This business is not BBB accredited.

collegebookrenter.com

Additional Locations

Phone: (270) 867-0139 Fax: (866) 738-9779 3333 US Highway 641 North, Murray , KY 42071 ! There is an alert on collegebookrenter.com !


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Based on BBB files, this business has a BBB Rating of No Rating. The reason is as follows:

  • This business has no rating because it is out of business.

Industry Ratings Comparison | Chart


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

11 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 8
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 11

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on collegebookrenter.com
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: January 20, 2011 Business started: 03/09/2009 in WY Business started locally: 02/25/2011 Business incorporated 03/09/2009 in WY
Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. John Wittman, COO
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. John Wittman, COO
Business Category

BOOKS - TEXTBOOKS NEW & USED BOOKSTORES SCHOLASTIC PREP COURSES, BOOKS & MATERIALS BOOKS-NEW

Alternate Business Names
College Book Rental Company, LLC Instructional Materials Management Solutions, LLC

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    3333 US Highway 641 North

    Murray , KY 42071 (270) 867-0139

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    P O Box 1073

    Murray, KY 42071

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

11/24/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I rented two books from collegebookrenter.com in Feburary 2014 for my online english class. I will state that when then rental period was complete I did not send the books back and that was my own responsibility and fault. So extended the books until July 4, 2014 and again I forgot to return them. Since then I have tried multiple times to return the books, but when I have gone to print out the shipping labels they always state that there is sometype of problem and that they have "alerted the developers". My main concern right now is to return these books propery so I do not get charged anymore by the collection agency, and I have to say that it is ridiculous that this business dopes not have a valid phone number or way to contact them. I have sent multiple messages through their contact page on the site and have not gotten any responses to any of them. Please someone help me so I can get these books back in the proper fashion and will not have anymore charges from the collection agency that this site has sent me to. Please respond to this message ASAP.

Desired Settlement: Some explanation to why there is no valid phone number or way of contact, and how to get these books back pronto!

10/30/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The following is my communication with this company to which I have received no reply: Hello, I am writing to notify you that I have received a collection notice for the text books that I rented this past semester. Here is the problem: Your website has been unable to produce the needed return postage during the past two months. I have had these books ready to ship. I have attempted to notify your company on many occasions through the online email screen which does NOT reveal your email address. I have only obtained this address through the BBB. I WANT to return these books ASAP. The reason I have not returned them by paying for the postage is that your website does NOT even list a return address. No phone number, no email, no address AND your website appears corrupted. These are all signs of a company in trouble! Please advise what steps to take to return these books and clear the collections! Order number: ********

Desired Settlement: I would like to return the textbooks and do not want to pay any penalty for their late return because the company website is not operating properly. Most importantly, STOP ALL COLLECTION ATTEMPTS. Thank you.

Business Response:

I can see that there were four books due to be returned to CBR on 5/31/2014. They were not returned and a prepaid return label was never created by the customer for the return. He was sent 4 return reminder notifications prior to the 5/31 due date. CBR attempted late charges on 6/3, 6/18, and 6/26, all declined. Each fee attempt also sent an email notification to the customer. The customer states he was not able to print a return label, but there and no records of log in attempts to his account. Return labels were available through July 20th and this account was turned over to an outside collections agency on 8/6/2014. The customer had more than 6 weeks past the original due date to settle the account. Unfortunately, once this is turned over to collections, there is nothing further I can do.

Please let me know if you have any questions. I will see any response sooner here in my personal email.

 

Thanks,

 

**** *****

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

The company did not respond to my stated problem.  They have yet to provide an address to return the textbooks.  They have not supplied me with a phone number to discuss this issue directly.  I have stated all along that I have the textbooks and would be happy to return them if I had an address to securely do so.  I have lodged a dispute with the collection company and will continue to pursue legal counsel if the collections are not discontinued.

Regards,

****** ******

 


 

 

6/12/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I rented a textbook from the company and as the due date approached I knew that I was not in the country to ship the textbook to the company. So I accepted the $10 extension fee for not returning the book on time. I didn't worry about the due date because I figured if I was not in the country I would just be charged another $10 which I would be okay with. But to my surprise I received an email saying 'FEE CHARGED. YOU NOW OWN A BOOK.' As I read further the email informed me I was charged $136.98 which is supposedly the purchase price of the book. I think it is a little extreme to be charged the full purchase price considering $10 is a big difference from $136.98. I don't understand how they feel they have the authority to charge me without informing me. As many college students, I rent from several textbook sites and honestly who is going to remember each textbook rental company's return policy. I'm used to company's charging a minor penalty fee but to force me to keep the book and not even allow me to return the book a day or two later is ridiculous. I don't believe it is an ethical collection practice. I don't have that kind of money sitting in my account and they did not charge my personal card but the card saved on file which does not even belong to me but a relative. I just want some sort of practical resolution that doesn't cost $**0. That kind of money can do a lot of things like pay for groceries, house bills, so the fact that a cheap rental turned out costing me like triple the amount is giving me a heart attack now. Please have some sympathy towards me. I understand rental agreements but if you are going to charge someone $**0 I think that should be written in big letters as a warning BEFORE it is likely to happen. Kind of how I was emailed 'FEE CHARGED. YOU NOW OWN A BOOK.' I don't know who would want to enter a rental agreement with this company after knowing they have a policy like this.

Desired Settlement: I would like to be refunded the $136.98 and I will accept a $10 extension fee and I will return the book gladly.

Business Response:

The due date for this rental order was 5/31/**. The due date was posted to the customer’s online account beginning the day the order was placed (2/3/**) and remained there until she was charged for the book because it was not returned. The due date was also clearly stated in the confirmation email sent to the customer on 2/3/**. The customer received return reminder emails about the due date on 5/16, 5/21, 5/24, and 5/28. On 6/2/**, a late fee of $10.00 was charged. Again, another round of emails was sent to the customer. The late charge email sent 6/2 specifically states, “Please log in to your CBR account now to print your shipping labels. If your textbook(s) are not returned and/or the prepaid USPS Return Label has not been used by the extended due date, you will be charged the full purchase price of the textbook(s).”

All charges were made in accordance with our Terms of Use policy that the customer agreed to upon placing her order. The policy states, “Late Fees: A book is considered "returned" on time when it is in transit to our warehouse on or before the due date. If your textbook(s) is not in transit to CBR with the tracking provided by our prepaid return label from your account by the last day of your rental period, then your rental is considered overdue. Your debit or credit card may be charged a late extension fee the first day after the due date. This charge will extend the rental term for 7 days. If your textbook(s) is not returned and/or the prepaid return label not used by the extended due date, then your credit card will be charged the purchase price of the textbook and the book(s) will be yours to keep.

You will be notified via email of any late charges. This email will be sent to the email address used to initially place the order containing the item(s) in question, regardless of any other email address(es) on the account before or since.

As a condition of your rental agreement, you hereby grant CBR the right to assess late fees and charge them to the credit or debit card on file for the account. CBR reserves the right to charge any card on your account if the primary card is declined. Additionally, charges that are declined may be re-charged at any time and for as many attempts as necessary to collect the outstanding balance of the account. CBR is not responsible for any overdraft fees or penalties incurred from these charges.

In the event that any charges against the customer's credit card are declined for any reason, CBR will provide delinquent account information to a collection agency in an attempt to recover payment for lost property. All accounts sent to a collection agency are subject to additional fees.

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

[Provide details of why you are not satisfied with this resolution. Please respond here ONLY]

Regards,

 

**** *********  


 

 Like I said I was not in the country and I only saw the email on June 10th saying I own the book. Most companies when you plead with them they give you a chance to redeem yourself but this company doesn't seem to care about the students renting from them and just want to make quick money. I just want to be able to return their book because I have no purpose for it. I would never buy a book worth $**0 which is why I rent them instead. I just want to get that money back I don't mind a reasonable penalty fee but this is just too much. I feel taken advantage of and I would never buy from them again after knowing this is what they do to their customers. I went through the emails and I noticed only one of the emails mentioned the purchase price and of course it is in the bottom of the email where no one would bother to read. They emailed me again on June 9th and failed to reiterate that I would be charged the full price. I was going to extend the textbook rental so that I had time but they didn't even wait one day to charge me. Then I looked up their return policy and noticed it even said if you sent the book back after you were forced to purchase it, you will not be refunded and the book would be sent back to you at your expense. I don't know any company that not even try and negotiate with their customers. Not even offering a partial refund. This whole thing is just a big headache for me now. I just ask for a simple solution please. It's only been 3 days since I missed the deadline. Not like I missed a 30 day policy.

6/11/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My sister had rented two books, for chemistry and theatre. When we got the shipment, we saw that they had shipped us two of each. Now when we looked back at the receipt we got on the email it had all four books, but the price was $96.96. We assumed they had sent one full worksheet and one empty one, since that was the case. Then when the due date came by it was March 28, 2014 (THE MIDDLE OF THE SEMESTER!). We went ahead and paid for the late fee charge to be extended. Then seeing our bill two months ager we saw that there was a fee of $319 from them. We were outraged and confused, the full purchase price for the chemistry book was $78 on their website. Then why are they charging us $319, the other theatre book was also only $25. The price just does not add up. Other websites state that they will charge an extra fee of such and such percent, but on college book renter's website it says no such thing. Only that if a book is late the full purchase price will be accounted for. Seems like they sent extra books and later charged extra for them which we never ordered in the first place!!!

Desired Settlement: They should refund the amount charged on my credit card. I did the math and no way does it add up to $319. There is some fraud going on here for they did not say on their website any other extra percentage charges wold be added.

Business Response:

This customer placed an order on 1/20/14 for four textbook rentals, not two. She placed four books in her cart, selected a due date of 3/28/14, and paid for each one. At the time the order was placed, she had the option of selecting from two due dates. The choices were 3/28/14 or 5/31/14. Each option had a different price, with the shorter term being the cheaper option.  Immediately upon placing the order, the customer was provided with a copy of the receipt, both on her screen and by email to the address she provided upon creation of her account. The books were delivered to her with USPS tracking ********************** on 1/25/14. If she realized she ordered extra books, she had 21 days to return them for a refund per our Terms of Use. She made no attempt to contact us.

Beginning 3/13/14, return email notifications were sent to remind the customer of the 3/28/14 due date. Reminder emails were sent 3/13, 3/18, 3/21, and 3/25. When the books were not returned by the due date, a late fee was charged. This charge was made on 4/4, again with email notification sent. Another set of reminders was sent by email notifying the customer that she would be charged for the books if they were not returned by 4/11. Again, no response from the customer. The books were not returned and she was charged the full purchase price. All charges were made in accordance with our Terms of Use that she agreed to when placing the order. As stated in this policy:

Late Fees A book is considered "returned" on time when it is in transit to our warehouse on or before the due date. If your textbook(s) is not in transit to CBR with the tracking provided by our prepaid return label from your account by the last day of your rental period, then your rental is considered overdue. Your debit or credit card may be charged a late extension fee the first day after the due date. This charge will extend the rental term for 7 days.

If your textbook(s) is not returned and/or the prepaid return label not used by the extended due date, then your credit card will be charged the purchase price of the textbook and the book(s) will be yours to keep.

You will be notified via email of any late charges. This email will be sent to the email address used to initially place the order containing the item(s) in question, regardless of any other email address(es) on the account before or since.

As a condition of your rental agreement, you hereby grant CBR the right to assess late fees and charge them to the credit or debit card on file for the account. CBR reserves the right to charge any card on your account if the primary card is declined. Additionally, charges that are declined may be re-charged at any time and for as many attempts as necessary to collect the outstanding balance of the account. CBR is not responsible for any overdraft fees or penalties incurred from these charges.

In the event that any charges against the customer's credit card are declined for any reason, CBR will provide delinquent account information to a collection agency in an attempt to recover payment for lost property. All accounts sent to a collection agency are subject to additional fees.

6/6/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I rented a textbook from collegebookrenter.com in January for my spring semester. I received it on time and everything was great and I was happy with their service. A week before it's due date, I packaged the textbook in the package it came in and placed a shipping label on it with all the information that was provided. In the package I obviously included the textbook and the return shipping slip inside. A few days ago I got an email from them stating that they received my package, but my textbook that I had placed in there was not in there and that they were going to charge me $95 for a lost textbook that I did not lose myself. Luckily, my debit card denied the transaction. I emailed them right after I received that email explaining to them that I did place the textbook and sent it to the post office. I talked to a woman that works there online and she was so rude and told me that since they did not get the book, that it is my fault and that I must make the $95 payment. So after this, I headed to the post office and told them about my problem. They told me that I could file a complaint online from their website and so I tried. The only thing is that I could not because collegebookrenter.com does not allow their packages to be submitted under a claim. All I want is for this to be dropped and not have to pay the $95 for a textbook that I did not lose.

Desired Settlement: I want this problem to be dropped and not have to pay $95 for a textbook that I packaged and sent to the post office. I did not lose the book, So i shouldn't have to pay.

Business Response:

This customer returned her book in a package that was not properly secured. She used two small strips of scotch tape to close the box. This will not hold a book in a package. The customer was charged in accordance with the Terms of Use that she agreed to when placing the order. The return portion of the terms state: You may combine multiple orders in the same return box. Please place a copy of each pack slip inside the box and use one return label. Always use a sturdy shipping container and make sure to use packing tape (not scotch or masking tape) to seal your package. Books lost or damaged during return shipment due to improper packaging are the responsibility of the renter and subject to damage fees.

Since the box was not properly packaged and arrived empty, the renter is responsible for the replacement cost of the book. Payment for the replacement of this book will need to be made prior to June 20th or the account will be turned over to an outside collections agency.

Consumer Response:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution would be satisfactory to me.  I will wait for the business to perform this action and, if it does, will consider this complaint resolved.

Regards,

***** ********

 


 

 

2/28/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I had an account with this business under my old school information, that information had a credit on the account. I had changed my address to an email that I could access, which was**********************. I went under that account to access return my book, there was nothing there. The book rental information, if sent, was sent to an email that has not worked and that I cannot access, thus the change in address. When contacted, they state they are not responsible for the charges that were turned over to collections due to the fact that the that emails were sent to the prior account or **************************. I explained to them that that was an account that I could not access related to the fact that I have not been a student there since Fall of 2012. I have no issues with returning my item, but do not want to be charged for something out of my control. I asked if the information could be sent to the correct address, they said they could not do this as their system was incapable. So my question to them was if I cannot access an email account and you cannot forward the information to a correct one, then how am I supposed to know where to send, print the return label, and the delivery information if I have no way of accessing anything?? I cannot even talk to a live person to help me with this information.

Desired Settlement: 1, I would like to return this item 2. I would like the $96.17 that was turned over to collections be removed from their account. I have worked collections and I know that the business can remove this account from the collections account and tell them it was satisfied upon receipt of the book. 3. I would like the return information sent to the correct account with collegebookrenter.com, ********************** ** **********************

Business Response:

Ms. ******** rented Human Communication in Society on 8/17/2013. The return due date for this order was 12/20/2013. The prepaid return label was not created from the customer’s online account, so late fee charges were attempted in accordance with our Terms of Use policy. When all charge attempts were declined, the account was closed and turned over to a collection agency. The customer used the account she created under email address ************************* to place the order. She did not need access her old email account to log into her CBR account. She simply needed to enter the email address and her password. The return due date was posted on the customer’s account at the time the order was placed and remained there until the account was deactivated for nonpayment on 1/31/14. It is the customer’s responsibility to return the books by the posted due date. She states that she was unable to return the book because she had no way of knowing how to print a return label. Complete return instructions can be found in five places on our website. Instructions are listed under the Return Policy, Terms of Use, FAQ, Contact US, and How to Rent pages.  Our customer service department is also available to help print a return label either by email at support@collegebookrenter.com or by live chat Monday-Friday 8am-5pm CST.

The first contact from Ms. ******** about this order was at 2:04 pm on 2/19/14. There was no communication from her on 12/12/13 as stated in this claim. On 2/19/14 she stated that she no longer had access to the email account ************************* and she changed her account to email address **********************. This is not correct. She created two separate accounts. Had she updated her email address on her original account, the order would have been listed. Since two accounts were created, any orders listed under account ************************* would not be visible under account **********************.  This account was turned over to Transworld Systems (collection agency) after all attempted late charges were declined by the credit card listed on her account. Once an account is submitted to collections, CBR can no longer accept the book or payment. The complete policy, as stated on our website and agreed to by the customer upon placing her order is:

Late Fees A book is considered "returned" on time when it is in transit to our warehouse on or before the due date. If your textbook(s) is not in transit to CBR with the tracking provided by our prepaid return label from your account by the last day of your rental period, then your rental is considered overdue. Your debit or credit card may be charged a late extension fee the first day after the due date. This charge will extend the rental term for 7 days.

If your textbook(s) is not returned and/or the prepaid return label not used by the extended due date, then your credit card will be charged the purchase price of the textbook and the book(s) will be yours to keep.

You will be notified via email of any late charges. This email will be sent to the email address used to initially place the order containing the item(s) in question, regardless of any other email address(es) on the account before or since.

As a condition of your rental agreement, you hereby grant CBR the right to assess late fees and charge them to the credit or debit card on file for the account. CBR reserves the right to charge any card on your account if the primary card is declined. Additionally, charges that are declined may be re-charged at any time and for as many attempts as necessary to collect the outstanding balance of the account. CBR is not responsible for any overdraft fees or penalties incurred from these charges.

In the event that any charges against the customer's credit card are declined for any reason, CBR will provide delinquent account information to a collection agency in an attempt to recover payment for lost property. All accounts sent to a collection agency are subject to additional fees.

This account is now closed with College Book Renter and the property deemed lost. All payments must be made to Transworld Systems to resolve this debt.

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

BECAUSE THE BOOK WAS UNDER THE TCL account because it is a closed account BY THE SCHOOL I would have not received the emails that CBR sent. I understand the policy and have rented textbooks and have returned them. My problem was the fact that I had no reminders and honestly thought it was under the new email that I had access too. Another issue is the fact that there is no phone number to even speak to a person about this matter. I rent my textbooks from several different providers. I had no way of knowing which business this was rented from until I received an email about return. If I do not have access to the email to respond CBR, there was no way of knowing, or even printing a return label. When I chatted online and explained this to the person, NO ATTEMPT was made to rectify this situation. I have no problem returning the book and paying any late fees and I was willing to resolve. There is no understanding of how this may have happened on their part. Very poor customer service when you cannot even speak to a person and the policies are regurgitated regardless of the situation. They are correct in the fact that I could have logged on with that old email, but when I have textbooks rented from Chegg, Amazon, etc., difficult to know where this came from without an email. And when I can't access the e-account, there was no way of knowing. I feel this business should have understood that and let me return the book. The business is incorrect in stating that once turned over to collections they can no longer resolve. At anytime they can let the collection agency know that the matter has been resolved and to close the account.

1/21/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I went to this website to try and rent a textbook from them. They made me sign up for an account and then all of a sudden, my computer displayed an error for the website's certificate and said it wasn't valid. Needless to say, I'm glad I wasn't able to complete my transaction and put my account information in because I could of been scammed. This website is done up poorly and I feel like it sounds like a good idea and then it turns up to be a scam. I'm still trying to access the site so I can cancel my sign-up account and delete it but it still says the same thing. The website can't be verified and the certificate is for another website address not their own.

Desired Settlement: No Settlement, other than being able to delete my account from them and never use them again.

Business Response:

CollegeBookRenter.com is a secure website that processes orders daily for both textbook rentals and sales.  Security checks are processed several times a day to ensure that the site is functioning properly and that all customer information is secure. The only instance that would cause a customer to see a security certificate is when our servers detect something potentially malicious. Our system is designed to protect the site from any threat. Something about the ISP or their computer specifically registered as a threat to our system. This could by something as small as a virus on their system to malicious software that could potentially damage or shut down the site. When this is detected, a security certificate is displayed and the customer is asked to input an encrypted code. This allows the system to determine if a live person is accessing the site or if it is malicious software designed to obtain information from the site.

While it is commendable for the customer to want to protect their personal information, simply contacting our customer service department could have cleared up this issue. This customer’s account has been deactivated as requested.

1/14/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On or around November 11, 2013, I (****** *****) sold a college book back to collegebookrenter.com in the amount of $35.98. The name of the book was Pharmacology: A Nursing Process Approach and I should have received my payment a long time ago. It never came and since I saved all the documentation of the transaction, I decided to contact them today on this matter. I was told that I was not getting any money for my book because of "water damage." This is an false statement because the book was used for 10 weeks and never used again by me, I followed every single packing "tip" that I could find on selling books back to these websites and the book had no damage whatsoever. When surfing through their website, they clearly state 12 different reasons WHY they cannot accept certain books and water damage is #1 so WHY would I send them this book knowing this? They never contacted me to tell me about this "water damage" and planned on keeping my book free of charge. When I contacted them today, the customer service representative told me that they would send my book back to me for a $10 shipping and handling charge. So in order to get my book back, I am now out money and if what they say is true, they ruined my book and is now trying to blame me for it. The copy of the conversations is included below: Thanks for contacting us. An operator will be with you shortly... [******] Hello, my name is ******, how may I help you? [Visitor] My name is ****** ***** [Visitor] I sold a book to you back in November for $35.98 and I have yet to receive my money [******] Could I have your order number, please? This would be the gray # listed on your account page between the book title & the order date. [Visitor] Hello ******, We are glad you have chosen to sell your textbook(s) to CBR. As soon as we receive your textbook(s), we will inspect them to make sure they meet CBR's quality standards. When your textbook(s) pass our quality assurance process, we will issue your payment/credit within 24 hours. Buyback Order #--------- TITLE AUTHOR ISBN PRICE PHARMACOLOGY: A NURSING PROCESS APPROACH JOYCE LEFEVER KEE RN MS 9781437717112 $35.98 -------------------- Total: $35.98 Do you have any other books you would like to sell? If you have any questions, please contact us via email at support@collegebookrenter.com or Start a Live Chat (Mon-Fri 8AM-5PM CT) We appreciate your business! The CBR Team [******] WHen we receive the book we could not accept it due to water damage [Visitor] What water damage? Send me back my book then.... [******] Please give me a few minutes to research this for you. [Visitor] what are we findingout? [******] There searching now [******] Ok we do still have the book in order to get the book back you will have to mail us a check for $10 for a shipping and handling fee [******] College Book Renter 3333 U.S. Hwy 641 North Murray, KY 42071 [Visitor] No contact from your company to tell me this? Just kept my book with no regards in telling me at all? So its going to cost ME money to get my book back from you guys. Oh the BBB is going to love to hear this one.... I must be honest with you, I just finished graduated last semester and sold my books to many different sights and CBR is the ONLY site to pull this. Very unfortunate.... [******] I am sorry we will hold the book until the check is received [Visitor] That book had NO water damage when it was sent to you. It was properly sealed etc. This is absolutely wrong...

Desired Settlement: I would originally accept either my money promised by collegebookrenter.com or my book back but if what they say is now true of my book, I will not be able to sell it anywhere. Since they ruined my book, the only outcome acceptable is that I get the $35.98 I was promised per the website contractual agreement.

Business Response:

CBR received Mr. *****’s copy of Pharmacology: A Nursing Approach with water damage. Our Sell Textbooks page on the website specifically states that we cannot buy books that show signs of water damage, mold or mildew.  As stated in our Terms of Use, agreed to by the customer, “Any item(s) purchased by CBR from a seller through the website will be subject to an extensive inspection before payment will be issued. The inspection will be based on the item condition criteria that are listed on the "Sell Textbooks" portion of our site. Any received item(s) that fail to meet the criteria will be deemed "unusable" and no payment will be issued. Please carefully check your package and verify that the books you ship to CBR match the books listed on your packing slip. Due to the volume of packages received, books shipped to CBR in error cannot be returned.”

The first 90% of the book is clean with no damage, but the back 10% shows water damage and some molding. Our rental customers expect and deserve quality books free from damage. Therefore, we cannot purchase books with this type of damage to add into our inventory. Our general policy, as posted on the website, is that once a book is received in our warehouse, it will not be returned. In an effort to assist this customer, our customer service department offered to return the book to this customer, but they must cover the cost of the return shipping and handling. CBR paid for the postage for this book to be sent upon the sale of the book and is already out that cost, as this book cannot be used. Pictures of some of the damage are attached. CBR had no part in damaging this book as Mr. ***** claims. We would have no reason to do that. We want and need clean copies of this book for our inventory. Since this is damaged, it cannot be used as a rental.

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

At no point am I accusing CBR of purposely ruining this book, what I am stating is that I sent CBR a book that was in clean condition, properly sealed, and delivered accordingly.  Was the person that wrote this response the person that actually checked in my book or was it someone that researched the issue?  With the "amount" of books CBR states they receive, are they saying that problems and/or accidents don't occur?  They can add pictures if they would like but it does not justify A) that it is my book and/or B) that they did not accidentally damage this book and in turn try to turn blame the customer so they are not out $35 and change.  As I have stated in my prior statement, I read every rule and regulation that CBR has on their website so for them to reiterate them as they did, in my opinion is just a waste of time.  They are trying to redirect the issue at hand which describes their ethical beliefs and background.  I understand they do not accept water damaged books, which is why in my original statement, I asked "Why would I waste both their time and mine by sending them one?"  It would make no sense.  Plain and simple, this is a company that has been in business for a while now and either one of two things are happening, 1) they are in very good standing monetarily due to unethical procedures like not abiding by contractual obligations, or 2) CBR is in such bad shape that they feel like taking advantage of a college student for $36 will save their business.  Either way, CBR runs their business in a way in which they try to blindfold issues that are addressed.  A clear shame but the fact is, they are not being honest and truthful with what happened to my book, they are just hiding behind their published guidelines in which I will say one last time, "are not in question."  I am a previous customer of CBR and up until now I have never had a problem with them.  They were the last company that I thought would take advantage of a customer over $36. As I said its a shame and at this point, its not about money, its really about the principle. 

Regards,

****** *****

 


 

 

12/14/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: around last January my daughter rented a book from this company that we have never received......she called to complain that the book was not received yet my debit card was charged... I disputed the charge with my bank, it took them six weeks to track and refund me the full amount.....therefore after tracking with no result and speaking with collegebookrenter.com I received a complete refund..... about a month ago I received a letter from ********** systems a collection agency

Desired Settlement: I would like not to be responsible for payment of non delivered book and for my credit not be affected by this

Business Response:

Ms. ******* placed order 11382050 on 9/6/2012. The package was delivered to *** **** *** *** ********* ** ***** via USPS on 9/14/2012. This was the address the customer provided when the order was placed. She contacted CBR on 9/27/12 stating the package did not arrive. As stated in our Terms of Use that the customer agreed to upon placing the order, Lost or Damaged Upon Receipt Please notify us immediately if the book you receive is damaged, or if you have not received your book and the tracking information shows that the book has been delivered. You must notify CBR within seven business days of your rental's expected arrival date if you have not received your item or if you received it and it is damaged. If you don't report your rental as lost or damaged, you will be charged the full purchase price for the rental upon the expiration of the term.”

******** ******* contacted our customer service department on 9/27/12, fourteen days after the delivery date to report that the package did not arrive. She was told that the package showed delivered to the address provided. She was instructed to contact the post office for further information. She went on to state that this address was an office building and no one else would receive it. She then stated that she had already contacted the post office and was told that they knew they delivered the package, but not to her address so she demanded a refund. The post office would not knowingly deliver a package to a different address than what was on the label. She stated they confirmed delivery to another address, but would not release that address to her. The customer service representative then asked if the post office could recover the package from the incorrect delivery address. Ms. ******* then contradicted her previous statement by saying that the post office would not be able to recover the package because they couldn’t remember where it was delivered. When pressed about which statement was correct- the post office delivered to a different address, but wouldn’t release the information or they delivered, but can’t remember where they left it- she stated that it wouldn’t be a problem, she would just dispute the charges with her credit card and would get her money back. Her chat log is attached.

College Book Renter did not issue a refund for this order. Any money she received back must have been issued by her credit card company. She did not follow the Terms and Use by reporting the problem in a timely manner. At the end of rental term, she did not return a book, nor did she pay for the book. Since she did not comply with the terms listed above, her account was reported to the collection agency. The customer is responsible for this book.

12/13/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I used COLLEGEBOOKRENTER.COM as a cheaper alternative to purchasing expensive textbooks while completing one of my degrees. The process seemed easy enough, where I would select the textbook of my choice, the duration of the rental, receive the item, and then return it. I did in fact receive the textbook as promised. It was what I ordered and I used it the duration of the term. When I was ready to return the item, I logged in to my account at COLLEGEBOOKRENTER.COM and printed out the shipping label, returned the item to the shipping facility to be packaged and returned, and ultimately conclude my business with this company. Over the next few weeks I began to receive emails this company stating that my rental was past due. Believing that they were a result of lagging processing times, I initially ignored them. After several emails, I finally contacted COLLEGEBOOKRENTER.COM to see what the problem was. After initially being told that they had not received the item, I asked to be provided with the tracking information from the shipping label they provided. After being given this information, I found that according to the postal service the item had in fact been delivered. I again contacted COLLEGEBOOKRENTER.COM with this information to which I was told that they received a package, but that it was empty. This left me very confused as the item was packaged in front of me. The weight associated with the tracking number confirmed that the item was included and delivered. I was told that it was still my responsibility, even after I fulfilled all obligations on my in, and therein lies the dispute. COLEGEBOOKRENTER.COM has forwarded this item to a collection agency (Transworld Systems Inc.) for the amount of $92.58 which I believe to be unacceptable. If COLLEGEBOOKRENTER.COM somehow did not receive this item, then that dispute lies with the US Postal Service, and they offer insurance for that very reason. It is a claim that would have had to been filed by COLLEGEBOOKRENTER.COM as they were technically the ones sending the package to themselves (due to them providing the shipping label) I firmly believe that my responsibility ended when I turned the item over to the US Postal service. The laziness of COLLEGEBOOKRENTER.COM to attempt to pass the buck to myself, rather than filing a claim with USPS is unacceptable. The $92.58 is a nominal amount, but that is irrelevant. I fulfilled my end of the agreement. I shipped it, it was weighed, and according to the USPS, it was delivered. Only COLLEGEBOOKRENTER.COM says that I did not return this item. They need to work that out with the USPS!

Desired Settlement: I would like for COLLEGEBOOKRENTER.COM to recall this item from Transworld Systems Inc. and close this matter out. As of today, December 5th, 2013 this item has not appeared on any of the three major credit bureau reports, however it that does happen, I would like for them to work out how that will be removed with Transworld Systems Inc. Being that I am in the process of purchasing another property, if this item does appear on my credit profile prior to closing and adversely effect that process, I will expect to be made whole by COLLEGEBOOKRENTER.COM

Business Response:

CBR received an empty package from Mr. ****** on 11/26/12. On 11/27/12, we sent an email to ******************* as provided by the customer, letting him know that an empty package arrived. There was no response to this email.  The package that arrived was a thin paper envelope with two strips of scotch tape. Per our Terms of Use and Return Instructions, You may combine multiple orders in the same return box. Please place a copy of each pack slip inside the box and use one return label. Always use a sturdy shipping container and make sure to use packing tape (not scotch or masking tape) to seal your package. Books lost or damaged during return shipment due to improper packaging are the responsibility of the renter and subject to damage fees.

Mr. ****** contacted our customer service department via online chat on 12/14/12 to inquire about attempted charges to his account. He was told during this conversation that the book was lost in transit due to improper packaging and that he would be responsible for the replacement of this book. There was no further communication from the customer. The charge was attempted periodically over the next several months, but when payment was not made, the account was turned over to an outside collections agency in September of this year. Payment will need to be made to Transworld Systems, as indicated in the letter he received.

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

[Provide details of why you are not satisfied with this resolution. Please respond here ONLY]

Regards,

****** ******


 

 I wholeheartedly reject this response from CBR as inaccurate, and unacceptable. CBR in addition to erroneously stating the condition/packaging of the item, fails to acknowledge their negligence in properly following appropriate protocol in filling a claim on said items which would have resolved the matter at that time.  It is plainly lazy and  unprofessional of CBR to attempt to "pass the buck" on to consumers, and I will not tolerate being the scapegoat of their incompetence. 

 

The facts, regardless of how CBR attempts to distort them remain that according to myself and the post office, the item was properly packaged and delivered to CBR. 

10/17/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I received a notice from ********** collections on an outstanding debt with the company from 2012. I called the collection company to resolve the issue and they were going to propose a settlement to the company given I had never receive any written or telephone correspondence from.the company previously and for this reason incurred a 52 dollar charge which I feel is unfair to consumer seeing as I would have paid had I known the balance was outstanding. I proposed a settlement of 50 dollars which is more than fair for a 22 dollar unreturned book which they denied. Upon receipt of to denial of settlement I was told to call cbr by ********** to pay bill which I did only to be told to call ********** as they had my account, which no one can look upso the debt still is unpaid due to their lack of communication.

Desired Settlement: I would like them to adjust my account given I have made valid attempts to reconcile and they lack in their communication efforts.

Business Response:

This customer placed order ******** for *************, Communication Research: Strategies and Sources on 8/20/2012. The original rental fee for this book was $21.73. The return due date of this book was 12/20/2012. On 12/21/2012, we received a copy of *************, Fundamentals of Organization Communication: Knowledge, Sensitivity, Skills, Values in error. This was not the book we sent to the customer. She was contacted about this error via email on 12/26/2012. After this email notification, the customer contacted us via our online chat forum the same day to get further information about the book she returned in error. She was still responsible for returning the correct book sent on 8/20/2012. She never returned the original book. In addition to the communication about the incorrect book, the customer continued to receive reminder emails to return the outstanding book.  

On 1/14/2013, a late fee for the unreturned book was attempted. This charge was declined. An email was sent at the time of the charge explaining the late fee attempt and a request to return the book. This charge was attempted again on 2/8/2013 and 7/26/2013. Both attempts declined and the previously mentioned email was sent again.  

This account was officially turned over to a collections agency on 9/3/2013 since the book was not returned or paid for according to our Terms of Use that the customer agreed to. This policy states: 

Late Fees A book is considered "returned" on time when it is in transit to our warehouse on or before the due date. If your textbook(s) is not in transit to CBR with the tracking provided by our prepaid return label from your account by the last day of your rental period, then your rental is considered overdue. Your debit or credit card may be charged a late extension fee the first day after the due date. This charge will extend the rental term for 7 days. 

If your textbook(s) is not returned and/or the prepaid return label not used by the extended due date, then your credit card will be charged the purchase price of the textbook and the book(s) will be yours to keep.  

You will be notified via email of any late charges. This email will be sent to the email address used to initially place the order containing the item(s) in question, regardless of any other email address(es) on the account before or since.  

As a condition of your rental agreement, you hereby grant CBR the right to assess late fees and charge them to the credit or debit card on file for the account. CBR reserves the right to charge any card on your account if the primary card is declined. Additionally, charges that are declined may be re-charged at any time and for as many attempts as necessary to collect the outstanding balance of the account. CBR is not responsible for any overdraft fees or penalties incurred from these charges.  

In the event that any charges against the customer's credit card are declined for any reason, CBR will provide delinquent account information to a collection agency in an attempt to recover payment for lost property. All accounts sent to a collection agency are subject to additional fees.  

The collections agency, ********** *******, sent a letter to the customer in the first step of the debt collection. This letter states that the balance due to the account is $74.77. The letter provides the debtor with all information necessary to contact them to settle the debt. The letter has the customer’s information including their account number and the proper toll free number to call. Ms. ******** made her first successful call to ********** on 9/18/2013 at 11:30 am PST. During this call, she disputed the charge with the operator there. The second successful attempt to ********** was 10/11/2013 at 8:19 am PST, and a third on 10/15/2013 at 8:27 am PST. All of these contacts from the customer are time stamped in the ********** noting system. She also tried calling the ********** main office via a number she was not given on the letter she received. This call was made at 9:44 am PST. When she called this number, they attempted to transfer her to the correct department, but she hung up during the transfer.  

She has successfully contacted ********** several times, but there is no negotiating of these outstanding debts. It is clear by her initial dispute of the debt that she is not willing to pay for the book not returned and is implying that she has tried to pay this debt, but is simply unable to because she cannot reach anyone to take her payment. This is not the case at all and this debt will not be waived. As she has been told by both CBR and the letter she received from **********, she is to call ###-###-#### and provide the account number on her letter, ****************.

Consumer Response:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

I do not deny paying but seeing as there above mentioned attempts were received by myself I do not feel it is fair, further I have attempted to dispute their charges and am unable to communicate with this company via telephone nor the can their collection agency locate me in their systems. I am not refusing to pay my debt by any means as indicated by my attempts I am simply requesting for the amount due to be discounted.

Regards,

******** ********

 


 

 


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

1 Customer Review on collegebookrenter.com
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart