Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Class Act Federal Credit Union

Additional Locations

Phone: (502) 964-7575 Fax: (502) 966-2061 3620 Fern Valley Road, Louisville, KY 40219 http://www.classact.org View Additional Web Addresses


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Class Act Federal Credit Union meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Class Act Federal Credit Union include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Industry Ratings Comparison | Chart


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Class Act Federal Credit Union
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: November 12, 1993 Business started: 01/01/1954 in KY
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

National Credit Union Administration
1775 Duke Street, Alexandria VA 22314-3428
http://www.ncua.gov
Fax Number: 703-518-6409

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Ms. Lynn M. Huether, President & CEO Mr. Tom Anonson, Executive Vice President Mr. Patrick Curran, Sr. Vice President Marketing Ms. Lisa Sacra, COO
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Lynn M. Huether, President & CEO
Business Category

CREDIT UNIONS TITLE LOANS SAFE DEPOSITY BOX RENTAL REAL ESTATE LOANS LOANS CREDIT CARDS & PLANS BANKS


Additional Locations

  • 331 W. Cardinal Blvd.
    In Cardinal Town

    Louisville, KY 40208

  • 3620 Fern Valley Road

    Louisville, KY 40219 (502) 964-7575

  • 3711 Diann Marie Rd.

    Louisville, KY 40241

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

4/28/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
4/17/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Long hold times when I called in. Voice mail messages (2 of them) never got returned. When they switched my Mastercard account to a VISA account, I began getting threatening delinquent notices from Mastercard even though the balance had been transferred. And for ALL OF THEIR MISTAKES, when I got a payday mixed up causing my mortgage to be returned they charged TWO $30 INSUFFICIENT FUNDS and wouldn't honor my request to refund at least one of them. There are much better Credit Unions who 1) get it right and 2) work with their members like a team.

Desired Settlement: For all of the Credit Union's mistakes that I endured, I am again requesting a $30 refund of one of the two insufficient funds fees resulting from the SINGLE mistake I made when getting paydays mixed up.

Business Response:

On behalf of Class Act Federal Credit Union, I am submitting our written response to a complaint received on 3/31/2014, ID *******.

 

It is most unfortunate that we had a long time credit union member experience a series of events with our financial institution that resulted in their choosing to sever their relationship with us and submit a complaint to the Better Business Bureau, of which is the first ever in 60 years of being in business.  I cannot answer specifically to every problem mentioned in the complaint but will address what facts I have been able to identify.

 

First, our member mentioned of long hold times and voice mail messages not being returned.  I do know that our incoming phone calls are quite heavy at times.  I do regret if voice mail messages were not answered because that is not the way we do business.  Our staff is expected to respectfully handle member calls and voice mail messages.  I do not have details of who the messages were left for to make any further follow up but will remind employees that voice mail messages are to be answered promptly.

 

Our credit union did undergo a credit card conversion in December 2013.  Our previous credit card processor did in fact send out past due notices in error to our members in January.  We notified the credit card processor as soon as we were made aware that members were receiving these notices.  We regretted this embarrassing situation and apologized for the error when speaking with members, as well as through postings on our website and Facebook.  We reassured our members that no derogatory payment history would be reported to the Credit Bureau.  This particular member took exception to receiving the past due notice, to the point of sending us a letter via Certified Mail threatening litigation.  Our records indicate that a credit union representative did follow up with a courtesy call to our member the same day we received the letter.

 

The last complaint of most recent had to do with an ACH debit submitted for payment on our member’s account for which there were insufficient funds to pay.  When such activity occurs the account is charged an insufficient funds fee of $30.00.  This ACH debit is set up as a recurring payment to post at the same time of the month and is the member’s responsibility to make sure there are sufficient funds in the account to cover the payment.  The returned ACH item was resubmitted for payment the following day and there were still insufficient funds to cover, therefore the account was charged $30.00 again.  It is our practice to work with members when errors such as this occur, and depending on the circumstances we will refund fees if we are at fault.  Our records indicate that fees had in fact been refunded to this member in the past, not once, but twice as a courtesy to the member.

 

We strive to provide our members with extraordinary service and are disappointed when circumstances arise that we are unable to turnaround to a positive experience.  I truly regret that we were unable to satisfactorily resolve our member’s complaint because it is our goal to provide quality products and services and earn our members business every day.  

 

Best regards,

 

 

**** ** *******

President/CEO