Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Licking Rural Electrification, Inc.

Additional Locations

Phone: (800) 255-6815 Fax: (740) 344-2054 1500 Granville Rd, Newark, OH 43055 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.theenergycoop.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company states they offer electric and natural gas utility with a propane division.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Licking Rural Electrification, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Licking Rural Electrification, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 4 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Industry Ratings Comparison | Chart


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 4
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 4

Additional Complaint Information

BBB files indicate that in our last three year reporting period our office has processed customer complaints which were closed as resolved, and two customer complaints which were closed as resolved after a delay in response from the firm. Based on BBB files, this company has a satisfactory record with the BBB. To have a "Satisfactory Record" with the BBB, a company must be in business for at least 12 months, properly and promptly address matters referred to it by the BBB, and be free from an unusual volume or pattern of complaints and law enforcement action involving its marketplace conduct. In addition, the BBB must have a clear understanding of the company's business and no concerns about its industry.

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Licking Rural Electrification, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: April 28, 1988 Business started: 04/07/1936 Business started locally: 04/07/1936 Business incorporated 04/07/1936 in
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Gary Baker, Director of Marketing and Public Relations
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Gary Baker, Director of Marketing and Public Relations
Business Category

Natural Gas Companies Gas - Propane - Equipment & Supplies Electric Companies

Alternate Business Names
Energy Cooperative, The Licking Rural Electric National Gas & Oil Cooperative NGO Development Corporation NGO Propane Producers Gas Sales, Inc. The Energy Cooperative

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Licking Rural Electrification, Inc. has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 1500 Granville Rd

    Newark, OH 43055 (800) 255-6815

  • PO Box 4970

    Newark, OH 43058

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

8/25/2015 Billing/Collection Issues
10/7/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I am a 72 year old woman with disabilities on a low income. I receive Social Security. A few months ago I did not have enough money to pay my gas bill so Energy Coop turned it off. It is cold today and I need it turned on so I called them and spoke with *****. She told me I owed $56 . When I was going to pay it to her she then said I owed the fees and all which was $330. She tried to explain that I had to pay $20 a month for the meter running and a $240 deposit to have it turned on. I believe this ridiculous and I should not be charged more than I owe just for not being able to pay at that time. What do you think? Can I get another gas server in this area or am I stuck with this one? This is the worse. They also have my electric service and have over charged me $600 + by making me pay my renters bill that they did not pay. Can you do anything for me to help me with these crooks? Thank you, 

Desired Settlement: $900.30

Business Response: Our member services supervisor spoke with ******* on 9/16/14 and scheduled her gas to be reconnected on 9/17/14. TEC agreed to waive her deposit of $240 since this was her first disconnection for nonpayment. TEC charged a $20 extended nonpayment fee and explained that this covers her fixed cost for the month of August while her service was inactive.  TEC also charged $50 reconnection fee. TEC referred her to LEADS (Licking County Community Action) for assistance with future heating bills.  Let me know if you need anything else.  

5/14/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Purchase Information: Problem Area: Billing Issues Purchase Date: Total Price: $48.00 Disputed Amount: $27.00 Amount Paid So Far: $0.00 Description: The consumer has a complaint against Energy Cooperative. He took over the lease for his home at the beginning of March. He moved in on 3/27/14. They are trying to make him pay the bill for the past tenants charges. The current bill is for 48 dollars, 27 of it is the past tenant's charges.

Desired Settlement: Satisfactory Solution: He wants the 27 dollars erased from his bill.

Business Response:

As a courtesy to Mr. ******, The Energy Cooperative has credited his account for $27.00.  Legally we believe that Mr. ****** is responsible for the bill starting with the meter reading we have for 3/1/14 which was 2746 because the lease began 3/1/2014.  We also have a copy of his lease that shows he moved in on 3/1/14.  In addition we contacted the landlord by phone and he also stated the Mr. Taylor moved in on 3/1/14. Again, we have credited the $27.00 to Mr. ******s acccount as he has requested as a courtesy to the member.

Consumer Response: At 10:13 am I returned a call to Mr. ****** regarding his complaint.  During the phone call, I  read verbatim the business response to his complaint received on April 22, 2014, which Mr. ****** stated that he had not received.  Mr. ****** verbally accepted the response and confirmed that BBB could close his complaint RESOLVED.  

1/21/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The consumer has a complaint against Energy Cooperative. He has a cabin in Ohio. This electric company is charging him 20 dollars per month although he does not go to the cabin during every month.

Desired Settlement: He wants them to stop charging him for electricity when it is not being used.

Business Response:   The complainant is refering to a $20 monthly facilities charge paid by every member of The Energy Cooperative to cover a portion of the service and maintenance of electric lines, poles, electric meters, transformers, natural gas lines, pumps, gas meters and other items that support the permanent assets within the infrastructure on The Energy Cooperative’s system. Even though the electric or gas is not in use, our line walkers, meter readers, maintenance workers, engineers, etc. are all still working to keep the system running safely and efficiently. It is important that we ensure that the electric and pipeline system is safe and reliable when The Energy Cooperative members use our system, even if the usage is occasional.