BBB Accredited Business since

Tryiton Eyewear, LLC

Additional Locations

Phone: (888) 896-3885 Fax: (888) 896-3866 147 Post Rd E, Westport, CT 06880 http://www.eyeglasses.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

At Eyeglasses.com, "Our Vision is Service."  We are a high quality, high service provider of eyewear.  We never make glasses in "about and hour", we don't make them in the back room, and we do not send them overseas.  We use the world's largest and best quality lens laboratory - Essilor - to make all of our glasses using the finest quality materials.  Our service quality is what differentiates us from all of the other online eyewear companies.  


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Tryiton Eyewear, LLC meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Tryiton Eyewear, LLC include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Tryiton Eyewear, LLC
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: January 02, 2002 Business started: 11/01/1999 Business started locally: 11/01/1999 Business incorporated 12/01/1998 in CT
Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. James Hilford, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. James Hilford, President
Business Category

Eyeglass Suppliers Lenses Sunglasses Ophthalmic Goods Merchant Wholesalers (NAICS: 423460)

Method(s) of Payment
All major credit cards, Paypal, Check and Money Orders
Refund and Exchange Policy
Eyeglasses frames, if for any reason you are not completely satisfied with your frames, you may return them, but you must return them within 30 days for a full refund. After 30 days, if you detect a manufacturing defect that is covered by the manufacturer's warrantee, return the glasses to us and we will process the return. Custom LensesPrescription lenses, custom non-prescription lenses, and replacement lenses are made to your specifications so we cannot re-use them if you return them. If you don't like the lenses for any reason, you may return them for a 50% refund. We offer a "Perfect Lenses" guarantee:  If your lenses are not made perfectly to the prescription you give us, we will remake the lens at no cost to you. Reading glasses and sunglasses reading glasses and sunglasses which include dark lenses that come directly from the manufacturer carry the same return policy as eyeglass frames. If for any reason you are not completely satisfied with your frames and lenses, you may return them, but you must return them within 30 days for a full refund. After 30 days, if you detect a manufacturing defect that is covered by the manufacturer's warrantee, return the glasses to us and we will process the return.
Alternate Business Names
Eyeglasses.com

Additional Locations

  • 147 Post Rd E

    Westport, CT 06880

  • 65 Raymond Road  Blueback Square

    West Hartford, CT 06107

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

3/20/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: ************** broke my designer eyeglass frames. I sent them these frames to replace the prescription lenses. These frames were very expensive around $575 when purchased six years ago. ************** wanted a receipt of purchase which I don't have. They then, refused to replace the designer brand, ***** *****, with similar frames by this maker. They know how expensive this maker is and refuse to make it right. They keep offering me cheap frames in their stock and expect me to pay 50% of cost. They claim no responsibility as this is the risk when I gave it to them.

Desired Settlement: Refund of the $575 or replacement with similar frames by ***** ******

Business Response: Brand new ***** ***** frames were purchased for this customer who sent older frames that were unsound.  These frames were provided to the customer at no cost in spite of the stated policy of either providing any frame on our site at 50% or canceling the order.  The customer received this order on March 3rd

4/19/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: company won't tell me if frames i bought are authentic or not...recieved damaged framed in mail, company refusing to replace ****** won't tell me if my frames are authentic or not, pretty simple question but i guess not brown frames damaged. ****** is refusing to replace them. he said i can't be a customer any longer. i guess he upset i file complaint on BBB. he need thicker skin. i called them out on misleading me about delivery date which they did.

Desired Settlement: ****** is refusing to replace frames so i'm stuck with all 3 pairs, no refunds, no anything. thanks

Business Response: Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/04/10) */ Customer has been contacted on numerous occasions via phone and email and informed all items sold by eyeglasses.com are 100% authentic: Begin forwarded message: From: ****** <*****@eyeglasses.com> Date: April 9, 2013 11:08:08 AM EDT To: ****** ****** <*****@gmail.com> Subject: Re: Eyeglasses.com - Contact Form Submission Hi ******, Our frames are 100% authentic as we discussed last week when we informed you there was a delay with the Flexon frame coming from the manufacturer. If there is anything else I can do for you, please let me know. ****** Eyeglasses.com Customer Service Monday-Friday, 9am-5pm EST www.eyeglasses.com 16 Old Mill Road Redding, CT XXXXX

4/9/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: seller refuse to answer phone. wait on hold, nobody ever pick up. ordered 3 pairs of frames, seller won't ship. seller keeping money why are they allowed to keep my money if they have no intention of mailing out items

Desired Settlement: let me know when you guys hire somebody to answer the phones. when are you giving me back the $300 you stole from me since you guys don't sell glasses or have real company. thanks for wasting my time. grow up and don't mess around with people. i am so upset that i used your company. you proved me right, you guys are scam artists like everybody else. thanks for teaching me lesson. you got me good. it's ok, karma will come back to get you.

Business Response: Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/04/08) */ Spoke with customer and emailed updates on numerous occasions. There was a slight delay with one of his 3 frames to which he was alerted. THe one day he had issue reach us on phones was during a phone system switch over. He was offered free Saturday delivery and a discount on his order for the short delay. His order shipped on Friday and is due to be delivered today. Consumer Response /* (3000, 7, 2013/04/09) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT ACCEPT the response from the business.) I was never issued any discount on my order....what are you talking about? who offered me said discount, do you have proof of that in any email/phone call? i called to obtain delivery times before placing order. they tell you earlier delivery time to misled you. frames don't come in until many days after. why mislead customer and give them false information. they make it extremely difficult to tell which frames are in stock or not on their site. so all i can do is call them to see if frames are in stock or not. i got the frames yesterday and not real impressed. the flexon frames are clearly used, very dirty, and don't open correctly. this whole experience has not been a good one. waited extra long for sub par product and then company calls me rude for expecting things that their own employees told me prior to placing order. what a wonderful thing, smh