Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are You the Business Owner of Republic Bank & Trust Company?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?
Print

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Republic Bank & Trust Company meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Republic Bank & Trust Company include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 27 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Industry Ratings Comparison | Chart


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

27 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 5 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 4
Billing/Collection Issues 10
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 12
Total Closed Complaints 27

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Republic Bank & Trust Company
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: September 01, 1982 Business started: 01/01/1982 in KY Business incorporated: 01/01/1982 in KY
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Mike Ringswald, Senior Vice President Mr. Scott Trager, President Mr. Steven Trager, Chairman & CEO
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Mike Ringswald, Senior Vice President
Principal: Mr. Scott Trager, President
Principal: Mr. Steven Trager, Chairman & CEO
Business Category

BANKS MORTGAGES

Alternate Business Names
Republic Bank

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    100 Highway 676

    Frankfort, KY 40601

  • 10100 Brookridge Village Blvd.

    Louisville, KY 40291 (502) 231-5522 (502) 231-5522

  • 11330 Main Street

    Louisville, KY 40243 (502) 254-7555

  • 1420 Poplar Level Road

    Louisville, KY 40217 (502) 636-2661

  • 1614 Midland Trail

    Shelbyville, KY 40065 (502) 633-6660

  • 1690 Ring Road

    Elizabethtown, KY 42701 (270) 769-6356

  • 1700 Scottsville Road

    Bowling Green, KY 42102 (270) 782-9111

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    1945 Highland Pike

    Ft. Wright, KY 41017

  • 2028 W. Broadway, Suite 105

    Louisville, KY 40203 (502) 772-7500

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    2051 Centennial Blvd.

    Independence, KY 41051

  • 220 Abraham Flexner Way, Suite 100

    Louisville, KY 40202 (502) 588-3115

  • 2801 Bardstown Road

    Louisville, KY 40205 (502) 459-2200

  • 3001 Charlestown Crossing Way, Suite 5

    New Albany, IN 47150 (812) 949-2600

  • 3141 Highway 62

    Jeffersonville, IN 47130 (812) 282-1200

  • 3332 Villa Point Drive

    Owensboro, KY 42303 (270) 683-2699

  • 3500 Frederica Street

    Owensboro, KY 42301 (270) 684-3333 (270) 684-3333

  • 3726 Lexington Road

    Louisville, KY 40207 (502) 893-2533

  • 3811 Ruckreigel Parkway

    Louisville, KY 40299 (502) 266-5466

  • 3902 Taylorsville Road

    Louisville, KY 40220 (502) 451-2006

  • 3950 Kresge Way, Suite 108

    Louisville, KY 40207 (502) 897-3800

  • 438 Highway 44 East

    Shepherdsville, KY 40165 (502) 543-1880

  • 4571 Duffy Rd.

    Floyds Knobs, IN 47119 (812) 923-7300

  • 4808 Outer Loop

    Louisville, KY 40219 (502) 969-8999

  • 4921 Brownsboro Road

    Louisville, KY 40222

  • 5125 New Cut Road

    Louisville, KY 40214 (502) 363-4644

  • 5250 Dixie Highway

    Louisville, KY 40216 (502) 448-7000

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    535 Madison Ave.

    Covington, KY 41011

  • 601 West Market Street  Corporate Center

    Louisville, KY 40202 (502) 584-3600

  • 6401 Bypass State Hwy 329

    Crestwood, KY 40014 (502) 241-0950

  • 661 S. Hurstbourne Parkway

    Louisville, KY 40222 (502) 425-2300

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    8513 US HWY 42

    Florence, KY 41042

  • 9101 US Highway 42

    Prospect, KY 40059 (502) 228-2755

  • 9600 Brownsboro Road

    Louisville, KY 40241 (502) 339-9700 (502) 339-2200 (502) 339-2200

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    9683 Kenwood Road

    Blue Ash, OH 45242

  • PO Box 2348

    Louisville, KY 40201

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Email Addresses

  • - Customer Service
  • - Communication/Mass Email
  • - Technical Support
  • - Sales
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

2/26/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: It is very difficult to escape Republic Bank once you are a customer, I've talked to many other people who are current or past customers and they agree that the practices that Republic Bank puts into place make it feel as though you are being held financial hostage. In the Fall of 2012 we were contacted by a competing bank that we think favorably of to refinance both our primary mortgage (held by Republic Bank) and our 2nd Mortgage/HELOC held by another lender. Going through the process, we were contacted by Republic Bank about why we were refinancing our loan. When we said we were doing this to get a lower interest rate, the Republic Bank officer said that Republic would meet the offer for a fee less than what the other bank was offering and also said they could put our HELOC under them. Republic paid off the HELOC with our other lender, which had not early termination fee and now they had all our loans. No mention was made that our new loan carried a FIVE YEAR ETF. The five year ETF is excessive and unreasonable and I don't care whether during our closing we signed paperwork to agree to this, the closing at Republic Bank was held in an assembly line like manner for my wife and I to sign documents. There was no mention of an ETF and we would have NEVER agreed to a new loan with a five year ETF had this been the case. I feel like we had one pulled over our eyes. I talked to another lender from a competitors bank and the idea that we'd have this loan for with Republic Bank for nearly 2-1/2 years and STILL be charged the full amount or ANY amount of an ETF was just ridiculous. We want the ETF dropped.

Desired Settlement: Early Termination Fee of $826.77 refunded to us.

Business Response:

Mr. ****** was provided three separate disclosures in September, 2012 that disclosed the fee in question and his loan was not closed until October 15, 2012.  The fact that the loan carried an early termination fee was also disclosed again at closing.  Mr. ****** had ample opportunity to review the loan terms which disclosed the ETF, the closing table was not his only opportunity.  These fees are customarily utilized on loans in order for banks to properly fund longer term loan assets that pay off early.  Republic declines to refund the contractually agreed to fee.  

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********* and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

Regards,

******* ******

 

 

Neither my wife, nor I, would have ever agreed to the terms of a five year ETF had we actually been aware of this.  Never.  I guarantee you this information was slipped past us.  We've done business with Republic Bank for over a decade, have remained in good standing with multiple mortgage and HELOC loans, and yet when we are finally able to terminate our agreement,  Republic Bank takes parting shots at us.  I expected something along this order as we got to know some of the staff of Republic Bank and we got to see firsthand how they treat their own.  We became friends with a Republic Bank loan officer over the years and saw how Republic treated them when they notified them that they are taking another job.  For years we have wanted to get away from this company.  This company that in the beginning never brought up the fact that we were going to be pressured to end our relationships with banking institutions that we had long, strong histories with until we were already invested with time and money with the Republic offer.  And each time we've pulled away, we always get the call saying we are going to get hit with some penalty or another, some threat to keep us with them.  Republic Bank is on an institutional level what on a personal level it is to be stuck in a controlling, jealous relationship where one face is presented but once you feel a financial hostage the real face comes out.  And trying to isolate their clients, pushing them to end other banking relationships is just more of the same.  And as fortunate as it has been over this many years that national lending rates have dropped and dropped, when we were told we'd face huge penalties if we left Republic Bank less than two years after our mortgage loan was made, it was also very difficult to not trap ourselves in that two year commitment when rates dropped greatly below what we were already paying Republic Bank.  Again, we would have NEVER agreed to a five year commitment.  NEVER.

Republic can report how we were given this document or that document but the reality is that they are neglectful of communicating potential harm to their clients when it might cost them business.  I just contacted a loan officer at *** **** and asked them about their rules around their HELOCs including their ETF.  Since*** ****** ***** didn't charge us any ETF whatsoever, I thought I should at least check with a competitor's bank instead of just a credit union.  They said that the upfront cost to the customer is about $30 for the HELOC and you are committed to THREE years (Not Five - are you listening Republic Bank?!!!) and that each month that the customer keeps the loan the total penalty drops by about $10.  If you paid the loan off IMMEDIATELY, you'd owe a penalty of about $360.  So in our case, with us having our load for over 28 months, we'd owe a penalty of about $80,...CERTAINLY NOT OVER EIGHT HUNDRED DOLLARS!  In fact, even the Republic Bank loan officer from the *************e branch that was the originator on our loan said alound before checking our loan that the ETF might be three years, NOT FIVE!  And when I asked her if she thought the situation we were faced with was excessive, she replied, "No Comment!"  I am certain when the Republic Bank officer contacted me back in 2012 to try to stop us from leaving that he intentionally put in pitfalls to trap us.  

Republic Bank may bring up document after document that they've gotten us or others to sign that agreed to give up the moon but I know predatory lending techniques when I see them.  Republic Bank can certainly refuse to return our money.  Why not stick it to a customer they've had for well over a decade when it benefits them.  And I shall make certain, in a completely legal manner, that this costs them 100x this amount in new business.  I've already got the wheels turning.

2/18/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We have our mortgage with Republic Bank and for years have felt trapped by the way they force you to maintain a checking account with them in order to get reduced closing costs on your refinance. Once we already started the process and had time/money invested, we felt like it was sprung upon us that we had to bank with them. The entire time (probably 10 years) we've had accounts with Republic Bank we were led to believe we had to have mortgage payments drafted from our account or pay a higher rate. Recently we started the process of refinancing our loan with another lender. Unbenownst to us, once Republic Bank received word that we were refinancing with another lender they took our loan off autopay. No one informed us and today we were hit with a $89.43 late charge. I called the bank and told them they didn't get our permission to remove our account from autopay and that we were never informed that this would happen. They refused to waive the late fee even though it was all of their doing.

Desired Settlement: Republic Bank needs to refund the $89.43 late charge as it was their doing and their lack of informing us what they were doing that caused the payment to be late. In many, many years of banking with them I do not think we had a single late payment because they were always auto drafted.

Business Response:

Yes, we do require customers that choose to get reduced closing costs to maintain their account here.  Customers do not have to have their account at Republic, but in that case they pay normal and customary closing costs.  The decision is left to the customer.  Mr. ******'s written agreement to avail himself of the Promotion is attached.

 

As to stopping the auto pay draft, we do this to avoid drafting an account when a payoff in fact occurs.  If we don't do this, then the customer is upset that we have taken a payment and they were not expecting it since they thought they were paying the loan off.  This can create a timing problem.  Mr. ****** acutally called our Contact Center rather than our Loan Servicing Dept.  We have changed our procedures to be sure Loan Servicing issues are appropriately forwarded to the correct department.  We are waiving the fee now and also waiving a fax fee that was charged in 2012 as a further accomodation.

 

We wish to extend our thanks to Mr. ****** for banking with us and bringing this matter to our attention.  We apologize for any Inconvenience.

 

 

Consumer Response:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution would be satisfactory to me.  I will wait for the business to perform this action and, if it does, will consider this complaint resolved.

Regards,

******* ******

 


 

 %

1/16/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Opened an account online - depositing $500 as the intinal deposit (Account # ********) with intentions to move account from ***** overtime. Sent an email to Republic because they started charging service fees to the account now twice without any attention to the issues. It was becasue of a check card fee that caused the account to go below the minimum balance. Have called, emailed, completed surveys and emailed and basicly ignored the issue. Email on 10/4/** and 3/**/** with no answers, dont have a record of calls, survey or chat online.

Desired Settlement: Refund our money back into the account.

Business Response:

We have been able to contact Mr. **** and Republic informed him that his fees were being credited back and confirmed that he never received his card. He confirmed the address and we are sending him a replacement card so that he will be able to use his account.  Regarding emails that were not responded to, Republic did locate his email that came into our client service inbox. He was replied back to by email with the normal response when a client is asking for specific information via email.  For security reasons specific account information cannot be discussed via email and our customers are asked to contact us via live chat or by phone. 

 

Mr. **** opened his account in 2012 and a checkcard was ordered for him at that time. The card was never activated and the Inactive Card Fee was applied.   Due to the monthly inactive card fees the client's account dropped below the minimum balance and he began receiving the Below Balance Fee as well.  There has not been any other activity on the account.  All fees have been waived as an accomodation to Mr. **** and Republic believes the matter has been satisfactorily resolved.

 

 

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution would be satisfactory to me.  I will wait for the business to perform this action and, if it does, will consider this complaint resolved.

Regards,

**** ****

 


 

 It's ashame that it gets to this point with a business.  While I agree with most everything in the company response,  I disagree with the one statement about using chat.  I tried that and was told that I would need to come into a branch.  I asked for someone with authority to contact me, and that never happened until I filed a complaint with the BBB.  I'm happy with the resolution and glad the BBB is there to help in this matter.

7/24/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On my account number ******** I had a balance of approx $7 and was preparing to close the account as I no longer live near any branches of Republic Bank, when upon checking the balance it showed a item that tried to post for approx $263 and had been returned with a charge to my account on 06-26-***** I contacted the republic bank rep by phone to try to find out what occured, as any and all previous links to that account had been canceled, and was advised of the item amount, but the rep could not tell me who it was. I requested as much info as possible but was told it was a P Direct (which I had no idea at the time who they were) and the rep could not give me any other information and told me I would have to figure it out she had no other information or help for me. I told her I was going to close the account and she responded that it could not be closed due to the negative balance (now created by Republic). I asked if I could block any further attempts from this company or ? from doing it again and she advised no. I eventually found out on my own that it was *** (******* ***** *** *****) and tho I had changed my information with them, they had continued to use the old info and account, but they had already tried again and another charge was put on my account by Republic, even tho I tried to block any activity. The company reversed any charges on their end on my account with them but would not help with Republics charges. Currently my account is approx (-$71)

Desired Settlement: I am massively concerned that anyone can post charges to my account, even after i have canceled the approval for them to do so, and that Republic has little or no information on anyone who does, or refuses to help give that information. Plus that their is no way to close, suspend an account with a issue, or no way to block anyone from taking money out. Thereby causing more and more charges from Republic. I want the account closed!!! And I dont feel the charges that put it in the negative are warranted.

Business Response: Mr. ******'s account had a small, nominal balance when two ACH debits hit the account initiated by ******* ***** *** *****.  A third ACH debit also hit the account, from ******.  The three ACH debits were the result of prior authorizations by Mr. ******.  All three debits were returned unpaid and Republic's customary return item fees were applied to Mr. ******'s account as a result.  A below balance fee of $7.00 was also assessed by Republic.  Republic, as an accommodation to Mr. ******, has waived those fees and at the request of Mr. ******, the account is being closed at this time as he is now out of market and no longer needs the account.  We have spoken to Mr. ****** and we believe both he and Republic are satisfied with the final resolution of his complaint.

 

Consumer Response:

[A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution would be satisfactory to me.  I will wait for the business to perform this action and, if it does, will consider this complaint resolved.

Regards,

******* ******

 


 

 

3/12/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I Filed my Taxes through Tax act on line They are partners with Republic Bank & Trust Company they issued a Refund check to me in the amount of $7,476.02. The check can not be verified at ***** *********** **** Or ******** service center in Sherman. The bank and Customer Service said that the check is not valid to be cashed and that the numbers does not match in order to cash the check and that the check is bongos. All I want is the amount that is owed to my that is $7,476.02. All I get is an recording with no one to talk to and they keep tell me to take it back to the tax preparer. They knew that the check was not valid when they sent it out and now you can even talk to anyone

Desired Settlement: I want a refund check that can be cashed at my bank that can be verified ,I also want an apology for the inconvenience that they have put me through

Business Response:

            Thank you for bringing this complaint to our attention and allowing us to respond.  Ms. **** filed her taxes through an online tax software company (“TaxAct”).  When filing her taxes online, Ms. **** applied to have Republic Bank & Trust Company (“Republic”) take out the tax preparation and bank fees, and then transfer the remaining refund to her account at another bank via ********* ******** ******
?

            After receiving Ms. ****’s tax refund, Republic attempted to transfer her funds to the bank account provided.  However, the transfer was rejected by Ms. ****’s bank stating that her account number was invalid.  Subsequently, Republic mailed Ms. ****’s funds to her via check on February 6, 2014.  That check was deposited and cleared Republic on February 19, 2014. 

 

            After receiving this complaint, Republic attempted to contact Ms. **** to verify that her issues were addressed.  Those attempts were unsuccessful as Ms. **** did not answer the phone and there was no ability to leave a message.  If there are any questions or concerns regarding this situation, please feel free to contact me directly by phone (###-###-####) or email (************************).

 

Sincerely,

 

 

****** ******

Vice President, Associate Counsel

11/14/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Starting 10/25 I was charged I believe to be unwarranted fees which in turn created a negative balance in my account. I then made deposits of literally all the money I could get together to get back in the positive. Then previously set up automatic payments started to go out & I was again negative. I wouldn't have been if not charged the fees on the 25th. I spent several days in the hospital due to the fact I've got Lyme Disease & am a very strict income thru Disability. During this time, charges continued to go thru & I was charged fees on top of fees on top of fees. In the times I could find available outside doctors & sickness, I continuously attempted to correct these issues re online chat customer service, emailing a member at my local branch, & playing phone tag with other branch reps. I also made every deposit I could out of any money I could find. But couldn't get it positive again due to the outrageous fees. To be charged a $36 fee on a charge less then $1??!! Now my account is insanely negative & it's way more then 2/3 fees only incurred within a weeks time!! I am desperate. I'd had the same bank acct for over 16 years at another bank & NEVER had issues!! I recently closed it & switched to Republic because they were closer to my new place. My disability check is automatically deposited on the 3rd of every month. I won't get any money in Nov just to cover Republic! PLEASE??!! I've been an incredibly responsible account holder & debt payer my whole life, when it comes to money, I'm as rigorous as they get. I'm not wishy-washy in the least. I literally believed I was screwed over in multiple ways by big business!! Once everything's straightened out, I will GLADLY close my account & never deal nor speak of Republic again. HELP!!!!!

Desired Settlement: Most if not all of fees charged from 10/25-11/3 removed/recredited to my checking account, account put on hold ASAP to prevent more fees & until everything's cleared up.

Business Response:

Ms. ******** has received two fee waivers since she opened her account on  5/21/13.  On 8/24/13 she was refunded $108 for fees assessed after a hold had been placed on her ATM deposit.  On 9/19/13 she was refunded $54 in fees as a courtesy.  All fees have been assessed correctly according to Republic’s Overdraft Honor Rules and Restrictions.  A Republic representative communicated with Ms. ******** on 11-6-13 regarding her account.  She has a direct deposit posting to her account on 11/20/13.  At that time, Republic will waive and additional $486 in fees which is half of her remaining accrued fees.  Ms. ******** advises that she is in agreement with that result.

10/11/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Every time I try to contact Republic Bank, at any local branch, I get routed to an offsite call center. From there, I am placed on hold. It could be 10 min, 20 min, or some days... I can't get anyone at all. I try the online chat and the wait is the same. I should be able to call a local branch immediately to resolve me problems or questions. Regarding their online banking, It's constantly having issues which is extremely inconvenient. I have tried all day today to perform transactions with my account and I have been unable to do so. This happens every week it seems. So, I can't call a branch because nobody answers the phone and I can't use online banking because of issues... why am I still a customer at Republic Bank? Oh yeah, because I am locked into a contract where I have to pay a $500 fee to close my account. When I signed up with Republic Bank, I expected to be able to perform transactions with my accounts. They are constantly unable to fulfill their promise to me. Why should I be locked into a contract where I have to pay $500 to close my account? They are a horrible bank with terrible customer service. Their mobile and online products are a joke and nobody will seem to fix it.

Desired Settlement: I want to be able to close my account without incurring a $500 penalty.

Business Response: First, Republic offers its apology to Mr. ***** regarding various customer service matters he experienced as set forth in his complaint.  We will look into those matters to see if improvements can be made where applicable.  We have been in contact with Mr. ***** to see how we can help resolve any remaining issues.  Our Ms. ******** has provided Mr. ***** with her direct contact information.  Mr. ***** has alwasy been very nice in dealing with Republic's staff and we appreciate that.  I am advised that Mr. ***** has chosen, for the time being, to keep his account at Republic while we continue to address his customer service issues.  Should Mr. ***** desire to move his account, which we hope he does not elect to do, we will waive any penalty associated with that account.  Thank you for the opportunity to address Mr. *****'s concerns.

9/18/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I used Taxact to do my taxes earlier this month and had been charged $40.90 for services to find out the bank failed to follow through and will not refund $ nor explain anything in regards to why this has taken place in the first place.. Im not real happy lets see if we can get to the bottom of this

Desired Settlement: I would like refund

Business Response:

September ** 2013 

 

THE BETTER BUSINESS BUREAU, INC. 

<st1:Street w:st="on"><st1:address w:st="on">844 S. 4th Street 

<st1:place w:st="on"><st1:City w:st="on">Louisville, <st1:State w:st="on">KY  <st1:PostalCode w:st="on">40203-2186 

 

 

Re:  BBB Complaint – *********** * ******* *********) 

 

 

To Whom It May Concern: 

 

            Thank you for bringing this complaint to our attention and allowing us to respond.  Mr. ******* filed his taxes through an online tax software company (“TaxAct”).  When filing his taxes online, Mr. ******* applied to have Republic Bank & Trust Company (“Republic”) take out the tax preparation and bank fees, and then transfer the remaining refund to his account at another bank via Automated Clearing House.   

 

            After receiving Mr. *******’s tax refund, Republic attempted to transfer his funds to the bank account provided.  However, the transfer was rejected by Mr. *******’s bank.  Subsequently, Republic mailed Mr. *******’s funds to him via check.  Mr. ******* has confirmed receipt of the check via a telephone conversation.  Additionally, as an accommodation only, Republic has offered to refund our fee of 17.95. Mr. ******* was satisfied with this offer and accepted.    

 

            If there are any questions or concerns regarding this situation, please feel free to contact me directly by phone (************) or email ***************************  

Sincerely, 

 

 

****** ****** **** ********** ********* *******

Republic Bank & Trust Company 

601 West Market Street 

Louisville, Kentucky 40202 

9/16/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: ******, bill collector, ( ###-###-#### ), with republic bank, asked what religion I belonged to, when talking with me!

Desired Settlement: First of all I do not EVER want to receive a phone call from ****** or Republic bank again. I want ****** fired. I want republic bank to forgive the rest of my mortgage loan.

Business Response: Republic Bank does have an employee by the name of ****** that has contacted Mr. *********.  Republic retains recordings of certain of its calls.  The calls with Mr. ********* were recorded.  After reviewing the content of the recordings, it is clear that the complaint filed with the BBB by Mr. ********* was a fabrication.  Republic will not agree not to call this customer, nor will it take any action against its employee as no action is warranted, nor will it forgive the mortgage loan obligation of Mr. *********.  If Mr. ********* wishes to contact us, we will be pleased to talk with him, however, if he repeats his prolific use of profanity, we will discontinue the conversation.

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

The situation was not only "not resolved", but it got worse in the sense that, the response from republic bank, was not true when they wrote, that my complaint against them was fabricated!

Honestly and sincerely,

****** *********


 

 

7/19/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On or about April 22, 2013, my wife and I made an application to Republic Bank for a mortgage loan. On or about May 9, 2013, I scanned and e-mailed to **** ************* of Republic Bank a document which identified me as a recipient of disability income from the SSA. This document was in addition to other documents concerning mine and my wife's employment. On June 14, 2013, I was informed in an e-mail from **** ************* of Republic Bank that in order to complete the mortgage process I would need a letter stating that my disability would continue for at least five years. The interest rate which we had locked for our loan was due to expire on June 19, 2013. My assertion is that Republic Bank and it's agents intentionally waited for 25 business days, well over one month, to inform me of this "letter," even though they already knew that the majority of my income was derived from this disability payment They did this so that my rate lock would expire and a higher interest rate could be charged.

Desired Settlement: I would like a refund of my $399.00 application fee, as I feel that our application was not handled properly.

Business Response:

Republic Bank does not gain by not closing a loan and the Bank makes every effort to underwrite and close all loans timely.  While this clinet legally owes the Bank the deposit of $399.00, as the Bank is out this money for the appraisal, as an accommodation only to this client, we are refunding the deposit by crediting the client's account today, July 8, 2013 and the Bank will absorb the loss on the client's application.  This is a one time accomodation only.

6/24/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On March 28, 2013, I filed my tax return online with *** ***. Being that this is the first time that my husband and I have filed jointly, I filed the injured spouse allocation form 8379 because of my husband's back child support. On June 5, 2013, I received notification that my refund had been sent to my bank. The notice also stated that if I had not received the refund by June 10th, I needed to check with my bank. I have followed all advice concerning this issue, contacted ******** Bank on numerous occasions, contacted Republic Bank, and contacted the IRS. **** *****, the customer service manager at Republic Bank, informed me that they have not received the refund and was extremely rude in the process. Ms. ***** told me to call the IRS back even while I was still attempting to explain the situation to her. At no point should I feel that my opinion as the customer (7 years and counting) doesn't matter. I want the refund that I have waited so patiently for!

Desired Settlement: I want my tax refund, and I want a personal apology from **** *****.

Business Response:

             Thank you for bringing this complaint to our attention and allowing us to respond.  Ms. ************** filed her taxes through an online tax software company (“******”).  When filing her taxes online, Ms. ************** applied to have Republic Bank & Trust Company (“Republic”) take out the tax preparation and bank fees, and then transfer the remaining refund to her account at another bank via Automated Clearing House.   

 

            Unfortunately, Republic has not yet received Ms. **************’s tax refund.  Additionally, due to Republic not receiving Ms. **************’s tax refund, no fees have been charged to Ms. **************.  We have attempted to contact Ms. ************** in order to help her determine where her tax refund may be, but have not been successful.  If there are any questions or concerns regarding this situation, please feel free to contact me directly by phone (###-###-####) or email (************************). 

 

Sincerely, 

****** ******

Vice President, Associate Counsel 

Republic Bank & Trust Company 

Consumer Response:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution would be satisfactory to me.  I will wait for the business to perform this action and, if it does, will consider this complaint resolved.

Regards,

********* **************

 

 

6/3/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My checking and savings accounts were drained by Republic Bank and Trust. When contacted regarding why this was done, I was told that another account in my name had been over drafted for an extended period and my funds were used to offset the over draft. Both of my account had adequate funding in them. The only other account that any one close to me has is my mother's checking account, which had been over drafted. When informed that this was not my account, I was told that I was a cosigner on the account, which is false. My mother, however, cosigned on my account when I was sixteen years old so that I could open the account. The representative I spoke with (who did not give her name) told me that several notices had been mailed regarding the matter, none of which were received. Total of funds stolen from both my checking and savings accounts amounted to $687.96

Desired Settlement: Return of all stolen funds to my accounts (returned in proper amounts to proper accounts) All accrued overdraft charges during the period between the time of theft and time of return waived Complete and total cooperation and additional assistance with moving my accounts to a competitor's institution Monetary compensation for mental distress and hardship caused as a result of the theft.

Business Response: Mr. ****** was a joint owner of an overdraft account at Republic with another party that was overdraft in the amount of $687.96. This overdraft account was opened on July 9, 2010 and Republic has Mr. ******'s signature on the account opening document and the account is titled in his name jointly with the other party.  Both parties are liable for the account.  Republic's account rules provide that any Republic account may be "set-off" to bring another account out of overdrawn status.  A total of $687.96 was removed from two accounts in the name of Mr. ****** to satisfy the overdraft amount on the third overdrawn account on which Mr. ****** was both an owner and signor.  The transfers by Republic to correct the overdraft account were appropriate and lawful as Mr. ****** was a lawful co-signor and a lawful joint owner of the overdrawn account.  If Mr. ****** would like to see account information in order to verify his ownership of the overdrawn account in question, he can stop by any Republic banking center for assistance.

5/7/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Per my request my IRS refun went to the Republic Bank & Trust Company for a refund. They say they tried to put the refund into my checking account and my bank rejected the transfer. They said they then mailed me a refund which I did not receive. I have submitted the required documentation to place a stop payment four times and they say it is not legible on their end. They are of no assistance and I don't know how to proceed. I just want my refund.

Desired Settlement: I just want my refund.

Business Response:

April 23, 2013

THE BETTER BUSINESS BUREAU, INC.

<st1:street w:st="on"><st1:address w:st="on">844 S. 4th Street

<st1:place w:st="on"><st1:city w:st="on">Louisville, <st1:state w:st="on">KY  <st1:postalcode w:st="on">40203-2186

Re:  BBB Complaint – ****** ************ **********

To Whom It May Concern:

            Thank you for bringing this complaint to our attention and allowing us to respond.  Ms. ************ filed her taxes through an online tax software company (“******”).  When filing her taxes online, Ms. ************ applied to have Republic Bank & Trust Company (“Republic”) take out the tax preparation and bank fees, and then transfer the remaining refund to her account at another bank via Automated Clearing House. 

            Unfortunately, when Republic attempted to transfer Ms. ************’s funds to the account she provided, we received a rejection from her bank stating that the account did not exist.   Due to this rejection, Republic attempted to mail a check to Ms. ************ at the address she provided when applying for her bank product.  Shortly after mailing her the check, Ms. ************ contacted Republic to inform us that she never received the check.  Republic subsequently put a stop payment on the first check and mailed another check to the same address. 

            The second check was mailed on April 16, 2013.  The check was verified by Ms. ************ on Saturday, April 20, 2013.  Republic attempted to contact Ms. ************ after this complaint was filed but was unable to speak to her.  If there are any questions or concerns regarding this situation, please feel free to contact me directly by phone (502-********) or email (************************).

Sincerely,

****** ******

Vice President, Associate Counsel

Republic Bank & Trust Company

601 West Market Street

Louisville, Kentucky 40202

4/23/2013 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I used ****** to file my taxes on 2/4/13. They go thru Republic Bank and Trust Company if you have your fees taken out of your refund and that is who issues your check. I chose direct deposit and they say they attempted this but my bank has no record of this attempt, I use **** ******* Credit Union. I called Republic Bank and Trust Company on 2/22/13 and was told that my check was mailed on 2/20/13 and i would receive it in 7-10 business days. It has now been 15 days and still no check has came!!! I've called 3 times and been spoken to more than what i'd call rudely. I am beyond over this and disgusted and need my money. I chose direct deposit for a reason!!! not to have it mailed to me something needs to be done immediately. they tell me they can stop payment and i can pay $35 to have it overnighted to me which is obsurd!!!

Desired Settlement: I want my check now and they also should overnight it for free, 15 days is ridiculous when i should have it by now.

Business Response:

Thank you for bringing this complaint to our attention and allowing us to respond. Ms. ****** filed her taxes through an online tax software company (“******”). When filing her taxes online, Ms. ****** applied to have Republic Bank & Trust Company (“Republic”) take out the tax preparation and bank fees, and then transfer the remaining refund to her account at another bank via Automated Clearing House.

After receiving Ms. ******‘s tax refund, Republic attempted to transfer her funds to the bank account provided. However, the transfer was rejected by Ms. ******’s bank. Subsequently, Republic mailed Ms. ******’s funds to her via check. That check was deposited and cleared Republic on March. 11, 2013.

After receiving this complaint, Republic contacted Ms. ****** to verify that her issues. were addressed. Ms. ****** was not happy with our customer service. Her complaint was noted and passed to the appropriate managers. Ms, ****** was offered the opportunity to provide details, but decided not to do so. If there are any questions or concerns regarding this

situation, please feel free to contact me directly by phone (502-********) or email (************************).

Sincerely,

****** ******
Vice President,Associate Counsel

4/23/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My IRS refund was deposited with this bank on Feb 11. I had filed through tax act and they were to take out the filing fees and then send my refund on to my bank. Republic Bank says it cannot verify my identity and will not send my refund to my account. Instead they want me to fax more information and they will send me a check which I cannot cash because it is more than any of their partnered banks will cash.

Desired Settlement: I want my refund deposited to my account as promised.

Business Response:

Thank you for bringing this complaint to our attention and allowing us to respond. Ms. ****** filed her taxes through an online tax software company (“******”). When filing her taxes online, Ms. ****** applied to have Republic Bank & Trust Company (“Republic”) take out the tax preparation and bank fees, and then transfer the remaining refund to her account at another bank via Automated Clearing House. After Republic received Ms. ******* application, Republic determined that, due to factors in the application indicating possible identity theft, we needed to verify Ms. ******* identity.

Republic verifies a person’s identity through a series of three questions relating to their

public records. Republic then contacted Ms. ****** via email. Ms. ****** failed the identification verification. That same day, Ms. ****** called in and Republic advised he that she could complete a Taxpayer Authentication Form and fax or email it back to us with a copy of her government-issued photo ID. Ms. ****** refused to do so.

Since Republic could not verify Ms. ******* identity, we were forced to send her funds back to the IRS on February 28, 2013. Republic attempted to contact Ms.****** after this complaint was filed. Ms. ****** has not returned our phone calls. If there are any questions or  concerns regarding this situation, please feel free to contact me directly by phone (502-********) or email (*************************).

Sincerely,

****** ******

Vice President, Associate Counsel



4/23/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Hi I did my taxes on 02-08-2013 at ****** in Houston Texas ,they charged me 375.95 and said I was getting a RAL and that I will get my money by next following week . Well I waited till the Friday after and I called the hotline that I was provided and it gave me the IRS web site to check on my money and I checked and it said I would get it on Feb.21 2013. My compaint is that I don't think I should of been charged 375.95 for a RAL if I didnt get a RAL .

Desired Settlement: I would like the RAL fees charged returned to me because I didn't get a RAL

Business Response:

Thank you for bringing this complaint to our attention and allowing us to respond. Ms. ******** had her taxes prepaired at *** *** in Houston, Texas. When filing her taxes, Ms. ******** applied to have Republic Bank & Trust Company (“Republic”) take out the preparation and bank fees, and than transfer the remaining refund to her account at another via Automated Clearing House. This product is called a Refund Transfer.

Ms. ******** claims. that she applied for a Refund Anticipation Loan (“RAL”). Unfortunately, Republic stopped offering RAL's in 2012. The only available Republic product was the Refund Transfer. According to our records, that was the product Ms. ******** applied for. The fees charged were disclosed to Ms. ******** at the time of application and are listed below:

$316.00 - Tax Preparation (paid to *** ***)

$40.00 — Transmitter (paid to tax sofiware company *** *** utilizes) $19.95 — Refund Transfer Fee (paid to Republic)

$375.95 TOTAL

Republic attempted to contact Ms. ******** after this complaint was filed to offer a refund of the Refund Transfer Fee (the only fee charged by Republic) as an accommodation only. Ms. ******** has not returned our phone calls. Unfortunately, the majority of the fees taken out of Ms. ********’s refund were charged by *** ***. If there are any questions or concerns regarding this situation, please feel free to contact me directly by phone (502-********) or email (************************).

Sincerely,

****** ******

Vice President, Associate Counsel


4/17/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I applied for a refinance mortgage, was promised zero closing costs, and rate of 3.5%. They never informed me of issues with not being able to close before my locked in rate expired until the day I was to close. They also promised me zero closing costs, which I then paid them 399 dollars to begin the loan process. Then the day I was to close(which they ended up telling me would not happen) they informed me that due to not having a republic bank account (which they were informed of well before) I would have to pay closing costs. If I had been told this information from the start I would never have gone with their company. THey are now refusing to refund my 399 I paid them on the agreement that I would have no closing cost and a rate of 3.5%. They have now cost me my interest rate (which I had been quoted by another mortgage company as well along with less expensive closing costs) and $399. They have told me to lie to my own bank to have personal information sent to them (which I did not do), have not been upfront about multiple issues, never informed me that there was a possibility that we would not close in time, and had told me that they had everything they needed two weeks before I was too close which was not the case. I want my money back, I also want to be recouped the difference in interest rates, due to the fact that they were incompetent and did not fully inform me of issues with the process until the day I was to close.

Desired Settlement: I want my money refunded along with the difference in monthly mortgage rates due to the difference in interest rate over the life of the loan, or I want them to go through with the loan as promised with zero closing and 3.5% interest rate locked in for 30yrs.

Business Response:

Ms. ******* ******** applied for a mortgage re-finance on-line with Republic Bank on 12-16-12.  She gave us her $399 upfront money 41 days after requesting that Republic Bank lock her rate which left only 14 days to order her appraisal, title search and have underwriting review her application.  Republic Bank extended her rate lock an additional 15 days, however, even this extension was not sufficient to close as there was still missing documentation.  An additional paystub was needed as well as a bank statement and the condo documents were not sufficient. 

Republic’s zero closing cost promotion was not offered to any applicant prior to 1-1-13, the date the promotion was launched.  However, Ms. ******** did still qualify for Republic Bank’s internet promotion.  This provided for; $1,000 off closing costs, plus an upfront rebate of $399 for the appraisal and application fees at closing. In total she would have received $1,399 at closing. The only cost to her is for third party fees for the title company and to set up the escrows for real estate taxes and home owners insurance.  Republic Bank’s internet promotion required no checking account.

Republic Bank handled the loan application in a professional and timely manner.  Ms. ******* was not eligible for the zero closing cost promotion.  All disclosures required to be made were timely provided.  While Ms. ******** is not entitled to a refund of her application fee, as an accommodation only, Republic Bank is refunding the fee paid by Ms. ******** by regular mail on 3-25-13

4/16/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I filled out my taxes online with TaxAct. In reviewing my documentation, somehow my money was funneled through Republic Bank. They intercepted my refund and charged me two separate fees of $17.95 for a total of $35.10. My direct deposit from the IRS went to Republic Bank where they held my funds. I do not know how Republic Bank was involved in my taxes as I was choosing to patronize ONLY TaxAct.com. I would never pay for something that is free. The IRS direct deposits money in to your account for free. By taking my refund and charging fees, Republic Bank has violated privacy agreements. It is a disgusting business practice to do this to someone.

Desired Settlement: I would like two actions to take place. First, I would like my money refunded to me in full. This is the $35.10 that Republic stole from my direct deposit from the IRS. I am owed this money because I would never willingly authorize a company to charge me money for a service that would be otherwise free. They are a third party who wrongly and misleadingly deducted money from my tax refund. Secondly, I would like this company to purge all of my personal information. In the age of identity fraud, knowing that a company that participates in these types of practices is in possession of my Social Security number and my bank information is more than unsettling. I did not actively choose to do business with Republic. I want my information wiped clean from any of their systems and I want a letter stating that this occurred for proof.

Business Response:

          Thank you for bringing this complaint to our attention and allowing us to respond.  Mr. ***** filed his taxes through an online tax software company (“TaxAct”).  When filing his taxes online, he chose to have Republic Bank & Trust Company (“Republic”) take out his tax preparation and bank fees, and then ACH his remaining refund to his account at another bank.  After receiving his funds, Republic transferred Mr. *****’s funds to the account he specified.     

 

            Mr. ***** did not believe that he requested the service described above through TaxAct.  However, Republic would not have received his funds and information with his electronic consent, which was given on February 2, 2012 at 10:20 am.  Due to this misunderstanding, as an accommodation only, Republic has offered to refund the fees charged by Republic only.  Mr. ***** was satisfied with this result.

  

            If there are any questions or concerns regarding this situation, please feel free to contact me directly by phone (###-###-####) or email ***************************  

 

Sincerely, 

****** ******

Associate Counsel 

Republic Bank & Trust Company 

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID 9416394, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

I spoke with the attorney who was very pleasant. I am in complete agreement with the proposed refund as well as the wording of their response. However, this only addresses one part of my complaint. In addition to a refund, I have requested and would like proof that this company has purged ALL of my information from their system. Specifically, they are not to be in possession of my Social Security Number or Bank Account information. I believe that businesses that engage in these sort of tactics are a identity threat risk and, having never contracted their services, will need proof that my information is no longer available to them. I reiterate my appreciation for Republic's prompt handling of this matter, the personal phone call from Mr. ******, and the refund for services not requested. I am grateful for their assistance and need them only to rectify these concerns, which were included in my initial complaint.

Regards,

****** *****

 


 

 

Business Response:

Thank you for bringing Mr. *****’s response to our attention and allowing us to respond. After receiving Mr. *****’s response, Republic contacted Mr. ***** and explained to him that due to federal and state law and regulations, we are required to retain certain information for a set period of time. We assured Mr. ***** that Republic does not share information, nor do We use that information for any other purposes. Mr. ***** was thankful for the explanation and call back.

If there are any questions or concerns regarding this situation, please feel free to contact me directly by phone (###-###-####) or email ***************************

Sincerely,

****** ******

Associate Counsel


Consumer Response:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID 9416394, and find that this resolution would be satisfactory to me.  I will wait for the business to perform this action and, if it does, will consider this complaint resolved.

Regards,

****** *****

 


 

 

4/4/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I filed my federal tax return with **********.I am due a refund 1503.36.. I agreed to pay 9.95 for processing fees through ****** and and a 17.00 refund transfer fee through republic Bank and Trust. My refund has been deposited into my acct. minus $364.00. I have called **** at their 866 number and Cannot get anyone to answer the line except a machine .. I gave them all the accurate information they requested on the automation line and I keep getting "Wrong information" I phoned ****** to ask why my refund is less $364.00 and was told that RB&T deducts there transfer fee plus any outstanding amt. due them or their affiliates.I am currently jobless and every nickle counts to put food on the table .I have been working with my creditors for 3yrs. now to pay any outstanding debts on a time frame that works for me . I feel I should have been informed of their tactics before using their services and it just doesn"t seem right to me .

Desired Settlement: I would like to know where this money went and see it back in my acct asap.Sincerely **** ** ********

Business Response:

March 15, 2013

THE BETTER BUSINESS BUREAU, INC.

844 S. 4th Street

Louisville, KY  40203-2186

Re:  Complaint of *** **** ** ******** **********

To Whom It May Concern:

                Thank you for bringing this complaint to our attention and allowing us to respond.  Mr. ******** filed his taxes through an online tax software company (“******”).  When filing his taxes online, he chose to have Republic Bank & Trust Company (“Republic”) take out his tax preparation and bank fees, and then ACH his remaining refund to his account at another bank.  After receiving his funds, Republic transferred Mr. ********’s funds to the account he specified.   

               

                Specifically, Mr. ******** claimed that he was supposed to receive $1,500.00.  Republic actually only received $1,191.26.  Republic deducted $17.95 as a Refund Transfer Fee and $7.95 for ****** as a tax preparation fee.  The remainder was disbursed to Mr. ********.  However, due to Republic’s extensive experience in the tax industry, we have learned that any tax refund amount that does not end in a round dollar amount (i.e.  $1,000.00 or $542.00) is a good indicator of some type of federal or state government offset.  Mr. ********’s refund amount was not a round dollar amount.

                Republic contacted Mr. ******** in order to determine what actually happened.  Mr. ******** informed Republic that he did receive a letter from a government agency describing an offset to his tax refund to pay a prior debt.  As such, Mr. ******** apologized and stated that he did not have any other issue with Republic.  Mr. ******** was satisfied with our response. 

               

If there are any questions or concerns regarding this situation, please feel free to contact me directly by phone (502-********) or email ***************************

Sincerely,

****** ******

Vice President, Associate Counsel

Republic Bank & Trust Company

601 W Market Street

Louisville, KY 40202

2/27/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Republic Bank has partnered with ****** online to take fees when you e-file state taxes thru ****** online. So when e-filling state taxes on ****** you can either pay the fee with your credit card when e-filling or opt for Republic Bank to take the fees. I opted to have Republic bank take the fees when e-filling state taxes for Maryland. Some how Republic Bank entered the wrong routing number and rejected the application. I verified the routing number i provided with my bank several times and it was correct. I verified the information with ****** and it was correct. I finally verified the information with the state IRS as well and it was correct, leading me to believe it was Republic Banks fault. I attempted to contact Republic Bank several times, but there is no customer service available for the their tax service. When I called their main number, all of their reps tell you to follow the prompts on their automated line to direct you to their tax division, but you get nothing but the run around and there is no live agent to speak to. After this disheartening experience I instant messaged their bank with the live agent on their website, who was very unhelpful and nasty, the live agent eventually hung up on me, when I questioned the validity of the service they offer. I questioned the validity of their service because every agent directed me to the line that ask you to enter your SS and refund amount. Since the information was incorrect, the automated prompts end the call on their own. This service the bank offers seems like a scam to say the least and if it is to operate in the future, significant changes need to be made.s

Desired Settlement: Now my refund has basically been delayed because it is bouncing between Republic bank and the IRS. I also now have to be delayed by receiving a paper check instead of direct deposit like I requested. This error was not my fault and if the IRS and ****** both have the correct information, it has to be Republic Bank. The rep I spoke to from ****** even stated that it was Republic Banks fault.

Business Response: To Whom It May Concern:            

Thank you for bringing this complaint to our attention and allowing us to respond.  Mr. ****** filed his taxes through an online tax software company (“******”).  When filing his taxes online, he chose to have Republic Bank & Trust Company (“Republic”) take out his tax preparation and bank fees, and then ACH his remaining refund to his account at another bank. After receiving his funds, Republic transferred Mr. ******’ funds to the account he specified.                

Unfortunately, Mr. ****** was given incomplete and incorrect information.  His state tax refund was sent to Republic and then transferred to his account.  As soon as we receive his federal refund, we will follow the same instructions.  At no point have funds been sent back to the IRS.  Mr. ****** has spoken to Republic’s customer service representatives, is well aware of the current situation and is satisfied with Republic’s actions.  I have attempted to contact Mr. ****** to verify this information.  However, as of today, Mr. ****** has not returned my phone calls.                         

If there are any questions or concerns regarding this situation, please feel free to contact me directly by phone (###-###-####) or email
*************************). 

Sincerely, 
****** ******
Associate Counsel
Republic Bank & Trust Company
601 W Market StreetLouisville, KY 40202
###-###-####

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID 9419574, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

Regards,

***** ****** 

 


Although the situation is resolved now, the facts stated below are completely  untrue to say the least.  Mr. ******* never contacted me.  After filing this complaint, I emailed the banks' customer service line.  A young lady from the bank called me on President;s Day with a response alerting me that they should receive my refund on 2/21/13 and it should be in my account the following day, which it was.  She even sent me a text alert.  It is true that I did my taxes thru ******'s online tax prep. service, but Republic Bank was the company that gave me the bad information and horrible service at first.  Also it is not true that they will receive my federal refund, since there was no fee for them to recoup.  My federal refund will go directly into my account from the IRS.  So the majority of Republic Banks response was completely fabricated.

Thanks

*****

2/21/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I recently applied for a car loan through a diffrent financial institution who offered me an extremely high interest rate because my mortgage through Republic Bank shows closed and charged off since October 2010! My mortgage has not been charged off or closed! When I called and spoke with a representative she said it was an error she would correct which she has not, and offered no apology.

Desired Settlement: I need my credit report corrected back to 2010! I'm a single mother with 3 kids suffering from multiple sclerosis and most recently cancer my car recently broke down because of my health I need this issued resolved immediately.

Business Response:

Today, 2-07-13, Republic changed the Credit Bureau Account Status code from "97"(charge off) to an "11"(current account) and input "0" past due. We are very sorry your account was not corrected when you first brought this to our attention.  Please accept our sincere apology for the inaccurate reporting. We appreciate that you brought the matter to our attention again so we could make the correction. 

10/16/2012 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have both a checking and money market account. I often transfer money between the accounts. Recently I received a warning letter stating that I was limited to a certain number of transfers. The letter clearly stated that it was only a warning. I logged into my online banking to discover that the bank had withdrawn a charge of $40 from my MMA. The bank never informed me of the charge. When I opened this MMA account I asked which type of account would be best since I would be making transfers and the lady recommended the MMA. I consider this charge as a theft.

Desired Settlement: I want the $40 returned to my MMA and from now on I want the fine print explained. I also want to be informed of such transactions on the banks part!

Business Response: Federal Regulation D places a monthly limit on the number of transfers any person may make from a Savings Account or Money Market Account when the customer is not physically present. Transfers affected by this regulation include: •Transfers made using Online Banking•Transfers made using Telephone Banking•Overdraft transfers•Transfers made by a Member Service Representative on the custoemer's behalf•Pre-authorized, automatic, scheduled or recurring transfers. 

A customer is allowed up to a maximum of six such transfers per month, per account, pursuant to federal regulation.  Abuse of this requirement is subject to fees in order to discourage the unlawful activity.  If that does not adjust the customer's behavior in a reasonable time, then the account will normally be closed.  Our customer was advised of this requirement on account opening.  Since our customer appears to not understand the requirements or has forgotton the account disclosures and the fee schedule provided, we are, as an accomodation, waiving the fee for this one time only.  No further waivers of fees will be granted.  The $40.00 fee was credited to the customer's account on October 11, 2012.

Consumer Response:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID 9255018, and find that this resolution would be satisfactory to me.  I will wait for the business to perform this action and, if it does, will consider this complaint resolved.

Regards,

******* *******

 


 

 

8/3/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My tax preparer utilized Republic Bank to process my federal and state tax return.He listed an incorrect zip code.They received my return on 6/13/2012 per the IRS "where is my refund".I filled out paperwork on 6/18/2012 to authorize a stop payment on the checks.I was told they would reissue checks and I would have them by 6/25/2012.After not receiving anything I called on 6/28/2012 around noon .I was told by April my check was being overnighted and I would have it on 6/29/2012.I called back minutes later and spoke to ****** who relayed the same information.At this point,I asked for a tracking number.****** stated to call back at 4PM and the tracking number would be available then.I called back at 4PM and spoke to ***** who informed me I wouldn't have my check until 7/6/2012.She stated "I misunderstood" what I was told.She stated their policy was a ten business day wait before canceling a check,then an additional 5 business days to reissue a new check.At no point was I informed of this and I got different information just about every time I called.They've been holding my money for over 3 weeks as I write this.

Desired Settlement: At this point,all I would like is my tax refund.This has been an awful experience I would like to move past.

Business Response:

 

 

July 20, 2012

 

THE BETTER BUSINESS BUREAU, INC.

844 S. 4th Street

Louisville, KY  40203-2186

 

 

Re:  BBB Case #******* * **** ** ******

 

 

To Whom It May Concern:

 

            Thank you for bringing this complaint to our attention and allowing us to respond.  When Ms. ****** filed her taxes, she chose to have Republic Bank & Trust Company (“Republic”) take out her tax preparation and bank fees, and disburse the remaining funds (federal and state) to her.   

 

Republic was provided incorrect information from Ms. ******’ tax preparer, including incorrect bank account information and incorrect address information.  Because of these errors, it took Republic three different attempts to get Ms. ****** her funds.  However, Ms. ****** received both checks (federal and state) on July 7, 2012 and cashed them both that same day.  Those checks are attached to this response. 

           

            Several attempts to contact Ms. ****** have been unsuccessful.  If there are any questions or concerns regarding this situation, please feel free to contact me directly by phone (502-588-8937) or email ***************************

 

 

Sincerely,

 

****** ******

Associate Counsel

Republic Bank & Trust Company

*** * ****** ****** *********** ** ***** ***** ********

 

7/24/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: As a first time home buyer, I was searching for mortgage lender offering low interest rates and was referred to Republic Bank. Republic Bank does offer one of the lowest interest rates, but it comes with a sacrifice in customer service. I was assigned to loan officer *** ******. After the initial phone conversation, I never spoke with her via phone again. Being a first time home buyer, I had a few questions and concerns I would have liked to have spoken to her about prior to signing the disclosure forms. I called multiple times daily for over a week, left messages, and sent emails. *** never got back with me. I had to call her assistant to have my questions answered. I was attempting to purchase a condo and paid the $399 fee to republic for opening the loan. However, the loan did not go through. *** did not call me to notify me of this. I called and spoke with ***** ******* who was able to tell me in 5 minutes of speaking with me that the condo's information was not going to be approved by the underwriter. Had *** answered the telephone or responded to me in any way, it could have potentially saved me $399. I decided to stick with Republic and continue my home search since ***** was so helpful. After finding my choice home, I sent the contract to ***** and informed him that I would not like to work with *** ****** due to her unavailable and uninformative nature. He assigned me to a new loan officer who called me that day and was very friendly, but I have not heard from her since. As the deadline for the contract was rapidly approaching, I was worried that things were not going to get done in time. My agent called ***** who informed her that the appraisal had already been completed and there was a closing date set. NO ONE called to clue me in on this. It is absolutely unacceptable that I had been kept in the dark about matters involving my home purchase. Customer service requires communication and it is very sad that the only person from Republic who knows how to answer the phone and help out is someone not even assigned to my loan. I have steered four friends away from opening car/home loans with Republic due to their nightmarish customer service and will continue to do so.

Desired Settlement: I would like to have my $399 refunded from the first loan. If there was a line of communication, I would not be asking for this money back as I am aware that not all loans can be approved. However, this could have been avoided and feel it is fair to ask for this money to be returned to me. Especially since I am still using Republic as a mortgage lender. Also, I would like to be assigned to an informative loan officer that is fit for duty.

Business Response: Republic Bank has reviewed the complaint of Ms. ******* and discussed it with all appropriate Republic Bank associates. We apologize that Ms. ******* felt the customer service was not up to appropriate standards.  We have discussed the matter with Ms. ******* and we have agreed to refund to her the $399.00 fee on the first loan application.  Ms. ******* is satisfied with the resolution of the matter.

7/17/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I filed my taxes on May 25,2012 by a tax preparer in my area... On June 8, I check the statues of the refunds on the IRS website and it indicated the refunds were deposited on the 6th... I was instructed to contact Republic Bank to get an idea of when the check will be sent.. I was told by 3 Republic Bank employees that the checks had been mailed on June 6 and 7... That's my state and federal income taxes.. I have no idea why the have my state taxes... Here on June 21, I have not received the checks... I can't believe the U.S.P.S takes better than two weeks for two letters to get from Kentucky to Louisiana... I asked Republic Bank if they have some type of a tracking number and was told no they don't, but they know they checks weren't sent back and they have not been cashed.... I'm constantly told give it another week.. And this is supposed to be rapid refund? What am I paying Republic for? To slow down the process down maybe.. Totally unacceptable...

Desired Settlement: First off, I would love to receive my refunds soon or have some tell me, really tell me where they are... I'd like to be refunded for Republics Banks charges... The tax preparer should receive her fees because she did what she was supposed to do, but Republic dropped the ball...

Business Response:

July 3, 2012

 

THE BETTER BUSINESS BUREAU, INC.

844 S. 4th Street

Louisville, KY  40203-2186

 

 

Re:  BBB Case #******* * *** ******* ******

 

 

To Whom It May Concern:

 

            Thank you for bringing this complaint to our attention and allowing us to respond.  Mr. ****** filed his taxes through a local tax preparer in **************, Louisiana.  When filing his taxes, Mr. ****** chose to have Republic Bank & Trust Company (“Republic”) take out his tax preparation and bank fees, and disburse the remaining funds (federal and state) to him.   

 

On June 28, 2012, Republic spoke with Mr. ****** and verified that he did receive his funds.  Additionally, as an accommodation only, Republic offered to reimburse the $29.95 Tax Refund Administration Fee, the only fee charged by Republic.   Mr. ****** was satisfied with this result.

           

            If there are any questions or concerns regarding this situation, please feel free to contact me directly by phone (************) or email (************************).

 

 

Sincerely,

 

****** ******

Associate Counsel

Republic Bank & Trust Company

601 W Market Street

Louisville, KY 40202

***** ********

6/8/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I filed my taxes with **** ** **** **** ** ****** ********. I paid in full, a fee of two hundred dollars for my fee which included preparing the taxes and filing electronically, as I did last year. It took almost a month before I received my refund. I called **** ** **** and he never returned my calls. I received a letter from Republic Bank that a total forty-nine dollars and ninety cents had been deducted from my Federal Tax Refund for fees. I was never aware of this charge. Also, had I known, I would have mailed my tax return. I never authorized this fee to be deducted from my money. I wrote a letter to this bank almost over a month ago and never heard from them.

Desired Settlement: Return my money.

Business Response:

May 15, 2012

 

THE BETTER BUSINESS BUREAU, INC.

844 S. 4th Street

Louisville, KY  40203-2186

 

 

Re:  BBB Case # ******* * *** ******* **** **********

 

 

To Whom It May Concern:

 

            Thank you for bringing this complaint to our attention and allowing us to respond. After receiving Ms. *********** complaint, Republic Bank & Trust Company (“Republic” or “we”) opened an investigation.  As of today’s date, that investigation is inconclusive and ongoing.  However, we have spoken to Ms. ********** and have offered to refund all fees ($54.90), as an accommodation only.

 

            Ms. ********** was satisfied with this outcome.  If there are any questions or concerns regarding this situation, please feel free to contact me directly by phone (************) or email (************************).

 

Sincerely,

 

 

 

****** ******

Associate Counsel

Republic Bank & Trust Company

601 W Market Street

Louisville, KY 40202

Consumer Response:

To Whom It May Concern:

I want to thank you for your assistance.  I received the check and I appreciate the way you handled everything.

******* **********

4/30/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Republic Bank was supposed to deposit my tax return into my bank account, but instead sent a check to my old address without contacting me. Now, they will not give me my money. They have lied to me several times about having an incorrect account number, although they have the correct account & routing number. They also said they sent a check, but no check came to my address before I moved. They did not notify me that they were sending a check, so I assumed that my money would be deposited. After many phone calls, I finally found out what they had done. I contacted them at their customer service number, and was told that a transfer of my money was rejected, but my bank says there was no such rejection. They are now telling me I have to fill out forms, get proof of my address, get forms notarized & fax forms to them to get my money, which I am currently unable to do. I should not have to do these things when I gave them the correct information in the beginning.

Desired Settlement: I need them to give me my money ASAP.

Business Response:

April 16, 2010

 

THE BETTER BUSINESS BUREAU, INC.

844 S. 4th Street

Louisville, KY  40203-2186

 

 

Re:  BBB Case #******* * *** ***** *****

 

 

To Whom It May Concern:

 

            Thank you for bringing this complaint to our attention and allowing us to respond.  Ms. ***** filed her taxes through an online tax software company (******).  When filing her taxes online, she chose to have Republic Bank & Trust Company (“Republic”) take out her tax preparation and bank fees, and then ACH her remaining refund to her account at another bank.  After receiving her funds, Republic attempted to ACH Ms. *****’s funds to the account she specified.  Her bank rejected the funds specifying that they were unable to find the account. 

 

            Since Republic could not ACH Ms. *****’s money, we had to send a check to the address she provided to us via ******.  Unfortunately, Ms. ***** provided an older address.  Ms. *****, one day after filing this complaint, received and cashed her check (attached).  The numerous attempts made by Republic to contact Ms. ***** since receiving this complaint have been unsuccessful.  As such, Republic believes Ms. ***** to be satisfied with this result.

           

            If there are any questions or concerns regarding this situation, please feel free to contact me directly by phone (502*********) or email (**************************

 

 

Sincerely,

 

****** ******

Associate Counsel

Republic Bank & Trust Company

601 W Market Street

Louisville, KY 40202

(502) ********