BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company manufactures garage and entry doors.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Clopay Building Products Company, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Find a Location


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Clopay Building Products Company, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 20 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Industry Ratings Comparison | Chart


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

20 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 9 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 2
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 8
Problems with Product/Service 10
Total Closed Complaints 20

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

3 Customer Reviews on Clopay Building Products Company, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 3
Total Customer Reviews 3

Additional Information

BBB file opened: June 01, 1967 Business started: 01/01/1964 Business incorporated 12/28/1992 in DE
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Steve Lynch, President Mrs. Pat Lohse, VP Residential Marketing
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Steve Lynch, President
Business Category

Manufacturers & Producers Doors OVERHEAD GARAGE DOORS

Additional Information

Clopay Building Products Company Inc. operates 51 distribution centers and 2 manufacturing plants.  The corporate office is located in Mason, OH.  Other BBB business reviews may be available on other locations.

Clopay Building Products Company Inc. is a wholly owned subsidiary of Griffon Corp based in New York.


Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Clopay Building Products Company, Inc. has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 8585 Duke Blvd

    Mason, OH 45040 (800) 225-6729 (513) 770-4800

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    8260 Patuxent Range Rd Ste J

    Jessup, MD 20794

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    7460 Pacific Cir

    Mississauga, ON L5T 2A3

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    1400 West Market Street

    Troy, OH 45373

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    1630 Satellite Blvd Ste 500

    Duluth, GA 30097

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    183 Business Center Drive

    Birmingham, AL 35244

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    201 Creek Ridge Rd
    Ste A

    Greensboro, NC 27406

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    10047 Virginia Ave Ste 0
    Ste A

    Chicago Ridge, IL 60415

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    2360 Pilot Knob Rd

    Mendota Hts, MN 55120

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    2360 Pilot Knob Rd

    Mendota Hts, MN 55120

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    10789 Satellite Blvd

    Orlando, FL 32837

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    13830 Parks Steed Dr

    Earth City, MO 63045

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    13830 Parks Steed Dr

    Earth City, MO 63045

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    1025 Avenue S
    Ste 200

    Grand Prairie, TX 75050

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    4801 Moline St

    Denver, CO 80239

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    6818 Patterson Pass Rd
    Ste E

    Livermore, CA 94550

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    1070 S 3800 W Unit 100

    Salt Lake Cty, UT 84104

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    3118 NE 181st Ave

    Portland, OR 97230

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    3118 NE 181st Ave

    Portland, OR 97230

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

4/29/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Approximately 7-10 years ago we purchased 2 Holmes garage doors. Recently (about a year ago) one of the doors broke at the top where the automatic garage arm attaches. Currently the other door is beginning to do the same thing. Recently I reached out to Clopay, Inc and advised of the situation. Immediately I was advised if I did not have the serial number for each door they would be unable to provide any resolution. I advised I did not have the serial numbers, but at their request sent photo's of the doors. I was then advised that apparently the doors were not installed correctly and warranty would not cover. At this time, I asked if they would be willing to send me 4 replacement panels and I would attempt to repair myself. I was then advised that replacement panels would come from the warranty department and without the serial numbers the warranty department would not assist. As you can see from my address, we live in Upstate NY and winters can be extremely cold. Now that it's spring, all I wanted to do was repair my doors and solve the issue. Any assistance would be greatly appreciated.

Desired Settlement: At this point, I would like 2 BASIC bronze series white replacement doors sent to me and I will have them installed at my own expense.

Business Response:

*****,

We are sorry that you are having issues with your Holmes garage door but without a serial number or order information, we cannot identify your door model to determine it's warranty.  We are unable to process your claim without that information.   

We have reviewed the pictures you supplied us.  It was noticed that the door has not been properly reinforced (per the installation manual) for the use of an automatic opener. Unfortunately this damage can take a while to manifest itself based on door/opener usage.  We have attached a photo and instructions explaining this.  Failure to reinforce the door properly voids the warranty, therefore we are not a liberty to honor your claim.  You can order replacement sections through your local Holmes dealer.

Thanks

**** *************

Supervisor - Clopay Consumer Services

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

[To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, we would like to know your view on the matter.]


At this point it seems as if Clopay is not willing to assist. I would greatly appreciate any assistance that you could provide in this matter. Perhaps they would be willing to send someone out to look over the situation.  If not maybe they would be willing to send 1 door if I agreed to purchase the second. 

Also, they continue to refer to the "proper" installation procedure.  I am still not clear on what this entails.   

Regards,

***** *******

3/7/2016 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Purchased a garage door in 07-/2012, installed 08/2012. First issue started after a few months, to where there was black foam coming from the entire length of the panels tops and bottoms...it continued to get worse with time so I contacted the installer, and they arranged through clopy and explained the situation, and there response was that it was thermal break, which is used while the polyurethane is setting up in the factory. They did agree to send the installer back out to clean the foam off the panels. this was 03/2013. Solved for a few months then the foam started coming out again on each panel top and bottom, So my husband and I just started keeping it cleaned off ourselves monthly, or earlier if needed. Now the issue has become worse. The foam causes the panels to freeze together in cold weather and it appears that the panels are holding water. Sometimes if you are watching you will see water come out and the water smells as if it is days and days old. moldy water. Over this past winter because of the so called thermal break, the door frooze completely shut. I contacted clopay cust. service and was advised to email them the issue and I did so on 01/25/2016. After a few replys regarding s/n and questions the last contact was 01/26/2016 through email. I did call on 02/05/2016 and spoke to ***** which was the customer service agent I am working with in email. He stated he sent the information to quality control and was waiting on a response. Now a month later nothing. I have tried to be patient and understanding but someone needs to step up and handle this issue for it is not going away, only getting worse. There is a open case number ********

Desired Settlement: I would like clopay to replace my door completely. There is obviously an issue with the thermal break, and the panels are holding water.

Business Response:

Mrs. *****,

We apologize for the issue you are experiencing with your door. As you already have been informed, we will be replacing your door. 

Thank you

**** *************

Supervisor - Clopay Consumer Services

***** ********  

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:


Yes,  ***** from Clopay contacted me and advised that they would send all 4 new door panels to A1 garage doors, and that the installation fees would be taken care of by them.

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

Regards,

****** *****

2/20/2016 Problems with Product/Service
2/15/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: garage door rusting and paint peeling still under warranty ,company will not honor warranty,door is constantly cleaned and cared for.

Desired Settlement: want new lower section of door replaced

Business Response:

*** *********

While we stand behind our warranty...as a goodwill gesture we will replace the bottom section on your door. The warranty covers material only. It does not cover labor.  We will contact a local dealer to have the sections sent to.  If you want them to do the install, they can arrange that for you.

Unfortunately the label you showed us on the strut does not match the door.  We will need the serial number off of the door.  It's on the left hand side of the bottom section.  Once you get that to us, we can proceed with processing your claim.

Thanks

**** *************

Supervisor - Clopay Consumer Services

Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

Regards,

******* ********

11/16/2015 Problems with Product/Service
9/25/2015 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased door from Clopay TCS through Home Depot. Date:11/09/2012 and was on back order for 2 months so they substituted item with on stock item in January 2013 to reduce additional delay. I ordered a heavy duty door option upgrade and added upgraded steel lining with foam insulation and windows. The substituted item was supposed to be the same; with a change in color from taupe grey-tan to white. I believed I received a heavy duty product, but with very light normal usage, the door began to wrinkle from the sides and later in the center from its own weight-Perhaps the door is not heavy duty as advertised. The door was professionally installed by an Authorized Clopay dealer and protected from accidental use and impact damage. Within a year of usage the door began to deteriorate. Initially we thought it was minor defects in the material with light wrinkles in the interior. As months passed, additional wrinkles were appearing all over the interior metal door skin. Thinking it was cosmetic damage, I thought I can live with the interior only defects, as the exterior looks perfectly fine. But closer examination, may indicate a failure of materials and defects in the structural integrity of the garage door; requiring prompt warranty action. I contacted my Local CA Home Depot and they contacted Clopay headquarters on my behalf. Clopay requested pictures of the door , and I promptly sent them. Then they answered it was accidental damage and told me to purchase replacement panels. I responded that the door never was in any accident and was only opened and closed with normal usage. I never got a response or any assistance after that correspondence. The door is maintained annually with cleaning, lubrication and inspection of hardware as suggested in the user guide. The warranty is at least 3 to 5 years on the sections and is in defect within the warranty period.

Desired Settlement: Replacement of complete defective door panels and systems with "heavy duty hardware as ordered" with new warranty, or refund purchase on defective and unsatisfactory materials and defects to repurchase a more safer and reliable product.

Business Response:

**** **********

We apologize for the issues we are having with you Clopay door.  We will replace the sections of you door and upgrade the hardware.  We be contacting a local dealer to receive and install your replacement sections and hardware.  I will contact you once we have this arranged.

Thank you,

**** *************

Supervisor - Clopay Consumer Services.

Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.  I look forward to prompt resolution in warrantying the product and improvements in product durability and customer care.

Regards,

* ** ******** *********

9/12/2015 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I bought 2 garage doors back in January at menards, I called ideal several times as I was missing the springs and hardware box for my 14X12 garage door, are you ever going to send this or do I have to file a BBB complaint? I also was told that they would have the ez-set yet when I called they said that was not available on this size of door. can I please have my parts so I can install my door, I am not sure why these parts have not been sent to me but I am getting so ticked that I want a refund on the doors if I cannot get the hardware, if you can send all the hardware springs, bar and brackets then that would help otherwise please refund the doors The quality of the doors are also poor, there were so many dings and panels that do not fit well and line up correctly on my 9X8 door that it does not seal well against the weather strips. the door is very, very poor quality. the top to bottom connections are not aligned correctly that it leaves the door in a wavy state

Desired Settlement: I would either like a refund or a replacement with a better built door and the hardware

Business Response:

*** *********,

We apologize for the issues you have been experiencing.  We have placed an order for your missing parts. We will watch closely to make sure that they arrive in a timely manner.  In regards to your other issues and concerns, please call our Consumer Services line at 1-800-225-6729. 

Thanks

**** *************

Supervisor - Consumer Services Dept

jpham@clopay.com

 

Business Response:

*******

 

Please call me at (**** ******** to discuss a solution to your issue.

 

Thanks

**** *************

Consumer Services Supervisor

(**** ********

9/2/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The Garage Door Need To Be Fixed

Desired Settlement: The garage door is broken and its under warranty. I called Clopay and opened a ticket 2 weeks ago and got zero response. No one called me to make an appointment and come fix the garage.

Business Response:

*******

 

I apologize for the problem you are experiencing with your door.  The installer for you local **** ***** is being contacted today to set up a service call.  You will be contacted by them to schedule an appointment.

 

Thanks

**** *************

Supervisor-Clopay Consumer Services

(937) 440-6134

Business Response:

*******

I apologize...you should have not been charged for the services work on your door. We will send you payment reimbursing you for the amount you spent.  The check will be mailed to your home address.

******   **** ************* ********* * ****** ******** ******** ***** ********

8/17/2015 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchase a garage door from Home Depot on 05 July 2015 and was told by the sales staff that it would be delivered to my rental house in Peoria within3 weeks. I have called the installer in Phoenix almost every week and they have kept saying to me that the door will be delivered since they have already taken measurements from my rental house in Peoria. The Phoenix Clopay installer has been not helpful at all and not been giving me the correct information about my garage door. First they say it is coming in one week, then they say it is coming in two weeks, then they say July and now they are saying 17 Aug 2015. I would have never ordered a garage door from Clopay if it was taking so long and I would like a $400 rebate off the price of the door due to all the inconvenience. I finally find out my door was damaged in the factory and that a new door is being made for me. I am very upset and I expect Home Depot to give me a $400 due to the poor customer service from Phoenix Clopay. My Home Depot Order number is H0401 10633

Desired Settlement: I purchase a garage door from Home Depot on 05 July 2015 and was told by the sales staff that it would be delivered to my rental house in Peoria within3 weeks. I have called the installer in Phoenix almost every week and they have kept saying to me that the door will be delivered since they have already taken measurements from my rental house in Peoria. The Phoenix Clopay installer has been not helpful at all and not been giving me the correct information about my garage door. First they say it is coming in one week, then they say it is coming in two weeks, then they say July and now they are saying 17 Aug 2015. I would have never ordered a garage door from Clopay if it was taking so long and I would like a $400 rebate off the price of the door due to all the inconvenience. I finally find out my door was damaged in the factory and that a new door is being made for me. I am very upset and I expect Home Depot to give me a $400 due to the poor customer service from Phoenix Clopay.

Business Response:

******

I apologize for the situation you are experiencing.  I will look into this situation and will reach out to you shortly. 

Feel free to contact me direct.

Thanks!

**** *************

Supervisor-Clopay Consumer Services

***** *********

1/23/2015 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have a garage door that rusted on bottom panel. Per the installer and Coplay there was a warantee on the door, and per *****, I just needed to provide information from the sticker on door so they could help. (I had already provided information where the did locate the original order, so they had purchaser (builder) and dates.) After I provided the information, ***** did not return my calls. When I tried to call him ***** repeatedl;y hung up on me, stating that she needed *****'s last name. When I finally got through to *****, I was told that "they do not give out last names". Now ***** is going back on his word. This is a very bad company with which to do business.

Desired Settlement: Rusted bottom panel of door replaced, just as ***** agreed to before he changed his mind.

Business Response:

Mrs. ******,

We apologize for the issue you have been experiencing.  The warranty period on the door you own is 10 years.  Since your door is from 1999, it is outside of the warranty period.  However, due to the initial confusion in regards to the warranty length and unsatisfactory customer service you have received, we will replace the bottom section of your door.  We will contact you today for additional information that is going to be needed to process your case.

 

Thanks

**** *************

Supervisor - Clopay Consumer Services

***** ********

 

 

1/8/2015 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The door section came apart. Door is not a year old and failed. I could have purchased from other companies but chose Clopay. They don't honer products.

Desired Settlement: Either honor their warranty or return my money. I can't even close the door completely

Business Response:

Mr. ******,

We apologize for the situation you are experiencing. However the damage to your door is a result of an improper installation. The center stile of the top section was not properly reinforced for the attachment of an automatic opener. Please refer to the installation manual you received with the door.  On pages 14 and 18 there are warnings stating that failure to reinforce the door as illustrated will void your warranty.   Clopay's warranty does not cover installation error.  You can purchase replacement sections for your door at your local Menards store.

 

Thank You

**** *************

Clopay Consumer Services Supervisor

***** ********

 

 

 

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

[To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, we would like to know your view on the matter.]

Regards,

*** ******    I feel that Clopay should replace my door or refund me my money and stop coming up with excuses on why they can't honor their warranty I don't care nothing about this wasn't done or that wasn't done please replace my door or refund my money. they should not treat their customers in this sort of way. It has been 3 or 4 days that my garage door has been stuck open and my family has been suffering my electric bill and heating bill is suffering. I  informed them that the panel pulled off the door and they won't honor their warranty this is absurd. I have my receipt I have taken pictures I don't know what else to do but I do know that if this is the way that Clopay treats their customers that I will never purchase from them again and I will inform the public of my experience. wiith Clopay. I can't believe this.  So really they just tell people that their products have warranties and when something happens they don't honor and they find a way to put the blame on the customer. REALLY CLOPAY

12/20/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I would like to file a complaint regarding a Clopay Garage Door.  The decorative trim on the Garage Door has developed mold/mildew.  I see by your web site that this is not the first complaint regarding mold/mildew. There have been emails exchanged back and forth with Clopay Customer Service, but their responses are unsatisfactory.  I have attached a copy of the email exchange. I believe that the Brochure describing the maintenance for these doors in regards to the plastic composite inserts should reveal the fact that these inserts will be subject to mold/mildew, when exposed to the weather. Please advise, 

Desired Settlement: other

Business Response:

******

I apologize for the situation you are experiencing.  In order to help resolve this situation, I'm going to ask that you send us in some photographs of your door.  We need a shot of the entire interior and exterior of the door, along with a few close-ups.  We will also need the serial number off of the door.  It's located on a warning sticker on the bottom section of the door (interior).  Email them to *****************  Once I receive those items, I will contact you and we will work to resolve the situation.

Thank you

**** *************

Supervisor, Clopay Consumer Services

***** ********

 

10/25/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have warranty work for garage door panels that were installed by ****** ********** *** ** ******** **. I spoke with Clopay customer service representative named ***** ****** and I have a case # *******. ***** and I have spoken several times and Emails exchanged it has been over a month since I initiated this warranty issue. When I last heard from ***** he Emailed me that a Mr.****** ****** would be handling the issue.I have not heard by phone or Email from Mr.****** to date.The Warranty issue is the panels have spacing in between them allowing daylight and rain to seep through.I have tried to resolve this matter with the installer ****** ********** however **** ******** who manages this business is unprofessional and not a good representative for Clopay Products.

Desired Settlement: I would like for clopay to have a qualified professional to come inspect the issue and make necessary repairs or reinstall if need be.

Business Response:

********

We apologize for the difficulties you have been experiencing.  We will be replacing your garage door sections.  We are contacting another local dealer in the area to perform the install.  Once they receive the sections, they will contact you to schedule your install.  I will follow up with you to let you know an estimated ship date for your door.

 

Thanks

 

**** ************* ********** * ****** ******** ******** ***** ********

 

 

 

4/11/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Warranty claim for peeling paint with two Avante Clopay doors purchased in 2010. The claim was denied allegedly because they think someone had painted the doors. The doors have never been painted since installation. The claim was just denied with no option given how to get to the bottom of how this door may have been repainted, if in fact that is the reason for the peeling.

Desired Settlement: Repair the doors as they were purchased new. If someone painted them, it happened before installation and as such the consumer should not bear responsibility for actions that may have occurred before delivery.

Business Response:

Good morning ***.

I apologize for the issues that you are experiencing with your Clopay Avante Doors.  We would like to further the investigation as this is the first that we have seen an anodized section peel.  In discussing with our Supplier, they have confirmed that Black Anodized surfaces cannot "peel" but obviously in the photos that you have supplied it appears to be the case.  To further the investigation, to understand the cause, we would like to have the "flakes"  analyzed.  If you could supply us a sample of the flaking that would be at least a 1"x 1" size to the following address:

Clopay Building Products

**** **** ****** ******

***** ** *****

Attn: ****** *****

Once we receive this sample we will send to our Supplier to analyze.  We do stand behind the quality of our product therfore if investigation reveals a Supplier finishing defect, Clopay will take action of replacing. 

Thank you.

 

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.


I can't get a paint sample of at least 1 inch as those were removed when the Clopay representative came to see the door. I can get very small chips off the door and can mail those if useful, however they are very thin and smaller than 1/4 of an inch.

Regards,

*** **********




Business Response:

Good afternoon ****

After further discussion we would like to extend an offer to replace the current sections that you have experienced peeling of the paint.  From what I can see this would be the bottom section of the 16' wide and two intermediate sections for the 8' wide door.  You will be receiving a call from a Customer Service agent on Friday April 11th to follow up with you to ensure that we are replacing the correct sections.

Thank you.

****** *****

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

Regards,

*** **********




3/9/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Garage door bent in middle called clopay explained problems to them. They started a claim at the beginning of August at that point I filled out their paperwork and never herd from them after that . Called again this month Feb they had me redo paperwork and send pictures they sent installation instructions and said I installed the door opener wrong . When I complained that the installation instructions we're not the ones that came with the door they said they were the only instructions that came with door and recent but the 2nd set was different and matched my installation. At that point they came up with a different reason. after disproving that they won't call me back

Desired Settlement: Replace broken parts

Business Response:

*******

First I would like to apologize to you for your experience as we take our warranty claims very serious to ensure that our customers are satisfied.  As we have reviewed the photos we are going to replace the top section due to the section buckling.  You will be receiving a call from our representative today to talk with you in regards to your case.

 

Thank you.

******** *****

2/20/2014 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have called Clopay on four different occassions to order parts for my 7 x 9 insulated garage door and when I called they informed me that the parts had been on back order yet no one called to let me know. When I received the parts I had gotten parts that I didn't order and didn't receive the parts that I needed, when I called to order that part I kept getting transfered to another person saying that they have nothing to do with it, and one representive gave me a number to call to order that part and when I called that person she informed me that she can not send parts out to me unless I was a contractor. I called the 800 number back and got the same gentleman that I origanlly talked to and he told me at that point that he would send them out sat the 1st of feb and I still have not received the part. The part is a bracket that holds the EZ set torsion winding unit, I am suppose to have two of them.

Desired Settlement: I want Clopay to over nite the parts at their cost.

Business Response:

Mr. Berg,

First I would like to start off with apologizing as this is not acceptable Customer Service from Clopay.  As a company we will be looking at this case to see what areas we went wrong and to make sure this does not happen going forward.  After investigating I see that we sent out a a kit on 1/30/14 with a *** tracking # ****************** that delivered on 2/3/14.  In looking at the kit that was provided I noticed it did not come with the mounting brackets of which we are sending out today ****  I have also asked one of our agents to follow up with you to ensure that you have all the parts necessary. 

 

Again, I do apologize and if you have any concerns please contact us.

Thank you.

******** *****

2/5/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a brand new overhead garage door from this company and had it professionaly installed. The door is a little over three years old and it is rusting already. I contacted the company about the issue. They made many excusses that were not possible due to the garages loaction such as salt. They also stated that is is noramal to have to wax the garage door multiple times per year and paint it evey few years. This door is in a detached garage in the back yard surounded by grass. My garage doors in my attached garage are roughly 10 years old and do get light salt on them and they have no rusting. This company stated their warranty only covers rust threw not surface rust. They also went on to say that the home owner should notice surface rust and repaint the garage door. They stated that if the surface rust causes rust threw it isn't covered either. Bascically they are saying they will not stand behind their product at all!! Product_Or_Service: Overhead garage door for my home Order_Number: ********

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Replacement I would like the garage door repainted and reinstalled at no cost to me or A new replacement door be delivered at no cost to me.

Business Response:

The paint warranty for ***** ***r warrants the  sections of a model ***** to 10 years against rust through due to the paint finish cracking, checking, or peeling (losing adhesion) for 10 years from the date of delivery to the original purchaser. 
Clopay has investigated this case and take our customers concerns very seriously.  In regards to this case our warranty stated above covers rust through and reviewing the pictures this door is not covered under our warranty as this is not a rust through and not a result of the failure of the paint system on this steel door.  
With this being a surface rust, we only suggest that outside elements such as chemicals from a spray or something like this that could be eating away at the paint of the steel door.  Again, these are only suggestions that possibly could have caused this but due to this not being rust through it is not covered under our warranty. 

Thanks.


Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ******** and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

This company has made no attempt to resolve the issue. Each time they come up with a new excuse why they should not cover their defect. Each time the excuse is not true or doesn't apply they come up with a new excuse. They basically said that even thou they have a warranty that is doesn't cover the things is says it does.

 
Regards,
**** ****** *****




Business Response:

In regards to your complaint on your model ***** that you have purchased from ***** ***r I have attached a copy of the warranty that we supply with this model.  The model ***** has a Limited Lifetime warranty on the paint system.  ***** **** warrants the sections of the model ***** against rust-through due to the paint finish cracking, checking, or peeling (lose adhesion).  In reviewing the photos that you have provided it appears that this would be surface rust and not rust-through of which would not follow under our warranty. 

We are more than happy to provide you a paint allowance of up to $100 of which we can provide a ******* gift card or a check if you so choose. 

Thank you

******** *****

 

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ******** and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.  This response is just the company dodging the responcibility. All rust threw must first start as surface rust. The company should stand behind their product. I am not a painter or a garage door installer/ remover. I purchased a painted garage door and that is what I want is a proper garage door with proper paint ahearsion. A can of paint and a rusted garage door do no equal a properly painted door. Like I stated in the complaint both of the ten year old garage doors in the attached garage that do receive t other negative factors  such as salt contact show any of this type of results. Why would a three year old product of this companies that is installed in a detached garage with no salt contact show these defects. Do you know any one why waxes or repaints their garage door every few years. I do wet the door with tap water and lightly scrub the door with a soft brisseled broom a few times a year. Most people dont even do this. I expect the door to be replaced or repaired to the original specs at no cost to me.


Regards,
**** ****** *****


Business Response:

In regards to your complaint we still hold position that this is surface rust and is not covered under our warranty, however we would like for you to be satisfied as we typically do not have these types of issues.  We would like to offer to you to replace all sections for your door that have been affected. 

We will have a Customer Service Representative call you on Monday to follow up with you on your order.

Thank you.

 

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ******** and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.
 

I plan to except the solution once product change out is complete. I was told this will be four weeks or more by the rep when they called. I do not feel comfortable closing this complaint until the job is done.
Regards,

**** ****** *****




12/2/2013 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchase two garage doors from *******, built by Ideal Door (or Clopay). I finished the doors, and sealed them in a heated garage, as per their instructions. I have contacted Clopay many times because the door panels warped and "sunk-in" as the wood doors were hollow and have, in spots, completely pulled out of the main frame. I have sent pictures to them, and have also had two contractors look at them, both agree that the damage to the doors are due to the poor craftmanship. One of the contractors even called Clopay himself, hoping they would listen to him, being a contractor. These doors had been re-stained and sealed year after year. Clopay uses the excuse that they were not sealed properly, but they were time and again.

Desired Settlement: I would like them to replace the doors, or fix the doors. The top section with the windows is fine, but the bottom two sections have warped out of their original position. I am curious to know if they build this door the same, or if they have made modifications so this does not happen anymore.

Business Response:

The Clopay warranty on a wood door is as follows: The warranty on a Clopay wood door is for one year from the date of installation.  This is for both sections and section components.  The door in question is over 9 years old and therefore does not fall under our warranty guidelines.  Attached is the Ideal Door Limited Warranty information page in the installation manual that states whtat the warranty is and what the warranty covers.

****** ******

Supervisor

Customer Service

Clopay Building Products

 

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

[To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, we would like to know your view on the matter.]

Regards,
***** *******


I know the doors are 9 years old now, but I have been going back and forth with *******, and Clopay for many, many years. This is the fourth time I have contacted Clopay with the defective doors. When I contacted ******* with regards the doors, they were still under warranty, ******* directed me to Clopay. Clopay did not send anyone out to look at the doors, and after several complaints I finally sent pictures from each door. The doors began to warp or sink inward and pull out of the main rails within a year of installation, this is NOT because of improper sealing and staining which I myself did according to the instructions. I do have a Case#*******, so you know this is been an ongoing complaint. I have been round and round with Clopay, and I will not just let them tell me its my fault, when I have two different contractors to back me up. This is a defective product. 

Thank you
***** *******
 
Again, its not the entire door, its the bottom two panels. I would be happy with them replacing or repairing the bad sections....not too much to ask on a $1500.00 dollar door.


Consumer Response: BBB,

I don't have the exact date that I contacted clopay about the doors beginning to warp and pull out of the frames. I first contacted ******* in **** ***** ** (where the doors were purchased) I believe in 2004, when I first started to notice warping. This started while the doors were under warranty. I believe I first contacted clopay (who ******* directed me to) in 2005 or 2006, the doors were clearly damaged at this point. After that I have been contacting clopay numerous times, and the last time I contacted them was in 2012, I did email you that documentation with pictures. I also have two contractors, who will also testify that the doors were not constructed properly.
Thank you
 
***** ******* 
If you need anything further please let me know.

Business Response:

We, at Clopay, stand behind the products that we sell and the warranties that come with said products.  This wood door comes with a 1 year warranty.  If the product was purchased in October of 2003, Clopay should have been contacted by  October 2004.  We are sorry to here that you have been having a problem with your wood garage door.  Please understand that when you contacted us in late 2012, it was stated that there is only a 1 year warranty on our semi-custom wood doors which is the type of door that you purchased.

*** ******

Supervisor

Clopay Building Products

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

[To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, we would like to know your view on the matter.]

Regards,
***** ******* 

 
The doors began to warp, etc. before the year warranty was up. I contacted ******* first, then they directed me to Clopay. Clopay knows that I have contacted them MANY times regarding this, 2012 was the LAST time I contacted them. They are not standing behind their doors or they would at least repair them. Again, the doors began to warp while under warranty, and they should do something to compensate.
 
*****  




10/15/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Sorry, i maybe late because i found out about you "BBB" to late. But anyway i wanted to complain about them! About a year ago I bought a garage door made by Clopay. When I inst**led the door (4 panels) the panels were bowing down. I thought it is norm** and did not react anyhow. After two month I found out the damage on the front panels. (it were dents on the panels). I have contacted to clopay, and they said it was a wind damage and they denied my evidence and assumptions. Thanks. Here is emails between me and them: ME: Clopay, Exactly, if you have never performed a wind test on models 2050, then how could you judge, how could you say that this is a wind damage - YOU DON’T KNOW HOW THE DAMAGE LOOKS LIKE ON THIS MODELS! That was you GUESS, unsupported opinion and so unprofession**. Like I said before, this door were bowing from the first day, and after 50 – 70 cycles permanent damage accrued on the face side of the panels. I was able to find two pictures on my phone, from the day this door was inst**led and lower panel on this picture is BOWING. See attached. I have t**ked with my neighbors and it appears that only my brand new door got “wind damage” no one else from 30-40 houses on my street. And you never asked if anybody else got damage – because you don’t care! You know that you can use this statement “wind damage” as an excuse for the cheap design door. Very smart of you. I am wondering how many people had the same answer from you? Well, I think I am t**king to the w**l. I will leave my reviews about clopay door anywhere I can! I will make a “commerci**” for clopay door and place it on Youtube. I want to let people know about “good qu**ity CLOPAY doors”! V** CLOPAY: Friday, August 03, 2012 Ms. ****** ******** **** **** ***** **** ******** ** ***** **** ****** ********, Thank you for contacting Clopay. I do apologize that the response that you received does not meet in your agreement. But your information in your letter is incorrect. Your door was ordered as a model 2050 not a 2050w1. The standard models are not tested for wind ratings. To get a door that is tested you must order a wind rated door. I wish there would be more that we could do for you but the warranty specific**ly states acts of god are not covered only product defects and this damage on your door coincides with wind damage as you even spoke your self this is not a norm** issue that is in the area from which you live. We agree we are **so located in Ohio and have been hit very hard this year with wind/hail storms but that is not a defect in a garage door only act of god or nature. As for the door safety if you feel it is not safe that we would recommend that you have it replaced or discontinue using the door. You could check with your home insurance to see if they cover acts of god that is about the only one that I am familiar with that would possibly cover pending on what insurance you have. We are still in agreement that the photographs submitted by you illustrating the damage incurred to your door were inspected by our warranty team. Based on the assessment of the damage, the failure is indicative of damage that incurs when a door is exposed to high winds. The Clopay warranty does not cover wind damage, therefore we are not at liberty to honor your claim. If you wish to replace your damaged sections, please c**l your inst**ling de**er or a loc** Authorized De**er nearest you. You can locate that de**er by using our web site, www.clopaydoor.com. If you have any other questions please contact us at 1-800-225-6729. Sincerely, Ms. Bobby Treon Consumer Services Representative Consumer Services Department Case Number ******* **: Clopay, I disagree and very disappointed with your excuse that damage incurs when the door exposed to high winds. Here is my arguments: Per my S/N and PID ***************** my door model # is 2050 16x7. Per your website information with a minimum of wind code “W1” this door supposed to resist wind speed up to = 90 mph. For your information from March 2012 till present we never had in **** ******* ** ***** wind speed more than 40 mph. (that is available online per weather history websites). What you say about this? Like I said before, lower sections of my door were bowing from the first day, so please find competent people to review my pictures that I sent you before and make a correct decision. I want this defected sections to be replaced or give me my money back if you can’t provide reliable design door! I hope for a very quick respond I don’t want this door hurt anybody. Thanks, ***

Desired Settlement: I would like to get a refound or replacement for the door. Thanks, ***

Business Response:

I reached out to the consumer by e-mail and let her know that I will replace her sections of her door.  I will not however be covering the labor for the ******l as the warranty does not cover installation.  As soon as the consumer lets me know that this is satisfactory, I will place the order for the new sections.

 

*** *****r

Supervisor

Clopay Building Products

Consumer Response:

[A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.  

Clopay supervisor did promised to me to replace defected door panels. Thank you very much for the help!

Regards,

*** ********




Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

Dear BBB, Thank you very much for your help, but my problem is still unsolved yet. I contacted to you back on October 2013. I had an issue with defective garage door panels from Clopay. After you contacted Clopay back in October, Clopay agreed to replace defective door panels. As of today i dont know where is the door panels at. I did checked with Clopay and Clopay saying that order is completed and shiped. I checked with Home depot store and they do not have anything for me eather. Please, advise what should i do now? Thank you for your help. Here is some emails between me and Clopay : 2013/10/11 ****** ****** ************************ good. I will get it ordered.valery ******** ****************** 10/11/2013 12:09 PM ***, ok. then it would be store ***** **** ****** *** **** ******* *** ***** ************* ****** ****** **********************Unfortunatley we do not deliver to home residence. We can deliver to either a Clopay dealer or the **** ***** closets to you. Whichever you prefer.*** valery ******** ****************** 10/11/2013 11:44 AM***, I am glad to hear that. The only three lower sections need to be replaced. I will take care about the installation myself. What if, you just deliver the sections (3) to me, then i will replace the sections( i need couple days) and if you need old sections back you could pick them up later (i will send you an email) or i will throw them away. Please, let me know. Thanks****2013/10/10 ****** ****** *************************After talking to my quality team and my supervisor, I am going to offer to replace the sections of the garage door. What I mean by sections is just the sections, not the hardware or the track. When it comes to replacing things under warranty, installation costs are not included so paying for the install would be up to you. Any feedback from you would be greatly appreciated and I will proceed with ordering new sections once I hear from you.*** ******Clopay Building ProductsSupervisor


Regards,

*** ********




Business Response:

I would like to apologize for the inconvenience.  ******* from Clopay has reached out to you with the status of the three sections of which have been ordered under Sales order *********.  The sections are being expedited and ******* will be following up with you with the date of delivery.

 

Again, I do apologize for the inconvenience.

 

Thank you.

******** *****

Consumer Response:

[A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

**** ******

Thank you very much for your help!    Happy New Year !   And all the best for you ! 
Regards,

*** ********




10/3/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Our vinyl garage door has alot of black areas. I contacted the company. After emailing them numerous pictures, I was told that "...you can see the primer under the topcoat which would suggest that the topcoat only is being attacked." THey told me that due to the age of the door, we owned the house eight years, that the warranty on the paint system is only good for rust. Well eventually it is going to rust. Their solution was to touch up the door with their painting/maintenance instructions. We purchased a vinyl door, not wood. If we wanted to paint a door we would have purchased wood. My concern is that more of the topcoat is going to be attacked. This is not the way you stand behind your product.

Desired Settlement: We would like the door REPLACED. If the door is being "ATTACKED" that is not comforting. Telling me to paint it is not an option.

Business Response:

******
We received this complaint and has been assigned Case # ********  After review by our quality department, the cause of damage is not covered by our warranty.  Our warranty does not cover damage caused by environmental exposure. 
We apologize for any inconvenience.  If the customer would like to replace the affected section(s), they can visit our website atwww.clopaydoor.com to locate a dealer in their area.  The information needed to replace the section(s) is serial #, model, size and color.
 
Sincerely,
 
 


 
 
*** ****** ****** ******** ******** ********** *** ************* **** ****

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

[To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, we would like to know your view on the matter.]

 

I was told in an email from ****** ***** that according to the pictures I emailed them, "you can see the primer under the topcoat which would suggest that the topcoat only is being attacked."

Attacked by what?  Their response said that this was environmental exposure. I live in Florida, there was no hail or snow here.  Just sun and rain.  Its not like the door was only damaged in one section, its all over. 

I DO NOT ACCEPT THEIR RESPONSE.  What a way to treat a consumer.  Their product didnt hold up and now I have to suffer for it.  There was no resolution.  Their solution to me was to paint it.  Are you kidding me.  Its vinyl, not wood.  

If you want a copy of the email from the company stating that it was attacked, I will email it to you. 

Regards,

***** ******

 

 

Business Response:

The paint warranty for the Ideal Door warrants the sections of 6RST to 10 years against rust through due to the paint finish cracking, checking, or peeling (losing adhesion) for 10 years from the date of delivery to the original purchaser.

Clopay has investigated this case and take all customer concerns very seriously.  In regards to this case, our warranty stated above covers rust through and after reviewing the pictures, the issue with this door is not as a result of rust through.  To clarify our prior emails in regards to this door, we as a company only suggest of the potential elements that could have caused this.  So when we referred to the door being "under attack", we are only suggesting that outside elements, such as chemicals  from a spray, could be the reason for the spots on the door.  Again, this is only a suggestion for the cause but since this is not a rust through, this is not covered under warranty.

Thank you,

****** ******

Supervisor

Clopay Building Products

 

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

[To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, we would like to know your view on the matter.]

Regards,

***** ******



The response is not acceptable.  There is no way that the garage door should not be covered.  I submitted numerous pictures to the company.  The only way to have it confirmed to me that it is not covered is to have their representative in the area come and make an appointment to look at the door.  ***** ******

Business Response:

I have reached out to my representative in the state of Florida.  He is my only rep for the entire state.  I gave the rep Mrs. Auteri's contact info, however I can not give a time table for a call or a visit as this rep has the entire state as their territory.

*** ******

Supervisor

Clopay Building Products

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID 9658873, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

[To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, we would like to know your view on the matter.]

Regards,

Linda Auteri



UPDATE;  They sent a Rep to my house today.  First it was he hadnt seen what happened to the door.  Then it was that I had the driveway sprayed and it splashed up on the door. (Didnt happen)  Then it was there was a palm tree next to the driveway and maybe that caused it because they looked at the neighbors house next to me and there was the same kind of pitting that was happening and they had a palm tree in front of their house (NOT NEXT TO THE DOOR). 


This was a complete waste of my time.  They had no intention of doing anything.  WILL NEVER DEAL WITH ONE OF THEIR PRODUCTS AGAIN.    MATTER NOT RESOLVED.

***** ******


Business Response:

I apologize that you do not agree with Clopay's final decision in this matter.  Based on all the information we obtained (pictures, inspection by the installer and Clopay field rep), this claim is denied based on Clopay's belief that this is not a warranty issue.

Sincerely,

****** ******

Supervisor

Clopay Building Products

 


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

3 Customer Reviews on Clopay Building Products Company, Inc.
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart