BBB Accredited Business since

Ben Franklin Plumbing - Parma, Ohio

Phone: (216) 741-5131 View Additional Phone Numbers 4005 Brookpark Rd, Parma, OH 44134 http://www.benjaminfranklinplumbing.com/locations/oh/cleveland View Additional Web Addresses


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Ben Franklin Plumbing - Parma, Ohio meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Ben Franklin Plumbing - Parma, Ohio include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 8 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

8 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 4
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 4
Total Closed Complaints 8

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

10 Customer Reviews on Ben Franklin Plumbing - Parma, Ohio
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 9
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 10

Additional Information

BBB file opened: February 24, 1997 Business started: 01/01/1994 Business incorporated 08/21/2000 in OH
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Ohio Construction Industry Licensing Board
6606 Tussing Rd., Reynoldsburg OH 43068
http://www.com.ohio.gov/dico/ocilb.aspx
Phone Number: (614) 644-2223
Fax Number: (614) 644-2618

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Brian McDermott, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Brian McDermott, Owner
Business Category

Plumbers

Alternate Business Names
B. McDermott Enterprise, Inc. B.McDermott Plumbing Ben Franklin Plumbing # 139 Benjamin Franklin Plumbing
Additional Tradenames, Addresses & Phone Numbers

This company also owns a franchise of Ben Franklin Plumbing.


Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Ben Franklin Plumbing - Parma, Ohio has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 4005 Brookpark Rd

    Parma, OH 44134 (866) 867-5309

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

4/14/2016 Problems with Product/Service
3/4/2016 Billing/Collection Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
9/3/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: first of all...I blame myself for not taking the time to compare prices...so it is my fault...BUT..i was desperate, and being disabled we are on our own. well, I was charged 1439.00 for a 40 gallon hot water tank.... and after the fact, comparing prices the tank cost about 400 bucks on the high end... well, after talking with friends about what I paid...and once they stopped laughing said I should of at the very least been charged no more than 900.00 I find folks taking advantage over me as I can hardly walk anymore...and get disability of 1,100 a month..thank God my wife works... anyway from what I am seeng, I was overcharged...but not knowing how to install one I have no choice... the gentleman who did the job was great and a pro.... but the price is really bothering me..

Desired Settlement: I would like to see a copy of charges and a refund of at least 300 dollars or more...

Business Response: Spoke with customer.  Explained that our price included a 10 year warranty.  Customer did not initially understand that price included the extended warranty.  Customer has agreed to no refund and to remove complaint.

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this is true concerning the warranty, but other companies offer it as well, also... they had no way to drain the old tank...so they were going to leave and not put the new one in... well, I said if it is too heavy you can just push it aside then put the new one in.... I discussed this with a sarcastic employee as she was explaining WHY theres is worth so much...and a main part was disposal of the old tank, which benefits them also as I wonder if they scrap it for cash... I don't know if sarcastic is a fair word as she explained it to me as if I was a child...

 

well, they never showed up yesterday...well, I did not know they were coming today...Wednesday September 2 and someone called from my drive I guess saying in a barely audible voice that they were here...WELL I WAS NOT as I had Dr appts today... anyhow, I am not happy, but what can I do...also, I never received a copy of the contract or anything.  well, I don't care anymore..they may keep there ill gotten gains.....

 

I truly am surprised in this competitive age we have that they offered no discount, partial refund...or even a cookie... they feel they outdid themselves installing a tank I have NO WARRENTY OR RECEIPT.. so, as far as they are concerned.. they blessed me coming over to fix it..

 

I will say the plumber who installed it he and his trainee did a great job putting it in, no complaints on there part....now, I am just really ticked off at the way the gal that called talked down to us lowlifes, how dare I...and a lot others remark that they feel robbed..

Regards,

Reverend *** ****** ..


10/13/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
6/24/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: When I called for service they told me $59 and he would come the next day. I thought I had a leak in my crawl space as water was on the floor. After arriving he looked and said he would have to open up the wall to see where the leak was but I suggested he check the toilet behind that wall. Sure enough it was the water line connection to the toilet that was leaking. Instead of tightening it he said he would replace it with a flex line. That part cost $4.67 at Home Depot. He then said he would waive the $59 service call so I couldn't use my $37 coupon or a senior discount. Instead he charged me $120 for a 3 minute job and a $5 part. This is a real rip off. I was willing to pay $59 plus $5 for the part but it only screws on and had he tightened the line he would have charged just the $59 but since he replaced the part it jumped to $120. I think they owe me $56. I would never call them again.

Desired Settlement: I would like $56 back.

Consumer Response: Consumer sent the following update:

 
I received a phone call this afternoon from this company and they will refund me the $56.  They said they will send me a form to fill out and once they receive it back they will send me a check.  They asked that I let you know.  Do you still need a copy of my bill?

6/4/2014 Problems with Product/Service
4/1/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I was recently made aware that my mom whom is elderly contacted Benjamin Franklin Plumbing because her bathtub would not drain properly. The plumber, *****, was on site from 12:30 pm till 4:30 pm. He replaced the tub overflow and trap. He also cleared a small section of pipe. According to my mom everything is working fine. As well it should considering that she paid 1800.00 dollars for 50.00 dollars worth of parts. That leaves 1750.00 dollars labor. That works out to 437.50 per hour. That is what I would consider theft. How does anyone charge a 79 year old woman that kind of money while keeping a straight face. Benjamin Franklin has probably rolled over in his grave numerous times knowing that someone is defaming his name. I have contacted the company about this matter with no response. I have been a HVAC Technician for 23 years, Benjamin Franklin's labor rates are so far out of line that anyone paying for their services is being robbed.

Desired Settlement: Refund my mother 1300.00. That gives you 100.00 dollars for parts and 400.00 dollars labor which is in line with competitor's rates.

Business Response: Business response taken over the phone by BBB staff 4/1/14.

 
They indicated that there was a pricing error. The consumer is a union HVAC and is used to the prevailing wage pricing.  He was not there when they did the work, and his mother was the one that called for and approved of the service, but he saw the bill afterwards and knew something was wrong.  Company stated that before they even knew about a complaint from the BBB, they had already sent the refund to the consumer. The technician had made errors in his calculations and had overpriced the scope of the work.  The technician is new and is getting used to their pricing structure. 

Consumer Response: Consumer sent the following update:

 
Thank you ******* for your reply. I received a call back from ***** at Ben Franklin Plumbing. ***** was very professional and refund my mother 859.00 dollars. Though I believe that 1000.00 dollars for services rendered is still out of line, we can now consider this issue resolved. 

Business Response: Operations Manager spoke with customer.  Partial refund accepted by customer.  Awaiting response from customer.

12/28/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: There was a gas leak in my house and the gas company suggested I contact a plumber for repair before the gas could be reconnected. I contacted Benjamin Franklin plumbing and they came to the house. Without doing anything, they gave me an estimate for $2340 and attempted to convince me that I needed to practically replace the entire gas line. The gas was off in the house due to the gas leaks. The weather was cold. I believe that they thought I was in a desperate situation and attempted to use this situation to their advantage and provide services that were not necessary and completely out of line for what needed to be done. They advertise a free service call should work be done otherwise a $59 charge. Basically, I had to pay $59 and waste my time so that this company could attempt to take advantage of the situation. I paid the $59 and told them I would not need their services. I then contacted American Plumbing that came out assess the situation and was able to do the repair for 20% of the cost that Benjamin Franklin tried to charge me. When I told them what Benjamin Franklin plumbing tried to charge me they seem to be aware of the fact that this company takes advantage of people on a regular basis. I believe that people should be aware that they cannot trust this company.

Desired Settlement: Refund the service charge.

Business Response: Upon review of the complaint made the employee followed company protocol as how to handle any service call related to gas work, and priced it according to our straight forward price guide.  We will refund this customer the service call of $59.00 but will continue to go through the same protocol when it comes to gas leaks.  Proposal was filled out and customer was explained to why it needed to be done from gas test to repair needed.

Consumer Response:

Consumer responded:  

I received the company’s response.   I attempted to accept their proposed resolution of reimbursing me the $59, however, there is an issue with the BBB site and it will not allow me to accept.  So, please accept this correspondence as my acceptance of their proposal.  Will they send a check?

 

Business Response: A refund letter has been mailed to customer, we will email to her today as well.  Once we receive the signed refund, per company policy, a check will be mailed to customer.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

10 Customer Reviews on Ben Franklin Plumbing - Parma, Ohio
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart