Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Clintonville Outfitters

Phone: (614) 447-8902 2864 N High St, Columbus, OH 43202 http://www.clintonvilleoutfitters.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company states they are an outdoor specialty retailer & offer classes about learning and enjoying outdoor activities.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Clintonville Outfitters meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Clintonville Outfitters include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Industry Ratings Comparison | Chart


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Clintonville Outfitters
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: January 20, 2009 Business started: 07/01/2007 Business started locally: 07/01/2007 Business incorporated 05/01/2007 in
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Jonathan Barth, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Jonathan Barth, Owner
Business Category

Camping Equipment Mountain Climbing Equipment Clothing - Retail Boating Instruction Camping Equipment - Renting Recreation Program Consultants Safety Equipment & Clothing


Additional Locations

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

12/1/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I Spent $59.07 on a headlamp that turned out to be defective. When I attempted to return the item the following day is when things went sour. After describing the defect to the man behind the counter the very first sentence he spoke was "I can't resell this" (Because it had been used for maybe an hour and the clamshell packaging was cut to free the item??). In any case that's not a good first thing to say to a customer. **Why in the world would you want to resell an item I'm showing you is defective anyway?** I was denied a refund because I had opened and used the item (well yeah I had to do both of those things in order to discover that it was defective). The first man I spoke with said he might be willing to do an in-store credit which I accepted with protest. A second man behind the counter retracted that offer a couple of minutes later because it was a manufacturers defect. In the end I didn't get a refund, no in-store credit, and no offer to replace the defective light with another one in the store that would be close in pricing and meet my needs (they have 2 or more brands of headlamps available). My visit ended with the second man keeping my money and the light. He said he would call the manufacturer from his store and "see what they could do" and call me to let me know if they were going to help me or not. The message that he left on my cell phone informed me that the manufacturer had knowledge that the lights were defective (in which case they should pull those from stock and not sell them to customers) and they would try to get me a new one as soon as they manufacture them. I wasn't given a clue when I should expect this to happen. To Clintonville Outfitters: You have a great store and great staff. You also have a lot of room left for improvement and you can make your return policy clear when customers are checking out. If someone returns an item that has a manufacturers defect **The Next Day** you may want to rethink how you approach a resolution. In case I'm not being clear or specific enough.....instead of letting me leave your store with no resolution you could have exchanged the defective light with a good one and then dealt with your manufacturer accordingly. Now I have to go to another store and buy another headlamp. When and if you decide to replace the one I bought from you it will no longer be needed. For now you have $59 of my money and I have nothing to show for it.

Desired Settlement: I would like a refund to be credited back to the credit card used to pay for the purchase.

Business Response:

The customer purchased a headlamp from my business, used it, and came back to return the product the following day.  When he came in, he simply asked to return the product.  He did not mention any defect at this time, just that he wanted it returned.  I informed him of our return policy which is both posted in the store and on the receipt which is we will refund unused product within 14 days of purchase.  He admitted that the item was used and asked for a full refund or store credit anyway.  I continued to explain to him that I could not resell a product that had the packaging torn apart and was used in a high aerobic activity as I am sure he wouldn't want to purchase a product from my store that we said was new but actually used.  At this point he became upset and I told him that I would be more than happy to try a manufacturers return since the product did not meet his expectations.  I told him that I would contact the manufacturer and see if they would be willing to return or exchange the product since the customer said it didn't meet his expectations.  The customer left the product at the store.  At this time I was unaware that there was a problem with this product, only that the customer didn't like it.  The defect was not obvious (had to be used under certain circumstances to see the defect) and we were not informed by the manufacturer prior to this problem that there was issues with the product.  Right after the customer left I contacted the manufacturer and that is when we found out about the problem with this particular product.  Had I known this when he was in the shop, I would have had other options for him, but I did not.  The company gave me return authorizations for this customers product as well as the other ones we had in stock.  Less than 30 minutes after the customer left the store I left a voicemail on his cell phone with my findings, also stating that when the replacement came in I would give him a call.  I mentioned on the voicemail that if he had any questions, to give me a call.  I never heard from him.  Since there were problems with the run of product from the manufacturer, there was a few week lead time on replacement.  The replacement product has shipped and will be available to him this week or he can come in for a refund.  We do not keep any card information from our customers so he will need to come in for the refund.  I was surprised to see this complaint as I would have figured if there was still an issue after I had conveyed a resolution of a replacement product less than 30 minutes after he was in the shop, he would have called to discuss them, especially after I encouraged him to call with any questions.  

 

Consumer Response: I am rejecting this response because: It contains logical fallacies which I will draw attention to, and as such will also serve as documentation which lends credibility to what I am claiming. 

The format I will use will consist of my examination of Clintonville Outfitters response and detailing in what ways I reject it while correlating each of their primary claims to my original statements with some added examinations for clarity. 
_________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

WHAT FOLLOWS IS A COPY OF CLINTONVILLE OUTFITTERS RESPONSE WITH MY NEW RESPONSE BELOW IT:

 The customer purchased a headlamp from my business, used it, and came back to return the product the following day.  When he came in, he simply asked to return the product.  He did not mention any defect at this time, just that he wanted it returned. I informed him of our return policy which is both posted in the store and on the receipt which is we will refund unused product within 14 days of purchase.  He admitted that the item was used and asked for a full refund or store credit anyway. I continued to explain to him that I could not resell a product that had the packaging torn apart and was used in a high aerobic activity as I am sure he wouldn't want to purchase a product from my store that we said was new but actually used.  At this point he became upset and I told him that I would be more than happy to try a manufacturers return since the product did not meet his expectations.  I told him that I would contact the manufacturer and see if they would be willing to return or exchange the product since the customer said it didn't meet his expectations.  The customer left the product at the store.  At this time I was unaware that there was a problem with this product, only that the customer didn't like it.  The defect was not obvious (had to be used under certain circumstances to see the defect) and we were not informed by the manufacturer prior to this problem that there was issues with the product.  Right after the customer left I contacted the manufacturer and that is when we found out about the problem with this particular product.  Had I known this when he was in the shop, I would have had other options for him, but I did not.  The company gave me return authorizations for this customers product as well as the other ones we had in stock.  Less than 30 minutes after the customer left the store I left a voicemail on his cell phone with my findings, also stating that when the replacement came in I would give him a call.  I mentioned on the voicemail that if he had any questions, to give me a call.  I never heard from him.  Since there were problems with the run of product from the manufacturer, there was a few week lead time on replacement.  The replacement product has shipped and will be available to him this week or he can come in for a refund.  We do not keep any card information from our customers so he will need to come in for the refund.  I was surprised to see this complaint as I would have figured if there was still an issue after I had conveyed a resolution of a replacement product less than 30 minutes after he was in the shop, he would have called to discuss them, especially after I encouraged him to call with any questions.  

C.O. claims that I did not state the reason for wanting to return the product, had used the product, would not want to be sold a used product under the claim of "new", and was unaware of an issue with the product. 

I would like to draw attention to the fact that all Business' ask customers what the reason for return of an item is regardless of return policy. In this case I not only stated a reason for return when asked, but I kindly demonstrated the defect to the register associate. If this is in doubt please refer to the statement that C.O. made contact with the manufacturer and was informed that the product identified as being defective. It is exceedingly unlikely that a retailer sells a product which happens to be defective and has customers who purchase said product and return it without explanation. And a message directly to C.O.  It would be deceptive for ANY retailer to represent a previously opened and purchased product as "New", even if unused. The accepted retail standard is to label such items "open box", or similar. In this case the item was both opened AND identified as being defective by the manufacturer when contacted by C.O.

On the issues of "using" the item, the package "being torn apart", and using the item "
 in a high aerobic activity". This product is a head-mounted light that was shipped in a clamshell packaging that MUST be cut from its plastic housing effectively destroying it; so of course it's going to be "torn apart". The item is designed for high aerobic activity being that it is a headlamp intended to be used in scenarios such as rafting, climbing, running, various forms of labor in workplace type environments, etc. I used the item for a very short period of time sufficient to discover the nature of the defect (later verified by the manufacturer by C.O.). 

C.O. claims the product defect was not obvious. This I fear is a he said she said argument. But I would like to add that this headlamp is a device with a single moving component and also the component experiencing the defect. A single finger used to swing the mechanism while holding it with 2 hands is enough to discover the defect. But I digress on this topic. I will agree that I left the item with C.O. as their request as the item was identified as being defective by C.O. My assumption here is that they would send it back to the manufacturer but that's mostly trivial as far as I am concerned. 

In summary:

C.O. was able to quickly obtain confirmation from the manufacturer of a defective product, but still claims that I did not state the reason for my desire to return the product for a full refund and now can't re-sell the product as new.

Let's do one last brain exercise if anyone is still unclear:

Given the response by C.O., WHY would they have went so far as to call the manufacturer on MY behalf if I never stated the reason for my return and request for refund IF they believed that that there wasn't an issue with the product. Furthermore when C.O. called the manufacturer it was to report a person with a problem (which they then conveyed as I did to them). In the language used by C.O. they would have us believe that they called the manufacturer to report a dissatisfied customer with no issue with the product described and COINCIDENTALLY were informed that the entire model of that headlamp was defective. 

I hope that everyone can see the logical fallacies in the above text in the response by C.O. and via my insight. 

Bottom Line: I returned a defective product and did not receive a refund. 
Resolution Desired: Refund. 

I have not received any communication directly from C.O. offering a refund as of this writing. 








Business Response:

Here is what was sent on the 19th of August.  Please let me know if you have questions or if there is anything else I need to do.

 

 

The customer purchased a headlamp from my business, used it, and came back to return the product the following day.  When he came in, he simply asked to return the product.  He did not mention any defect at this time, just that he wanted it returned.  I informed him of our return policy which is both posted in the store and on the receipt which is we will refund unused product within 14 days of purchase.  He admitted that the item was used and asked for a full refund or store credit anyway.  I continued to explain to him that I could not resell a product that had the packaging torn apart and was used in a high aerobic activity as I am sure he wouldn't want to purchase a product from my store that we said was new but actually used.  At this point he became upset and I told him that I would be more than happy to try a manufacturers return since the product did not meet his expectations.  I told him that I would contact the manufacturer and see if they would be willing to return or exchange the product since the customer said it didn't meet his expectations.  The customer left the product at the store.  At this time I was unaware that there was a problem with this product, only that the customer didn't like it.  The defect was not obvious (had to be used under certain circumstances to see the defect) and we were not informed by the manufacturer prior to this problem that there was issues with the product.  Right after the customer left I contacted the manufacturer and that is when we found out about the problem with this particular product.  Had I known this when he was in the shop, I would have had other options for him, but I did not.  The company gave me return authorizations for this customers product as well as the other ones we had in stock.  Less than 30 minutes after the customer left the store I left a voicemail on his cell phone with my findings, also stating that when the replacement came in I would give him a call.  I mentioned on the voicemail that if he had any questions, to give me a call.  I never heard from him.  Since there were problems with the run of product from the manufacturer, there was a few week lead time on replacement.  The replacement product has shipped and will be available to him this week or he can come in for a refund.  We do not keep any card information from our customers so he will need to come in for the refund.  I was surprised to see this complaint as I would have figured if there was still an issue after I had conveyed a resolution of a replacement product less than 30 minutes after he was in the shop, he would have called to discuss them, especially after I encouraged him to call with any questions.