BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®

BBB Accredited Business since

Ben Franklin Plumbing - Parma, Ohio

Phone: (216) 741-5131 4005 Brookpark Rd, Parma, OH 44134 http://www.benfranklinplumbing.com

Print

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Ben Franklin Plumbing - Parma, Ohio meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Ben Franklin Plumbing - Parma, Ohio include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 12 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

12 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 5 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 10
Total Closed Complaints 12

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Ben Franklin Plumbing - Parma, Ohio
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: February 24, 1997 Business started: 01/01/1994 Business incorporated: 08/21/2000 in OH
Licensing

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Ohio Construction Industry Licensing Board
6606 Tussing Rd., Reynoldsburg OH 43068
http://www.com.ohio.gov/dico/ocilb.aspx
Phone Number: (614) 644-2223
Fax Number: (614) 644-2618

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Brian McDermott, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Brian McDermott, Owner
Business Category

Plumbers

Alternate Business Names
B. McDermott Enterprise, Inc. B.McDermott Plumbing Ben Franklin Plumbing # 139 Benjamin Franklin Plumbing
Additional Tradenames, Addresses & Phone Numbers

This company also owns a franchise of Ben Franklin Plumbing.


Additional Locations

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

4/1/2014 Problems with Product/Service
4/1/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I was recently made aware that my mom whom is elderly contacted Benjamin Franklin Plumbing because her bathtub would not drain properly. The plumber, *****, was on site from 12:30 pm till 4:30 pm. He replaced the tub overflow and trap. He also cleared a small section of pipe. According to my mom everything is working fine. As well it should considering that she paid 1800.00 dollars for 50.00 dollars worth of parts. That leaves 1750.00 dollars labor. That works out to 437.50 per hour. That is what I would consider theft. How does anyone charge a 79 year old woman that kind of money while keeping a straight face. Benjamin Franklin has probably rolled over in his grave numerous times knowing that someone is defaming his name. I have contacted the company about this matter with no response. I have been a HVAC Technician for 23 years, Benjamin Franklin's labor rates are so far out of line that anyone paying for their services is being robbed.

Desired Settlement: Refund my mother 1300.00. That gives you 100.00 dollars for parts and 400.00 dollars labor which is in line with competitor's rates.

Business Response: Business response taken over the phone by BBB staff 4/1/14.

 
They indicated that there was a pricing error. The consumer is a union HVAC and is used to the prevailing wage pricing.  He was not there when they did the work, and his mother was the one that called for and approved of the service, but he saw the bill afterwards and knew something was wrong.  Company stated that before they even knew about a complaint from the BBB, they had already sent the refund to the consumer. The technician had made errors in his calculations and had overpriced the scope of the work.  The technician is new and is getting used to their pricing structure. 

Consumer Response: Consumer sent the following update:

 
Thank you ******* for your reply. I received a call back from ***** at Ben Franklin Plumbing. ***** was very professional and refund my mother 859.00 dollars. Though I believe that 1000.00 dollars for services rendered is still out of line, we can now consider this issue resolved. 

Business Response: Operations Manager spoke with customer.  Partial refund accepted by customer.  Awaiting response from customer.

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

12/28/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: There was a gas leak in my house and the gas company suggested I contact a plumber for repair before the gas could be reconnected. I contacted Benjamin Franklin plumbing and they came to the house. Without doing anything, they gave me an estimate for $2340 and attempted to convince me that I needed to practically replace the entire gas line. The gas was off in the house due to the gas leaks. The weather was cold. I believe that they thought I was in a desperate situation and attempted to use this situation to their advantage and provide services that were not necessary and completely out of line for what needed to be done. They advertise a free service call should work be done otherwise a $59 charge. Basically, I had to pay $59 and waste my time so that this company could attempt to take advantage of the situation. I paid the $59 and told them I would not need their services. I then contacted American Plumbing that came out assess the situation and was able to do the repair for 20% of the cost that Benjamin Franklin tried to charge me. When I told them what Benjamin Franklin plumbing tried to charge me they seem to be aware of the fact that this company takes advantage of people on a regular basis. I believe that people should be aware that they cannot trust this company.

Desired Settlement: Refund the service charge.

Business Response: Upon review of the complaint made the employee followed company protocol as how to handle any service call related to gas work, and priced it according to our straight forward price guide.  We will refund this customer the service call of $59.00 but will continue to go through the same protocol when it comes to gas leaks.  Proposal was filled out and customer was explained to why it needed to be done from gas test to repair needed.

Consumer Response:

Consumer responded:  

I received the company’s response.   I attempted to accept their proposed resolution of reimbursing me the $59, however, there is an issue with the BBB site and it will not allow me to accept.  So, please accept this correspondence as my acceptance of their proposal.  Will they send a check?

 

Business Response: A refund letter has been mailed to customer, we will email to her today as well.  Once we receive the signed refund, per company policy, a check will be mailed to customer.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

9/21/2013 Problems with Product/Service
7/31/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I am very dissatisfied with the service I received on Saturday, July 13, 2013. The technicians, while very nice and friendly, spent 2 1/2 hours jet cleaning the pipes because ***** assured me it would take care of the problems, and left without the basement bathroom functioning, and said I needed major work both inside and outside to the underground pipes. I spent $825.60 on my credit card, which I'm going to contest immediately due to unsatisfactory service. I had 2 separate plumbers come to my house today to get estimates on the 'major work' and the first plumber snaked the inside lines and fixed my problem right away; he also said he doubted I needed any extra work. The 2nd plumber today said the same thing, and basically said I was ripped off by paying for a service that wasn't done right. I will agree to pay a minimal charge for Saturday's work, but I do not agree to the full amount that was charged and want that taken off my charge card immediately. Also, I will make a formal complaint with the Better Business Bureau about 1) not fixing the problem I paid them to fix, and 2) trying to sell me unnecessary and very costly additional work that isn't needed. I expect a phone call, ************ to rectify this.

Desired Settlement: I would like a full refund on my credit card. I will agree to pay for a minimal charge only for Saturday.

Business Response: Customer was contacted by General Manager to resolve concern.  Explained to customer that problem persists with sewer even though flow has been restored.  Customer accepted refund of $425.00.

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.   

Regards,

 

****** ******* 

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

8/31/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I had Benjamin Franklin Plumbing out to my rental property in South Euclid, Ohio Wednesday, May 23rd to try to fix a leak. In the process of "fixing" the leak, the tech put a hole in the wall of my tub surround tiles. The next day a supervisor met me at the house to assess the damage, and take pictures. Today, I called the supervisor back to see if the owner had made a decision as to if they were going to pay for a Bath Fitter surround that I am now going to have to get to fix the situation. He informed me that they decided they will not be paying anything, due to the fact that the walls already had had water damage over the years, and that they would have needed to be replaced soon anyways. I am trying to avoid going to court over this but as of now I think that I will be searching for an attorney for assistance. I am amazed that a fully licensed and bonded, nationwide company would handle this situation in this manner.

Desired Settlement: I believe that Benjamin Franklin plumbing should be responsible for the entire bill that the Bath Fitters wall is going to cost me. I got a quote for the cheapest possible solution with them, and the cost will still be just under $3000.00. While the walls may have needed to be fixed at some point soon, I was not planning on shelling out this kind of money right now. The fact that the damage happened while Benjamin Franklin was on the clock should make them responsible. Thanks.

Business Response: we have contacted customer and said we would fix the small hole in drywall that the tech damaged when he fell in to it but as for redoing his whole bath unit no. we tried to set up a day that was good for him and he has still not called us back. he told us in a conversation that he was having bath fitters put in a unit for him . that is fine . we are willing to fix the small hole in drywall but that is it.

Consumer Response: Hi *****,
As I said on the phone to you last time we spoke, It would be silly to have them come fix the hole with drywall and tile, when I am going to have to have the warped walls repaired soon anyways.  Also I would not want that company coming back into my residence, after some of the interactions that we have had.  I will accept financial restitution in place of the repair of at least $300.  I'm sure they would at least charge someone that amount to fix a hole of this size in a normal repair situation.  I will not be in contact with them directly again, as I do not feel that doing so would be productive.  Please let me know what their response is.  Thanks so much.

Business Response: Company responded by phone. **
The company is willing to offer $150 in good faith to resolve this matter. The consumer must sign off on this job.

Consumer Response: Hi *****,
I will accept the company's offer of $150 to close out this issue: ID ******* .  I just want to have it all over and done with.  Let me know what the next step is and I will be glad to sign off.  Thanks for all your help.

Sincerely,
****** ********* ************

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

7/28/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
11/11/2011 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
11/7/2011 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have called Benjamin Franklin located at 4005 Brookpark ,Parma, Ohio 44134 to come to my house and make the kitchen's sink drain. A gay came and wired the pipe 2 times but it didn't work.At my request he did it again but insisted from the very beginning that we need to jet the pipe service that would cost us over $600 . I said we first need to use less expensive methods and if they don't work then jetting the pipe would be the last solution. The guy wasn't happy and insisted wiring the pipe is not gonna solve the problem. He charged me $ 224 and indeed the sink was not draining. I told them not to charge us for a service that was not complete but all they wanted us to do was to get us pay for jetting. We have been trying to make Benjamin Franklin charge us only for the call but they cashed the whole amount of $224 as if they did the job!I think they use the jetting service just to make money off of people who don't know too much about plumbing.My husband and I found another company that came and fixed the problem by wiring it and charged even less that Benjamin Franklin.

Desired Settlement: I expect Benjamin Franklin to write me a refund check for the service they didn't provide and I paid for it.

Business Response: The business's response was not received electronically and is not available for viewing.

Consumer Response:

As I said in my complaint I expect a full refund from Benjamin Franklin because their plumber DID NOT do the job he was paid for. The job was done by a different company using the same technique ( wire the pipe) their plumber used but the difference is that the other company really wanted to have the job done not try to sell me stories about  more expensive ways (Jet the pipe for more than $600)to fix a simple problem like a clogged pipe.They did it for $159!!!!!! and amazing it worksssssssssssssss! They gave me 90 days warranty. I don't want any other people to go through the same unpleasant situation that's gonna cost them money , time ,and lots of nerves.These are tough time when people don't have
 money and lose jobs and businessmen just want to steal from the poor! It is not fair.
When you send me a FULL refund I'll sign the paper.

Regards,

*** ***

 

 

 

Business Response: Please see attached letter sent to **** ***.  We are refunding the entire amount and considering this complaint closed.

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

8/30/2011 Problems with Product/Service
8/24/2011 Problems with Product/Service
8/5/2011 Problems with Product/Service
1