BBB Accredited Business since

SchagrinGAS Company

Additional Locations

Phone: (302) 378-2000 Fax: (302) 378-2898 View Additional Phone Numbers 1000 N. Broad Street, Middletown, DE 19709 http://www.schagringas.com



BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

SchagrinGAS Co. has been family owned and operated since 1932.

SchagrinGAS offers much more then just propane. We have a full service HVAC (Heating, Ventilation, and Air Conditioning) department. We are a Lennox Premier dealer, and also carry Trane. SchagrinGAS has a generator department, that is equipped with certified Generac Generator technicians. Schagrin Water Systems is a division of SchagrinGAS. They can address your water concerns and needs with our top of the line Hague equipment. SchagrinGAS also installs the following; fireplaces by Regency and Mendota, water heaters by Navien, Rinnai, and Bradford White. We also carry grills by Lynx, Weber, and Broilmaster.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that SchagrinGAS Company meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for SchagrinGAS Company include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 6 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

6 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 2
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 4
Total Closed Complaints 6

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on SchagrinGAS Company
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: August 01, 1970 Business started: 01/01/1932 in DE Business incorporated 01/01/1932 in DE
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Licenses, Division of Revenue
820 N. French Street, Wilmington DE 19801
http://www.state.de.us/revenue
Phone Number: 302-577-8778
Fax Number: 302-577-8203

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Andrew C Levinson Sr., President Mr. Andrew C Levinson, Vice President Mr. Rick Levinson, President Mrs. Jillian L Shields Jr., Vice President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Andrew C Levinson Sr., President
Customer Contact: Ms. Susan Wood
Business Category

GAS-PROPANE GAS-PROPANE-EQUIPMENT & SUPPLIES WATER HEATERS-DEALERS WATER SOFT & CONDITIONING EQUIPMENT SERVICE & SUPPLIES WATER TREATMENT EQUIPMENT, SERVICE & SUPPLIES AIR CONDITIONING REPAIR AIR CONDITIONING SUPPLIES & PARTS HEATING EQUIPMENT WATER HEATERS-PARTS & SUPPLIES AIR CONDITIONING & HEATING CONTRACTORS - RESIDENTIAL AIR CONDITIONING CONTRACTORS & SYSTEMS HEATING CONTRACTORS VENTILATING CONTRACTORS HEATING & AIR CONDITIONING GENERATORS-STEAM APPLIANCES-MAJOR-DEALERS FIREPLACES

Products & Services

SchagrinGAS Company sells the following brand(s): Bradford White, Broilmaster, Generac, Hague, Lennox, Lynx, Mendota, Navien, Regency, Rinnai, Trane, Weber

SchagrinGAS Company offers the following product(s): Air Conditioners, Fireplaces, Furnaces, Gas Grills, Generators, Grills, HVAC (Heating, Ventilation, and A/C), Propane, Tankless Water Heaters, Water Conditioning, Water Heaters, Water Treatment

Method(s) of Payment
Cash, Check, Mastercard, Visa & Discover
Industry Tips
Heating & Cooling Your Home

Additional Locations

  • 1000 N. Broad Street

    Middletown, DE 19709 (302) 378-2000 (800) 341-4022

  • 18675 Coastal Highway  Unit #6

    Rehoboth Beach, DE 19971

  • P.O Box 427

    Middletown, DE 19709

  • Shoppes of Hockessin

    Hockessin, DE 19707 (302) 239-9665

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

4/23/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Schagrin Gas claims they own a propane tank on my property. I say "claims they own, because I have asked for written proof of a lease that they said they cannot find. I question whether it even exists. The l500 gallon propane gas tank was on the property when I purchased the home in 2004 For the past 5 months I have been asking them to remove the tank they claim they own. Despite a stop delivery order they delivered propane anyway and billed me. I have written multiple emails, letters, and called repeatedly. Despite all this communication they have ignored my requests to remove the 2 tanks. Through my repeated calls and persistence they finally agreed to remove the tank at the end of January. Two days prior to removal they left me voice mail and cancelled, Multiple emails and calls later I was able to get a removal date of March 31, 2015 between 8:30am and 10am. They did not show up until 11:30am and my crew installing the new tanks sat and waited. Schagrin was fully aware that the new install would be scheduled right after. I had to listen to every excuse from traffic accidents to broken down trucks. Now, if they ever do remove the tank I am concerned that they will overbill me for the cost of removal and not credit me the for the gas remaining in the tanks. Schagrin Gas, has been horrible to deal with and I hope no other homeowner has to experience this issue. The names of the company employees that I have been working with are ******* **** and Ken Moody. No consumer should have to put up with game playing. They claim I am responsible for the cost of removal which I have agreed too in advance of removal. No bill paying customer should be treated this way. By the way, when I told Schagrin I would remove the tanks and put them at the curb for their pick up they threatened to have their team of attorneys file a lawsuit against me. Nice, file a law suit against your customers. Great job!

Desired Settlement: Remove the tanks, credit me for propane remaining in the tank, bill me fairly for tank removal, and lastly Change your company policies and improve your customer service!

Business Response: Dear **** ******

Please refer to the attached answer to the complaint.

If you have any additional questions, please feel free to contact me.

Thank you.

***** ****
SchagrinGAS

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********* and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

I have attached every email back and forth to Schagrin Gas during this process to my complaint.  

I spoke to ***** **** one time so most of what her letter states is fabricated.   With the exception of one call my communication was with ******* **** and *** ***** of Schagrin Gas.

1) Despite repeated requests Schagrin did not provide a copy of the lease for the 500 gallon tank they claim they installed in 1995.  The tank was here in 2004 when I purchased my home.   I am certain by law that was required.  The email from ******* **** clearly states they did not have a copy to provide me. 

 2) Schagrin delivered propane to my home and billed me even after instructed them to stop.  

3) It took over 30 emails and as many calls to actually have the tank removed.  

4) I spoke to ***** **** and stated I wanted proof that owned the tank by providing the lease or I would have it removed myself.  At that point she quoted state law and threatened to sue me if I so much as touched the tank.    I even offered to buy the tank they claimed they owned, but they refused to work anything out with me.  I even offered to buy the tank and continue to get deliveries for 3 years and they refused.  Again, I do not even know it if they own the tank.  

5) Also, in the midst of all the emails *** ***** told me they would remove the tank at the end of January which I said was no problem.  I hired a company to install the new tanks right after and they left me a message stating they had to cancel just 2 days prior.  I still have the saved message on my voice mail of Schagrin Cancelling. 

6) ***** ****'s statement regarding December 11, 2014 conversation is completely false because I had a scheduled removal date of end of January established through ******* ****.  ***** **** was not even involved in such a conversation. 

7) Removal on March 31, 2015 started when there workers arrived at 11:45am, not 10:45 as Susan alleges. Again, she was not involved so cannot accurately state.  See the emails. 

8) Today is April 8,  I have not recieved a bill or credit per ***** **** letter. 

9) Despite repeated requests Schagrin would not give me the cost of removal of the tank so I a have no idea if this will be a fair billing.  I know removal took about 1/2 hour.

This company did everything possible to make this as difficult as possible and continued to provide and bill me for propane Gas.  Most customer would probably have given up trying and I am sure that is Schagrin Gas' ultimate strategy to keep customers. 




Regards,

****** ********

 

 

Business Response: Attached you will find our most recent response.

Thank you.

***** ****

1/5/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: At the end of our 5 year contract we contacted SchagrinGas to purchase the tank. ******** told me the law does not allow them to sell the tanks, that if I wanted to purchase the tank, I would have to find another propane company to swap tanks with them and then purchase the tank from them. I then contacted Delaware Propane who first told me the law does not state they cannot sell tanks. They did say they have dealt with Schagrin in the past, with the same issue and has been very difficult to deal with. They indeed contacted SchagrinGas and Delaware Propane said that Schagrin would not sell them the tank. the best solution would be for me to purchase a tank from them and they will remove the SchagrinGas tank for me and leave it for Schagrin to pick it up.

Desired Settlement: Allow me to purchase the tank currently installed from SchagrinGas - at a reasonable market value (5 year old tank), and end the contract.

Business Response: Attached you will find our answer to the complaint.

If you have any additional questions,please feel free to contact me.


Thank you.



Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

SchegrinGAS has not been truthful in this matter.  A representative named *****" was the point contact Delaware Propane contacted requesting ownership transfer.  Being SchegrinGAS has not been truthful in my initial contact (asserting Delaware law Does not Allow them to sell tanks to customers) then changing the assertion in a subsequent phone call I had with them, I do not accept their representation of the discussion with Delaware Propane.  Delaware Propane has been quite open and honest during this ordeal and trust have represented the discussion accurately.


SchegrinGAS also shows in their response poor reference to the laws they wish to reference.  Title 16, Chapter 72 does define ownership of the tank.  Title 6 covers various matters but does not include a "Chapter 72". However, in Title 16 chapter 72, it only restricts the filling of a tank to the owner of said tank.


If indeed SchegrinGAS has - in good faith - made the tank available t0 Delaware Propane for purchase, I would like to see the evidence of this.  I am willing to make SchegrinGAS tank available to them for pick-up once I have replaced it with a Delaware Propane Tank.


It is clear SchegrinGAS is not customer focused and is willing to take every measure to squeeze their customers into terms they do not want to pursue.  I wish to sever all relations with SchegrinGAS.

 

Regards,

 

 

 

Business Response:

I am in receipt of your most recent correspondence from the above customer as it relates to our company owned underground propane tank.

SchagrinGAS Co. has had several conversations with the owner of Delaware Propane regarding our 330 gallon underground propane tank. During these conversations SchagrinGAS Co. has made it clear that we would be willing to sell our propane tank to Delaware Propane as outlined in Delaware Code Title 6, Chapter 34, Section 3402.

In response to the Delaware Codes relating to our company owned underground propane tank. Please read over Title 16, Chapter 72, Section 7202. SchagrinGAS Co. owns the 330 gallon underground propane tank located at the mentioned property address. As per the terms of the signed Underground Propane Lease Agreement and the above reference Delaware Code, SchagrinGAS Co. does not give anyone permission other than an authorized agent of SchagrinGAS Co. to remove our 330 gallon underground propane tank.

SchagrinGAS Co. will accept this as your notice of termination as you requested and will move forward with the removal of our 330 gallon underground propane tank.
If you need additional information please feel free to contact me at ************ *** *****

Sincerely,
***** **** ****** ******* 

10/15/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Schagrin is billing me for the removal of gas tank on a property that I have not owned since 4/2014. Likewise, I did not request the removal of said tank. It was removed at the request of the new owners of *** ***** **** *** ****** **** **. There position is that they have a contract that states if the contract was terminated by myself or the company then I would be responsible for the removed/return of the equipment owned by Schagrin and located on said property. My position, other than it is ridiculous to think that a prior owner is responsible for the actions of of the new owner, is that I did not cancel or terminate my contract and neither did Schagrin according to the verbiage in our contract. The contract does mention that selling the home would be viewed as a cancellation; however, I did not sell my home. The bank that held the note foreclosed on said property and they subsequently sold the property. Furthermore, under the contract, if Schagrin decided to cancel, they were required to notify me via letter. I did not receive a termination/cancellation letter from Schagrin. I feel I am being billed because they first attempted to obtain the funds from the new owner and he declined to pay for the service he requested.

Desired Settlement: I feel that I do not owe said company for the removal of a tank when I did not request the removal, and on a property that I do not have an ownership interest in. Therefore, I expect Scagrin to cease and desist all collection attempts to myself.

Business Response: I responded to this complaint on 9-25-14. On August 2, 2005 ***** ******* entered into a Underground Tank LP Gas Service Agreement  with SchagrinGAS Co. SchagrinGAS Co. supplied ***** ******* with propane as outlined in the signed agreement. On June 20, 2012 ***** ******* called office requested information for a delivery stated will be selling house soon. *** ******* stated that she would keep us posted. On November 12, 2013 ***** ******* called in requested a delivery- she was out of propane. She paid the amount needed and SchagrinGAS Co. made a delivery. *** ******* did not provide any additional updates about selling the home. On March 8, 2013 *** ******* called in requesting a delivery possible short sale and only wanted a
partial. SchagrinGAS Co. agreed to a partial and the delivery was made. *** ******* advised our representative that she would keep us updated on the status of the home.On January 29, 2014 we received a call from a gentleman stated he is possibly purchasing the home not sure wanted information about our company. On February 6, 2014 *** ******* contacted our office about a delivery. She stated settlement might occur in 20 days. *** ******* did not take the delivery.On February 17, 2014 *** ****** contacted our office stated the owner ( *** *******) is still in the property and he was not sure when or if he would be taking possession. On February 17, 2014 a removal letter was sent to *** ******* via registered and first class mail. Due to no repsonse from  *** *******, SchagrinGAS Co. scheduled the removal. The removal was scheduled around weather conditions. SchagrinGAS Co. was refused access to the property by *** ****** - stated we needed to deal with his lawyer. SchagrinGAS Co. was granted access on June 27, 2014 to remove our company owned tank and equipment. SchagrinGAS Co. billed the removal fees as outlined in our signed agreement with ***** *******. Attached you will find a copy of the agreement and a copy of the removal letter. If you need any additional information,please contact me.

Best regards,
***** **** ****** *******

2/7/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The DE PSC advised me that they does not have jurisdiction over Schagrin Gas. They are not regulated by the state and therefore I cannot file a complaint against them through the PSC. A PSC worker, ********* ** *******, Investigator, gave me this number in hopes to file a complaint. My name is ****** *********, I reside at ** ***** **** ******* ** and my can be reached number is ************* ***** ******** ****************** My account number for Schagrin gas company is *****. I spoke to both a ******** ********* (office manager) and ***** ***** (collections manager). Here is my story: I established service with this company in 2005 and have paid my bills every time I have received them. They have been late but never a suspension of service until 12/2013. I have fallen on hard times and receive assistance from catholic charities (C.C.) to help pay the bill. I've been receiving this support for the last 2 years, since I was laid off from my job, but this year the C.C. funds took a little longer to come in. I struggled with paying a $700. bill within 2 weeks. I called and spoke with the credit manager ***** ***** who began to belittle and chastise me for not having the remaining balance, although she was informed that I was approved for assistance but the exact amount& date C.C. could not be provided. ***** and I had an argument in which I had to hang up on *** **** and call back and speak with the office manager ******** who was able to assist me. I am now on a C.O.D. delivery only and will call which means I cannot get a delivery with having all the charges paid for up front & I have to read the meter myself and schedule a delivery. I have complained before about the meter being broken and someone was supposed to come out in the summer of 2013 to fix it, which they have never done. How can I read a broken meter to call them to deliver before my gas goes out with 2 small children & the coldest temps, in decades now approaching. When I asked why I was put on this type of payment schedule, the other rude collections clerk named ***** cut me off & said ***** is in charge of that she has placed that on your account and it is solely based on our determination. How did you determine that when in 8 years of service I HAVE ONLY BEEN SUSPENDED one time! Now they are threatening to cut off my gas supply if I don't pay the difference of $31.85. The 31.85 is the difference of what C.C. funds were sent on my behalf minus to fill the tank up completely. When I requested to not fill the tank up completely so that I am not responsible for the $31.85 they refused. In addition to that on they delivered the propane gas outside of the home but never had a technician come back out & relight the pilot as promised by office manager ******** *********. So my children & I were left without heat on Tuesday Jan. 07,2013, on one of the coldest days in decades where temperatures were well below the freezing mark.-left to heat my house with an oven to prevent frostbite for a 4 & 7 year old. I am stuck between a rock and a hard place dealing with this small family owned business who I also believe is overcharging, misusing funds, as well as, practicing unfair work principles and practices. I am asking for your help for myself and other customers that they are throwing under the rug. If I have contacted your department in error I apologize and ask that you please refer me to some agency that I can send a complaint to and it be addressed.

Business Response: Hello,

Attached is our response.

If you have any questions please lt me know.

Thank you.

*****

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

 

Only 1 payment arrangement was not meet in 8 years of service, not several which is a falsehood. Ask *** ***** to provide proof of the "several" payment arrangement that I was given and did not keep.  I have paid all balances in full before any service interruptions were ever made. 12-06-2013 was the first service interruption for my address under my name since 2005. Every delivery before 12-6-2013 was not will call & I have advised them on numerous occasions that I have never received that certified letter. Lastly, ***** *****, is the only employee that I have had a disagreement with at Schargrin Gas Co. and it is so convenient that she is the one to respond. This small family owned business that is a utility and needs to be governed by a federal committee and not just the better business bureau. 

 

 

 

12/19/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: excessive delay in repair of generator

Desired Settlement: under warranty. fix it.

Business Response: Hello,

Please see the attached response to the complaint that was received.

Thank you.



2/5/2013 Billing/Collection Issues