BBB Accredited Business since

Old Time Candy Company

Phone: (440) 355-4345 Fax: (775) 908-1995 View Additional Phone Numbers 350 Commerce Dr E, Lagrange, OH 44050 View Additional Email Addresses View Additional Web Addresses

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


This firm sells through the Internet only.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Old Time Candy Company meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Old Time Candy Company include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Old Time Candy Company
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: June 12, 2001 Business started: 02/15/2000 in OH Business incorporated 01/16/2001 in OH
Type of Entity


Business Management
Mrs. Karen Bridge, C.E.O. Mr. Don Bridge, Vice President Ms. Barb Peterseim, General Manager, Office Manager, Human Resources
Contact Information
Principal: Mrs. Karen Bridge, C.E.O.
Customer Contact: Ms. Barb Peterseim, General Manager, Office Manager, Human Resources
Business Category

Candy & Confectionery - Retail Gift Baskets & Parcels Internet Shopping

Products & Services

Old Time Candy Company sells the following brand(s): Bonomo, Ferrara Candy Company, Hershey's, Jelly Belly, M&M Mars, Necco, Nestle, Pop Rocks, Tootsie, Wonka, Wrigley

Old Time Candy Company offers the following product(s): bulk candy, candy, candy gift boxes, candy sticks, caramel, chocolate, coconut candy, cotton candy, gum, gummi candy, jawbreakers, licorice, mints, Pez, salt water taffy, sour candy, sugar-free candy, wax candy

Method(s) of Payment
Visa, Mastercard, Amex, Discovery, Check, Money Order
Refund and Exchange Policy
100% Money-Back Guarantee
We are confident that you will love Candy you ate as a kid® If you are not satisfied with your purchase, we offer a full 100% money back guarantee. A brief explanation is appreciated (but not necessary) and will help us improve our products and service.

We cannot be responsible for candy ordered in error. We cannot be responsible for late, missing, or damaged UPS shipments unless we make a mistake. We will cooperate in every way to help you track your package and obtain a refund.
For a full refund, including your initial shipping charges, simply return your candy within 14 days of receipt to the Old Time Candy Company; 350 Commerce Drive East; LaGrange, OH 44050.

Additional Locations

  • 350 Commerce Dr E

    Lagrange, OH 44050 (866) 929-5477 (440) 355-4345


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

10/2/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: Ordered a product, old fashion candy sticks 2 boxes assorted and when they arrived yesterday 64 out of 160 sticks were broken. They stated on their site that could not guarantee breakage on these but feel the amount is excessive. I contacted the customer help center today and they basically told me tough love. I also ordered the same product last month but in peppermint, strawberry and tangerine and only had 5 sticks broken out of 3 boxes. I do not mind some breakage but feel 64 is beyond the acceptable range out of 160 sticks. 80 come in a box.

Desired Settlement: Would like them to replace with another box ..would be willing to take peppermint even if the assorted were more. I do not feel I should have to pay for the postage . Willing to send the broken sticks back.

Business Response: We will not ship another box.  Once it leaves our facility, we can not guarantee they won't break.  I will refund you for one box of candy sticks.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 


******** *******

2/23/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: On January 6th, I placed an order and selected expedited 3-day shipping at a premium charge of $26.48. I received notice that my order shipped on Jan. 7th. As of this morning Jan. 12th, I have not received my order. I called customer service and was told that it was "standard policy" that UPS does not deliver on the weekends and that I could review the special "shipping terms" page on UPS's website. There was nothing that indicated that 3 day shipping would actually be 5 days shipping. As a result of the misinformation I received, the items I ordered did not arrive in time for the party that I had on Jan. 10th ( 3 days from the ship date).

Desired Settlement: I would like the premium 3-day shipping charge to be credited back to my account.

Business Response: Our shipping policy clearly shows how long it takes to receive an order at the following link 

When will my order ship?

Orders placed by midnight usually (but not always) ship the next business day (Monday through Friday). UPS does not deliver on Saturday or Sunday. You will automatically receive an email from UPS with tracking numbers when your order ships.
Hot Weather: We only ship orders that could melt in the hot weather to arrive by Friday of the same week. Your order may be held until the following Monday. Otherwise, your candy could melt in a hot UPS truck over the weekend. You will receive an email letting you know of the delay.

How long will it take to arrive?

Below (scroll down) is a UPS map with shipping times from our location in Cleveland, Ohio. The number of days shown is in business days (Monday - Friday). Use the chart to determine when your candy will arrive. Keep in mind that your candy usually ships next business day. Shipments during hot weather may be delayed to prevent melting.
We spent a long time wording this to make sure that our customers understand.  What is the next step to resolve this issue?  
**** *********

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

The retailer has indicated that it properly disclosed its shipping policy.  This is simply not true.  Old Time Candy's offer of three day shipping is misleading and false and material disclosures are NOT made clearly and conspicuously or in close proximity to the offer.  As a customer going through the purchase process, there are 4 shipping methods offered: ground, Three day, 2nd day and Next day.  There is NO link to the shipping policy nor is it even mentioned - impossible to know that it even exists!  Three-day - which is what I selected - costs $29.14.  But if I had had access to the shipping policy - meaning, if it had been disclosed clearly and conspicuously in close proximity to the offer (which is what the law requires) - I would have learned that as a resident of WA state, the only day that I could actually get 3-day shipping is if I placed the order on Monday.  How can the retailer offer 3-day shipping at a cost of $29.14 if they don't disclose that it is only available if you place your order on Monday?  The cost of shipping far exceeded the cost of the goods I purchased and as a result of the misleading information I received from Old Time Candy, by the time the goods arrived, the event that I had purchased them for had passed.  I am again asking that Old Time Candy refund the cost of the three-day shipping since it actually took 7 days for the goods to arrive.


**** *****


Business Response: Sorry that the customer couldn't find the shipping policy.  we will refund her account for her shipping charges.  


Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and provided the retailer timely refunds the full cost of the expedited shipping charges, I find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 


**** *****