Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Scioto Valley Hot Tubs & Spas, Inc.

Phone: (614) 876-7755 Fax: (614) 876-8465 4577 Lyman Dr, Hilliard, OH 43026 View Additional Web Addresses

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


This company offers gas grills.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Scioto Valley Hot Tubs & Spas, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Scioto Valley Hot Tubs & Spas, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 4 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Industry Ratings Comparison | Chart

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Scioto Valley Hot Tubs & Spas, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: May 01, 1983 Business started: 09/01/1982 Business started locally: 09/01/1982 Business incorporated 09/01/1982 in OH
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Columbus Building & Development Services
757 Carolyn Ave, Columbus OH 43224
Phone Number: (614) 645-7433

Type of Entity


Business Management
Mr. Spencer Jacobs, President Mr. Randy Johnson, Sales Ms. Amy Vatter, Controller
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Spencer Jacobs, President
Business Category

Spas & Hot Tubs - Dealers Internet Shopping Swimming Pool Contractors, Dealers, Design Swimming Pool Enclosures Fireplace Equipment - Retail

Alternate Business Names Scioto Valley

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Scioto Valley Hot Tubs & Spas, Inc. has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 4577 Lyman Dr

    Hilliard, OH 43026 (614) 876-7755


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

9/21/2015 Billing/Collection Issues
6/27/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a pool at the end of March at this time the sales associate said that I had to wait till the all of the pool was delivered then I could schedule the installation date. The pool was delivered April 17 so I called them like I was instructed to set up a date. I was told at this time I don't call them they will call me. I was informed then was I was on a list number 59 and maybe mid May by sales associate who transferred my call to the installer who said maybe first of June it would be installed. The installer also said most people don't enjoy their pool the first year anyway. I paid over 6000 I hope to enjoy it the first year and years to come . I called at the being of May to check statis the installer told me about 30 pools had been installed which is good. Then I get an email on the 21 of May stating only a hand full are in due to wet conditions. I feel like I being lied to and should have been told up front about the installation procedure and what number I was and their return policy before I bought the pool. because my wife asked about returning it and was told it is a 15% restocking fee because the pool was delivered that I wasn't told about. I guess the man is right I won't enjoy my pool when it sits in my garage which I can't even park my car in at this time. It is upsetting to make the payments on the pool that I have no clue when it will be set up.

Desired Settlement: Would like to have my pool in at least the beginning of June like I was told or a full refund and no restocking fee.

Business Response:

·         Mr. *********  started the process of purchasing the pool  3/29/15.

·         Mr. ********* was in the process of deciding what pool size he wanted from the notes we had in his original invoice.

·         We sent an our installer (Lee) out on 4/17/15 to help him decide what size pool he was going to require.

·         Mr. ********* called in and paid for the pool and scheduled delivery on 04/21/15. Delivery of a pool is the actual trigger that we use to put them in our schedule.  At that point, we had not even started installing any pools because the rain and cold spring.  We sell and deliver pools all fall, winter, and spring.  At the time of his delivery, he became number 59 in our schedule.  In good weather we build between 10 – 15 pools per week. But, we did not have good weather and got even further behind than we already were.

·         His pool was delivered out on 04/28/15 and he was installed on June 3rd or 4th.

In general, Mr. ********* got their install in a very timely basis considering our initial backlog and the poor spring weather.  I do want to apologize for the very poor communication from our people to him.  We send out a “weather delay” letter to all customers when we run into abnormal delays.  Although Mr. ********* was already working with Tim Reynolds on an install date, he got one such “delay” letter which really caused even more confusion and I am sorry.

As you know, Scioto Valley greatly values our reputation and the role the BBB plays in helping us maintain that.

Hopefully, Mr. ********* is now enjoying his pool?

Thank you,

******* ******, President

8/16/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: ABOVE GROUND POOL INSTALLED JUNE 2012,WHEN WE OPENED THE POOL APRIL/MAY, 2013 WE FOUND SERIOUS WRINKLES IN THE SIDE WALLS,Took pictures in spoke with *** ********,he stated the pool had been drained,the pool has never been drained,and it would not be covered,but a service man would be sent out.***** ****** came out and said he could tell the pool had never been drained,but it was not covered,it was due to chemicals,after MR ******** said it was from draining and this was slippage,every chemical every thing needed for this pool including the winter blanket was purchased at scioto valley,and followed per the instructions of sv sales,Mr ****** stated chemical vapors off the pool had no place to go when the winter cover was on therefore caused these wrinkles,I believe it was an install error,even when Mr ****** checked the top rails where the sides screw on he found several loose ,not tightened at all some not even in the threads,we attended the pool class that was suggested and did everything per sv instructions,Mr ****** stated that even some of the instructions that was given per sv sales,not all had the knowledge of the chemical,we now have a pool that we paid 3,799.00 and if there was an errow in what or how to care for the pool and winterize was from sv instructions

Desired Settlement: want the liner replaced at no cost,problem solved

Business Response:

Our position is still that *****'s evaluation upon visiting the pool was that the wrinkling of the liner was from "chemical damage" caused by an overuse or improper use of chemicals.  ***'s initial thought were also another strong possibilty,  as having water out of the pool for even a short period of time, will also cause a liner to wrinkle in a manner very similar.  A wrinkled liner as you have, is not a function of the install, but rather a function of pre-mature aging much like the wrinkiing of our skin as we age.  The number one cause is over dosing of chemicals and improper ph control.  Although you believe you followed our instructions and you bought all of your supplies from our store, that does not negate the possiblity that somehow (and we certainly do not believe it to be intentional) improper chemistry was and is the cause of your liner failure.

Although it is not covered under warranty at all, I have asked *** to contact you and arrange to put in a new liner at our expense.  We will not cover any water or chemicals but will pay for the liner and the labor to do so as long as it is done yet this fall.  Further, it is my understanding that you have a deck.  You will need to move any of the deck sections in order to give our installers the access the need to do the repair.  Please advise.  An alternative possibiltiy is that we can provide you a liner in the box that you can put away and install somewhere in the future (at your expense) should you deem the deck removal as to difficult or something that would not wish to do at this time.

Thank you,


Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. waiting to hear from *** to have a date of install and what we need to do to prep will take care of water ect

2/2/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I called Scioto Valley about a heater problem on my *** Spa that I purchased from them. I man in service took my information and gave some things to check. A few days past before I could check them because of the cold weather. I checked them and called back. I spoke to another guy in service and he took my information again and I told him what i checked and the results and he agreed It sounded Like a bad heater. He then gave me a price of a new heater. A couple more days past and the spa temp dropped even lower. I was afaid it might freeze up because the night temps are in the teens. I drained the spa and removed the heater assembly. I called Scioto Valley back to get the part and see if I could get a better price since I have purchased 2 spas,swimming pool, tanning bed, Gas fireplace, pool table, air hockey table, pool sticks, and many chemicals from them. This time I spoke to a woman named *****. She took my information and informed me that I was still under warranty. I said great. She said however we no longer deal with *** Spas so we can't help you. I don't see how they can sell me something and not back it up if it is under warranty. Plus all my money I have spent with them. I have called *** Spas directly and had another company look at it, but the spa is still not fixed yet.

Desired Settlement: Very upset with poor customer service/relations from Scioto Valley.

Business Response:

Scioto Valley is between a rock and a hard place with our Customers who have purchased *** Spas that are still under warranty.  *** Spa refuses to allow us to remain an authorized service center which of course we want to remain in order that we can take care of our customers.  In more than 30 years of business, we have never had a vendor refuse our requests to be able to take care of our customers.  I believe we have already completed the service call on the heater and although we were not able to get cooperation from *** Spas, I instructed our service department to just take care of the problem and absorb the warranty expense for which *** will never pay us.

Thank you for your patience and please accept my apology for the inconvenience that it causes you.

****** *****, President