2016 BBB Torch Award for Ethics Winners Announced

October 27, 2016

This year’s winners of Better Business Bureau of Minnesota and North Dakota’s ® (BBB) Torch Awards for Ethics were named at a ceremony held earlier today at the University of Minnesota’s McNamara Alumni Center. BBB Torch Awards for Ethics recognize premier area businesses which display an outstanding level of ethics and integrity in all aspects of their day to day operations.

The 2016 BBB Torch Award winners are:

  • Category I (1-10 employees):

Twin Cities Care, Edina, MN

  • Category II (11-50 employees):

Uptown Plumbing, Heating and Cooling, Minneapolis, MN  

  • Category III (51 - 175 employees):

Genz-Ryan, Burnsville, MN

  • Category IV (176+ employees):

SPIRE Credit Union, Falcon Heights, MN 

“It always humbles us to present these awards,” said Dana Badgerow, president and CEO of the BBB of Minnesota and North Dakota. “Each and every year, it showcases the caliber of businesses our marketplace is comprised of, and the premium so many outstanding firms place on doing the right thing.”

More than 300 business owners and community leaders attended today’s ceremony. Television and radio host Lee Valsvik once again served as emcee at the event, and entrepreneur and author Ross Bernstein was the keynote speaker.

“Learning about the worthy businesses chosen as finalists and winners is always uplifting,” said David Aafedt, Chairman of the Board for BBB and shareholder at Winthrop & Weinstine. “One thing stands out loud and clear: their commitment to ethics is unwavering.”

Six area students also received BBB Student of Integrity Scholarships. These awards are presented to Minnesota and North Dakota high school seniors who demonstrate through essay or video their understanding of ethics and the impact personal integrity has made in their lives. The prize amounts and this year’s scholarship winners are:

  • $4,500; Allyson Gillen, Mahtomedi Senior High School; Mahtomedi, MN
  • $2,500; Jasmine Ochoa, Tartan High School; Oakdale, MN
  • $2,500; Micayla Bitz, Mandan High School; Mandan, ND
  • $2,500; Brooklyn Vollmer, Wing Public School; Wing, ND
  • $1,500; Rebecca Haller, Glenburn Public School; Glenburn, ND
  • $1,000; Ashley Solvie, Morris Area High School; Morris, MN

BBB presents the Torch Awards for Ethics each year. They are open to all for-profit businesses located within the Minnesota and North Dakota region. Nominees are offered the opportunity to submit an entry to BBB, where a panel of independent volunteer business and community leaders review the entries and choose the winners.

Sponsors for the event are: iHeartMedia Minneapolis; Minneapolis/St. Paul Business Journal; Clear Channel Outdoor; Cloud Media; YPC Media; NFP Corporate Service; Best Buy; JNBA Financial Advisors; Luther Automotive Group; Select Comfort Corporation; Standard Water Control Systems; Carpet King; Comcast Business; and Rippe Print

Scholarship sponsors: North Star Resource Group, CenterPoint Energy, Northland Group, My Pillow, KleinBank, SPIRE Credit Union, Citizens Independent Bank and Valley Pools and Spas