2011 Students of Integrity



2011 Students of Integrity

The 2011 awards event was held on December 7th, in conjunction with BBB's Annual Meeting. You can view the view the event program and entry guidelines here.

Teresa Murray

Keynote Speaker for this year's program was Teresa Murray, columnist of "Money Matters" for the Cleveland Plain Dealer. Murray has been a journalist for over 25 years, covering business most of her career, and was named the best business writer in Ohio by the Associated Press of Ohio in 2009.  In 2004, she received first place in the Associated Press of Ohio "Best Business Reporter" category.

The BBB thanks the following organizations without whose support the Students of Integrity 2011 Program would not have been possible: Corporate Sponsors Dominion and the Boler School of Business at John Carroll University and The Sheakley Group; and Corporate Supporters Easton Telecom Services, Benesch, and CCCS/Apprisen Financial Advocates. 

2011 Students of Integrity
View Program


Lisa Combs

Lisa Combs
Cuyahoga Heights High School
($2500 Scholarship Winner)

All I want to do is make a difference but all of that has to start with making myself a better person…Having good character has helped me to look at that person in the mirror and feel good about what I see. To me, this is where the difference begins, inside.”...more



Joseph Egan

Joseph Egan
West Geauga High School

“Being a person of character involves more than just doing the right thing under pressure; it involves doing what is right in all circumstances.”...more


Lauren Pugh


Lauren Pugh
Perry High School

“...Success is not about money or fame, but rather it is about making someone else’s life better…It is the little things that count and what change our community one step at a time.”...more



Timothy Rosenberger


Timothy Rosenberger
Lutheran West High School

“Cleveland is a wonderful city that I am proud to call home, but it can be better…I believe that continued efforts by civic minded individuals will prove sufficient to meet the challenges we encounter.”...more

Honorable Mention

Elise Bruening (Montville), Madison High School

Meghan Butler (Wellington), Firelands High School

Melissa Felman (Beachwood), Beachwood High School

Michael Gosky (Bay Village), Saint Ignatius High School

Rosa Heryak (Cleveland), Gilmour Academy

Tyler Lance (Avon), Avon High School

Shannon Lott (Berea), Berea High School

Rick Loveland (Montville), Ledgemont High School

Rachel Mentzer (Oberlin), Oberlin Senior High School

Ryan Penhallurick (Brecksville), Brecksville-Broadview Hts High School

Chrishona Todd (Garfield Heights), Martin Luther King Jr Career Campus / Health Careers Center