Accredited Business Directory
Find Businesses You Can Trust
Home - Roofing Contractors
Unless a homeowner decides to re-roof solo, adding a roof means hiring a roofer. Just about anyone can come up with three or four good references, so consumers should not rely ONLY on references.

Ask to see the contractors license and certificate of liability insurance.

Ask if the new roof has a warranty?

What does it cover (labor & workmanship or just the shingles)?

Does the manufacturer require felt paper to be put on the decking before putting on the new shingles?

Is there enough attic ventilation?

What are the manufacturer specifications for the roof that your contractor is considering?

Do you have all the specifics ?

Ask the contractor to leave behind a bundle of shingles just in case you encounter a wind damage, you will then have replacement shingles that match your existing roof.

The following information has been supplied by the Tennessee State Board of Licensing Contractors:

Home Improvement:
A Home Improvement license is required for residential remodeling projects from $3,000 to less than $25,000 (total cost or contract, including materials and labor), for the following counties: Bradley, Davidson, Hamilton, Haywood, Knox, Marion, Robertson, Rutherford and Shelby.

NEW! See important law changes applying only to those roofers performing work to be covered

by insurance - Public Chapter 821 (Effective July 1, 2012)

Roofing contractors being paid by insurance companies, must include specific consumer

protection language in their contract: 1) Right to cancel within 3 days; 2) Ccontact

information: Address, Telephone Number, License #, Email Address; and 3) Detailed

Description of Repairs. See Public Chapter 821 for more information in the law.

Contractor's License:
Who is Required to be a Licensed?
A Tennessee contractor's license is required BEFORE bidding or offering a price, for projects $25,000 and up (includes materials and labor), as a prime (general) contractor; and also subcontractors performing electrical, mechanical, plumbing, HVAC, roofing and masonry are also required to be licensed as a contractor, when the total portion on the project is $25,000 or more; masonry, when $100,000 or more.

In addition, a sub to a sub would need to be licensed whenever there are more than one (1) subcontractors on the project. Reciprocal agreements do NOT allow using another state's license in Tennessee, but provides a trade exam waiver, only. License issuance takes 4 to 6 weeks and must be approved by the Board during regularly scheduled meetings (see Public Meeting Calendar for meeting dates).

A Contractor's license is required prior to contracting (bidding, offering to engage, or negotiating a price) for projects $25,000 or more, when acting as one of the following:

Prime (General) Contractor - Bidding or contracting directly with the "owner" of the project;

Subcontractor - Contracting directly with any contractor (not to the owner) to perform projects when the total cost of that portion on the project is *$25,000 or more, for the following (includes all materials, equipment, and labor):

o Electrical, Mechanical, Plumbing, HVAC, and **Roofing; and

o Masonry when *$100,000 and up

o Construction Management - When the value of the total project is $25,000 or more.

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.


BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.