Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Scioto Valley Hot Tubs & Spas, Inc.

Additional Locations

Phone: (614) 876-7755 Fax: (614) 876-8465 4577 Lyman Dr, Hilliard, OH 43026 http://www.sciotovalley.com View Additional Web Addresses


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers gas grills.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Scioto Valley Hot Tubs & Spas, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for Scioto Valley Hot Tubs & Spas, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Industry Ratings Comparison | Chart


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

2 Customer Reviews on Scioto Valley Hot Tubs & Spas, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 2
Total Customer Reviews 2

Additional Information

BBB file opened: May 01, 1983 Business started locally: 09/01/1982 Business incorporated 09/30/1982 in OH
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Columbus Building & Development Services
757 Carolyn Ave, Columbus OH 43224
https://columbus.gov/bzs/document-library/reports/List-of-Licensed-Contractors-By-Business-Name/
Phone Number: (614) 645-7433

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Spencer Jacobs, President Mr. Randy Johnson, Sales Ms. Amy Vatter, Controller
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Spencer Jacobs, President
Business Category

Spas & Hot Tubs - Dealers Internet Shopping Swimming Pool Contractors, Dealers, Design Swimming Pool Enclosures Fireplace Equipment - Retail

Alternate Business Names
Fireplacesnow.com Scioto Valley Wholesalenow.com

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Scioto Valley Hot Tubs & Spas, Inc. has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 4251 Leap Rd

    Hilliard, OH 43026

  • 4577 Lyman Dr

    Hilliard, OH 43026 (614) 876-7755

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

9/21/2015 Billing/Collection Issues
6/27/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a pool at the end of March at this time the sales associate said that I had to wait till the all of the pool was delivered then I could schedule the installation date. The pool was delivered April 17 so I called them like I was instructed to set up a date. I was told at this time I don't call them they will call me. I was informed then was I was on a list number 59 and maybe mid May by sales associate who transferred my call to the installer who said maybe first of June it would be installed. The installer also said most people don't enjoy their pool the first year anyway. I paid over 6000 I hope to enjoy it the first year and years to come . I called at the being of May to check statis the installer told me about 30 pools had been installed which is good. Then I get an email on the 21 of May stating only a hand full are in due to wet conditions. I feel like I being lied to and should have been told up front about the installation procedure and what number I was and their return policy before I bought the pool. because my wife asked about returning it and was told it is a 15% restocking fee because the pool was delivered that I wasn't told about. I guess the man is right I won't enjoy my pool when it sits in my garage which I can't even park my car in at this time. It is upsetting to make the payments on the pool that I have no clue when it will be set up.

Desired Settlement: Would like to have my pool in at least the beginning of June like I was told or a full refund and no restocking fee.

Business Response:

·         Mr. *********  started the process of purchasing the pool  3/29/15.

·         Mr. ********* was in the process of deciding what pool size he wanted from the notes we had in his original invoice.

·         We sent an our installer (Lee) out on 4/17/15 to help him decide what size pool he was going to require.

·         Mr. ********* called in and paid for the pool and scheduled delivery on 04/21/15. Delivery of a pool is the actual trigger that we use to put them in our schedule.  At that point, we had not even started installing any pools because the rain and cold spring.  We sell and deliver pools all fall, winter, and spring.  At the time of his delivery, he became number 59 in our schedule.  In good weather we build between 10 – 15 pools per week. But, we did not have good weather and got even further behind than we already were.

·         His pool was delivered out on 04/28/15 and he was installed on June 3rd or 4th.

In general, Mr. ********* got their install in a very timely basis considering our initial backlog and the poor spring weather.  I do want to apologize for the very poor communication from our people to him.  We send out a “weather delay” letter to all customers when we run into abnormal delays.  Although Mr. ********* was already working with Tim Reynolds on an install date, he got one such “delay” letter which really caused even more confusion and I am sorry.

As you know, Scioto Valley greatly values our reputation and the role the BBB plays in helping us maintain that.

Hopefully, Mr. ********* is now enjoying his pool?

Thank you,

******* ******, President


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

2 Customer Reviews on Scioto Valley Hot Tubs & Spas, Inc.
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart