Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are You the Business Owner of Scioto Valley Hot Tubs & Spas, Inc.?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Scioto Valley Hot Tubs & Spas, Inc.

Phone: (614) 876-7755 Fax: (614) 876-8465 4577 Lyman Dr, Hilliard, OH 43026 http://www.sciotovalley.com View Additional Web Addresses


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers gas grills.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Scioto Valley Hot Tubs & Spas, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Scioto Valley Hot Tubs & Spas, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 4 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Industry Ratings Comparison | Chart


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 4
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Scioto Valley Hot Tubs & Spas, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: May 01, 1983 Business started: 09/01/1982 Business started locally: 09/01/1982 Business incorporated: 09/01/1982 in OH
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Columbus Building & Development Services
757 Carolyn Ave, Columbus OH 43224
http://bzs.columbus.gov
Phone Number: (614) 645-7433

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Spencer Jacobs, President Mr. Randy Johnson, Sales Ms. Amy Vatter, Controller
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Spencer Jacobs, President
Business Category

Spas & Hot Tubs - Dealers Internet Shopping Swimming Pool Contractors, Dealers, Design Swimming Pool Enclosures Fireplace Equipment - Retail

Alternate Business Names
Fireplacesnow.com Scioto Valley Wholesalenow.com

Additional Locations

  • 4577 Lyman Dr

    Hilliard, OH 43026 (614) 876-7755

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

8/16/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: ABOVE GROUND POOL INSTALLED JUNE 2012,WHEN WE OPENED THE POOL APRIL/MAY, 2013 WE FOUND SERIOUS WRINKLES IN THE SIDE WALLS,Took pictures in spoke with *** ********,he stated the pool had been drained,the pool has never been drained,and it would not be covered,but a service man would be sent out.***** ****** came out and said he could tell the pool had never been drained,but it was not covered,it was due to chemicals,after MR ******** said it was from draining and this was slippage,every chemical every thing needed for this pool including the winter blanket was purchased at scioto valley,and followed per the instructions of sv sales,Mr ****** stated chemical vapors off the pool had no place to go when the winter cover was on therefore caused these wrinkles,I believe it was an install error,even when Mr ****** checked the top rails where the sides screw on he found several loose ,not tightened at all some not even in the threads,we attended the pool class that was suggested and did everything per sv instructions,Mr ****** stated that even some of the instructions that was given per sv sales,not all had the knowledge of the chemical,we now have a pool that we paid 3,799.00 and if there was an errow in what or how to care for the pool and winterize was from sv instructions

Desired Settlement: want the liner replaced at no cost,problem solved

Business Response:

Our position is still that *****'s evaluation upon visiting the pool was that the wrinkling of the liner was from "chemical damage" caused by an overuse or improper use of chemicals.  ***'s initial thought were also another strong possibilty,  as having water out of the pool for even a short period of time, will also cause a liner to wrinkle in a manner very similar.  A wrinkled liner as you have, is not a function of the install, but rather a function of pre-mature aging much like the wrinkiing of our skin as we age.  The number one cause is over dosing of chemicals and improper ph control.  Although you believe you followed our instructions and you bought all of your supplies from our store, that does not negate the possiblity that somehow (and we certainly do not believe it to be intentional) improper chemistry was and is the cause of your liner failure.

Although it is not covered under warranty at all, I have asked *** to contact you and arrange to put in a new liner at our expense.  We will not cover any water or chemicals but will pay for the liner and the labor to do so as long as it is done yet this fall.  Further, it is my understanding that you have a deck.  You will need to move any of the deck sections in order to give our installers the access the need to do the repair.  Please advise.  An alternative possibiltiy is that we can provide you a liner in the box that you can put away and install somewhere in the future (at your expense) should you deem the deck removal as to difficult or something that would not wish to do at this time.

Thank you,

 

Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. waiting to hear from *** to have a date of install and what we need to do to prep will take care of water ect

















2/2/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I called Scioto Valley about a heater problem on my *** Spa that I purchased from them. I man in service took my information and gave some things to check. A few days past before I could check them because of the cold weather. I checked them and called back. I spoke to another guy in service and he took my information again and I told him what i checked and the results and he agreed It sounded Like a bad heater. He then gave me a price of a new heater. A couple more days past and the spa temp dropped even lower. I was afaid it might freeze up because the night temps are in the teens. I drained the spa and removed the heater assembly. I called Scioto Valley back to get the part and see if I could get a better price since I have purchased 2 spas,swimming pool, tanning bed, Gas fireplace, pool table, air hockey table, pool sticks, and many chemicals from them. This time I spoke to a woman named *****. She took my information and informed me that I was still under warranty. I said great. She said however we no longer deal with *** Spas so we can't help you. I don't see how they can sell me something and not back it up if it is under warranty. Plus all my money I have spent with them. I have called *** Spas directly and had another company look at it, but the spa is still not fixed yet.

Desired Settlement: Very upset with poor customer service/relations from Scioto Valley.

Business Response:

Scioto Valley is between a rock and a hard place with our Customers who have purchased *** Spas that are still under warranty.  *** Spa refuses to allow us to remain an authorized service center which of course we want to remain in order that we can take care of our customers.  In more than 30 years of business, we have never had a vendor refuse our requests to be able to take care of our customers.  I believe we have already completed the service call on the heater and although we were not able to get cooperation from *** Spas, I instructed our service department to just take care of the problem and absorb the warranty expense for which *** will never pay us.

Thank you for your patience and please accept my apology for the inconvenience that it causes you.

****** *****, President

10/17/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a swimming Pool from Scioto Valley on 6/10/2012 a 24'x 54"x6" Model was a Reprieve Purchase price 2500.00..I have had nothing but issues since purchasing this Pool .The pool had no instructions on installing and when I called Scioto Valley I was informed they do not give installation instructions because they do the installing but I was told to go online and I would find instructions on installing above ground pools on the internet. I have had missing parts , pump seized up and now filter has valve issues ..Yesterday the ladder collapsed twice once with me and then with my son..I have been to Scioto Valley three times and the second and third was to pick up missing rails , Clamps, motor , refund for parts I went out to purchase (Nuts and Bolts)..I have called the service dept and the last call I made to the service dept I was ridiculed by a installer that was working in the service dept that day about how their pools are top notch and I informed him that I installed a pool before and that you can install them and purchase them Via ***** , ********, ***** etc..he argued the whole point with me not helpful at all because they didn't install my pool . My second visit I was told by a older man when the motor seized up to take a screw driver and turn the motor..I told the man I was the only one at my house and I had grandchildren there and this would void my warranty . I asked ****** from the service dept who that man was , and he told me it was the owner of the company, I had left a message on Mr ****** voice mail regarding all my issues and have yet to receive a response . Since the motor issue now the filter is not working properly and the ladder is unstable and a safety issue.Some of the people in the service dept are semi helpful , But I feel they are limited on any info or resolving issues....they are very rude and obnoxious at times I have called ..My husband is currently deployed in *********** and I wanted to have this as a nice welcome home present .Its been a total nightmare!

Desired Settlement: To get what I paid for, and my gas and mileage, and to insure their product is safe and replace the part, and to get help regardless whether I installed it or they installed the pool..I feel they should compensate me for gas and mileage that I have spent getting parts or replacing missing parts. I live over 60 miles away and numerous trips are costly. T

Business Response:

I am so sorry for the delay in getting back with you in a timely manner regarding the ******’s swimming pool issues.
Please allow me to respond as best I can within the complaint as it was filed. The customer complaints are in black
and my responses are in red.
I purchased a swimming Pool from Scioto Val ley on 6 /10/2012 a 24'x
54"x6" Model was a Repr ieve Purchase price 2500.00. 1 have had nothing
but issues since purchasing this Pool . The p o o l h a d n o instruct ions on
installing and when I called Scioto Valley I was informed they do not give
installation instructions because they do the installing but I was told to go
online and I would f ind inst ructions on installing above ground pools on the
Internet.
All of our pools do come with individual instructions for each component of
the pool. That is one set for the pool wall and hardware, another for the pool
pump and filter, another for the ladder, etc. It is true that there is no
comprehensive set of instructions that give a complete overview of the entire
process. Almost all of our do it yourself customers have had previous
experience assembling pools and the related components.
In addition, once we did become aware of this particular issue on her
facebook posting, we posted the following and did immediately forward
another set of instructions for the pool to which we received a favorable
response from her daughter? Please review that correspondence in “blue”
below sent by **** ****** on behalf of Scioto Valley.

**** ****** – June 13 @ 4:03pm
“Thanks for selling us a pool and not telling us that it does NOT come with instructions. But
the ladder for the pool does? Awesome business practices. I will be sure to NOT
recommended your company to anybody.”
Scioto Valley – June 13 @ 4:51pm
“Hey ***** thanks so much for letting us know about this issue! We just checked through
our purchase records & don't see you in our system but we do have a ******* ****** who
purchased & took home a DIY Reprieve pool from us on the 10th of June. Is that your
order? We would be happy to send you the instructions for that pool either via e-mail or snail
mail - whichever is better for you! You can send us a message in the message center
(http://www.facebook.com/messages/SciotoValley) with your e-mail address or your
home address. So sorry for the inconvenience! We're going to make this right for you :)”
**** ****** – June 13 @ 6:18pm
“A message was sent to your message center”
The conversation below was sent via direct messages.
4577 ***** Drive ********, Ohio 430** ###-###-#### Fax: ###-###-####
e-mail *******@sciotovalley.com
From: **** ******
Sent: Tuesday, September 04, 2012 9:48 AM
To: ******* ******
Subject: FW: Your Reprieve Pool Instructions
Hey Spencer. This is what I sent to *******. I didn’t get any response, but I was in contact
with her daughter **** via Facebook on the 13th & 14th of June. Here is our interaction:
**** ****** – June 13
“Thank you for a quick response and yes it was my mother ******* ****** who bought the
pool, i am just one of her worker bees. If you could please email the instructions to my mom
that whercare ould be great her email is *****3965@gmail.com that would be great.
Thanks!”
Scioto Valley – June 13
“Perfect! I will do this first thing when I get back to the office tomorrow! Glad we could help!”
Scioto Valley – June 14
“Just sent the e-mail - let me know if you don't get it for any reason! I am more than happy
to re-send  And if you need anything else, just ask!”
I didn’t get a response from **** after that either, so I assumed all had been taken care of.
From: **** ******
Sent: Thursday, June 14, 2012 9:05 AM
To: *****3965@gmail.com
Subject: Your Reprieve Pool Instructions
*******,
So sorry that your pool did not come with the required instructions!! I have attached them
here for you  If you ever need anything, don’t hesitate to give us a call, shoot me an email,
or head to our Facebook page. We want all of our customers to have a great
experience here so let us know if there’s anything else we can do!
Thanks for shopping at Scioto Valley; we appreciate you!
**** ******
Scioto Valley

I have had missing parts, pump seized up and now filter has valve issues -
Yesterday the ladder collapsed twice once with me and then with my son..I
have been to Scioto Valley three times and the second and third was to pick
up missing rails, Clamps, motor , refund for parts I went out to purchase (Nuts
and Bolts). I have called the service dept and the last call I made to the
service dept I was ridiculed by a installer that was working in the service
dept that day about how their pools are top notch and I informed him that I
installed a pool before and that you can install them and purchase them Via
*****, ********, ***** etc..he argued the whole point with me not helpful at
all because they didn't install my pool. My second visit I was told by a older
man when the motor seized up to take a screw driver and turn the motor . I
told the man I was the only one at my house and I had grandchildren there
and this would void my warranty . I asked ****** from the service dept who
that man was , and he told me it was the owner of the company, I had left a
message on Mr ****** voice mail regarding all my issues and have yet to
receive a response . Since the motor issue now the filter is not working
properly and the ladder is unstable and a safety issue. Some of the people in
the service dept are semi helpful, But I feel they are limited on any info or
resolving issues....they are very rude and obnoxious at times I have called
..My husband is currently deployed in *********** and I wanted to have this
as a nice welcome home present. Its been a total nightmare!

I am at a loss here as just how to comment on all of the above, except to say
that I am sorry for the experience she has had. Although I am certainly not
going to accuse a customer of having messed up new equipment, it is apparent
that something did happen when it was installed or 1st put into service.
However, at no charge, we replaced her new pump on June 29th, and her new
filter valve head on July 24th. Both of these components are meant to last years
not days. In addition, although frustrating, she was missing parts and we
replaced those at no charge. Further, although ****** had mentioned me by
name, I can assure you that I never met or advised ******* ******. We do
have a **** **** in our service department who is near my age that may have
spoken with her? With regard to a message not returned, I believe that was
probably the case as my daughter almost lost her life on May 28th and I was
attending to her throughout June, July, and August.

Desired Settlement:
To get what I paid for, and my gas and mileage, and to insure their product
is safe and replace the part, and to get help regardless whether I installed it
or they installed the pool..I feel they should compensate me for gas and
mileage that I have spent getting parts or replacing missing parts_ I live
over 60 miles away and numerous trips are costly

Finally, we did send a service tech to her house this past week to look at
her ladder. That ladder that she does have is working properly as
designed and she did not want a new replacement. We certainly would be
happy to credit her ladder purchase in full and offer another style in its
place if that would help resolve this issue. In addition, in order to insure
that the equipment is properly protected for the winter, I would be willing
to help the ******’s close their pool when they are ready to end the
swimming season. This would be to provide labor only and not include
any accessories or chemicals which may be required.
Sincerely,
******* ******, President

Business Response: Hi again,

I read Mrs ******’s response and I am not sure how to proceed to help resolve her frustration.  I actually called the lady she referenced in her complaint and the issues that ***** had with us were completely different than she has had and have all been resolved.  I would be happy to exchange the ladder she has with a more expensive one at no charge to her.  We usually get our new inventory in March and can make arrangements to make the exchange when she opens her pool?

Thanks,
*******

Consumer Response: Hi
I am accepting this response only to the fact is I do not have any time to keep debating this issue ,for reasons as follows  1. My husband came home from a year long  deployment and we are assigned to another duty station in another state  for another year..And 2. I feel this is not a very effective process  seems like its just continues to go no where , and the only resolutions is Claimant takes legal actions .I will contact the business at a later date for the exchange  when we have made our transition .

Regards,



















7/9/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: we purchased a 24x54x6 reprieve w/panel swimming pool from Scioto Valley.During the application process we had asked several questions concerning the pool since we were new homeowners and soon to be new pool owners. We were told there would be no issues with the fact that we had a well and with filling the pool. Untrue,we consulted water haulers and was told it is bad on your pool to completely fill with well water, due to possible impurities.if you are having a dry spell you should only run the well 2 hours off 2 hours.Our final decision was to just to hire a water hauler. Secondly, when asked how this would affect our home owners insurance we were told that it would have no increase because the wall sides are 54 inches tall. Untrue, our policy will increase by 400.00 year.Prior to delivery of sand we were told they would deliver the sand in our driveway which is paved. Untrue. They decided upon delivery that the driveway was 50ft from site of pool so they just dumped in yard. If we were giving notice I would of prepared an area to dump to minimize cleanup.Instead we are left with a 10x6 area of sand 15 feet from our pool which we have to dispose of. The day of installation nobody knocked on the door when they arrived, instead we were awakened to our dog barking and so my husband got dressed and went outside.We had marked a spot but had asked the installers if that would be a suitable location, assuming they would have suggestions if needed since they are the"professionals".No suggestions were given so we assumed we picked a suitable location.Everytime I went outside to check on progress the men were texting on cell phones and smoking while they worked.As a non smoker customer I felt that to be very unprofessional.When the pool was finally up,I again went outside and asked if I should know anything,and again I was told no.uneven ground surrounding the pool, with clumps of sod on top of the dirt that we were to use to backfil.We had to hire a professional to clean up the mess.

Desired Settlement: We would like 100% refund of our installation cost 600.00 to cover the costs of our out of pocket expense for fixing the mess left by installers.

Consumer Response:

Scioto Valley did refund us the installation fee.  please note on my complaint.  
Thank you