Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Hancock's Of Paducah

Phone: (270) 443-4410 Fax: (270) 442-3152 View Additional Phone Numbers 3841 Hinkleville Road, Paducah, KY 42001 http://www.hancocks-paducah.com View Additional Web Addresses


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Hancock's Of Paducah meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Hancock's Of Paducah include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Industry Ratings Comparison | Chart


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 2
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

4 Customer Reviews on Hancock's Of Paducah
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 2
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 2
Total Customer Reviews 4

Additional Information

BBB file opened: April 04, 1997 Business started: 10/01/1969 in KY Business incorporated 01/01/1969 in KY
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Blann Hancock, E Commerce Director Mr. Justin Hancock, Vice President Mr. W. R. Hancock, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Blann Hancock, E Commerce Director
Principal: Mr. Justin Hancock, Vice President
Principal: Mr. W. R. Hancock, President
Business Category

FABRIC SHOPS


Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Hancock's Of Paducah has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 3841 Hinkleville Road

    Paducah, KY 42001 (270) 443-4410 (800) 845-8723

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

7/6/2016 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On June 10, 2016 I placed on online order with *******'s of Paducah for 4 items, I received my order approximately 1 week later and upon opening it, I discovered that one of the items was not as it was described. The original desription clearly stated 50 assorted cuts of fabric approximately 9 x 15 inches in size. What I received was 50 custs of fabric but they are not assorted fabrics, I have duplicate and triplicate cuts of only 20 different fabrics. I have attempted to resolve this issue with *******'s of Paducah but to no avail. The customer service representatives that I have had contact with explain their method of creating an assortment means that a clerk goes to a pile of fabric, counts out 50 cuts of fabric with no regard to whether or not they are different fabric prints, and puts them into a bag for shipping. When I attmpted to explain that this does not result in assorted fabrics nor is it stated in the description that the package might contain duplicates, I was spoken to as if I were a child and simply dismissed. Almost looks like a "bate and switch" deal that we in Florida are very familar with. It was interesting to note that after my 1st contact with *******s, the description of the item now includes verbage stating "some duplicates my be included" so they obviously acknowledged their error but are not sending me the missing 30 pieces of assorted fabrics. I have been contacted by, I assume, a supervisor, regarding this who suggested that a second package be shipped and I could mix and match the fabrics with the hopes of coming up with 50 different designs. I have no plans of paying for another package, plus shipping, to correct their error. I was also informed that I could return the item for credit, again at my expense for their error. I simply would like to receive what I ordered and paid for, seems simple enough to me. I normally would never pursue a $25.00 item, however, the fact that I did not received what I ordered and paid for, the acknowledgement of their error by better describing the item on their website and they manner in which I was spoken to is causing me to pursue this matter. Thank you,

Desired Settlement: Receive what I ordered and paid for

Business Response:

******,

We apologize for the experience & will work to improve.  We are getting additional samples that will round out the Island Batik Sample Spree.  These will be sent out immediately.  

Thank You,

***** *******

************ * **** **************************

Consumer Response:
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution would be satisfactory to me.  I will wait for the business to perform this action and, if it does, will consider this complaint resolved.

Regards,

****** ******




 

3/23/2016 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On the website there was a stack of fabric advertised. It was a packet with 12 fat quarters of fabric. There was one fabric in particular that I really wanted and which tied the others together. When my order arrived, I had twelve fat quarters, but it did not include the one I really wanted. I called the company. I was told that the fabrics pictured on the website were just representative and that the actual fabrics sent could be any of those pictured. Well, sure enough, when one counted the fabrics pictured in the stack, there were actually 14 fabrics. It seems deceitful to picture things that are not going to be sent. When I explained that I really wanted one particular fabric I was told that I could return the set I had purchased, at my expense, then order a different package of these fabrics which did include the fabric I wanted and which was pictured on their website. Of course, the other set that was guaranteed to have the particular fabric was more expensive. I did look up the company and write a letter of complaint, but never heard back from them. I think it is incredibly dishonest to advertise a stack of fabric and then afterwards tell customers that the price didn't include everything shown, especially when the number of fabrics included was so close to the total number of fabrics shown. I ordered two of these packets of fabric. Even so, it was more expensive to return them and pay the HUGE price difference to get the patterned fabric I wanted than it was to simply buy the fabric from another source. It seems like deceptive advertising to me. I think the company should not be allowed to display their merchandise in this fashion. When looking at pre-cuts, if there are more shown than one would receive, I think it should say 12 of the 14 fabrics shown will be sent. We will chose for you. Then people will know that they are not going to receive everything pictured If you go to their website, click on precuts, then on fat quarters, you can see exactly what I am saying. This happened over a year ago and I am still so ticked at this deception and the company's unwillingness to deal with it, that I finally found out how to report it. It is too bad because I used to order from them but have stopped because of this issue. I hope you can save other people from having to deal with this situation.

Desired Settlement: The company will state clearly on their website, especially when showing multiple items, that what will be received will only be a subset of the items shown and that the consumer does not get to chose which items them receive.

Business Response:

Dear *********

We try hard to ensure all fabrics pictured in precut packs are representative the items that will be received.  However, this can become a problem due to the nature of the products availability.  Especially in cases, such as this, where the product is discounted.  At any rate, we try to update the representative image.  

That did not happen here & for that I apologize.  If you would like, I will be happy to try and find a substitute fabric close to that which you desire.  I will cut a enough fabric to allow for 2 fat quarters & have it shipped at no additional charge.

I hope this will help in your opinion of our company.  We were in no way attempting to deceive you.  I apologize for this inconvenience.

Sincerely,

***** ******* **************************

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

Hi,

I do appreciate the offer of some fat quarters (it was the teal print in the boysenberry that I was expecting), but what I would really like to see is an assurance that those fabric stacks that say 12 fat quarters will say if there are more than 12 fabrics in the stack pictured, you will receive twelve of them.  It will be our choice.  Or something to that effect so that people will not be disappointed when the fabric arrives and does not include what was expected.  Many catalogues do this.  They say available in red, green, and blue.  We will pick for you.  It is not such a hard thing to do.  It is just that I was so looking forward to that one fabric and was so disappointed when it wasn't in the pack.  Then, my attempts to resolve the situation with the company, calling and mailing a letter, were unsuccessful.  Printing something like the above would have saved a lot of time and effort.

Regards,

******** *****

1/30/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have make order for 12y of fabric and have paid for fabric and shipping. It was 87.88$ paid on January 07th. Thay have charged my on January 12th and January 16th for 67.92$ and 19.96$ without my knowledge. That makes total for 175.76$, that was not my ordering total. I make complain for it but I haven't got any answer for it. I hope they will return money on my credit cart.

Desired Settlement: They have to return 67.92$ and 19.96$ on my account.

Business Response: Dear Ms. ************
As we explained in prior communications which are attached, the charge is an authorization for $87.88.  An authorization is a reservation of funds made on behalf of our payment processor to your bank to verify funds are available.  This is a common practice in  e-commerce transactions.  As you stated, you were contacting your bank to verify this was an authorization.
Your package shipped in two parcels.  Parcel one on shipped 1/12 in the amount of $67.92.  Parcel two shipped 1/15 in the amount of $19.96.  This totals $87.88 for the order.  This is the only amount of money that has been deposited by Hancock's of Paducah.  
Please let us know what your bank finds with this transaction.  
We apologize for any confusion this may have caused.
Thank You,
***** *******
Hancock's of Paducah


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

4 Customer Reviews on Hancock's Of Paducah
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart