BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In 21 Counties in Central Ohio
Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® - Start With Trust

Are You the Business Owner of Uptown Apparel Company?

If yes, click here to learn about BBB Accreditation.

Are you...?

This Business is not BBB accredited

Uptown Apparel Company

Phone: (740) 281-0050 Fax: (740) 281-0116 1640 N 21st St, Newark, OH 43055 View Additional Email Addresses http://uptownapparelco.com

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for Uptown Apparel Company include:

  • Length of time business has been operating

Factors that raised the rating for Uptown Apparel Company include:

  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Industry Ratings Comparison | Chart


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Uptown Apparel Company
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: January 13, 2012 Business started: 09/12/2011 in 0 Business started locally: 09/12/2011 Business incorporated: 08/25/2011 in OH
Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Brian T. Jurden, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Brian T. Jurden, Owner
Business Category

Embroidery Garments - Printing & Lettering Sportswear - Retail Clothing - Retail

Alternate Business Names
Uptown Apparel Company, LLC

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    1640 N 21st St

    Newark, OH 43055

  • 1
X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Email Addresses

  • - eQuote
  • - Communication/Mass Email
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

5/16/2013 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: In November I placed, and paid for in full, an order for approx. 12 hats to be embroidered. They were to be picked up within two weeks. I was told that would be a problem. It was very important this date was meet b/c these were hats to be given away to my customers during gun/deer season. That date come and gone and not even a phone call to say my order wasn't going to be ready. I have made approx. 15 phone calls to both the owners cell phone and the store number to check on my order. After 4 times of driving to the store I did finally get some of my hats about 1 month later - only to see they had ordered the wrong hats. This shouldn't have happened b/c I gave them the order numbers.

Another month or more went by and several more attempts to check on them, they finally had a couple more done - but had the colors backwards! It has been almost 6 months and I still do not have all of my order. (I live about 26 Miles north of this company - not just a quick trip around the block)I am so upset with the way my business has been treated by this owner. I've placed and received previous orders with them and had wonderful service, and great looking work. I understand they have had some employee turn over but this does not justify why this is happening. It's to bad the owner feels its ok to hide behind the one way mirror and not answer his phone because I'm sure he would get a ear full - or just maybe he could have settled an easy situation. Never Again!

Desired Settlement: I want my hats mailed to me b/c I've already spend enough money, gas and mileage on my vehicle to check on these hats. Better customer service by the owner is a must! Meet with your clients and stop letting your daughter take the complaints.

Business Response:

The hat was finished today and mailed out to the customer, also including 6 extra hats for her delay in delivery.  Also included is a gas card for her many trips to pick up her orders.  When the customer comes in the next time I will be the only person to work with her.

Not an excuse, but I had a few employees that were not the best performers and I have taken care of all the problems.  This was my mistake that I did not catch this sooner.  I am taking care of all production, scheduling of all jobs since the first of this year.  There will not be any delays now or in the future.   When the customer comes in to place another order, I will give her order to her at no charge, up to $100.00.  I hope this will rectify the situation with this customer and hope for a long business relationship with them.  Again I want to apologize for any and all problems myself or any of my staff has caused you.

Thank you,

***** ******

Uptown Apparel Company

Consumer Response:

I did receive the hats that he said he sent - thank you! I'm sorry it took writing a letter to the Better Business to get the matter resolved - but I was left with no other choice!

But as far as a gas card that was mentioned - Nope haven't seen one. Not sure if he was mailing it separate or if it was supposed to be in the box with the hats - but we didn't receive it.



Regards,
***** *****






























BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable effort to address the complaint. However the consumer remains dissatisfied.

1/14/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I placed an order for apparel for a high school sport (tennis) team on August 31, 2012. The order was for a total of $609.59 to include t-shirts, sweatshirts, sweatpants, and shorts in a variety of styles and screening copies. I was told it would be 10 days for product completion. When I contacted them after 10 days, I was told that their screening machine had broke and it would be a few more days. I checked again and was told the artwork was not ready. Then the machine was still broke but the part was on its way. For the next 2 months I was continually told the part would be in soon. I did agree to wait because they said it would be soon. After a few weeks I was told that they were going to ship orders to other businesses to complete and it would be a few more days. when I checked they said the apparel they ordered in was wrong and they had to order new apparel. For 10 weeks I have been told the machine was broken, wrong apparel, part was due it soon, artwork was not done, part due in, apprarel had to be reordered again several times. I received part of the order on 10/26, after they decided to embroidery instead of screen print, but we still were waiting on remaining order. When we went in on 10/29, the order was still not completed. We asked for our money back on the portion that was not completed and were refused - were told we would only receive a credit for store. I emphasized to the owner, ***** ******, stating the order is still not completed (product is not correct) and wanted our money for the portion of the order not correct or completed. He would only offer to add the copy missing on the shirt stating he has fulfilled his contract. I have been patient far beyond anyone should be. have been giving every excuse - was even told that an employee couldn't finish my order on 10/26 because he was directed to go to a football game to sell apparel while my order remained incomplete. The company failed to fulfill contract, delivery, product, refund, service.

Desired Settlement: Refund for the items still incomplete ($105.89). Even though the entire order is incorrect, requested screening but received embroidery, we will accept the other items that were completed. I am tired of waiting for service that is not correct or completed.

Business Response:

The customer placed the order via email.  We told her she would need to come in and pay for the order, we also told them our printer was down and not sure when it would be back up as we relayed this to all of our customers.  We were and still are waiting on a part to come in from Isreal.  The customer choose to wait to see if our printer would be fixed.  It did not come in so the customer decided to proceed with the order and have us embroidery the goods.  We did embroider the goods.  We showed the daughter and the father what the embroidery would look like and explained the placement of the embroidery.  The girl and the father told us to proceed with the embroidery.  The day after the embroidery was picked up, the father came in and said his daughter did nnot like the t-shirts.  So the father asked for his money back and he wanted to keep the shirts.  I told him I could not give his money back, as we did what was approved two days earlier.  He keept telling me all he wanted was his money back.  The words "Hit This" was not included on the shirts, and I told the father I would add this to the shirts and he could pick up in an hour or I could refund .50 per shirt.  The father choose to accept the .50 cents for each shirt that came up to $5.50 total.  I did give the $5.50 back to the gentelman and he left with the shirts.  about five minutes went buy and the mother called screaming she wanted her money back.  I explained to the lady what her husband and I didcussed.  She said she was not told this.  She told me I should give her, the full amount back and they keep the shirts.  I told her I could not do that.  After 20 minutes explaining the situation to the lady she kept screaming at me.  I told her I would discuss anything with her if she wanted but I was not going to stay on the phone and let her scream at me.  She calmed down and told me she was calling the BBB to report me since she did not get what her daughter wanted.  I told her if she wanted to it was her choice.

Consumer Response:

The business owner is lying.  This WAS NOT an email order.  I never emailed them or receivied any email from them.  I did not place my order via email - my daugher and I went in and originally spoke to *** and ******* for prices and ideas.  We went back in on 8/30 and placed the order in person with a check for $609.59.  I have the paperwork ******* completed as my daughter was explaining the artwork request.  He won't be able to produce an email because there was none.  I was not told about the machine being broken for 3 weeks after my order was placed and after many other excuses for why it was not completed in 10 days.  I was patient and waiting and the tennis team agreed to wait but as each week passed we were concerned for our money if he was to go out of business and we would lose it all.  After 10 weeks we were willing to accept almost anything since they had my $609.59 and I had no product and did not receive anything until 10/29 which was the evening of the tennis banquet.  Mr ****** knew all along we were being screwed.  The t-shirts are still not completed or correct.  The entire order is not as originally ordered, we requested screening, and only accepted the embroidery after waiting 10 weeks and still did not get a completed correct order.  My husband took the incomplete incorrect items because they were not willing to finish them to our standards and order.  After 10 weeks and then they handed over incomplete and incorrect product we shouldn't be inconvenienced any longer to have them try and fix something they can't do.  I think I'm being more than patient and accommodating for only wanting the t-shirt refund of $153.89 and if the unprofessional illegal owner wishes to deduct the lousy $5.50 he gave my husband and daughter for the words that were not finished on the shirts that's pretty sad.  He owes this tennis team.  He is unprofessional a liar and a poor businessman.  He told me he would not give me any money back because he was losing money everyday.  I  understand why he would be losing business.   He would not let me speak on the phone and would not listen to my husband when he was in to pick up the items for the banquet.  After 10 weeks of being jacked around, losing $609.59 for a high school sports team where parents' and kids' money are involved.  I am entitled raise my voice in an attempt to be heard, because he was not willing to listen and he hung the phone up on me, but when you are wrong and have no morals or business ethics and steal from kids and a school program what else would we expect. 

While this complaint process has been transpiring I have heard of countless other customers that have received poor service from this company and owner through reviews and word of mouth.  I can only assume that this is their normal practice and the BBB may be receiving additional complaints against this business.     






























Business Response:

As I mentioned in the previous complaint, my screenprint machine did go down and we were telling customers the samething we were being told from my supplier.  The part was and is coming from Isreal and we are at their mercy.  The customer did ask for printing, and after a few times of the customer getting upset with us we told them we could embroidery them, and they told us that would be fine.  We went over in detail and showed them what it would look like as the logo's were sent to you.  Those were embroidery deesigns.  They did ask that the NHS to be larger inside the heart as they kids would be wearing them to school and they have to have the school name on the shirts clearly marked.  Once we had the order finished the father came into the store and said he wanted his money back because his daughter did not like the shirts.  It was not what she was thinking it would be.  But her father and her was in the night before and approved the sew out's on size and color.  I told the gentleman I could add the lettering, that we forgot to put on the shirts, and he could pick them up in an hour, or I could deliver them to him.  He said his daughter was not happy with the shirts and he just wanted his money back.  I told him I could add the wording or give him $.50 back per shirt for the Hit Me wording we forgot to put on the shirt.  He choose to receive the $.50 per shirt and took the money and the shirts and left.  His wife called back screaming at me because she was not happy with the decision her husband made.  I explained her daughter and husband was in and approved the designs with *****, in my shop the night before as I was there when they approved the designs.  I told her what I offered her husband, I could fix the shirts or take the .50 cents per shirt.  She told me thaty was not good enough.  I tried to rectify the situation by correcting the order as we were told and they would not allow us to do this.

Consumer Response: I want a refund for the t-shirts that are not finished or correct.  I am not waiting another 10 weeks for them to complete.  They had 10 weeks and did not complete it correctly even to the last minute before the tennis banquet.  The team is disappointed, the parents are disappointed and this banter back and forth is a waste of time.  We placed the order, and we waited patiently. They failed to produce what we ordered.  They failed to complete our order.  We should not have to continue to wait for N an incorrect and incomplete order. The owner doesn't even know the correct artwork that isn't completed; the missing artwork IS NOT "HIT ME."  We will therefore make our experience known via social networking and business review sites.  There are 15 team members, plus their parents who are willing to share their experience to the public/consumer, and those 45+ people will not do any future business with Uptown Apparel.  A wise business decision would be to refund for the t-shirts that are not yet completed.      

































Business Response:

I would be more than glad to correct the shirts as I offered in the first place. As you can see on the attached document, the violet shirts ( Fun Shirts ) it was suppose to have "Hit This" over the logo. This is the wording that it is missing. Customer can bring in the shirts and I will take care of them the same day. I offered to fix within an hour when her husband brought back the first time. If the customer chooses to return the shirts to me in the original state I will refund the shirt price less the .50 per shirt already given. The amount would be 11 @ 13.49 = $148.39.  If the shirts are not returned in the original state I will not be able to refund the money.  As a security to both parties, the manufacturer can test the shirt to see if the shirt has been altered.  Uptown Apparel Company is willing to pay for this, in an amount of $1500.00,  if there is a descrepency when returned.  If a descrepency at the time of return, Uptown Apparel Company will hold monies until all testing is complete.

 

Consumer Response:

I will be interested in the owner's refund BUT with some more clarification on the "unaltered state."  It has been 5 weeks since we were given the incomplete/incorrect items as the final product.  The shirts are in the property of the purchaser/players/parents, so in 5 weeks time they may have been washed.  If that is considered "altered" then it is unacceptable.  If washing the garment is not a problem with the return then I will direct each player to bring in their shirt for their refund.  Please provide response.     

In all defense, the owners offer to have the shirts completed was not accepted, because we had already waited 9 weeks for the items and they had our $600+ so we took the incompleted items before we lost everything.  At that point we wanted our money back only for the incompleted items and did not want to wait any additional time.  I have no faith in his offer to fix them immediately when the banquet was to begin in a hour of the pick up.  And, the items were still not what we orginally ordered.   



























Business Response:

If the shirts were not acceptable and could not be passed out to the players, why were they?  I was told by the husband and wife at the time of pick up that they could and would not pass them out.  Since the shirts have been worn, washed for 5 weeks I will not be able to refund the money.  I will fix each shirt once it is brought in and I will stop what is on the machines to correct.  This is all I am able to do so at this time. 

I have tried to do everything to correct this situation, each time I come up with a solution another problem arises from the customer.  I have offered the following from the time the husband and daughter come in to discuss:

- Embroider all items.

- Rushed all items.

-Made changes with the order when requested.

-Offered to fix shirts right away.

- Offered Money back for un altered shirts.

- Offered to correct the shirts.

I have  tried to correct 6 different times and ways and the customer will not allow Uptown Apparel to take care of the problem.  I am willing to correct any issue but, I have to be given the chance to.  I will correct by adding "Hit This" to all of the shirts as they come into the store.  This is the last thing I can do to correct the problem.

 

BBB's Final Determination: Business agreed to mediate the complaint but the consumer declined.

BBB Comments:

1/13/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On 12/08/2012, I placed an order for 2 navy blue stadium chairs with an expected delivery date of 12/22. The removable backs were to have ********* Aces embroidered on the back. The sales person and I reviewed an actual sample of the lettering to be used for the product. The sales person placed the instructions on the service order.I called on 12/22 to see if the product was ready for pick up. I was told over the phone that the product was ready. 

I drove to the store and was told it was not ready and in fact the blank backs had just been delivered that morning. The owner stated that the items would be ready for pick up after 5, since I was going out of town, I stated I would not be in until Sunday after noon.I arrived at the store approximately 1 pm on Sunday, 12/23 to retrieve the product. When I saw the backs, they were not the embroidery style I had discussed or viewed with the original sales person. The sales person showed me the style from their style page and stated it was embroidered per the instructions. I asked to see the sample binder, where I found the sample as discussed on 12/8 with the original sales person. The sales person stated she would provide my concern to the owner and contact me.
 
I did not feel comfortable that the sales person would relay the message; therefore I called back and spoke with the original sales person. I stated my concern regarding the product and experience at the shop. She stated to me that she would order new backs on Wednesday, 12/26 and that there had been several misunderstandings this season. She stated she would have them redone within a week.On 12/26, I received a call from the shop. The lady on the other end stated that I would need to buy additional backs before the owner would redo the work. I was a bit unhappy with this individual as she was the one I had a poor interaction with on 12/23 and requested the original sales person contact me directly to discuss. Since the call on 12/26, I have called three separate occasions.

Desired Settlement: As of 12/29, nor the owner or the original sales person have contacted me to discuss or offer an alternative solution. Since I relied on the expertise of the sales staff to put the correct info on the service order based on the embroidery sample viewed and discussed during my 12/8 visit, I am requesting the shop redo the backs of the stadium chairs at their cost.

Business Response:

Due to the Holidays is the reason why this has not been complete.  The shipping is slow this time of the year as the delivery services do not work each day.  Plus the suppliers do not work a regular schedule.  I have contacted the suppier and the seat backs should be here on 1-3-13 and we will run them on 1-3-13 and will call when they are ready.  I would be more than happy to run the seat backs at no charge for Mr. Kitchen.


BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

1