furnace? Thank you for you help. **

Desired Settlement: The furnace will be repaired at no cost as soon as possible

10/6/2013 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on The Weather Busters - Heating and Cooling
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)