Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Louisville Handyman, Inc.

Phone: (502) 244-1501 View Additional Phone Numbers 13000 Middletown Industrial Blvd. Suite B, Louisville, KY 40223 http://www.louhandyman.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Registered Remodeler with HBAL; Handyman Service; Bath Remodeling; Kitchen Remodeling; Basement Remodeling; Drywall repairs; Crown Molding; Custom Cabinets; Shelving; Doors and Windows; Pet Doors; Lighting and Fans; Plumbing Repairs; Decks; Ramps and Handrails; Pressure Washing; Gutter Cleaning; Tile Work; Flooring; Painting; Caulking; Move Furniture.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Louisville Handyman, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Louisville Handyman, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Industry Ratings Comparison | Chart


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Louisville Handyman, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: October 22, 2002 Business started: 05/24/2002 in KY Business incorporated 05/24/2002 in KY
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Joseph G. French, Owner Mrs. Traci Talton, Office Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Joseph G. French, Owner
Business Category

HANDYMAN SERVICES DOOR CLOSERS & CHECKS-REPAIRING DOORS-REPAIR DRYWALL CONTRACTORS GUTTERS & DOWNSPOUTS PAINTING CONTRACTORS TILE-CERAMIC-CONTRACTORS & DEALERS CABINET MAKERS CABINETS COUNTER TOPS DOOR CLOSERS & CHECKS DOOR FRAMES DOORS TILE-NON-CERAMIC-CONTRACTORS & DEALERS BATHS LIGHTING FIXTURES-REPAIRG & MAINT PRESSURE WASHING KITCHEN & BATH DESIGN BASEMENT - CONTRACTORS BASEMENT - FINISHING GUTTER CLEANING DOORS - INSTALLATION DECK CLEANING & SEALING DECKS REMODELING SERVICES KITCHEN & BATH-DESIGN & REMODELING HOME IMPROVEMENTS CONSTRUCTION & REMODELING SERVICES CLOSET DESIGN & REMODEL BATHROOM REMODELING BASEMENT - REMODELING

Method(s) of Payment
Cash, Check, Visa, Discover, AmX.    
Industry Tips
Home Improvement and Other Contractors

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Louisville Handyman, Inc. has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 13000 Middletown Industrial Blvd. Suite B

    Louisville, KY 40223 (502) 292-2727 (502) 244-1501

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

12/24/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: In a recent attempt to switch out outlets in a newly purchased home, we realized we needed some professional assistance in our kitchen. We called the phone # for Louisville Handyman as the previous owners left an advertising magnet for them on the fridge. Upon calling, we asked specifically if Louisville Handyman could provide the service needed to fix the outlets. We were told "yes" and an appointment was made. No complaints on arrival time or the friendliness of the serviceman; however, through conversation about our issue it appeared he was not familiar with our needed repair. After 30 minutes of looking at the outlet--accomplishing no more that what I had already done, our serviceman told us he would need to go to The **** ***** to buy an outlet tester. When he left, we realized this man--at no fault of his own--was sent to do a job he was not trained to do nor equipped to do with the appropriate tools. After he made several comments indicating he wasn't familiar with our needed type of repair, we didn't feel comfortable having him return to continue to work on the electrical portion of our home. We called the business to tell him not to return from the store with the tester. We are still being charged $125 for a service, which was never rendered. If they had initially informed us that they don't have servicemen familiar with our needed electrical repair, I would have never booked an appointment. I suppose we could have allowed the man to return to potentially fix our electrical, but how long would that have taken. Charges were per hour of service--who knows how long it would have taken a novice to complete the job. As I lacked confidence in his knowledge and I don't feel comfortable doing only a half job with electrical--I would have been calling another company after he left to ensure code. I couldn't drain my bank account on a service in which I lacked confidence. At this point, I must call another professional to fix my kitchen electrical.

Desired Settlement: I would not have booked an appointment with this company had they not stated they could complete the job. After an 15 minutes, it was clear the man knew no more about a resolution than I did. Payment with Louisville Handyman is by the hour--assuming the service is properly provided. I would like a refund of my $125.

Business Response:

Response:

Our office received a call from Ms. **** requesting Louisville Handyman swap out (7) outlets in her kitchen. Our understanding from Mrs. ****'s description was that this was a simple change of outlets from one color to another and that she had started the project but could not finish it. Mrs. **** booked the work and paid an $125 deposit which is our minimum charge and covers travel costs and up to 1 hour of work. When we arrived to swap the outlets, the situation was much different than described, including changing (3) way switches and GFI's which had been disconnected and/or had the wiring mixed up. If Mrs. **** had accurately described the work, we would have routed out one of our licensed electrical subcontractors and this project would have run smoothly. Louisville Handyman employees work hard every day to do the right thing and take care of our customers. If Mrs. **** had shared that she expected a refund and/or given us time to discuss the situation, we could have resolved her concerns without this unnecessary BBB complaint. We will be refunding Mrs. ****'s deposit but hope she will communicate more clearly going forward.

1/15/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Just want to spread the warning, if you're making home improvements in the new year, do NOT hire this company. They were difficult to work with, overcharged me, apologized over the phone for what they'd done and said the bill was paid off, then they have continued to send erroneous bills ever since. Now they've sent a letter implying they want to put a lien on the house. In our follow-up phone calls they have denied saying we were "even" (after I overpaid), and have argued with me about how long their handymen were at my house (I was there, I had them leave). FWIW, they job they did took about 15 min. They advised 2 hours, I paid upfront, and when I arrived 45 min into that time, they were sitting on my back porch smoking and having a break. At that point the handymen began complaining about their bosses to me, saying "You wouldn't believe what we have to put up with, they're so hard to deal with." Yes, they are. Repeat: do not hire Louisville Handyman. They're a huge pain, from their secretary who referred to me as "**** ****" and failed to return phone calls, forcing me to go out of my way to chase them down to receive the abuse that followed, to their multiple managers/owners who can't agree on how to resolve a customer complaint. Being told by one of the owners "I don't want you to feel ripped off, so don't expect any further billing from us," (probably because he already realized I'd been overcharged) was a promise not honored by the other owner, who said "The person you spoke to didn't have the right to make that statement." I've kept quiet about it because obviously any small business with this much lack of business acumen is doomed to failure, but since they are threatening to put a lien on my home now, I wanted to advise as many people as possible to NEVER WORK WITH LOUISVILLE HANDYMAN. They are not worth the trouble. I actually thought when they wrote me, it was to refund my money, they have given us so much hassle. Imagine my surprise to learn they wanted more for their 15 min of work + 30 min smoke break.

Desired Settlement: Write the bill off, since I already overpaid. Your people explained to me that the disposal of the doors amounted to piling them up with other garbage at your work place and definitely wasn't worth charging $150 for. You apologized profusely for what you did to begin with and said you would waive that fee and there would be no further bills because you "didn't want me to feel ripped off." Now stand by your apologies, and I'll let you keep the extra 15 min of two-man team billable time.

Business Response:

This email is in response to the recent BBB compliant # ******* filed by Mrs. ****.


Louisville Handyman has responded directly to Mrs. **** via email this morning as she contacted us directly.


Below is a copy of the email that was sent to Mrs ****.


We feel the BBB compliant filed by Mrs. **** is not accurate, nor valid. 


Please advise us of any next steps or recommendations to resolve this matter.



*** *******

*********

Louisville Handyman, Inc.

************

 

==================================================================================================

***** *** ******* ***** ********** ******* *** **** ***** **
*** *********************** ******** *** *** ********* ***** ******* **** *******



Mrs. ****:

 

We received your email and the BBB complaint against our company.  It is quite possible that there was some miscommunication on our part, as nobody is perfect, but there has been some miscommunication on your side as well.

 

Louisville Handyman was initially called out to remove and dispose of 3 sliding glass doors on a time and materials basis (T&M).  *****, our office manager, told you that the minimum charge for labor would be $160.00 (for the first hour) and then $125 per hour thereafter billed in ¼ hour increments, plus an extra charge of $150 to haul away and dispose of the 3 old doors. ***** informed you that the minimum would be $160 labor, plus $150 disposal fee or $310.00 total, but it could be more than that amount if it took us longer than the 1 hour minimum. You placed a deposit of $160 on your credit card on 10/10/13 when you booked the appointment with *****, which covered the first hour of labor and is Louisville Handyman’s normal practice for T&M jobs.

 

When our two Craftsmen arrived at your house as scheduled on 10/11/13 to remove the doors, no one was home to provide them with direction and a total of 5 doors were marked. Our Craftsmen called the office to make us aware of the situation. ****, our estimator, immediately called you to discuss which doors you wanted us to remove since 5 were marked, when you had only booked for us to remove 3. You confirmed with **** that there were now a total of 5 doors which were marked with tape and that you wanted all 5 doors removed and hauled away. **** informed you that there would likely be some extra cost due to the extra time that it would take to remove 5 doors versus 3 doors and the extra cost to dispose of 5 doors versus 3 doors. You told **** to proceed with removing all 5 doors and disposing of them.

 

I know that when you stopped by the house to check on things, you saw our Craftsmen taking a break on the back porch.  In your email, you allege that our Craftsmen were saying bad things about the company. This would be completely out of character for them I spoke with both of them and they say this allegation is simply not true.  What you saw when you arrived was our Craftsmen taking a quick break since they had just removed 5 extremely heavy glass doors, hand carried them from the back of the house to the front of the house, and loaded them onto our trailer.  The break was simply them resting for a minute before they started cleaning up and strapping down the doors to the trailer to be hauled away for disposal.  

 

You also state that the job only took about 15 minutes.  This too is inaccurate.  We were onsite from 1:27 PM to 2:48 PM (1.25 hours), according to the GPS that we have installed on our vehicles.  In addition to the 1.25 hours onsite, one craftsman had to pick up a trailer prior to coming to your house. 

 

Upon completion of the job we invoiced you based upon the time spent on site, as is the normal procedure for a T&M job, and sent your invoice for $435.00 on October 18, 2013. This invoice included $191.25 for labor (1.25 hours spent on site) and $243.75 for disposal fee for 5 doors versus 3 doors.

 

On October 29, Mr. **** called the office and he and I discussed matters.  Upon agreeing that there were some miscommunications and misperceptions, I agreed to reduce Louisville Handyman’s bill by $100.00 to resolve the matter.  We sent you an updated invoice on October 30, 2013 for $335.00.

 

Following that, we made several attempts to contact you about the balance due, all of which were ignored:

 

Nov 15:  Mailed the adjusted invoice to you again

Dec 2:  Mailed you a statement and letter

Dec 20:  Mailed a second letter

 

The bottom line is that we did everything we said we would do, and billed you per the rates that you were quoted.  At Mr. ****’s request, we reduced our bill by $100.  You currently have a balance due of $179.32, not counting additional finance charges and/or collection charges which will continue to be added. You should recognize that the updated invoice we sent on October 30 was for $335.00 which was only $25.00 more than the minimum charge you were quoted to remove 3 doors and dispose of them when we actually removed 5 doors and disposed of them.

 

All of the social media outlets available today (Facebook, Twitter, etc.) certainly make it easy to commit libel.  The fact that it is easy does not make it right, and certainly does not make it legal.  Be advised that making false accusations can have unintended, and serious consequences.  

 

Louisville Handyman works very hard to deliver a quality service and we expect to be paid for the services that we provide. We will be providing a follow-up response to the BBB for the compliant that you have filed and intend to pursue the outstanding balance and interest owed in small claims court if necessary.  It would be in the best interest of everyone at this point if you would simply pay your bill so we do not have to proceed with a lien.

 

 

*** *******

President

Louisville Handyman, Inc.

************ ********

************ ****** ************ ***** *******************

 


Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

*** *******,

Mr. ****, though well-intentioned, was not authorized to speak on behalf of me and of affairs regarding the house of which I retain sole ownership of.

As certainly as you have chosen not stand behind your employee ****'s word, then you must understand that any agreement you made with Mr. **** is not an agreement with me.

Your authorized agent **** said there would be no further bill and that is what I am going by.  Your authorized agents *** and the other repairman said it was a 15 minute job and that is what I am going by.

There is no crime in telling the truth, which I shall continue to do.

I gave you the chance to make this right, and expressed my dissatisfaction with your poor handling.  I was being kind to you in the first, exercising my rights in the second.  I shall continue to exercise my rights, but this will be the last time I give you the kindness of my time.

You are instructed not to contact me again unless through the BBB, or via the US mail.

Regards,

****** ****


 

 


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

1 Customer Review on Louisville Handyman, Inc.
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart