BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In Delaware Serving New Castle, Kent and Sussex Counties

BBB Accredited Business since

The Company Corporation

Additional Locations

Phone: (800) 818-6082 Fax: (302) 636-5454 View Additional Phone Numbers 2711 Centerville Rd., Suite 400, Wilmington, DE 19808 http://www.incorporate.com View Additional Web Addresses

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers incorporating services.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that The Company Corporation meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for The Company Corporation include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 114 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

114 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 23 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 4
Billing/Collection Issues 78
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 31
Total Closed Complaints 114

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on The Company Corporation
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: May 01, 1973 Business started: 01/01/1972 in DE Business started locally: 01/01/1972 Business incorporated: 01/01/1972 in DE
Licensing

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Licenses, Division of Revenue
820 N. French Street, Wilmington DE 19801
http://www.state.de.us/revenue
Phone Number: 302-577-8778
Fax Number: 302-577-8203

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. David Gilardi, General Manager Ms. Judi Harbaugh, Customer Service Manager Mr. John Meyer, Marketing Team Leader
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. David Gilardi, General Manager
Customer Contact: Ms. Judi Harbaugh, Customer Service Manager
Business Category

INCORPORATION SERVICES

Alternate Business Names
CorpAmerica Corporate Agents, Inc. Incorporate.com InstaCorp LLC.com Registered Agent Authority The Company Corp. The United State Corporation Company

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    1201 Hays Street

    Tallahassee, FL 32301 (800) 342-8086

  • 2711 Centerville Rd., Suite 400

    Wilmington, DE 19808 (302) 636-5440

  • P.O. Box 591

    Wilmington, DE 19899

  • 1
X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (302) 636-5440(Phone)
  • (800) 315-9420(Phone)
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

2/3/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I registered a business with this company, and without any authorization from me, are listing themselves as the registered agent and are billing me $235 for this "service". This is evidently a well-known scam they have been doing for some time, see http://www.complaintsboard.com/complaints/the-company-corporation-wilmington-delaware*************

Desired Settlement: remove themselves as the registered agent and cancel all charges.

Business Response:

Agent services were discontinued due to a change of agent filed with the state of Oregon on January 8, 2014.    Invoice ******** dated September 7, 2013 has been closed due the state filing, there is no balance due on *** *********** account.

 

 

 

 

The Company Corporation
2711 Centerville Road Suite 400
Wilmington, DE 19808 

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

 


 

 

 

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

12/22/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I was told that due to my nonpayment of statutory services, my registered agent services was discontinued and that a 3rd party debt collection agency will contact me to collect my debt. These services which I stated I would be the registered agent for, are being charged and then being sent into collections, which will affect my credit. I paid the amount to prevent this, but am very unhappy that I have to be put in this situation.

Desired Settlement: I want a full refund for these misleading of services and charges being applied with threats of collection agencies.

Business Response:

In regards to services for *** ******** agent service is active with the state and all invoices are current and paid. 

 

 

 

 

The Company Corporation
2711 Centerville Road Suite 400
Wilmington, DE 19808 

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

12/17/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The Company Corporation continues to send me invoices and calls me regarding a service that I have asked to be cancelled many times. I have written them and also called them several times requesting that this Registered Agent service be cancelled. No one has been able to cancel this service. They claim I owe them $495.00. This is false. Please help me resolve this issue. Account No *******

Desired Settlement: Please cancel this bill. I did not authorize this to be renewed and close my account.

Business Response:

In response to the above case,  due to the change of agent filed with the state.  All invoices have been adjusted closed and no balance is due.

 

The Company Corporation
2711 Centerville Road Suite 400
Wilmington, DE 19808 

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

 

 


 

 

 

 

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

11/16/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I owned a business and filed with the company corporation. My last day of business was December 14, 2011. I have, since then, been trying to dissolve this business with no success. I have contacted the company corporation countless times to find out the steps I had to take to do this. I was told to fill out these applications of dissolution, which I did and sent it in. I received a bill from them again for their services. I contacted them again and they said I still didn't dissolve the business and had to fill out this application again, which I did and sent it in. I received yet another bill. I contacted them again and, to their suggestion, decided to have them dissolve it for me at the cost of $500. I did this because I was so frustrated at this point I just wanted it done. I received another bill. I contacted them again. I had one person working on my account and was told to only ask for him if I had any other issues and he would handle them. I received another bill stating they were sending it to a collection agency. I contacted them again and asked for the person I was told to, he assured me it would be taken care of. I received another bill. Then I was reimbursed from them in the amount of $380. I didn't know why but I figured they overcharged me to dissolve the company. At this point, it is now around March of 2013. My H&R Block agent sent me more forms to fill out to dissolve this company and said once I did this It would be dissolved once and for all so I could file my income taxes. I did this and sent them in. I received another bill with a late fee! I contacted them again asking for that same person who would supposed to take care of everything. He wasn't in , he would call me back, never did. I thought maybe he fixed it. I received another bill. I called again, he was supposed to call me back, never did. I received another bill Stating "Guarantee Discontinue", but they claim I still owe them! I don't know what else to do. So I need help!

Desired Settlement: I just want them to stop billing me for services I no longer use or need.

Business Response:

In response to the concerns, a dissolution order was pending for the state of Pennsylvania.  The state requires tax clearance before accepting any dissolution request including Revenue clearance.   We have been in touch with **** *********** we have not received the original Revenue clearance inturn the order was cancelled and refunded.   The company is an active entity with the state and we are currently listed as agent.  A change of agent can be filed changing  to **** ********** if she desires and our services can be cancelled.

 

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

10/25/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The Company Corporation continues to send me emails, to call me, and to mail me letters demanding that I pay an invoice for a service that I never agreed to: for them to be my Registered Agent. Previous to the billing, a service representative called me and asked me if I wanted the service. I indicated that I did not. However, the Company Corporation apparently listed themselves as my Registered Agent and are now demanding $235. I have filed paperwork that I would be my own Registered Agent. I have called the company repeatedly and been told,falsely, that a manager would call me back. I have also sent emails asking for the problem to be resolved. However, I am unable to reach anyone who will discuss this matter with me; rather, I can only reach people who ask for my credit card number to process the payment.

Desired Settlement: Cancel the invoice for the service I never requested and return my balance to $0.

Business Response: The account for agent service was discontinued on September 30th due to a change of agent. 
We have been in contact with *** ******* to advise the account has been closed
and no invoice is pending.

 

 

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

 


 

 

 

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

10/20/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The website invites you to incorporate in the state of Nevada with a list of items that appears to result in that incorporation. However, once you pay you find that you actually owe the state $325 more to incorporate. When questioned their response is that they did all they said they would to file but "the state has additional requirements." Absolutely misleading. Product_Or_Service: llc incorporation in Nevada Order_Number: ****** Account_Number: Strongnation llc

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Refund the company did expend some funds ($75 for an EIN number),probably 20-50 dollars on an embossing tool and a notebook and associated labor. I would like $350 of my $491 returned.

Business Response:

In response to the case regarding the state requirement of filing the initial list and business license registration, with a filing fee of  $325.00.   The option to add the state report is included within the formation application, including the state fees.  This option was declined within the online order placed.   All services were completed as requested within the order.

 

The Company Corporation
2711 Centerville Road Suite 400
Wilmington, DE 19808

 

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

10/14/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have received a letter threatening placement with a collection agency should I refuse to renew their service of acting as Registered Agent.

Desired Settlement: A letter stating that they are no longer acting as my Registered Agent and I do not owe them any renewal fee.

Business Response: The account has been closed for *** ******** due to a change of agent filed with
the state.   There are no open invoices pending for ******** ***

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

 


 

 

 

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

9/20/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I hired the company to take me through the process of incorporating and with that came one year of free service. Before my one year was up I called and told them I no longer wished to continue service with them. The service I had paid for ended in January. They sent me an invoice if I wanted to continue service. Being that I had called to cancel I disregarded the letter because I did not agree to continue service. I recently received a letter that they turned me into collections and are threatening to affect my legal withstanding with the state. All due to unauthorized charges and a bill for a service agreement that was never authorized.

Desired Settlement: I would like for them to withdraw the issue from collections and erase the debt from services that weren't amortized.

Business Response: We cannot discontinue inv. No. ******** which was due on 3/31/2013 due to no change of agent has been filed with the state.    A state filing must be completed in order to
designate a new registered office address, this is a requirement of the state.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

9/12/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The Company Corporation has billed for services which were not needed and not purchased.1. The company billed for registered agent services for MintFinder.com LLC a NY based corporation which did not need or ask for agency services.2. The company billed for registered agent services for Love It Group LLC even after the company was closed.The company corporation was notified of billing errors, but failed to resolve them. Further the company billed for a late fee.

Desired Settlement: The company corporation needs to correct is records - the services were not requested/rendered. I need a confirmation of $0 balance on the account and a confirmation that no services will be billed for going forward for either Love It Group LLC or MintFinder.com LLC.

Business Response:

In response regarding invoicing for agent service for MINTFINDER.COM, LLLC.   The account has been closed due to filings completed with the Secretary of State, there are no pending invoices.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

8/25/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I received a bill from "The Company Corporation", also known as Corporation Service Company (CSC) or CSCglobal, whom I use as a registered agent in Delaware. The invoice asked for $100.00, labeled as the service "Forms - Foreign", plus another $3.00 fee for "Finance Charge". When I called in to ask about the charges, the representative informed me that it was for form preparations.Two months prior I was looking into using their services to register my company as a Foreign Entity in California. When discussing the fees for this via email with one of their representatives I was told:"If you would like to file a foreign qualification in California, that is something CSC can assist you with via email. We charge $298 to prepare and file the forms for you. We will also advance all state fees associated with the application. "In the next email I found a "prepared" .pdf form attached (filled in 5 fields with basic company info that I could have easily done). The attachment also included their true billing amounts...State filing fee: $70.00 Expedited fee: $350.00 Service fee: $198.00Delaware Good Standing fee: $50.00Registered Agent fee: $311.00Federal Express fee: $25.00 Total Amount: $1,004.00Suddenly the total cost in my mind went from $298 to $1,004. Once I saw all of their fees stacked up I chose to go with another company who wouldn't hide fees and offered a more competitive price. This didn't prevent The Company Corporation for billing me for sending me the email though.After attempting to dispute the charge with the account representative, I choose to just pay the amount to keep my account in good standing. This experience left a bad taste in my mouth, and I will probably jump ship to another registered agent service once my current term with The Company Corporation runs out. It's ridiculous to state one fee, amend it to a significantly inflated figure, and then discreetly bill users for these basic services.

Desired Settlement: I would like a refund applied to my account to resolve this issue.

Business Response:
On August 27th a refund was processed for the funds *** ********* had paid.


Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

 


 

 

 

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

8/24/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: This complaint involves "many" fields and I was only allowed to check one so I will explain.I hired this company through the internet to form 2 different LLC companys for me in VA.I paid through a credit card 180.00 for each for a total of 360 dollars. I later found out they did the paperwork I paid them for incorrectly. I contacted them nearly 7 + times and they said they would fix it each time. They never did so I had to redo what I paid them for myself. They then started billing me for a service I did not hire them to do. They waited months to send me a bill for the service of listing their company as "agent" on my paperwork so the bill could be added up for many months total and as I said I did not hire them to do this for me as I could do that myself for no money. I then started recieving harassing calls and emails. I told them they did not complete the paperwork correctly I paid them to do and I had to redo it through the VA State Comission and then they starting billing me for a hidden service I did not hire them to do. I explained this to someone at the State Comission and they said they had heard it before and sent me another form to remove the name The Company Corporation from my paperwork which I did. I then researched the name The Company Corporation on the internet and found many many many complaints about the same theing they have done to me.

Desired Settlement: I want a full refund of the 380 dollars I paid this company, I want them to cancel the billing they are sending me as I did not hire them to do anything Else for me and what they did do they done it incorrectly and caused me to have to redo the paperwork. I want them to stop harassing me by phone email and snail mail as I have asked them many of times and have the copies of those emails.

Business Response:

I was not able to reply directly thru the complaint, please see the following response.

 

In researching 2 companies associated with ****** **********; **** **** ******** *** *** ***** *************** ***.    No state filings of corrections have been listed on the state date, no additional information of any issues regarding the filings from 2012 is on record.   The account with our company has been closed for agent service, due to Pamela Sutherland is listed as the agent with the state for both entities.   In order to research any issue with the filings, additional detailed information would need to be provided to clarify any incorrect filing.

 

 

 

The Company Corporation
2711 Centerville Road Suite 400
Wilmington, DE 19808

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ******** and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, the reason I am rejecting this is:

It is just another lie from them. They are also still billing me as I have recieved another round of bills from them.  I have contacted them numerous of times and saw many many complaints on the web.  I had to redo the work I paid them to do as I have seen on the web many many more had to do. 

I am also filing complaints with the proper offices in the State they are liscenced in.

 I had to correct the work they did,  through the VA Corp Commision.  I have all paperwork for proof.

I would like a full refund of monies I have paid and for these people to quit billing me.

 

 

 

 

 

Business Response:

As requested in the response dated August 8th, we need detailed information to each order of any incorrect filings.    We have received no information of a filing error to each order, we contacted *** ********** on June 17th and June 20th, 2013 with no response.   

 

***** *************** ***    file date 8/17/12  order no. 317111

 

**** **** ******** ***     file date 8/20/12 order no. 317137

 

Each account for agent service was discontinued on August 6, 2013, there are no open/outstanding invoices.

 

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable effort to address the complaint. However the consumer remains dissatisfied.

7/10/2013 Billing/Collection Issues
7/2/2013 Billing/Collection Issues
6/26/2013 Problems with Product/Service
6/13/2013 Problems with Product/Service
6/11/2013 Billing/Collection Issues
6/7/2013 Billing/Collection Issues
5/22/2013 Billing/Collection Issues
5/22/2013 Billing/Collection Issues
5/15/2013 Problems with Product/Service
5/7/2013 Delivery Issues
5/2/2013 Problems with Product/Service
4/25/2013 Problems with Product/Service
4/6/2013 Billing/Collection Issues
4/2/2013 Billing/Collection Issues
4/1/2013 Billing/Collection Issues
3/22/2013 Billing/Collection Issues
3/22/2013 Billing/Collection Issues
3/22/2013 Billing/Collection Issues
3/19/2013 Billing/Collection Issues
3/12/2013 Billing/Collection Issues
3/8/2013 Billing/Collection Issues
2/2/2013 Billing/Collection Issues
1/30/2013 Billing/Collection Issues
1/28/2013 Billing/Collection Issues
1/25/2013 Billing/Collection Issues
1/24/2013 Problems with Product/Service
1/11/2013 Billing/Collection Issues
12/4/2012 Billing/Collection Issues
12/4/2012 Billing/Collection Issues
11/2/2012 Problems with Product/Service
10/16/2012 Problems with Product/Service
10/16/2012 Billing/Collection Issues
10/11/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues
10/10/2012 Billing/Collection Issues
10/3/2012 Problems with Product/Service
9/24/2012 Billing/Collection Issues
9/24/2012 Problems with Product/Service
9/19/2012 Billing/Collection Issues
8/31/2012 Billing/Collection Issues
8/29/2012 Problems with Product/Service
8/26/2012 Billing/Collection Issues
8/21/2012 Billing/Collection Issues
8/20/2012 Billing/Collection Issues
8/20/2012 Billing/Collection Issues
8/13/2012 Billing/Collection Issues
7/17/2012 Billing/Collection Issues
6/26/2012 Billing/Collection Issues
6/26/2012 Billing/Collection Issues
6/21/2012 Billing/Collection Issues
6/17/2012 Problems with Product/Service
6/14/2012 Billing/Collection Issues
6/12/2012 Problems with Product/Service
5/27/2012 Problems with Product/Service
5/11/2012 Billing/Collection Issues
5/10/2012 Billing/Collection Issues
4/27/2012 Billing/Collection Issues
3/22/2012 Problems with Product/Service
3/20/2012 Billing/Collection Issues
3/19/2012 Problems with Product/Service
3/9/2012 Problems with Product/Service
2/26/2012 Billing/Collection Issues
2/22/2012 Billing/Collection Issues
2/20/2012 Billing/Collection Issues
2/8/2012 Billing/Collection Issues
2/3/2012 Billing/Collection Issues
1/28/2012 Problems with Product/Service
1/18/2012 Billing/Collection Issues
1/18/2012 Billing/Collection Issues
1/18/2012 Billing/Collection Issues
1/12/2012 Billing/Collection Issues
1/3/2012 Billing/Collection Issues
12/16/2011 Problems with Product/Service
12/15/2011 Billing/Collection Issues
12/7/2011 Problems with Product/Service
12/2/2011 Problems with Product/Service
12/1/2011 Problems with Product/Service
11/29/2011 Billing/Collection Issues
11/4/2011 Advertising/Sales Issues
11/4/2011 Billing/Collection Issues
10/3/2011 Problems with Product/Service
9/26/2011 Billing/Collection Issues
9/15/2011 Problems with Product/Service
9/9/2011 Billing/Collection Issues
9/2/2011 Billing/Collection Issues
8/30/2011 Billing/Collection Issues
8/29/2011 Problems with Product/Service
8/17/2011 Problems with Product/Service
8/12/2011 Billing/Collection Issues
7/1/2011 Billing/Collection Issues
6/24/2011 Problems with Product/Service
6/24/2011 Billing/Collection Issues
6/23/2011 Billing/Collection Issues
6/21/2011 Advertising/Sales Issues
6/10/2011 Billing/Collection Issues
6/9/2011 Problems with Product/Service
6/8/2011 Billing/Collection Issues
5/27/2011 Billing/Collection Issues
5/19/2011 Billing/Collection Issues
5/13/2011 Advertising/Sales Issues
5/3/2011 Billing/Collection Issues
5/2/2011 Billing/Collection Issues
4/26/2011 Billing/Collection Issues
4/26/2011 Billing/Collection Issues
1