BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®

BBB Accredited Business since

SchoolOutfitters.com

Phone: (800) 260-2776 Fax: (800) 494-1036 View Additional Phone Numbers 3736 Regent Avenue, Cincinnati, OH 45212 http://www.schooloutfitters.com

Print

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers school furniture and equipment.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that SchoolOutfitters.com meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for SchoolOutfitters.com include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 5 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Industry Ratings Comparison | Chart


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

5 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 4
Total Closed Complaints 5

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on SchoolOutfitters.com
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: June 12, 2000 Business started: 04/01/1998 Business incorporated: 03/30/2005 in OH
Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Tom Brennan, President Ms. Betsy Neyer, C.O.O.
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Tom Brennan, President
Related Businesses
Fat Catalog
Business Category

School Furniture & Equipment Office Furniture & Equipment

Industry Tips
General Retail Report Code

Additional Locations

  • 3736 Regent Avenue

    Cincinnati, OH 45212 (800) 260-2776 (888) 619-1776

  • 1
X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (888) 619-1776(Phone)
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations

This survey does not collect personally identifiable information.

Complaint Detail(s)

3/22/2014 Billing/Collection Issues
10/7/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Let me give you the short version. I was looking for a desk chair that would be good for posture as I have back and neck issues. I asked a representative on the phone if the back naturally makes contact only with the netting or if the frame that holds the netting makes contact with the back. I explained I have a back and neck condition and a plastic frame cutting into my back would be uncomfortable and unhealthy for me. They stated the chair is designed so that your back only touches the netting. They were dead wrong! Now they are telling me the not only do I have to pay to ship it back but I also have to pay a restocking fee. I spoke to a representative who said he would try to have it waived. That was over 2 weeks ago and no response. I made contact with him once again and got nothing back!

Desired Settlement: I want a response and I want them to not charge a restocking fee and ideally cover the shipping since what I paid to have it shipped to me was allready expensive. Please help! Thank you in advance.

Business Response: Here is our return policy as stipulated on the web site:

If you order something and it arrives as ordered but you subsequently decide you want or need to return it, you will be
responsible for all shipping charges, including return charges.  You must contact us within 2 weeks to return
these items.  In some cases, you will need to pay a restocking fee of 15-30% as well. (We try our best to get the
restocking fee waived by the manufacturer but we are no always successful.)  So if you’re not sure about
a color or a size, please ask.  We want to help you make your purchase exactly what you want on the first try.

 

Order delivered on 8/6, customer called on 8/22 to return because he was not happy with the
comfort level of the chair. Even though 2 days past the two week time frame, we contacted the manufacturer for the possibility of accepting a return.
Manufacturer was slow to respond due to volume this time of year (back to school).

On 9/6 customer advised he felt the chair was defective. Issue was escalated to me due to manufacturer lack of response and customer dissatisfaction with product. I
authorized to fully refund customer for product and he could keep or dispose of the chair.

 

Resolved 9/12

 

9/13 Credit-Approved
for $85.81. Trans ID: **********************

Regards,
**** ******
Director of Customer Relations

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

8/19/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I ordered a product from this company and on the day it arrived, it was decided that the product would not work for the purpose it was meant to serve. I e-mailed the person I had been in contact for ordering and still have not heard back from her. I work for a school, which is closed for the summer, so we called *** (the same shipper that was used by the company to ship it into Canada) and I explained that I wanted to return this product. They scheduled a pick-up without an issue. I assumed everything was going fine until *** phoned and said they need more information. I still had not heard back from the company at all so I phoned them. It was too late, they were gone for the day so I called after the Canada Day long weekend. I talked to a new individual who gave me an RA#. *** informed me that I needed the company to provide me with a Customs Broker as well, as my customs broker is only able to clear me coming into Canada, which is what my custom's broker also told me. This package has now cost me over $200 in storage fees as this company has told me they are not able to provide me with a customs broker. If I am to return this product, and I have a RA# provided saying I can return it, why does this company not have an broker that will clear it and bill me? How am I, as a Canadian and NOT the person receiving the shipment, to obtain an AMERICAN customs broker? I have also been informed that this product needs to be returned by August 1st, or I will not get my refund, which will be impossible to do unless they provide me with a custom's broker. Their solution for me was to hire (PAY) some carrier company to find me a custom's broker. I am very frustrated with this process and the amount of times I have been bounced between people and having NO answer except to spend more money.

Additional information:
I filed a compliant earlier today - this is dealing with the same issue I would just like to add to my statement that I have now talked with three separate customs brokerage companies that have all informed me that the company should be providing me with a customs broker.TranslateDesired SettlementI would like the company to reimburse me the storage fee that I incurred from Wednesday, July 3rd until Tuesday, July 8th as I was told by the company that they didn't have a customs broker but they would look into the matter for me when they returned to work on Monday. And while I called at 9:15am (my time) on Monday morning I have never received the return call, instead I had to find an e-mail in my inbox, which was a repetition of their earlier statement of their "hands being tied."

Desired Settlement: Refund

Desired Settlement: I would like to be provided with the name of a brokerage company that can clear this item into the US and have the product returned to the sender so I can stop paying for it to sit here in Edmonton.

Business Response:

School Outfitters does not handle freight forwarding for any customer. If it is going in or out of the US, the customer is responsible for getting shipments back and forth across the border. This was stated upfront before the purchase was made.

 

  • The customer’s decision to return the product was solely at their discretion and not based on any defect or damage. Had there been anything wrong with the product we would have made every effort to replace, repair or refund.
  • As soon as the customer told us of their decision to no longer keep the product and desire to return it, we advised the customer that School Outfitters does not handle the clearing of customs back into the US and they choose to proceed with the return. The customer persisted that we coordinate the return. We do not have a freight broker and do not work with them, but in spite of that we helped them by coordinating a return authorization with the supplier and gave them information on a broker supplied to us by the supplier for these types of situations. The brokerage firm is Livingston Company, in NY. Their phone is *** *** ****
  • Based on the above, School Outfitters does not have any further responsibility. But in the spirit of good will we will credit the customer the storage fees they incurred during their search for a freight broker. Please provide a receipt for the storage fees on this shipment and we will issue a refund to the customer in that amount.

 

On a side note, since the filing of the complaint the manufacturer received the product back damaged and will not issue a credit for the product. The customer will need to file a freight claim with the carrier that shipped the product for them for any additional reimbursement. We informed the customer of this on 8/1/2013.

Please let me know if you need anything further on this.

 

 

Regards,

 

**** ******

Director of Customer Relations

School Outfitters - Furnishing Great Places to Learn

3736 Regent Ave.

Cincinnati, OH 45212-3724

PH: ###-###-####

FX: ###-###-####

********************************

http://www.schooloutfitters.com 

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

11/20/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Purchase two adjustable steel Flat Panel carts. One came complete the other did not. I called after receipt they told me no problem we will get the missing parts to you right away. Two weeks later I called and they told me they were still working on the problem they were having problem with the vendors. I then got online with live chat twenty days later to ask for a refund or replacement and I'm told they are working on my issue and that the vendor is not responding to them. I paid for this item with my County credit card and want the product I have paid for since the product can't be utilized it causing a problem with my library customers.

Desired Settlement: Since they are having a problem getting the parts that are missing from the product (nuts and bolts to put the item together) I would like a replacement or refund for the one item that has the parts missing and a RMA so I can send the product pieces back to them.

Business Response:

******,

I appreciate you giving us the opportunity to investigate and respond to this customer complaint.

 

This is generally a minor issue that should be resolved in a matter of days, not weeks.

In my investigation I found that my rep did not follow outlined processes, which would include following up within 24hrs on the replacement parts and consistently updating the customer with progress on their issue. This resulted in a retrain for the representative and an overview of the process for the entire team to ensure compliance. Below is a breakdown of the events that transpired.

 

The timeline of events are as follows;

10/10—Customer called into our contact center to report missing hardware on one adjustable steel panel cart

10/10—School Outfitters CSR contacted parts warehouse, but no response until 10/17 and the CSR did no follow-up in between

10/17—Parts warehouse advised School Outfitters that the parts are not available

10/17__School Outfitters CSR contacted manufacturer for parts, but no response and the CSR didn’t follow-up until prompted from customer contact

10/24—Customer contacted School Outfitters via chat to determine what was going on with replacement hardware

10/24—School Outfitters CSR contacted customer and advised a new cart would be sent out ASAP

10/25—Replacement cart sent

10/26—Replacement cart tracking sent to the customer

10/29—Replacement cart delivered and signed for by *******

10/29—School Outfitters CSR sent follow-up e-mail to customer to ensure replacement arrived in good condition

11/12—Received BBB complaint

11/12—I called customer—closed for Veteran’s Day

11/13—I called customer, ******* ***** out for the day

11/14— I spoke with ******* ***** today and he did verify that they received the replacement cart and that they used the hardware out of that box to finish assembling the first cart. I advised him that he could keep the additional cart or we could pick it up to get it out of their way. He agreed to keep the cart and they would figure out a way to use it.

 

Please advise if you need anything further from me to close out this complaint.

 

Regards,

 

**** ******

Director of Customer Relations

School Outfitters - Furnishing Great Places to Learn

3736 Regent Ave.

Cincinnati, OH 45212-3724

PH: ###-###-####

FX: ###-###-####

 

 

 

********************************

 

 

 

http://www.schooloutfitters.com

 

 

Consumer Response:

[A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.  Regards,

 

******* *****

 

 

 

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

11/14/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Purchased a podium and the color on the web site does not match the color of the product. We requested to return the product and they are refusing to take it back.

Desired Settlement: I spent $753.93 on this podium and I will ship back at my expense, but I want a full refund for the purchase.

Business Response:

Hello,

This is to acknowledge that we had received the complaint and have reached out to the customer to work towards a resolution. We have asked the customer for photos of the product to determine if they received the wrong color and they have agreed to supply those pictures. The issue is each computor resolution shows color differently and we do have a disclaimer on our site that states this: The colors your monitor displays may vary slightly from the actual product colors.

Once we have the photos I will update you on our course of action.

Regards,

**** ******

Director of Customer Relations

School Outfitters - Furnishing Great Places to Learn

3736 Regent Ave.

Cincinnati, OH 45212-3724

PH: 866-619-3957

FX: 866-619-3958

********************************

 

Consumer Response:

The vendor was very accommodating and agreed to share the expense of the restocking. I am satisfied with the final outcome.

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.  Regards,

 

*** **** *********

 

 

 

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

1